Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brett Stewart found not guilty of sexual assault

boonboon

Yes - Gallop has done the right thing - imagine for a second the ad kept playing and then he was charged with assulting this girl .

As for Stewart - He is innocent till proven guilty - we have no proof anything happened - if it did jail him and sack him he deserves all he gets, but it wouldnt be the first time some young thing has been rejected by a footballer or even just been told to piss off and got angry and made sumthing up because he is famous and she know muds sticks.

Happened to me once - I was out at a club with my girlfriend and work colleagues - we had only just got there after dinner and went because my mate was the bouncer - I was sober as I was driving . Me and 2 mates have ducked to the toilets (it was quiet empty as it was only early ) . Some dumb young girl spills her drink over my mate and we tell her to watch what she is fing doing (quiet nicley suprisingly) . 10 minutes later my mate the bouncer comes over and tells me some chick is saying i pulled her dress up and assuted her on my way to the bathrooms. Now my mate the bouncer saw us go and knows nothing happend , my friends could see us that way , i was with my longterm girlfriend at the time etc etc , but this chick told all her friends and they followed us out of the club and down the street (we left so as to not cause trouble for my mate the bouncer- even though he said to stay and hed kick them out) and they followed us to another club screaming all this stuff in the middle of the street making me out to be sum kind of perv, then the police happened to be near the next club we went to and they came over and after she said stuff they started questioning me - I said fine lets go to the station we all can - that scared her off and she ran off only after trying to take my girlfriends bag in the commotion.

Just wanted to tell that story as an indication of the kind of things that can happen and it is horrible both for guys if that happens but also for chicks if sumthing has happened because it makes u doubt stories that are genuine - also i dont blame her freiends for suporting her cause i would do the same - but it just shows how people could f up a footballers career just cause the chick was drunk or he looked at her the wrong way or said the wrong thing

SaveTheChildren

Yes - Gallop has done the right thing - imagine for a second the ad kept playing and then he was charged with assulting this girl .

As for Stewart - He is innocent till proven guilty - we have no proof anything happened - if it did jail him and sack him he deserves all he gets, but it wouldnt be the first time some young thing has been rejected by a footballer or even just been told to piss off and got angry and made sumthing up because he is famous and she know muds sticks.

Happened to me once - I was out at a club with my girlfriend and work colleagues - we had only just got there after dinner and went because my mate was the bouncer - I was sober as I was driving . Me and 2 mates have ducked to the toilets (it was quiet empty as it was only early ) . Some dumb young girl spills her drink over my mate and we tell her to watch what she is fing doing (quiet nicley suprisingly) . 10 minutes later my mate the bouncer comes over and tells me some chick is saying i pulled her dress up and assuted her on my way to the bathrooms. Now my mate the bouncer saw us go and knows nothing happend , my friends could see us that way , i was with my longterm girlfriend at the time etc etc , but this chick told all her friends and they followed us out of the club and down the street (we left so as to not cause trouble for my mate the bouncer- even though he said to stay and hed kick them out) and they followed us to another club screaming all this stuff in the middle of the street making me out to be sum kind of perv, then the police happened to be near the next club we went to and they came over and after she said stuff they started questioning me - I said fine lets go to the station we all can - that scared her off and she ran off only after trying to take my girlfriends bag in the commotion.

Just wanted to tell that story as an indication of the kind of things that can happen and it is horrible both for guys if that happens but also for chicks if sumthing has happened because it makes u doubt stories that are genuine - also i dont blame her freiends for suporting her cause i would do the same - but it just shows how people could f up a footballers career just cause the chick was drunk or he looked at her the wrong way or said the wrong thing
How do we now you are telling the truth? Are you sure nothing happened?

barney gumble

Pretty amazing stuff really. Stewart on the surface appeared like the last person to be involved in a scandal such as this.

From the Telegraph

http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/story/0,22049,25151781-5001021,00.html

MANLY'S champion fullback Brett Stewart is under investigation for an alleged sexual assault on Friday night after the club's 2009 season launch.
The Sunday Telegraph understands Manly police have issued an interim AVO against the Sea Eagles superstar, who is the face of the NRL’s multi-million dollar advertising campaign this year.

Stewart was interviewed by Manly police until 4am this morning before being allowed to leave with his manager George Mimis.

He cannot return to his home in Manly because it is only two houses away from the alleged victim.

The Sunday Telegraph understand Stewart left Manly police station and spent the night at his girlfriend’s home.

The Sea Eagles have hired top Sydney lawyer Geoff Bellew to handle the case and say Stewart will vigorously defend the allegations .

Senior NRL officials have told The Sunday Telegraph and decision will be made on Monday whether to scrap the season’s advertising campaign because of the seriousness of the allegations.

The club's Chief Executive Officer Grant Mayer later issued a statement stating that on the basis of legal advice which has been received, neither the Club nor Brett will be making any further comment pending the conclusion of that investigation.

