Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brisbane Tigers make their bid to be 18th team

Canard

Mate I've been told since I wrote that post that all current clubs have the sole right to their name and logo indefinitely. The only way they would lose it, say the term "Tigers or Wests Tigers" is if they had their licence revoked for some reason or they folded or sold their licence and agreed to the name change. In that case it would have to be approved by the NRL anyway.
SO....
What I don't know, in inlight of what I just said, does that apply to areas such as Brisbane Broncos, Brisbane River Sewer Rats etc. In the AFL you have Melbourne Demons and North Melbourne Kangaroos.
So is my source slightly off, can you have more than one City name?

Given the ARL had Sydney City Roosters and the Sydney Bulldogs at one time, my assumption is that no entity can lay claim to a geographical name place, just the club nickname and branding.

I assume, the main reason you don't see the double up in names is because of branding confusion and not rules or legislation.

"It's cold in Melbourne, therefore there should be a new team in Brisbane".

Strawman.

By the way in terms of real facts, outside the pandemic blip, QLD and Brisbane haven't been the fastest growing anything since the 80s.

Too bad for you CHATGPT is able to deconstruct your lies in under a minute.

That's a great question! According to the Australian Bureau of Statistics, the state that had experienced the highest population growth since the 1980s is **Queensland**¹. Queensland's population increased by **3.3 million people** from 1981 to 2021, which is a growth rate of **129.5%**. The main drivers of Queensland's population growth were natural increase (44.4% of growth) and net interstate migration (34.6% of growth)¹.

In comparison, the second highest population growth state was **Victoria**, which increased by **2.9 million people** from 1981 to 2021, a growth rate of **87.8%**. Victoria's population growth was mainly driven by net overseas migration (51.4% of growth) and natural increase (41.8% of growth)¹.

The state with the lowest population growth since the 1980s was **Tasmania**, which increased by only **0.2 million people** from 1981 to 2021, a growth rate of **32.7%**. Tasmania's population growth was mainly due to natural increase (60.9% of growth), while net interstate migration was negative (-16.9% of growth)¹.

I hope this answer was helpful and informative for you 😊. Do you have any other questions about Australia's population or migration statistics?

Source: Conversation with Bing, 12/8/2023
(1) National, state and territory population - Australian Bureau of Statistics. https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/p...state-and-territory-population/latest-release.
(2) 50 years of estimated resident population - Australian Bureau of Statistics. https://www.abs.gov.au/articles/50-years-estimated-resident-population.
(3) Population and migration statistics in Australia. https://www.aph.gov.au/About_Parlia...s/rp/rp1819/Quick_Guides/PopulationStatistics.
(4) Historical population, 2016 | Australian Bureau of Statistics. https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/people/population/historical-population/latest-release.​

Outside of very extreme circumstances, there's no chance that the NRL would refuse to renew any of the teams licenses.

Now is not a good time for the Wests Tigers to play hardball with the ARLC. If the Wests Tigers refuse to sign an agreement post-October then the Brisbane Tigers can jump in and take their place. Everyone knows the Brisbane Tigers are keen on securing an NRL licence and have the infrastructure needed to compete in the league.

Mate I've been told since I wrote that post that all current clubs have the sole right to their name and logo indefinitely. The only way they would lose it, say the term "Tigers or Wests Tigers" is if they had their licence revoked for some reason or they folded or sold their licence and agreed to the name change. In that case it would have to be approved by the NRL anyway.
SO....
What I don't know, in inlight of what I just said, does that apply to areas such as Brisbane Broncos, Brisbane River Sewer Rats etc. In the AFL you have Melbourne Demons and North Melbourne Kangaroos.
So is my source slightly off, can you have more than one City name?

Wests Tigers will be fine provided they don't shoot themselves in the foot. The ARLC won't strip them of their licence.

Ipswich and Logan would probably have a higher proportion of Broncos/NRL fans than the inner suburbs of Brisbane (where Broncos HQ is) as well.

Why do you think the Brisbane Lions are doubling down on Logan and Ipswich?

They want to win the hearts of the next generation. I don't see the Broncos doing anything to counter the Brisbane Lions' aggressive marketing in Logan. I've seen an increase in the amount of local kids in the Springwood area wearing Lions apparel over the 20 years I've lived in the region. I doubt you've ever set foot in it, yet you strut around pretending to know the area like the back of your hand. You really need to stop commenting on things you know nothing about.

