Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Beau Scott/Matt Prior - try/no try

Prior try, Scott no-try?

Doga

Seen it several times and have no problem with the try tbh

2 things I am unsure of though:

1/ rule when both shoulders are on the ground?
2/ Is there a rule regarding 2 players from the same team holding onto a ball at the same time? Would one player be instantly offside?

Deacon

Seen it several times and have no problem with the try tbh

2 things I am unsure of though:

1/ rule when both shoulders are on the ground?
2/ Is there a rule regarding 2 players from the same team holding onto a ball at the same time? Would one player be instantly offside?

With regards to point 2, Id only imagine so if the ball went from Prior to Scott, not sure if theres a rule in the book somewhere on it though

Question for those he determine it was a no try:
Well I have determined it was a try, and I hate trains.
Frailty said:
If Beau Scott had placed his hands back and ground the ball over the try line, would you award that try?
Not held (as ruled), so a try. We'll take both.

You hate Saints more.

It's amusing how many known St George haters are suddenly saying "I'm not a Saints hater / I hate Canterbury... but... no try!"

no shit...figure that just now?
Have never denied it...never will....

suddenly nothing....I can't stand you fuggers...

But don't worry, I cant stand the dogs either.
Cheating merkins should have been kicked out of the comp together with melbourne.

no try . AFAIAC.
Watched the game for 30 odd years now and that has never been a try.
The bloke was tackled...on his back ...with a tackler on him.
Penalty for passing off the ground while tackled.

I was told about it by a dogs supporter.
I thought he was just being a sore loser.
I thought maybe scott was ankle tapped and had slid on his back then passed off the ground without a player near him.
Then I saw the footage....and saw this thread.
No suprise which dragons fans reckon it was a try.
I don't have a problem with dragons fans saying yeah it looked bad but glad we got the try .
good luck to them ...that would shit stir dogs fans nicely.

but...fug me dead....could you imagine losing a grand final to a try like that?

For all the stuff that get calls back during a game and to let that go is just incredible.

One of the worst ref's efforts in recent memory.
watched in normal speed ...watched it in slow motion.

he even does a little double take while on his back before giving it to prior.

anyway.
that is all I have to say .

cept
16 -10
:D

gUt

Exactly. All momentum in the tackle was completely, 100%, without question, stopped. Not even just paused with a chance to get going again, completely stopped. He was tackled. The tackle was complete.

Then, after having a good long think about things, he decides to wait for his mate to arrive and give him the ball.

aussie7798

no shit...figure that just now?
Have never denied it...never will....

suddenly nothing....I can't stand you fuggers...

But don't worry, I cant stand the dogs either.
Cheating merkins should have been kicked out of the comp together with melbourne.

no try . AFAIAC.
Watched the game for 30 odd years now and that has never been a try.
The bloke was tackled...on his back ...with a tackler on him.
Penalty for passing off the ground while tackled.

I was told about it by a dogs supporter.
I thought he was just being a sore loser.
I thought maybe scott was ankle tapped and had slid on his back then passed off the ground without a player near him.
Then I saw the footage....and saw this thread.
No suprise which dragons fans reckon it was a try.
I don't have a problem with dragons fans saying yeah it looked bad but glad we got the try .
good luck to them ...that would shit stir dogs fans nicely.

but...fug me dead....could you imagine losing a grand final to a try like that?

For all the stuff that get calls back during a game and to let that go is just incredible.

One of the worst ref's efforts in recent memory.
watched in normal speed ...watched it in slow motion.

he even does a little double take while on his back before giving it to prior.

anyway.
that is all I have to say .

cept
16 -10
:D

yep as predicted actually putting the rules down in black and white was of no use to you

if anyone has the time could they try and do some type of visual representation so that this poor unfortunate can finally gain some insight

Rodent

Exactly. All momentum in the tackle was completely, 100%, without question, stopped. Not even just paused with a chance to get going again, completely stopped.
A player in possession brought to his knees or
brought to the ground on his back may still pass the ball

amazing how many footy fans don't know the most basic rules of our game.

yeah I agree

player in possesion is lying on ground = yes
Opponent is grounded = yes
Opponent has hand on player in possesion = yes
tackled = yes.
Penalty to dogs.

SECTION 11
THE TACKLE AND PLAY-THE-BALL
When tackled: 2. A player in possession is tackled

Hand on player (d) when he is lying on the ground and an opponent
already grounded places a hand on him.

http://www.australianrugbyleague.com.au/files/ARL International Laws of the Game 2010.pdf

cheat.jpg

Rodent

It amuses me how supposed fans of the game give us reasons for it not being a fair try (momentum had stopped, he was on the ground with a defender on him etc) but each and every argument put forward is contrary to the rule book. How about showing us which part of the rules were contravened.

When tackled: 2. A player in possession is tackled:
Grounded (a) when he is held by one or more opposing players
and the ball or the hand or arm holding the ball
comes into contact with the ground.

Upright (b) when he is held by one or more opposing players
in such a manner that he can make no further
progress and cannot part with the ball.

Succumbing (c) when, being held by an opponent, the tackled
player makes it evident that he has succumbed to
the tackle and wishes to be released in order to
play the ball.

brought to the ground on his back may still pass the ball – provided
he has not made it evident that he has succumbed to the tackle.

Rodent

It's pretty obvious that if a player is lying on the ground that someone need only place a hand on him to effect a tackle. This rule only applies to a player on the ground not being held by a defender.
brought to the ground on his back may still pass the ball – provided
he has not made it evident that he has succumbed to the tackle.

Packy

yeah I agree

player in possesion is lying on ground = yes
Opponent is grounded = yes
Opponent has hand on player in possesion = yes
tackled = yes.
Penalty to dogs.

SECTION 11
THE TACKLE AND PLAY-THE-BALL
When tackled: 2. A player in possession is tackled

http://www.australianrugbyleague.com.au/files/ARL International Laws of the Game 2010.pdf

cheat.jpg

Nooo. We're meant to ignore that part. It's only the rules before that that matter.

Frailty

Nooo. We're meant to ignore that part. It's only the rules before that that matter.

Incorrect context.

That last part refers to a player who is lying on the ground of their own accord (i.e. dived on the ball or fell over) - not when getting tackled.

Scott, if he was able to reach, would have been allowed to promote the football to ground the ball without it being considered a double movement - thus he is also allowed to pass the ball.