Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Brisbane Tigers make their bid to be 18th team

As I stated, during the pandemic Brisbane and QLD had a spike in growth. As did regional Vic and other regional areas. Your post clearly shows this.

It's now August 2023 and that is no longer the case, and Melbourne will be the biggest city in Australia within 6 years and has the biggest growth (as it was pre-pandemic). This is a fact.

The data shows that Brisbane is attracting more interstate migrants than any other capital city. Sydney and Melbourne are growing on the back of international immigration.

When I suggested the Dragons should reach out to Southern Sydney's large Han Chinese community I was mocked. Everyone on here told me the Han will never follow our game. If that's the case then the game's f**ked in Sydney and Melbourne. Both cities have a very large Han Chinese community that is growing. Whites from these cities are flocking to Brisbane.

I find it ironic that everyone on this forum thinks that only whites, Polynesians and Melanesians are capable of supporting our game, but also think we should neglect the only city in the country that has seen people from these demographics flock to it in large numbers for the best part of 30 years!

The cognitive dissonance on LU would be funny if it weren't so sad.

That's an interesting question. According to the web search results, the answer may vary depending on the time period and the source of data. However, based on the Australian Bureau of Statistics, Queensland seems to be the state that has received the most interstate migrants since the 1990s¹². Within Queensland, Brisbane is the largest and most populous city, and it has also gained the most people from net interstate migration in recent quarters². Therefore, it is likely that Brisbane is the city that has received the most interstate migrants since the 1990s in Australia. However, this may change in the future as other cities and regions become more attractive or accessible for people who want to move within Australia. Do you have any personal experience or preference for interstate migration? 😊

Source: Conversation with Bing, 12/8/2023
(1) Migration, Australia - Australian Bureau of Statistics. https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/people/population/migration-australia/latest-release.
(2) Regional internal migration estimates, provisional, March 2021. https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/p...igration-estimates-provisional/latest-release.
(3) POPULATION SHIFT: UNDERSTANDING INTERNAL MIGRATION IN AUSTRALIA. https://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs...erstanding Internal Migration in Australia~69.
(4) Population Mobility - Planning. https://www.planning.vic.gov.au/__d...nal-Migration-In-Victoria-Complete-Report.doc.
(5) Why more people are leaving Brisbane for other Australian cities. https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/in...r-other-australian-cities/?resizable=true&v=9.​

Not expanding to other states, it's short sighted and unsustainable.

That's always been my point.

Please discuss that sensibly then?

What you're saying makes no f**ken sense.

No one from Adelaide has expressed an interest in establishing and funding a team. A club from Adelaide will operate on a budget of about $30-35m. Only $17-18m will come from the annual grant. The rest will need to be generated from sponsorship, corporate hospitality, ticketing, membership and merchandise. There won't be any gaming revenue to supplement it.

There's zero chance of the ARLC spending a single cent on establishing and running a club in Adelaide from scratch. V'landys has made this clear on numerous occasions. He still maintains that prospective clubs need to present a strong business case to warrant inclusion.

Perth has a strong chance of winning the 18th licence because it has support from the WA Gov and Perth business sector.

The Brisbane Tigers have strong corporate support and own the facilities needed to run an NRL club. That's what the ARLC wants from a prospective team and what will get them an NRL licence.

The Great Dane

Now is not a good time for the Wests Tigers to play hardball with the ARLC. If the Wests Tigers refuse to sign an agreement post-October then the Brisbane Tigers can jump in and take their place. Everyone knows the Brisbane Tigers are keen on securing an NRL licence and have the infrastructure needed to compete in the league.

Wests Tigers will be fine provided they don't shoot themselves in the foot. The ARLC won't strip them of their licence.
There's no chance that the NRL would revoke their license even if they did decide to 'play hardball' with them.
There's no reason to believe that the Tigers would play hardball with the NRL anyway, at least not outside of the standard negotiations that happen when it's time to renew the club's licenses, and I guarantee that Easts' interest in an NRL license won't even come into anybody's minds when the club's licenses are renewed.

The odds of Wests giving the Tigers brand up to Easts are so slim that it's stupid to even speculate about it, so Easts will have to come up with a new brand if they want to enter the NRL. A third Brisbane side shouldn't happen anytime soon anyway.

There's no chance that the NRL would revoke their license even if they did decide to 'play hardball' with them.
There's no reason to believe that the Tigers would play hardball with the NRL anyway, at least not outside of the standard negotiations that happen when it's time to renew the club's licenses, and I guarantee that Easts' interest in an NRL license won't even come into anybody's minds when the club's licenses are renewed.