People will follow NRL because they like it and have enough exposure to it, they don't need a professional team to exist 5 minutes away from their house.

So people from Adelaide can follow the NRL without having a team because they have exposure to it on Fox League and 9Gem?

Good to know!

Let's Go Expansionists!!! You tell them Gronk
....You fkn potato counting hick

Btw we have a team on the Gold Coast, we have a team in Moreton bay, and we have a team who represents all the areas of Ipswich, Logan AND THE CBD its the ladder leading
BRISBANE FUĆKING BRONCOS!!!

Mate, you reckon Sydney needs nine clubs. You throw an epic tantrum when anyone suggests relocating one or two.

You've been shown data from the annual reports that prove there are 2 or 3 Sydney clubs struggling to generate enough revenue from football operations to compete with Queensland's four clubs, yet you still insist on keeping all nine and limiting Brisbane to just two. You hold this stance despite the Broncos, Dolphins and Cowboys generating more revenue than the Sydney clubs. You're a walking contradiction and a complete hypocrite.

Nutz

Given the ARL had Sydney City Roosters and the Sydney Bulldogs at one time, my assumption is that no entity can lay claim to a geographical name place, just the club nickname and branding.

I assume, the main reason you don't see the double up in names is because of branding confusion and not rules or legislation.
That's sounds about right mate.
Balmain even contemplated a joint venture called the Sydney Tigers before their joint venture with Wests. Even Parramatta was mentioned.
OMG thank god things got sorted as it stands now because I was ready to walk away....and that's the thing isn't it, how many people walk away with too many changes.
I live in Brizzy and I am confident that Suncorp could handle 3 teams even if they all played in one round there, like a Queensland super round. Brisbane supports footy really well.
I thought Ipwsich would have been a logical pick because Brisbane region has the North - Redcliffe, City - Broncos, South - Gold Coast and West - Ipswich.
Ipswich would be similar to Penrith and they could keep their logo the Jets.

MugaB

Strawman.

That's a great question! According to the Australian Bureau of Statistics, the state that had experienced the highest population growth since the 1980s is **Queensland**¹. Queensland's population increased by **3.3 million people** from 1981 to 2021, which is a growth rate of **129.5%**. The main drivers of Queensland's population growth were natural increase (44.4% of growth) and net interstate migration (34.6% of growth)¹.
In comparison, the second highest population growth state was **Victoria**, which increased by **2.9 million people** from 1981 to 2021, a growth rate of **87.8%**. Victoria's population growth was mainly driven by net overseas migration (51.4% of growth) and natural increase (41.8% of growth)¹.​
The state with the lowest population growth since the 1980s was **Tasmania**, which increased by only **0.2 million people** from 1981 to 2021, a growth rate of **32.7%**. Tasmania's population growth was mainly due to natural increase (60.9% of growth), while net interstate migration was negative (-16.9% of growth)¹.​
I hope this answer was helpful and informative for you 😊. Do you have any other questions about Australia's population or migration statistics?​
Source: Conversation with Bing, 12/8/2023​
(1) National, state and territory population - Australian Bureau of Statistics. https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/p...state-and-territory-population/latest-release.​
(2) 50 years of estimated resident population - Australian Bureau of Statistics. https://www.abs.gov.au/articles/50-years-estimated-resident-population.​
(3) Population and migration statistics in Australia. https://www.aph.gov.au/About_Parlia...s/rp/rp1819/Quick_Guides/PopulationStatistics.​
(4) Historical population, 2016 | Australian Bureau of Statistics. https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/people/population/historical-population/latest-release.​
FMD who cares, its like your trying to convince peter V'landys himself, not a bunch of enthusiastic LU tragics who value expansion... another Queensland team is fine, but not another in Brisbane so soon after the dolphins admission... just give up you loose unit

MugaB

Mate, you reckon Sydney needs nine clubs. You throw an epic tantrum when anyone suggests relocating one or two.

You've been shown data from the annual reports that prove there are 2 or 3 Sydney clubs struggling to generate enough revenue from football operations to compete with Queensland's four clubs, yet you still insist on keeping all nine and limiting Brisbane to just two. You hold this stance despite the Broncos, Dolphins and Cowboys generating more revenue than the Sydney clubs. You're a walking contradiction and a complete hypocrite.
Annual reports geezus, did you cultivate all this data and include BRL Annual reports before 1988, when your favourite local team the Brisbane Broncos turned up? Yes probably not... seems like you like to paint pictures of how you want things to be.. forgetting about how thing actually are...
The NSWRL COMP became the NRL... its stands to reason they would have a bulk of teams involved from nsw, just like the AFL and all those VFL sides.
Maybe we should all support the bronx this year, they seem to be the only threat to the panthers this season.. and let this f**kwit gronk sweat

Canard

Strawman.

