Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Coronavirus and NRL

Up up VLandys for having the LEADERSHIP to at least give us a second round of footy

it’s not like he had a choice, NRL can’t afford not to be playing, just like my company can’t afford to just stop everyone working.

enjoy it whilst we can, if we keep on this path we will some be up with Europe and everything will be closed down.

can we have vossy and warren Smith call all the games please, they are as entertaining as the game taking place.

Spot On

it’s not like he had a choice, NRL can’t afford not to be playing, just like my company can’t afford to just stop everyone working.

enjoy it whilst we can, if we keep on this path we will some be up with Europe and everything will be closed down.

can we have vossy and warren Smith call all the games please, they are as entertaining as the game taking place.

There was always a choice but he made the hard one. The choice no other sport in the world had the balls to make.

He had the balls to stand up, quicker than anyone else and say it how it is. He had a plan. He showed outstanding LEADERSHIP and genuine care for the game

Bloke is a legend.

Not his fault all the tv rights money has been pissed away previously.

unforgiven

Found the world wide raw testing data up to today and created this graph.
upload_2020-3-21_19-50-1.png
Entity Code Total COVID-19 tests
China - Guangdong 320000
South Korea KOR 316664
Italy ITA 206886
Germany DEU 167000
Russia RUS 143519
United Arab Emirates ARE 125000
Australia AUS 113615
Canada CAN 113121
United States USA 103945
Iran IRN 80000
United Kingdom GBR 64621
Canada - National lab 54956
Norway NOR 43735
Australia - New South Wales 39089
United States - CDC samples tested 37646
France FRA 36747
Spain ESP 30000
Australia - Queensland 27000
Taiwan TWN 21376
Canada - Ontario 19511
Australia - Victoria 19337
Bahrain BHR 18645
Belgium BEL 18360
Canada - Alberta 17013
Australia - South Australia 16717
Belarus BLR 16000
Vietnam VNM 15637
Austria AUT 15613
Japan JPN 14901
India IND 14514
Sweden SWE 14300
Malaysia MYS 13876
Poland POL 13072
Czech Republic CZE 11619
Israel ISR 10864
Denmark DNK 10730
Canada - Quebec 10451
Slovenia SVN 9860
Iceland ISL 9189
Australia - Western Australia 8603
Qatar QAT 8400
Romania ROU 8284
Thailand THA 7084
Ireland IRL 6600
South Africa ZAF 6438
Canada - British Columbia 6326
Netherlands NLD 6000
Hong Kong HKG 5271
Colombia COL 4103
Switzerland CHE 4000
Latvia LVA 3205
Hungary HUN 3007
Finland FIN 3000
Brazil BRA 2927
Turkey TUR 2900
Slovakia SVK 2707
Canada - Saskatchewan 2561
Palestine PSE 2519
Estonia EST 2504
Australia - Australian Capital Territory 2062
Indonesia IDN 2028
Pakistan PAK 1979
Faeroe Islands FRO 1641
Canada - Nova Scotia 1561
Kyrgyzstan KGZ 1545
Panama PAN 1455
Philippines PHL 1269
Croatia HRV 1264
Lithuania LTU 1154
Costa Rica CRI 1039
Malta MLT 889
Armenia ARM 813
Australia - Tasmania 807
New Zealand NZL 584
Canada - New Brunswick 520
Ukraine UKR 316
Mexico MEX 278
Canada - Northwest Territories 222

There was always a choice but he made the hard one. The choice no other sport in the world had the balls to make.

He had the balls to stand up, quicker than anyone else and say it how it is. He had a plan. He showed outstanding LEADERSHIP and genuine care for the game

Bloke is a legend.

Not his fault all the tv rights money has been pissed away previously.

err no there wasn’t, they stop playing they are fcked, and we are not in the same space as the rest of the world when they made there call to suspend play. We’ll probably be there in three to four weeks. Enjoy it while we can. His gov begging first presser was dead set embarrassing for the code.

Spot On

Bollocks.

There is always a choice.

He showed incredible courage to make the decision to play on. Even if we get only this round in, he has done a brilliant job.

And asking for help was exactly the right thing to do. Again, he was well ahead of the curve.

Wake up Red. You are rivaling Timmah in the no sense competition.

Bollocks.

There is always a choice.

He showed incredible courage to make the decision to play on. Even if we get only this round in, he has done a brilliant job.

And asking for help was exactly the right thing to do. Again, he was well ahead of the curve.

Wake up Red. You are rivaling Timmah in the no sense competition.

haha, Vlandys “should we postpone the season”
Greenberg “ were totally fcked if we do”
Vlandys “oh ok then lets keep playing”

such heroism.

parrawentyfan

It's the players that are courageous- not the administrators. Anyone else having to put up with such a massive WHS issue would be wanting additional hazard pay - not a pay cut.

Wizardman

It is quite incredible that we are the only country on the planet playing live sport at the moment. People involved in the game are putting themselves on a pedestal saying how brave and resilient they are when in reality, the NRL are as desperate and pathetic as a European tourist in a poor country begging for money to further their travels. Competitions richer and poorer than the NRL have all shut down because it is the right thing to do. What exempts the NRL, AFL and the A-League from following their community responsibility?

Rugby league is a business, I get that. But, we are part of a worldwide health crisis. With flu season yet to really come upon us, our health system is very much at risk. So, in regards to the NRL crying poor if the games are not played, I say tough titties. By continuing to play a game that is in total opposition to the minimal interaction world we are now in smacks of desperation and irresponsibility. The NRL are also putting players families at risk by playing on.

Rugby league won't die. Our administration may go broke but the game won't. The game would absolutely rebuild itself no matter what damage is done over the next few months.

Dave's mate

It is quite incredible that we are the only country on the planet playing live sport at the moment. People involved in the game are putting themselves on a pedestal saying how brave and resilient they are when in reality, the NRL are as desperate and pathetic as a European tourist in a poor country begging for money to further their travels. Competitions richer and poorer than the NRL have all shut down because it is the right thing to do. What exempts the NRL, AFL and the A-League from following their community responsibility?

Rugby league is a business, I get that. But, we are part of a worldwide health crisis. With flu season yet to really come upon us, our health system is very much at risk. So, in regards to the NRL crying poor if the games are not played, I say tough titties. By continuing to play a game that is in total opposition to the minimal interaction world we are now in smacks of desperation and irresponsibility. The NRL are also putting players families at risk by playing on.

Rugby league won't die. Our administration may go broke but the game won't. The game would absolutely rebuild itself no matter what damage is done over the next few months.
Whats the difference between me and footy players? I'm a tradie working in very confined spaces with lots of others. This on our government not the NRL

Spanner in the works

On another note, I've always thought the NRL should be allocating some of the revenue toward investing in companies that directly impact the game. I'm thinking partial stadium ownership, businesses like Spotless, sports merchandise companies like Nike and Adidas, providers of digital/ICT infrastructure, investment in media companies, etc. 1) it provides an additional revenue source outside traditional sources 2) it gives us a bit more say in how the game is run by giving the NRL shareholder rights and 3) we can sell them off at any time, whether that's to raise emergency cash or to invest in a great opportunity (like majority stadium ownership).

Posted this in 2016, but said something similar in 2012, and I really wish it had happened...