The odds of Wests giving the Tigers brand up to Easts are so slim that it's stupid to even speculate about it, so Easts will have to come up with a new brand if they want to enter the NRL. A third Brisbane side shouldn't happen anytime soon anyway.

The odds of the ARLC revoking the Wests Tigers' licence are as slim as the chance of them spending a cent on establishing a club in Adelaide.

Canard

The data shows that Brisbane is attracting more interstate migrants than any other capital city. Sydney and Melbourne are growing on the back of international immigration.

When I suggested the Dragons should reach out to Southern Sydney's large Han Chinese community I was mocked. Everyone on here told me the Han will never follow our game. If that's the case then the game's f**ked in Sydney and Melbourne. Both cities have a very large Han Chinese community that is growing. Whites from these cities are flocking to Brisbane.

I find it ironic that everyone on this forum thinks that only whites, Polynesians and Melanesians are capable of supporting our game, but also think we should neglect the only city in the country that has seen people from these demographics flock to it in large numbers for the best part of 30 years!

The cognitive dissonance on LU would be funny if it weren't so sad.

That's an interesting question. According to the web search results, the answer may vary depending on the time period and the source of data. However, based on the Australian Bureau of Statistics, Queensland seems to be the state that has received the most interstate migrants since the 1990s¹². Within Queensland, Brisbane is the largest and most populous city, and it has also gained the most people from net interstate migration in recent quarters². Therefore, it is likely that Brisbane is the city that has received the most interstate migrants since the 1990s in Australia. However, this may change in the future as other cities and regions become more attractive or accessible for people who want to move within Australia. Do you have any personal experience or preference for interstate migration? 😊

Source: Conversation with Bing, 12/8/2023
(1) Migration, Australia - Australian Bureau of Statistics. https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/people/population/migration-australia/latest-release.
(2) Regional internal migration estimates, provisional, March 2021. https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/p...igration-estimates-provisional/latest-release.
(3) POPULATION SHIFT: UNDERSTANDING INTERNAL MIGRATION IN AUSTRALIA. https://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs...erstanding Internal Migration in Australia~69.
(4) Population Mobility - Planning. https://www.planning.vic.gov.au/__d...nal-Migration-In-Victoria-Complete-Report.doc.
(5) Why more people are leaving Brisbane for other Australian cities. https://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/in...r-other-australian-cities/?resizable=true&v=9.​
Pure gibberish.

Nobody has even mentioned race, bar you.

Your old enough and dumb enough to know that overseas Immigration is cyclical and we are already seeing a massive slow down in Chinese Immigration as there economy crashes.

Regardless, it's patronising arrogance to think that you only need to say something as superficial as "we are the Dragons" to appeal to Chinese Immigrants.

Canard

I adopted the Cowboys as my team 28 years ago when Laurie Spina was their halfback. Prior to that I was a Broncos fan you dunce!

That's right, I turned my back on the Broncos in the mid-90s when they were at the peak of their powers. I adopted a team that had an atrocious roster and was ignored by the Brisbane media. A plastic fan I am not, and you can go f**k yourself for even suggesting it you wanker.

In 1996 I only got to see the Cowboys when they travelled to QEII Stadium to play the Broncos. We scored three tries that day and conceded more than 50, but I was proud as punch to see them live for the first time. Leigh Groves had a great game in reserves. I ran home and watched the highlights after the game because I knew it would be the only time I got to see them on TV that year. Every game day I'd tune the radio into 1116am to get live score updates for the Cowboys. That's all I had as my parents didn't have Optus Vision. A plastic fan wouldn't go through that much effort to support a team that got flogged every week, would they?

For many years I was angry and hated the Broncos because they and their fans had everything handed to them on a silver platter while my team struggled on an oily rag. The local sports stores didn't even stock Cowboys jerseys until 2004. I carried that hatred for decades. Seeing the Broncos get the spoon in 2020 changed me. Finally, their fans knew what it was like to be at rock bottom and the laughing stock of the league. To rub it in, my team guaranteed them the spoon at their home ground in the last round. I was celebrating just as hard as the night we beat them in the 2015 GF. They're now little brother to us. They have an atrocious record in finals games against us. There's Broncos fans who weren't alive when the club last won a premiership.

How can I continue to hate that?

Shallow plastic fan, who has suddenly jumped on the Broncos bandwagon.

I doubt you've even been to NQ.

mongoose

How do you define "enough exposure"?

Is there a quantitative measurement you're using to prove anything above "x" is enough and anything below is not?

Or is it just your biased opinion?

Prove it!