It read: "On the evening of Friday 6 March 2009, Brett Stewart of the Manly Sea Eagles was spoken to by Dee Why Police in relation to an allegation of sexual assault of a 17 year old girl.

"Having been spoken to by Police, he was released without charge.

"The allegation is denied. However, the Club acknowledges that the investigation is ongoing and in these circumstances, and on the basis of legal advice which has been received, neither the Club nor Brett will be making any further comment pending the conclusion of that investigation."

Another incident from the season launch in which second-rower Anthony Watmough punched a sponsor has been settled after a meeting this morning between the parties involved.

Probably on the couch

Maroubra Eel

how bout so deep he will go to gaol you absolute f**king idiot.

i can't believe people are arguing about paying for the lawyer. That is not the issue. The issue is the *sexual assault* of a minor.

I can't believe some people have there heads burried so far into the sand.

Players punching sponsors and *assaulting* women. What a f**king start to the year, but people on here don't want to discuss these facts, they'd rather point fingers at journos, old incidents, and the salary cap.

Can't believe this forum sometimes.

I agree 100% brendo you absolute f**king idiot!

Tommax25

My initial gut feeling is that nothing will come of this. It just seems really odd. I mean, it wasn't at a bar or club or something, it was out in the open, in front of her own house where something allegedly occured, and stewart apparently has a girlfriend. It just seems really unlikely. If something did happen then stewart would have to be worse than carney and tamuata combined, the situation seems so stupid its like he would have wanted to be caught or something.

SaveTheChildren

My initial gut feeling is that nothing will come of this. It just seems really odd. I mean, it wasn't at a bar or club or something, it was out in the open, in front of her own house where something allegedly occured, and stewart apparently has a girlfriend. It just seems really unlikely. If something did happen then stewart would have to be worse than carney and tamuata combined, the situation seems so stupid its like he would have wanted to be caught or something.
I
I thought it supposedly happened in a stair well, a nice and secluded spot. She lived two door down so there is a genuine possibility he had some prior awareness of the girl.

Stewart having a girl friend is irrelevent. Rape/offences of a sexual nature are usually a power thing.

Hopefully it is not what has been alleged for Brett's sake or else he is going to wish he was greg bird.

I
I thought it supposedly happened in a stair well, a nice and secluded spot. She lived two door down so there is a genuine possibility he had some prior awareness of the girl.

Stewart having a girl friend is irrelevent. Rape/offences of a sexual nature are usually a power thing.

Hopefully it is not what has been alleged for Brett's sake or else he is going to wish he was greg bird.

Gone to far STC. Why insult Brett like that:lol:

Next time players b1tch about not getting paid enough Gallop should stick all these bad media reports up their noses!~

Noa

If Im a coach one week out from a season Im telling my blokes no more then 5 beers or your playing JBC.

I have my doubts over the allegations but some of these players are as thick as 5 bricks, and bluestones at that.

And they have the hide to call emselves professional footballers.

Danish

Based on nothing else but a gut instinct, this seems like it will pan out in the same way as the Tigers case.

Some drunk girl trying to take revenge on a footy player.

Dismay after teen's 'assault' by NRL star

Adrian Proszenko and Les Kennedy | March 8, 2009

ONE of the National Rugby League's brightest stars, Brett Stewart, is at the centre of the latest crisis to hit the game - an allegation that he assaulted a teenager after the Manly Sea Eagles season launch.
Police confirmed yesterday that an interim apprehended violence order had been issued against Stewart, 24, after an incident on Pittwater Road, North Manly, on Friday night.
The Sea Eagles were last night considering standing down Stewart - a NSW and Australian representative - from next weekend's opening round of football.
Stewart is accused of approaching the 17-year-old girl outside a unit complex at 8pm after he had been celebrating the season at the Wharf Hotel.
It is alleged he and the girl spoke for a short time before entering a stairwell inside the complex, where the incident that is the subject of the girl's complaint occurred.
The girl went to a nearby unit for assistance and the police were called. The girl was taken to Royal North Shore Hospital for treatment.
Stewart was taken to Dee Why police station, where he declined to be interviewed. He was released without charge.
Under the terms of the interim AVO, Stewart was unable to return to his home because of its proximity to the alleged victim's home. He was believed to be staying with his parents in Wollongong and could not be contacted. His girlfriend, Jamie Baker, was understood to be offering him support.
Sea Eagles CEO Grant Mayer released a statement saying Stewart denied the allegations.
The club's season launch saw another star player, Australian forward Anthony Watmough, 25, involved in an alcohol-related incident.
Watmough has admitted shoving a sponsor but says it was a "misunderstanding".
"There was … a bit of alcohol involved but it was blown way out of proportion," Watmough said.
"It's not as if I'm going to a club function to slap a sponsor straight in the head. I don't think that's a good thing to do."
The allegations against both Sea Eagles came a week after five players from the Balmain-Ryde Eastwood club - a feeder club for NRL club Wests Tigers - allegedly sexually assaulted a woman at a Sunshine Coast resort. Investigations are continuing.
Yesterday NRL chief executive David Gallop said fans of the game had every right to be dismayed, frustrated and distressed after yet another serious incident "seemingly involving alcohol".
He urged Manly players and officials to co-operate with police over the Stewart investigation.
Ironically, yesterday saw the launch at Redfern Oval of Tackling Violence, a joint initiative of the NSW Government and rugby league bodies aimed at curbing assaults against women.
Community Services Minister Linda Burney was flanked by former players including Nathan Blacklock, David Peachey and Mario Fenech for the launch of the pilot campaign.

