Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Building the next NZ team

final say

Its not rocket scientist! How many fans do you think travel more than 60mins to a stadium every game?
Are you suggesting that only people that can travel to games are fans??
Doesn't the game get most of it's money from subscription TV??
So you're in Perth I'm assuming.. and because you're not within 30 minutes of a stadium, you're not a fan then right?

" not rocket science " AKA my made up story.

final say

bit simplisitc tbh. Cowboys have struggled in past to be sustainable and also relied on pokies to cover their losses. Also RL in Townsville is the #1 sport where as it isnt in Wellington, lastly Cowboys have an amazing corporate portfolio (probably due to being the only major sports club in NQ) which again Wellington may struggle to match.

Id say min size for a non RL city to make NRLs club viable is at least 500k with some decent business interests based there. Again bit simplistic as the reality isnt population size but can you get 15k paying attendee avg, 20-30k members, $1.5mill + merch sales and $7mill + corporate and sponsorship sales. If you can then you'll be sustainable in the NRL in this day and age regardless of population.
You need a girl mate.

So you're in Perth I'm assuming.. and because you're not within 30 minutes of a stadium, you're not a fan then right?

I'm suggesting they are the ones that put money into the clubs pockets and keep the doors open.

No, not at club level. Clubs get $17-19mill from NRL ie TV grant and $20mill plus from FC operations. Active fanbase matters!

Of course there are other less active fans, some that contribute financially in other ways, buying merch and getting out of town memberships for example. But 90% of a clubs fan based revenue will come from fans who are active, attending games and buying full memberships. And most of them will live within 1hour travel of the stadium.

final say

oh great we've got another top contributor joining us in the expansion threads!
Sorry I'm not busy imagining figures to bolster support for a team in my area.

most sporting franchisees in Australia are successful Despite your made up figures.
Honestly, you've clearly put a lot of time into pure nonsense- get a girlfriend.

MugaB

Welcome to the party pal, all expansion threads are littered with these so called "facts"

The problem is some people are unable to critically analyse (or even take much notice) of what they are reading. Rarely are things stated as fact (unless its WB lol) and mostly as opinion. For example I started the sentence with 'I'd say ' which clearly indicates I'm posting an opinion not a known fact.

MugaB

The problem is some people are unable to critically analyse (or even take much notice) of what they are reading. Rarely are things stated as fact (unless its WB lol) and mostly as opinion. For example I started the sentence with 'I'd say ' which clearly indicates I'm posting an opinion not a known fact.
Well, I'd say you're a hypocrite, and enjoy talking expansion with you, but your opinion is constantly geared to drive the case of perf ahead of anything else.. so you can critically analyse all you want, but it becomes skewed or bias everytime

SpaceMonkey

Bit of a furphy regional connections though. once you get more than an hour from the stadium the active fan interest level drops off dramatically.
Yeah this. The half million for Wellington is the population within 30-40 min drive or an easy train ride.
not counting Hawkes Bay, Manawatu, Taranaki etc.

Well, I'd say you're a hypocrite, and enjoy talking expansion with you, but your opinion is constantly geared to drive the case of perf ahead of anything else.. so you can critically analyse all you want, but it becomes skewed or bias everytime
which is not the same thing we were talking about lol, I dont hide that I am biased towards Perth getting an NRl club, why wouldnt I be?

But thats nothing to do with things presented as fact or opinion. That some cant tell the difference when they read posts is a reflection on their lack of comprehension of context more than the posters contribution Id say!

SpaceMonkey

Wellington itself has about 220k, while the ACT (effectively Canberra) has just under 470k.

Add in the broader metro and surrounding regions and Wellington is about 440k give or take, while Canberra/Queanbeyan alone is closer to 500k. Add in other towns in the direct region and Canberra is probably closer to 520k give or take. It depends a lot on where you draw line, and that's extremely heavily debated on ACT/NSW border.

So it's actually the other way around and Canberra is a bit larger than Wellington. Canberra and surrounding regions are growing faster as well.
The 220K is a meaningless number for this argument- it’s simply the population within a particular council boundary and has no relevance to potential support for a sports team. Porirua, Lower Hutt, Wainuiomata and Upper Hutt are all fully or partially within half an hour of the stadium and often closer than many parts of Wellington proper. Outside of the broader metro area the Kapiti Coast, Carterton etc are also close enough to realistically fall into the same catchment and that gives you the half million or so I quoted.

Matua

Yeah this. The half million for Wellington is the population within 30-40 min drive or an easy train ride.
not counting Hawkes Bay, Manawatu, Taranaki etc.
Before we realised that the Canes don't give a shit about us (actively hate us might be more appropriate ;) ) there used to be multiple buses going down to Canes games from the Bay.

Matiunz

Before we realised that the Canes don't give a shit about us (actively hate us might be more appropriate ;) ) there used to be multiple buses going down to Canes games from the Bay.
In the early days as a kid I used to go to the Maclean Park games every couple of years when they were in town and a couple in palmy with the old man- even went to a couple at Yarrow before the Naki jumped ship.
Travelled to a couple of the Warriors Wellington games when I was at Massey too.
A couple of token games in the provinces keeps those fans fairly well engaged for NZ2 also I’d say

Matua

In the early days as a kid I used to go to the Maclean Park games every couple of years when they were in town and a couple in palmy with the old man- even went to a couple at Yarrow before the Naki jumped ship.
Travelled to a couple of the Warriors Wellington games when I was at Massey too.
A couple of token games in the provinces keeps those fans fairly well engaged for NZ2 also I’d say
I was at uni in 1995/1996 so went to both the first Warriors match at Mt Smart in 1995 and the first Canes match in Palmy in 1996. I also went to the first Chiefs match two days later in Hamilton.

Those early years of the Warriors and Super were great as I was at uni so had free weekends to trip around to games. The tickets were a lot cheaper then too.

TheEroticGamer

Considering Welly and Church are pretty equal when it comes to population, it’s quite hard to justify the South losing out. The quality gap in stadiums is too great.

Matiunz

Considering Welly and Church are pretty equal when it comes to population, it’s quite hard to justify the South losing out. The quality gap in stadiums is too great.
It’s a bit hard to judge when one hasn’t been built yet. Roofed stadiums have their own issues, foresyth Barr has been absolutely arctic the couple of times I’ve been there with the breeze coming in