Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Blake Ferguson found guilty of indecent assault

Walt Flanigan

I don't think he'll get near the max sentence but the judge sounds pretty convinced that Turd was being an absolute wanker. I don't think he'll go too easy on him in the sentencing.

kbw

I think that it may not matter whether he is banned or not, not too many clubs are interested.

"I always liked blonde girls because I lived in Cronulla for a long time," he said.

Is this Houda guy geniused?
So the woeful mistaken identity defence was because 'all blondes look the same'? Can you imagine a defence lawyer using that line when it came to Asian victims?

Surely

Going on this he should avoid having a conviction recorded

A DEAKIN University law student has escaped a conviction after groping a fellow Warrnambool student.

Adam Elias, 23, of Garnett Road, Wheelers Hill, pleaded guilty in Warrnambool Magistrates Court this week to indecent assault and threatening to inflict serious injury.

See your ad here
He was fined $3500 without conviction.

Magistrate Jonathan Klestadt said there were no circumstances in which a person could force themselves on another for the purposes of sexual gratification.

He said there were degrees of indecency and the offences were not at the higher end of the scale.

The magistrate said intoxication was an explanation but not an excuse for Elias.

Mr Klestadt said he expected the victim was distressed, probably repulsed and frightened after being threatened.

He said that in the absence of severe detriment to the victim, due to the lack of a victim impact statement, he was prepared to give Elias one chance to avoid a conviction. The magistrate said Elias’ conduct was in no way incidental or unimportant but he would be given one chance to avoid a conviction which could impact on the rest of his life.

Police said that during the early hours of August 22 last year Elias had been drinking at the Whalers Hotel.

Elias later knocked on the victim’s bedroom door and she let him in. While sitting on her bed he attempted to kiss her and grabbed the woman’s breasts.

The victim attempted to push him away, told him to stop and asked him to leave.

Elias continued trying to kiss her, grabbed her and dragged her on to a bed.

The victim again pushed him away and asked him to go, which he did.

Elias then sent the woman a Facebook message in which he threatened to break her neck if she ever made contact with him again.
http://www.standard.net.au/story/1939748/warrnambool-law-student-fined-for-drunken-grope-threat/

Surely

18 month good behavior bond for multiple gropes

A MUSLIM prayer leader who indecently assaulted a number of women while staying in Dee Why has left the country after a court appearance.

Ahmed Abdelshafy Mohamed El-Kahly, who pleaded guilty to five charges of indecent assault, was sentenced this week before returning home to Egypt.

The 60-year-old had been due to face North Sydney Local Court next month for sentencing, but the case was brought forward so he could return home for a new job.

El-Kahly - who was staying at the Dee Why mosque while on a yearly "prayer assistance'' trip for Ramadan - repeatedly kissed the hands of two females in separate incidents last month, including those of a woman who was pushing her four-month-old grandson in a pram.

He also swept his arm across the breast of a teenage girl as she walked her dog in a Dee Why park with a friend.

He had approached the girls in Dee Why's James Meehan reserve to tell them that he was visiting Australia and asked to shake their hands, court documents said.

But when one girl did so, he refused to let it go, before moving his hand across her breasts until her friend pulled his arm away.

The two girls reported the incident to police but two days later, El-Kahly approached the 57-year-old grandmother near Dee Why beach.

During his first court appearance on August 5, prosecutors flagged more charges would be laid against him, and on Monday he pleaded guilty to a further two charges of indecent assault.

Magistrate William Brydon sentenced him to an 18-month good behaviour bond

http://m.dailytelegraph.com.au/news...ed-elkahly-flies/story-fni0cx12-1226706995440

bluey

I would give him two years suspension
One year for the crime and one year for bringing the game into disrepute

Surely

A young woman who punched a man after he groped her at the New England Hotel has been convicted of assault.

Adrianna Purdy appeared before Armidale Local Court charged with assault occasioning actual bodily harm on Monday.

See your ad here
The court heard the complainant had touched Purdy inappropriately at the hotel and she had become angry and her boyfriend had also argued with the man in question.

Later that night Purdy and her boyfriend saw the man again at a petrol station.

Her boyfriend first approached the man before Purdy attacked him, giving him a black eye.

The court heard police had given Purdy and her partner orders to move on before the incident took place.

Magistrate Karen Stafford said charges involving the “combination of alcohol, violence and late night altercations” were on the rise in Armidale.

“A message has to be sent to the community that if you’re going to get drunk and are given a move on, you go home,” she said.

Magistrate Stafford said she did not accept Purdy’s anger over being touched as a legitimate reason for the assault, especially given that it occurred much later that night.

“You’re not the first person to be groped in a pub by a male and you sadly won’t be the last,” she said.

See your ad here
“Four times you went up and tried to land a punch.”