http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/news/brett-stewart-accused/2009/03/07/1235842719920.html

http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/sea...eaming-daughter/2009/03/07/1235842719924.html

Parents rushed to the aid of screaming daughter

Les Kennedy | March 8, 2009

SHORTLY before taking their daughter to Dee Why Police Station to make a statement late yesterday, the parents of the girl who has made allegations of sexual assault against Brett Stewart spoke to The Sun-Herald about the events.

The 17-year-old girl's mother said her daughter had been standing next to a driveway on Pittwater Road in Manly .

She was having a cigarette when Sea Eagles rugby league player Brett Stewart, who lives in the suburb, allegedly approached her about 8pm.

"We frown upon her smoking but my husband and I say that if she wants to smoke she cannot do it in our home because of her younger sisters," the girl's mother said.

The woman, who, like her daughter cannot be identified for legal reasons, said she and her husband rushed to her aid upon hearing her scream.

"She was calling out, she was screaming," he said.

"All I can say is that we are going down to the police station now and they are taking it quite seriously.

"We have been living here only three weeks but we are moving from these premises."

A male neighbour, who did not want to be identified, said that the first he knew of the incident was when the girl's father banged on his door and asked him to call the police.

He said a scuffle ensued between the father and Stewart.

"The father came to us for help," the neighbour said.

"He asked to call the police, which we did. We did not see or hear anything nor see the girl.

"There was a bit of a scuffle between the father and Brett, then the police arrived. We stayed out of it.

"The girl's father was very angry and yelling. He was seething."

Police returned to Stewart's unit yesterday morning and served an interim apprehended violence order upon the footballer. The order prohibits him making contact with the alleged victim and her family.

Stewart was not at the residence last night.

Last night, no charges had been made in relation to the incident.

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,25153739-953,00.html

NRL scraps TV ads after Brett Stewart accused of sex assault
Article from: The Sunday Mail (Qld)

James Hooper and Yoni Bashan

March 08, 2009 12:00am

THE NRL scrapped its $1.5 million marketing campaign after Test star Brett Stewart was accused of sexually assaulting a 17-year-old girl.

"We have considered the matter carefully throughout the day and until further light is shed on the issue we believe it is in the best interests of all parties that the campaign is suspended for the time being," NRL chief executive David Gallop (pictured above right) said.

Gallop and Channel 9 boss David Gyngell late yesterday agreed Nine would make a new ad for the NRL today, retaining the theme song Feels Like Whoa, sung by Australian Idol Wes Carr. The new ad should be able to be on air by tomorrow night.

League's latest scandal has rocked the code even before the new season kicks off on Friday night.

The alleged assault, which Stewart denies, occurred about 8pm on Friday, only hours after Manly held its season launch at an upmarket sponsors' function where the NSW State of Origin star was seen drinking heavily.

In a separate incident, Stewart's teammate Anthony Watmough was yesterday forced to make an apology to a club sponsor after police were called when Watmough slapped the sponsor at the function about 5pm.

The twin dramas caused maximum embarrassment for the NRL, being revealed on the day the league launched its campaign against domestic violence.

A police statement on the Stewart incident, which was issued yesterday afternoon, said the 17-year-old girl was approached by a 24-year-old man outside a unit complex.

"The pair spoke for a short time before walking to a stairwell where it is alleged the man sexually assaulted the teenager," the statement said.

"She went to a nearby flat to get help.

"The man was arrested and taken to Dee Why police station. He declined to be interviewed by investigating officers."

Stewart was released without charge at 4am yesterday pending further inquiries. The girl was taken to hospital where she was treated before being released.

The Sunday Mail understands the girl is a neighbour of Stewart's and an interim order issued by police prevents him from approaching the girl or from being within a certain distance of her.

As a result, the Sea Eagles fullback now is unable to return to his home as it is within the range specified by the police order.

Stewart, through the club, has denied the allegations.

Gallop said fans were entitled to be dismayed about the continual problems associated with the abuse of alcohol by players.

wonder if they'll try and get the money back by fining Manly?

should imo