The Gemba Report found Logan and Ipswich have fewest Broncos fans in the Greater Brisbane region. Moreton Bay has the most Broncos supporters. The Dolphins were added despite the fact they're based in the region which has the most parochial support for the Broncos.

@Canard Take a look at these statistics from the Gemba Report. They refute the bullshit you're trying to pass off as facts. You're wrong and have no case.
I'm not going to get into the ins and outs of market economics but if you think Adelaide is already serviced by rugby league and Logan isn't then I don't know what to say?

Adelaide has no NRL teams and hardly any rl clubs at any level within hundreds of miles and barely receives any media coverage Of the sport.
Logan has 3 professional teams in its immediate surrounds, some 2nd tier teams and many, many junior teams and receives saturation coverage of the sport.

Can you work out which city I think has "enough exposure" and which one has little to no exposure?

mongoose

Afl put in a team in Gold Coast after we did

yet half this forum thinks afl should be copied when it comes to expansion.
I would say AFL had planned to go to the GC long before the Titans existed.

what we should copy from AFL is having a strategic long term plan for expansion - wherever that may be. We shouldn't be reactive to their moves though.

Wb1234

I would say AFL had planned to go to the GC long before the Titans existed.

what we should copy from AFL is having a strategic long term plan for expansion - wherever that may be. We shouldn't be reactive to their moves though.
Nah

they copied us

just like with the magic round

now vlandys is on charge he’s leading the way to a 20 team comp which the fumblers will copy as well

Pure gibberish.

Nobody has even mentioned race, bar you.

Yes, they have. You ranted about Singaporean culture not being compatible with rugby league a few months ago. There's been plenty of posts on LU ridiculing the idea of promoting the game to the Chinese.

we are already seeing a massive slow down in Chinese Immigration as there economy crashes.

Do you have any evidence for this?

I couldn't find anything to support your claim.

That's an interesting question. According to the web search results, Chinese immigration to Australia has been fluctuating in recent years, depending on various factors such as visa policies, economic conditions, and the COVID-19 pandemic.

Some key points from the results are:

- China has been the largest source of permanent migrants to Australia since 2011¹.
- In 2020, there were 650,600 Chinese-born people living in Australia, making them the third-largest migrant group after the United Kingdom and India².
- However, this was a decrease of 17,300 people from 2019, when there were 667,900 Chinese-born people in Australia².
- The COVID-19 pandemic had a significant impact on the migration patterns in 2020, as travel restrictions and border closures reduced the number of arrivals and departures².
- The permanent migration program also changed in 2020, with a reduced cap of 160,000 places and a greater focus on regional migration and skilled workers¹.
- The number of Chinese migrants who obtained permanent visas under the business innovation and investment category increased from 2,872 in 2019 to 5,157 in 2020, while those who obtained skilled independent visas decreased from 1,367 to 941 in the same period¹.
- The number of Chinese migrants who obtained partner visas also increased from 3,553 in 2019 to 7,765 in 2020¹.

Based on these data, it seems that Chinese immigration to Australia is not on a steady decline, but rather varies depending on the circumstances and opportunities. It is possible that the migration trends will change again once the pandemic situation improves and the travel restrictions are eased. What are your thoughts on this topic? 😊

Source: Conversation with Bing, 13/8/2023
(1) Permanent migration from China - Department of Home Affairs. https://www.homeaffairs.gov.au/rese...y-profiles/profiles/peoples-republic-of-china.
(2) Migration, Australia - Australian Bureau of Statistics. https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/people/population/migration-australia/latest-release.
(3) A Brief History of Chinese Migration to Australia - The LOTE Agency. https://www.loteagency.com.au/a-brief-history-of-chinese-migration-to-australia/.
(4) Chinese Immigration to Australia and Chinese Australians. https://aus.thechinastory.org/archive/chinese-immigration-to-australia-and-chinese-australians/.​

Regardless, it's patronising arrogance to think that you only need to say something as superficial as "we are the Dragons" to appeal to Chinese Immigrants.

No one said that you patronising dickhead. Change your name to Strawman. That's all your bullshit posts amount to.

Here's an example of the local Chinese community in southern Brisbane getting behind the Sunnybank Dragons after the club reached out to them.

Shallow plastic fan, who has suddenly jumped on the Broncos bandwagon.

I doubt you've even been to NQ.

Argh, the old "no true Scotsman" fallacy. Dickhead.

I'll play the game.

If you're a "true Cowboys fan" then why did you pack your bags and f**k off to Melbourne?

"No true Cowboys fan" would leave rugby league paradise to live in a fumbleball worshipping shithole.