In comparison, the second highest population growth state was **Victoria**, which increased by **2.9 million people** from 1981 to 2021, a growth rate of **87.8%**. Victoria's population growth was mainly driven by net overseas migration (51.4% of growth) and natural increase (41.8% of growth)¹.

The state with the lowest population growth since the 1980s was **Tasmania**, which increased by only **0.2 million people** from 1981 to 2021, a growth rate of **32.7%**. Tasmania's population growth was mainly due to natural increase (60.9% of growth), while net interstate migration was negative (-16.9% of growth)¹.

I hope this answer was helpful and informative for you 😊. Do you have any other questions about Australia's population or migration statistics?

(1) National, state and territory population - Australian Bureau of Statistics. https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/p...state-and-territory-population/latest-release.
(2) 50 years of estimated resident population - Australian Bureau of Statistics. https://www.abs.gov.au/articles/50-years-estimated-resident-population.
(3) Population and migration statistics in Australia. https://www.aph.gov.au/About_Parlia...s/rp/rp1819/Quick_Guides/PopulationStatistics.

You claimed that Brisbane is the most rapidly growing city in the country.

It's not, that's not my opinion, it's a fact.

This is proved with information up to date as of 2023, not 2021.

The rest of your post was unrelated bollocks.

mongoose

Why do you think the Brisbane Lions are doubling down on Logan and Ipswich?

They want to win the hearts of the next generation. I don't see the Broncos doing anything to counter the Brisbane Lions' aggressive marketing in Logan. I've seen an increase in the amount of local kids in the Springwood area wearing Lions apparel over the 20 years I've lived in the region. I doubt you've ever set foot in it, yet you strut around pretending to know the area like the back of your hand. You really need to stop commenting on things you know nothing about.

So people from Adelaide can follow the NRL without having a team because they have exposure to it on Fox League and 9Gem?

Good to know!
Can't just plonk teams wherever AFL decides to aggressively market itself, very reactive strategy...

I said people need "enough exposure", not any exposure. People in Adelaude don't have enough exposure to NRL imo to turn into consistent supporters. People in Logan do.

Wb1234

Can't just plonk teams wherever AFL decides to aggressively market itself, very reactive strategy...

I said people need "enough exposure", not any exposure. People in Adelaude don't have enough exposure to NRL imo to turn into consistent supporters. People in Logan do.
Afl put in a team in Gold Coast after we did

yet half this forum thinks afl should be copied when it comes to expansion.

You claimed that Brisbane is the most rapidly growing city in the country.

So why did you respond with this?

By the way in terms of real facts, outside the pandemic blip, QLD and Brisbane haven't been the fastest growing anything since the 80s.

It's not, that's not my opinion, it's a fact.

This is proved with information up to date as of 2023, not 2021.

Like this?

According to the latest data from the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS), the capital cities with the fastest growing population in 2021-22 were Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide. Brisbane had the largest increase (59,200 people) and the highest growth rate (2.3%), followed by Perth (32,200 people and 1.5%) and Adelaide (16,000 people and 1.1%).¹

The fastest growing areas in each capital city were:

- Brisbane: Ripley (21% growth), Chambers Flat - Logan Reserve (19% growth) and Pallara - Willawong (19% growth)²
- Perth: Baldivis - East (12% growth), Alkimos - Eglinton (11% growth) and Brabham - Dayton (10% growth)¹
- Adelaide: Munno Para West - Angle Vale (9% growth), Mount Barker - West (8% growth) and Seaford Heights - Moana (8% growth)¹

The fastest growing areas outside of the capital cities were:

- Victoria: Torquay - Jan Juc (6% growth), Warrnambool - East (5% growth) and Ballarat - North (4% growth)¹
- Queensland: Pimpama - Ormeau (10% growth), Coomera - Upper Coomera (7% growth) and Caloundra - West (6% growth)²
- New South Wales: Maitland - East (5% growth), Orange - North (4% growth) and Wagga Wagga - Central (4% growth)¹

I hope this information helps you learn more about the population trends in Australia. 😊

(1) Regional population - Australian Bureau of Statistics. https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/people/population/regional-population/latest-release.
(2) Fastest-Growing Cities in Australia 2023 - Property Update. https://propertyupdate.com.au/these-are-australias-fastest-growing-areas/.
(3) 50 years of capital city population change | Australian Bureau of .... https://www.abs.gov.au/articles/50-years-capital-city-population-change.
(4) A map of the fastest growing cities in Australia (2019 update). .​

The rest of your post was unrelated bollocks.

