Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Central Coast Bears NRL Bid.

The Great Dane

There is little connection between popularity of jnr regos and popularity of professional teams. In WA soccer registrations for Jnrs are higher than AFL yet Eagles get 45k, Dockers get 40k and Glory get sub 10k. To suggest soccer is taking over anywhere just because it is an easy game for little kids to play is laughable.

Exactly.

In most places soccer only gets so many juniors because mothers sign up their young kids to play when they are 4 or so years old, often I find that when these kids get to about 7-10 years old many move on to other sports.

In Canberra I find that many, if not most of the boys move on to one of the Rugby's and most of the girls move on to netball or basketball, I would imagine that there is a similar situation on the Central Coast and pretty much everywhere else in Australia.

Beowulf

There is little connection between popularity of jnr regos and popularity of professional teams. In WA soccer registrations for Jnrs are higher than AFL yet Eagles get 45k, Dockers get 40k and Glory get sub 10k. To suggest soccer is taking over anywhere just because it is an easy game for little kids to play is laughable.
Agree - soccer regos will always be high for young kids. But my point is that regos as a % are increasing - RL are decreasing. Local national exposure is obviously a factor. I do say it can be correctedly overnight with a CC Bears license. But if no license is forthcoming, there will be serious long term consequences for RL. As long as WA get a license I'm sure you won't mind if we get one also!

The Great Dane

Agree - soccer regos will always be high for young kids. But my point is that regos as a % are increasing - RL are decreasing. Local national exposure is obviously a factor. I do say it can be correctedly overnight with a CC Bears license. But if no license is forthcoming, there will be serious long term consequences for RL. As long as WA get a license I'm sure you won't mind if we get one also!

I would be interested to find out if that increase in soccer regos and decrease in RL regos is only in younger age groups or if it is in all age groups, because if it is in the latter their may be a problem but whether or not the Bears is the answer I can not say at the moment.

Peter C

The priorities for NRL expansion are,

1. Another Brisbane team, but will not happen until the agreement with the
Broncos runs out.
2. Perth, this is a no brainer due to the time difference.
3. Cental Queensland, or a team out of Wellington NZ.
5. Adelaide, was tried before and will prove to be successful given time.
6. Central Coast or PNG, problem with the CC is that it will be perceived as
another Sydney team in what needs to be a national competition and probably too close to Newcastle and Manly to grab the corporate dollar.

Beowulf

6. Central Coast or PNG, problem with the CC is that it will be perceived as
another Sydney team in what needs to be a national competition and probably too close to Newcastle and Manly to grab the corporate dollar.
That may be te perception of some but is easily countered.
1. The CC Bears already have corporates locked in once a license is granted - none of whom conflict with other teams as these sponsors are being arranged through executives/organisations who will only support a Bears NRL team. This will be presented to the NRL when bids are submitted.
2. The Central Coast is not Sydney or Newcastle - the poor access to NRL grounds from northern Sydney/Central Coast precludes regular attendances at grounds and prevents to code from growing to its potential.
3. Regardless of some of the virtues of other bids, many/all will not be as viable as the CC bid long term.

Dots on a map are lovely, but low cost/risk and sustainability will be key criteria. A balanced approach may be to add one high risk/return bid with one hearland low risk bid to diversify risk/benefit....hence WA or CQLD with the Bears is one viable scenario. Can't see them going WA & CQLD together due risk factors. Or they may shore up hearland first and go SEQ & Bears...who knows??? We've been debating this for years and are no closer.

I would like them to announce 2 as succesful bidders, with 2 to follow a few years later. Whatever combo of CC,WA,QLD (SEQ &/or CQLD), NZ2. Letting these long run bids die will make it harder to ever regenerate in future.

dots on a map? Suggesting a NSW map needs more dots as people aren't already following NRL unless there is an NRL team in their suburb is laughable.

If I lived in a place where i have a number of NRL teams I could follow within an 60-90min drive from me, where I was getting 5-8 NRL games a year in my town, where there was plenty of jnr clubs I could choose to sign my kids up to and where the media/TV was RL biased, I would say I had no excuse not to be a NRL fan.

Without knowing the ins and outs of each bid's business strategy you have no idea which are or are not long term viable.

Red&BlackBear

Without knowing the ins and outs of each bid's business strategy you have no idea which are or are not long term viable.

Neither do you mate. Hasn't stopped you in the past.

As for CQ, well each year another disaster hits takes away any government money towards any stadium development. North Bundy is in the shitter, more important things to spend money on then a new stadium and if any money is allocated give it to the Cows cause Dairy Farmers/1300 smiles desperately needs an upgrade.