Not only are you not a "true Cowboys fan", but you're not even a "true Queenslander".

I'm not going to get into the ins and outs of market economics but if you think Adelaide is already serviced by rugby league and Logan isn't then I don't know what to say?

Adelaide has no NRL teams and hardly any rl clubs at any level within hundreds of miles and barely receives any media coverage Of the sport.
Logan has 3 professional teams in its immediate surrounds, some 2nd tier teams and many, many junior teams and receives saturation coverage of the sport.

Can you work out which city I think has "enough exposure" and which one has little to no exposure?

All you've proved is there's a strong appetite for rugby league in Logan that doesn't exist in Adelaide.

Putting a team in Adelaide isn't going to make it a rugby league stronghold. At best, it'll become a niche product in a small capital city that is more set in its ways than Melbourne and receives little interstate migration from rugby league states.

You and your mates think the magic answer to growing rugby league into new markets is limiting Brisbane to just two teams. I very much doubt South Australians have gathered together and decided they will only support our game under the condition Brisbane is under serviced.

Regardless of how many teams there are in Brisbane, rugby league will remain a minority sport in Adelaide because the bulk of its sports community are emotionally saddled onto fumbleball.

Nick Politis reckons the 18th team should be the Brisbane Tigers or Ipswich Jets, BTW. It's as if the successful professional businessmen who run our game are saying they don't agree with you!

Pippen94

All you've proved is there's a strong appetite for rugby league in Logan that doesn't exist in Adelaide.

Putting a team in Adelaide isn't going to make it a rugby league stronghold. At best, it'll become a niche product in a small capital city that is more set in its ways than Melbourne and receives little interstate migration from rugby league states.

You and your mates think the magic answer to growing rugby league into new markets is limiting Brisbane to just two teams. I very much doubt South Australians have gathered together and decided they will only support our game under the condition Brisbane is under serviced.

Regardless of how many teams there are in Brisbane, rugby league will remain a minority sport in Adelaide because the bulk of its sports community are emotionally saddled onto fumbleball.

Nick Politis reckons the 18th team should be the Brisbane Tigers or Ipswich Jets, BTW. It's as if the successful professional businessmen who run our game are saying they don't agree with you!

..this. Plus Brisbane growing much faster than Adelaide..

Canard

Yes, they have. You ranted about Singaporean culture not being compatible with rugby league a few months ago. There's been plenty of posts on LU ridiculing the idea of promoting the game to the Chinese.

Do you have any evidence for this?

I couldn't find anything to support your claim.

That's an interesting question. According to the web search results, Chinese immigration to Australia has been fluctuating in recent years, depending on various factors such as visa policies, economic conditions, and the COVID-19 pandemic.

Some key points from the results are:

- China has been the largest source of permanent migrants to Australia since 2011¹.
- In 2020, there were 650,600 Chinese-born people living in Australia, making them the third-largest migrant group after the United Kingdom and India².
- However, this was a decrease of 17,300 people from 2019, when there were 667,900 Chinese-born people in Australia².
- The COVID-19 pandemic had a significant impact on the migration patterns in 2020, as travel restrictions and border closures reduced the number of arrivals and departures².
- The permanent migration program also changed in 2020, with a reduced cap of 160,000 places and a greater focus on regional migration and skilled workers¹.
- The number of Chinese migrants who obtained permanent visas under the business innovation and investment category increased from 2,872 in 2019 to 5,157 in 2020, while those who obtained skilled independent visas decreased from 1,367 to 941 in the same period¹.
- The number of Chinese migrants who obtained partner visas also increased from 3,553 in 2019 to 7,765 in 2020¹.

Based on these data, it seems that Chinese immigration to Australia is not on a steady decline, but rather varies depending on the circumstances and opportunities. It is possible that the migration trends will change again once the pandemic situation improves and the travel restrictions are eased. What are your thoughts on this topic? 😊

Source: Conversation with Bing, 13/8/2023
(1) Permanent migration from China - Department of Home Affairs. https://www.homeaffairs.gov.au/rese...y-profiles/profiles/peoples-republic-of-china.
(2) Migration, Australia - Australian Bureau of Statistics. https://www.abs.gov.au/statistics/people/population/migration-australia/latest-release.
(3) A Brief History of Chinese Migration to Australia - The LOTE Agency. https://www.loteagency.com.au/a-brief-history-of-chinese-migration-to-australia/.
(4) Chinese Immigration to Australia and Chinese Australians. https://aus.thechinastory.org/archive/chinese-immigration-to-australia-and-chinese-australians/.​

No one said that you patronising dickhead. Change your name to Strawman. That's all your bullshit posts amount to.

