Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Benji Rumour

Tigers Tale

The media (Cannel 9) was, in my opinion, the beginning of the end for Benji at the Tigers. His regular appearance on the Thursday Footy Show made him think he was something more than he really was.

I accept the Tigers got some mileage out if him doing this but his ego got massaged by the Footy Show and he didn't play anywhere near as good or like he used to, well certainly not in my mind....

The media may be where he sees his future, I only wish he had have waited to the end of his career to pursue it. This guy never reached the heights he could and should have. It is tragic really to look back at what he could do knowing he probably will never reach that level again, no matter who he is playing for and what code he is playing...

I loved the guy when he was on song but it has been too long since his last Top 40 hit.

magpie guy

seems a lot of us are very negative about this situation. just keep in mind he has provided us stuff like this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kboCHWOdfHw

it's a shame that it will end this way but he has to go for the good of both parties.

Where has that been all season though, or last season. It is amazing to see that a vast majority of those highlights were Benji running the ball, breaking tackles or stepping completely through defenders. It seems like that part of his game has not been there for ages and whilst there were a bunch of amazing flick passes in that highlights package it doesn't show how many of his other passes went to ground or row Z in the grandstand.

It is dissapointing that he is going. On his day he could do some amazing things that no-one else on the field could do and he got us back into games that we had no right to win.

The real shame though is that attitude, ego, mismanagement and hare-brained coaching cost him and the Tigers greater honours. Imagine if Benji got to play with a proper half after Prince left. Instead we got 3 years of Morris, 2 years of the Benji at 7 debacle and a revolving door of halves (most of which were really 5/8's).

hybrid_tiger

Where has that been all season though, or last season. It is amazing to see that a vast majority of those highlights were Benji running the ball, breaking tackles or stepping completely through defenders. It seems like that part of his game has not been there for ages and whilst there were a bunch of amazing flick passes in that highlights package it doesn't show how many of his other passes went to ground or row Z in the grandstand.

It is dissapointing that he is going. On his day he could do some amazing things that no-one else on the field could do and he got us back into games that we had no right to win.

The real shame though is that attitude, ego, mismanagement and hare-brained coaching cost him and the Tigers greater honours. Imagine if Benji got to play with a proper half after Prince left. Instead we got 3 years of Morris, 2 years of the Benji at 7 debacle and a revolving door of halves (most of which were really 5/8's).

The highlights in that video are all from 2005-2010.

A highlight package from the past 18 months would be tougher to produce.

It is very sad that he is going having only played in three finals series. In 10 years, that is really not a good strike rate a player of his talent should be notching up.

Matchball

His attitude has been shit.
Just on Marshall, I hear the Tigers were pretty disappointed with the five-eighth after he broke the club's policy and appeared on The Footy Show last week before the game against the Sharks. The club has a rule in place prohibiting their players from going on The Footy Show a night before a game. If it's worth anything, Marshall had an ordinary night out against Cronulla that evening. I wonder if he'll go on this Thursday night before their Friday night game against the Warriors?

moller

He'll 110% be on there Thursday, though we might be 'lucky' enough to have another pre-recorded 'tell-all' interview with Vautin or Weidler.

gronkathon

If he wants to go down that route he should just be asked to leave now.

Cut the cancer out before it spreads if that is the route he wants to travel

broncos2010

Benji was more then a footballer to this club he was a brand name that tigers could sell to get memberships for many years.

Many people who don't even follow rugby league knew who benji was,at his current state I believe he is a player down on confidence due to the bad year tigers have had in general but I believe you guys should remember him for all the great things he did for you guys on and off the pitch and he deserves a hero send off in his last game at the of the year.

super_coach

Going to rugby and flaunting yourself all over the world to try and grab every buck you can get in the twilight of your football life is not going to help you get a media gig life after football.

Benji has made a puzzling call, but from the clubs point of view a good call

Matchball

He'll 110% be on there Thursday, though we might be 'lucky' enough to have another pre-recorded 'tell-all' interview with Vautin or Weidler.

Hope the club drops him for Friday night's game if he does.
He isn't above the club policies.

Ronnie Dobbs

He's just the type of f**ker that will try and bring others down with him.

He's wanker. You dont need him & youe club will improve once he has gone. Its about winning football - not having fun with your mates.

Good on your management for backing Potter.

Anyone remember the fiasco of when Balmain were dicked around by Tim Brasher before pulling there offer off the table,this saga reminds me a little of that except this is more to do with Benji's pride and ego.

magpie4ever

I dont believe Dan Carter will be sweating in fear of Benji taking his No: 10 jersey.

Japenese rugby and S15 will be as far as he goes - he will need to dedicate himself to 7s rugby from now (which means no S15s rugby) to play in Rio at the Olympics.

After hearing a small piece of an interview tonight with his manager and Gibbsy and Brandy on 2GB, Benji should get a new manager.

Who in business and yes, sport is a business, does not get something in writing these days. Benji had a handshake agreement apparently, just wish the 2GB guys asked 'were you there or was this just Benji and the CEO?'

The same guy who must be advising him with regards to going on the Footy Show.

Back to the club though, they have a policy re the Footy Show if there's a game on Friday but let a guy head off to Bali !!! Did everyone have last week off? Somehow I can't believe Potter would allow this, 2 or 3 days off maybe but fly to Bali:oops:

macnaz

What I cant comprehend is that Benji's camp has stated he needs new goals and needs to find his mojo , So why was he after an extension if he REALLY had lost interest ?

I dont believe Dan Carter will be sweating in fear of Benji taking his No: 10 jersey.

Japenese rugby and S15 will be as far as he goes - he will need to dedicate himself to 7s rugby from now (which means no S15s rugby) to play in Rio at the Olympics.

I reckon Super 15 will be a really tough ask for him. I reckon he is getting some really poor advice.

brooksy19

I really hope the Tigers come out with some re-signings/upgrades of Simona, Brooks, Tedesco before Fridays game..

What I cant comprehend is that Benji's camp has stated he needs new goals and needs to find his mojo , So why was he after an extension if he REALLY had lost interest ?

Same thing can be asked when you look at his manager saying he's happy to switch to Union for less money, while Benji bitched and moaned about loyalty when all he was after was a massive pay packet to keep doing something he no longer has any interest in doing.