In your opinion. You also think NRL clubs operate on a budget of $17-18m. I've refuted that preposterous claim. You tell lies.

How do you define "enough exposure"?

Is there a quantitative measurement you're using to prove anything above "x" is enough and anything below is not?

Or is it just your biased opinion?
Ipswich and Logan would probably have a higher proportion of Broncos/NRL fans than the inner suburbs of Brisbane (where Broncos HQ is) as well. People will follow NRL because they like it and have enough exposure to it, they don't need a professional team to exist 5 minutes away from their house.

Prove it!

The Gemba Report found Logan and Ipswich have fewest Broncos fans in the Greater Brisbane region. Moreton Bay has the most Broncos supporters. The Dolphins were added despite the fact they're based in the region which has the most parochial support for the Broncos.

@Canard Take a look at these statistics from the Gemba Report. They refute the bullshit you're trying to pass off as facts. You're wrong and have no case.

Attachments

• IMG_1696.jpeg
    IMG_1696.jpeg
    518.4 KB · Views: 2
  • IMG_1695.jpeg
    IMG_1695.jpeg
    499.2 KB · Views: 2

Nutz

I'm blue to the core but have lived in Brisbane for over thirty years and I know one thing, Brisbane loves their footy.
It would support two more teams if it went that way so one would shite it in.
Rugby League is traditionally an east coast game and will always be the nucleus of the sport. Instead of blocking leagues expansion in this area it should be embraced.
I'm in my sixties and I must say that having the Broncos, Nth Qld, Gold Coast and Redcliffe has spiced up our old game in Qld and that is good for the future of the game.
It ensures that the SOO will be the pinnacle of our game along with playing for Australia.
It's a no brainer that our population is growing and so kids participation will increase. Sit on our hands and these kids will choose another sport.
Picking the right time and the right club is paramount.
Stop throwing crap around and discuss it sensibly without bias.

I'm blue to the core but have lived in Brisbane for over thirty years and I know one thing, Brisbane loves their footy.
Rugby League is traditionally an east coast game and will always be the nucleus of the sport. Instead of blocking leagues expansion in this area it should be embraced.
I'm in my sixties and I must say that having the Broncos, Nth Qld, Gold Coast and Redcliffe has spiced up our old game in Qld and that is good for the future of the game.
It ensures that the SOO will be the pinnacle of our game along with playing for Australia.
It's a no brainer that our population is growing and so kids participation will increase. Sit on our hands and these kids will choose another sport.

When Brisbane only had one team I thought Sydney needed to be rationalised. This year my opinion on this subject has changed somewhat. The new stadia in Sydney has changed things for the better. We should get at least one more stadium upgrade in Sydney.

I do think things can be done to make Sydney's smallest teams stronger, but I no longer think it would be wise to remove any teams.

It would be good if Manly took some games to Gosford and became a Central Coast/Northern Beaches team, similar to what the Dragons are doing in Wollongong and Southern Sydney.

Wests Tigers should retain their brand, but maybe rename themselves the Western Sydney Tigers?

I don't think it would be wise adopting the Magpies brand. An entire generation of Wests Tigers fans have grown up never seeing the Magpies play in the NRL.

The Brisbane Tigers should rebrand as the Brisbane Bengals at all levels.

Maybe we should all support the bronx this year
Before the season kicked off I declared the Broncos were my second team and encouraged other Cowboys fans to do the same!

@Canard went nuts at the suggestion, BTW.

I'm glad I shed the hatred I had for the Broncos and embraced all of Queensland's clubs. It was great seeing the Broncos smash the Eels and put that little smartarse Moses on the sidelines.

Up the Brilliant Brisbane Broncos!

Canard

Before the season kicked off I declared the Broncos were my second team and encouraged other Cowboys fans to do the same!

@Canard went nuts at the suggestion, BTW.

I'm glad I shed the hatred I had for the Broncos and embraced all of Queensland's clubs. It was great seeing the Broncos smash the Eels and put that little smartarse Moses on the sidelines.