Here's an example of the local Chinese community in southern Brisbane getting behind the Sunnybank Dragons after the club reached out to them.

Argh, the old "no true Scotsman" fallacy. Dickhead.

I'll play the game.

If you're a "true Cowboys fan" then why did you pack your bags and f**k off to Melbourne?

"No true Cowboys fan" would leave rugby league paradise to live in a fumbleball worshipping shithole.

Not only are you not a "true Cowboys fan", but you're not even a "true Queenslander".

Ridiculing an idea isn't racism mate. You're so sensitive you can't take any criticism of your ideas without getting sooky.

All your AI sourced data is limited to 2021. It's out of date.

A park rugby team, signing up 80 players to play touch footy is a total nothing. To try to claim that should be a model to follow for the Dragons is embarrassing shallow.

Broncos fans like you are the reason Cowboys fans like me hate the club.

mongoose

I never said Adelaide would became a Rugby League stronghold lol

wow, that's what you got from my comments?

bringing up on the spot, throwaway comments made to the media as argumentative evidence again. Politis is like 80 years old and he probably has his own personal agendas in regards to expansion. I don't give a shit what he thinks or wants.

Wb1234

I never said Adelaide would became a Rugby League stronghold lol

wow, that's what you got from my comments?

bringing up on the spot, throwaway comments made to the media as argumentative evidence again. Politis is like 80 years old and he probably has his own personal agendas in regards to expansion. I don't give a shit what he thinks or wants.
Polites recently updated those comments to support Perth and a 20 team comp

Nutz

Tigers should retain their brand, but maybe rename themselves the Western Sydney Tigers?

I don't think it would be wise adopting the Magpies brand. An entire generation of Wests Tigers fans have grown up never seeing the Magpies play in the NRL.
Even though I was Balmain Tigers originally it's Wests that have kept the joint venture alive through the giant Wests Ashfield club.
Western Suburbs have the "reserve grade" team in KOE so Wests name is more sustainable IMO.
I agree that the Tigers brand is way more commercially attractive to sponsors and the majority of supporters who follow Wests Tigers.
The club has a huge junior base in the Macarthur region too.
As I said before, Rugby League is an eastern board sport and it should be strengthened in every way.
When I was a boy living in Cobar our family drove all the way to Sydney to watch Balmain. There are a lot of diehards like our family who still do this...in North Queensland supporters travel miles to watch a game in Townsville eg from Mt Isa, Charters Towers, Bowen and some Melbourne folks travel to Canberra and Raider's fans to Sydney.
The only thing I'm pointing out here is the game is predominantly Sydney based and radiates from there. It's the same in Brisbane where it radiates from Suncorp.
I absolutely agree with previous comments that clubs should travel more to the country. I would go further by saying it should be compulsory that clubs take 2 games to the country every season which should be to their feeder clubs. The Cowboys go north to Cairns and west to Mt Isa, Melbourne travel to the riverina etc. Sydney based teams go west to Bathurst etc.
We watch more games on TV now than ever before so kids in country areas will still follow their team especially if they get to see and interact with their heroes twice a year.
The NRL buses take their coaching clinics all over Australia, PNG and NZ.

Wb1234

Even though I was Balmain Tigers originally it's Wests that have kept the joint venture alive through the giant Wests Ashfield club.
Western Suburbs have the "reserve grade" team in KOE so Wests name is more sustainable IMO.
I agree that the Tigers brand is way more commercially attractive to sponsors and the majority of supporters who follow Wests Tigers.
The club has a huge junior base in the Macarthur region too.
As I said before, Rugby League is an eastern board sport and it should be strengthened in every way.
When I was a boy living in Cobar our family drove all the way to Sydney to watch Balmain. There are a lot of diehards like our family who still do this...in North Queensland supporters travel miles to watch a game in Townsville eg from Mt Isa, Charters Towers, Bowen and some Melbourne folks travel to Canberra and Raider's fans to Sydney.
The only thing I'm pointing out here is the game is predominantly Sydney based and radiates from there. It's the same in Brisbane where it radiates from Suncorp.
I absolutely agree with previous comments that clubs should travel more to the country. I would go further by saying it should be compulsory that clubs take 2 games to the country every season which should be to their feeder clubs. The Cowboys go north to Cairns and west to Mt Isa, Melbourne travel to the riverina etc. Sydney based teams go west to Bathurst etc.
We watch more games on TV now than ever before so kids in country areas will still follow their team especially if they get to see and interact with their heroes twice a year.
The NRL buses take their coaching clinics all over Australia, PNG and NZ.
image.jpg