My sister-in-law says that the team with the best logo(s) should get in the NRL. f**k it makes me laugh.

Always bleats on about how Central Coast AND Bears don't really go well together.

And since she lives in Gosford, I don't argue with her.

Neither do you mate. Hasn't stopped you in the past.

I have only ever said the warl bid is sustainable as I know a lot of detail about our bid. I have never suggested the Perth bid is the most sustainable as I have little idea of what the other bids have lined up, unlike certain bears fans.

Red&BlackBear

My sister-in-law says that the team with the best logo(s) should get in the NRL. f**k it makes me laugh.

Always bleats on about how Central Coast AND Bears don't really go well together.

And since she lives in Gosford, I don't argue with her.

That's a shame. Guess the Bears will have to get a demolishing crew up to Bluetongue and bring it down since they built the bloody thing. I guess all the initiatives the Bears have done since 1908 counts for nothing and that the pathway to the NRL from the CC originally due to the Bears doesn't mean anything either.

How much did the Council and the government put up towards the building of the stadium, compared to the Bears?

I am sorry you feel that way.

A lot of things about the CC Bears I find interesting.

If you live on the CC and express a valid opinion that you'd like you're own NRL team, and not the Bears, you are vilified by people who probably don't live on the CC and are clinging to the memories of a 15 year dead team in the top flight.

If you're a CC person and you go to Gosford Stadium, you're continually reminded that it's actually 'the Bears stadium' though they appear to have a very slim chance of ever actually playing in it. Ever.

That CC juniors would never, ever find a pathway to the NRL without all the hard work of the Bears on the CC. And that there is so much CC talent, the Bears are being perennially overlooked for a NRL team.

That unlucky circumstances and finances somehow cruelled the Bears. The same could be said for St George, arguably one of the GREATEST RL clubs EVER who had to merge with Illawarra to survive. If Illawarra, which I see almost the same as CC, couldn't survive on their own, how does CC expect to on its own? And Norths won 2 comps and hadn't won one for nearly 80 years.

The same unlucky circumstances and financial plights could be said for the Magpies and Tigers, both great clubs but time was called on them both in the top flight. Or Newtown for that matter. They relocated to Campbelltown and were culled. The same misty eyed sentiments are expressed for the Jets but we all know they are never coming back and have maintained their presence in the NSW Cup.

And Norths could have stood and fought. Souths did. They got back in...wrongly or rightly, but they did fight. They could have made a fist of the merger - Tigers and Dragons have. Both won comps.

And the merger with Manly? Geez, the day it was announced EVERYONE knew that it was the worst thing ever. But that said, Manly got the licence and rebuilt their club in to a Premiership force. I didn't see them bleating woe be me during the lean 2003-2005/6 years. They copped on the chin and rebuilt. Sure, I believe that CC should have retained the NRL licence, but who was going to take it on? What consortium would have paid for a NRL franchise with little to no build up time?

Campbelltown, arguably one of the bigger nurseries for RL players doesn't even have it's own team. Hell, they bloody share one who plays FOUR...yes FOUR games in the area. That means a stadium that the council refurbished for the Wests Tigers has FOUR days a year of NRL. How many games are there at Gosford this year? FOUR! So the CC gets as many games for an area that doesn't have a team as an area that shares a team.

And finally, I reckon plenty of the CC members are just footy fans who feel sorry for Norths and sign up. But will they be there if and when the CC Bears kick off?

Don't get me wrong, I'd like to see the Bears come back. But at the end of the day, the NRL needs to decide if they want/need a CC team. Then the CC needs to decide if they want/need the Bears. I feel for the Norths fans. But having been both a North Shore and CC resident, the Bears supporters I know moved on. The CC residents want a NRL team and not necessarily the Bears. And many RL fans I socialise/work with believe Perth and a 2nd Brisbane and/or NZ team would be better for RL than the CC.

Beowulf

so are you going to answer the question?.....how much did the bears put in compared to the Council and the Government?

I think it was around $5-6m, every cent the Bears had. $5-6m more than any other club trying to bludge off our work. The others stakeholders in pure dollar terms, more obviously. The council and Government were not going to build the stadium except the Bears got an express guarantee that would have the license for ever (no qualifications). The Bears pushed the council and Govt based on this guarantee, and renamed themselves....a relocation and name change that had been envisaged in the late 80's and attempted in 1991. You cannot deny that without the efforts of the Bears Bluetongue would not be there and they have an intrinsic right to call it their stadium. The Bears still own a % of playing rights - they, the next Federal Treasurer and the current Premier of NSW will ensure no parasitic team will be relocating there.