Purdy was given a 12 month good behaviour bond and

http://www.armidaleexpress.com.au/story/1702932/late-night-behaviour-not-purdy/

Tell me about it

tumbidragon

The National Rugby League has condemned the behaviour of former player Blake Ferguson who was found guilty of indecent assault in a Sydney Court today and who is now awaiting sentence.

Blake is currently unregistered and is not subject to the NRL's rules or sanctions.

"Whether someone is a Rugby League player or not the actions are completely unacceptable and entirely contrary to the values of our fans and the game," NRL Chief Operating Officer, Mr Jim Doyle, said today

"In considering any future application for registration, the NRL is required to form a view as to whether someone is a fit and proper person to be registered as a player.

"Today's ruling would have to be strongly considered if any club at any level of the game was to apply for a registration on his behalf."

The NRL suspended Ferguson earlier this year for repeated alcohol offences. It reserved its position in relation to the indecent assault charges until matters could be determined in court.

http://www.nrl.com/nrl-position-on-blake-ferguson/tabid/10874/newsid/75727/default.aspx

The way some of you merkins are going on you would think he raped someone if you didn't know the story.

He wont go to jail :lol: and he will be back in the nrl by 2015 imo.
I think you'll find non-consenting penetration of a woman's orifices in a sexual manner would constitute rape.

touching her onj the vagina is going very close to just that, so it's well within reason that people are reacting the way there.

Besides, how can you justify either action? From a person who should know better than anyone else, given the focus by RL in Australia to treat women with respect.

He has no excuses at all. He'll avoid any jail time imo, but the NRL will deregister him for at least a year with any luck.

Bunging on the 'woe is me' defence along with the 'i'm mentally unwell' is just sickening, as it shows he has very little care or remorse for his actions.

Instead of admitted to his actions, he's tried to weasel his way out of it.

f**k him, ban him for life. He can go and play AFL

Surely

I know hes a dickhead but really should a young person who makes a dumb mistake like this be thrown on the scrap heap.

Violent assault, drink driving are worse and they dont get rubbed out for good.

Springs

Should get a year off at least. f**k him, we don't need dickheads like him in our game. If someone done for drug use can get a 2 year ban then this dickhead should get at least that much for indecently assaulting a woman.

aqua_duck

So in the space of about 10 months the idiot has been done for repeated alcohol offences, got done speeding and driving without a licence, walked on his club and went AWOL and now convicted of sexual assault. Add everything together he deserves a 2 year break if the NRL are fair dinkum

Spot On

I know hes a dickhead but really should a young person who makes a dumb mistake like this be thrown on the scrap heap.

Violent assault, drink driving are worse and they dont get rubbed out for good.

It is surely starting to look as though the line has definitely been drawn in the sand. Packer gone for 12 months most likely and Fergo to cop a long stint. Any player found to have violently assaulted a person or caught drink driving may very well be out of the NRL for a very long time.

lol, worst lawyer EVER!

Adam Houda:
large.gif

So in the space of about 10 months the idiot has been done for repeated alcohol offences, got done speeding and driving without a licence, walked on his club and went AWOL and now convicted of sexual assault. Add everything together he deserves a 2 year break if the NRL are fair dinkum

he also got his arse handed to him by an excavator from goulburn in a boxing ring.

BranVan3000

A young woman who punched a man after he groped her at the New England Hotel has been convicted of assault.

Adrianna Purdy appeared before Armidale Local Court charged with assault occasioning actual bodily harm on Monday.

See your ad here
The court heard the complainant had touched Purdy inappropriately at the hotel and she had become angry and her boyfriend had also argued with the man in question.

Later that night Purdy and her boyfriend saw the man again at a petrol station.

Her boyfriend first approached the man before Purdy attacked him, giving him a black eye.

The court heard police had given Purdy and her partner orders to move on before the incident took place.

Magistrate Karen Stafford said charges involving the ?combination of alcohol, violence and late night altercations? were on the rise in Armidale.

?A message has to be sent to the community that if you?re going to get drunk and are given a move on, you go home,? she said.

Magistrate Stafford said she did not accept Purdy?s anger over being touched as a legitimate reason for the assault, especially given that it occurred much later that night.

?You?re not the first person to be groped in a pub by a male and you sadly won?t be the last,? she said.

See your ad here
?Four times you went up and tried to land a punch.?

Purdy was given a 12 month good behaviour bond and

http://www.armidaleexpress.com.au/story/1702932/late-night-behaviour-not-purdy/

Tell me about it
Two wrongs don't make a right

Ferguson's cousin, boxer Anthony Mundine, and former Canberra Raiders teammate Josh Dugan were two star witnesses

Star witnesses?????????? I reckon the magistrate found him guilty not because he touched one, but because of the two he hangs around.

Punishment - send him back to the Raiders.