Up the Brilliant Brisbane Broncos!

As plastic a Cowboys fan as you could get.

Your entire online identity is developed on the basis of hating the Broncos, and the only reason you nominally support the Cowboys is because of that notion.

Now suddenly your a big Broncos fan, but worse, you carry on like a f**kwit that I don't share your Bandwagon view.

Canard

Not expanding to other states, it's short sighted and unsustainable.

That's always been my point.

Please discuss that sensibly then?

Canard

So why did you respond with this?

Like this?

According to the latest data from the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS), the capital cities with the fastest growing population in 2021-22 were Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide. Brisbane had the largest increase (59,200 people) and the highest growth rate (2.3%), followed by Perth (32,200 people and 1.5%) and Adelaide (16,000 people and 1.1%).¹

The fastest growing areas in each capital city were:

- Brisbane: Ripley (21% growth), Chambers Flat - Logan Reserve (19% growth) and Pallara - Willawong (19% growth)²
- Perth: Baldivis - East (12% growth), Alkimos - Eglinton (11% growth) and Brabham - Dayton (10% growth)¹
- Adelaide: Munno Para West - Angle Vale (9% growth), Mount Barker - West (8% growth) and Seaford Heights - Moana (8% growth)¹

The fastest growing areas outside of the capital cities were:

- Victoria: Torquay - Jan Juc (6% growth), Warrnambool - East (5% growth) and Ballarat - North (4% growth)¹
- Queensland: Pimpama - Ormeau (10% growth), Coomera - Upper Coomera (7% growth) and Caloundra - West (6% growth)²
- New South Wales: Maitland - East (5% growth), Orange - North (4% growth) and Wagga Wagga - Central (4% growth)¹

I hope this information helps you learn more about the population trends in Australia. 😊

(1) Regional population - Australian Bureau of Statistics. https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/people/population/regional-population/latest-release.
(2) Fastest-Growing Cities in Australia 2023 - Property Update. https://propertyupdate.com.au/these-are-australias-fastest-growing-areas/.
(3) 50 years of capital city population change | Australian Bureau of .... https://www.abs.gov.au/articles/50-years-capital-city-population-change.
(4) A map of the fastest growing cities in Australia (2019 update). .​

In your opinion. You also think NRL clubs operate on a budget of $17-18m. I've refuted that preposterous claim. You tell lies.

As I stated, during the pandemic Brisbane and QLD had a spike in growth. As did regional Vic and other regional areas. Your post clearly shows this.

It's now August 2023 and that is no longer the case, and Melbourne will be the biggest city in Australia within 6 years and has the biggest growth (as it was pre-pandemic). This is a fact.

As plastic a Cowboys fan as you could get.

Your entire online identity is developed on the basis of hating the Broncos, and the only reason you nominally support the Cowboys is because of that notion.

Now suddenly your a big Broncos fan, but worse, you carry on like a f**kwit that I don't share your Bandwagon view.

I adopted the Cowboys as my team 28 years ago when Laurie Spina was their halfback. Prior to that I was a Broncos fan you dunce!

That's right, I turned my back on the Broncos in the mid-90s when they were at the peak of their powers. I adopted a team that had an atrocious roster and was ignored by the Brisbane media. A plastic fan I am not, and you can go f**k yourself for even suggesting it you wanker.

In 1996 I only got to see the Cowboys when they travelled to QEII Stadium to play the Broncos. We scored three tries that day and conceded more than 50, but I was proud as punch to see them live for the first time. Leigh Groves had a great game in reserves. I ran home and watched the highlights after the game because I knew it would be the only time I got to see them on TV that year. Every game day I'd tune the radio into 1116am to get live score updates for the Cowboys. That's all I had as my parents didn't have Optus Vision. A plastic fan wouldn't go through that much effort to support a team that got flogged every week, would they?

For many years I was angry and hated the Broncos because they and their fans had everything handed to them on a silver platter while my team struggled on an oily rag. The local sports stores didn't even stock Cowboys jerseys until 2004. I carried that hatred for decades. Seeing the Broncos get the spoon in 2020 changed me. Finally, their fans knew what it was like to be at rock bottom and the laughing stock of the league. To rub it in, my team guaranteed them the spoon at their home ground in the last round. I was celebrating just as hard as the night we beat them in the 2015 GF. They're now little brother to us. They have an atrocious record in finals games against us. There's Broncos fans who weren't alive when the club last won a premiership.

How can I continue to hate that?