Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Craig Stanaway - Ace Reporter

Auckland4ever

Craig Stanaway said:
I haven't even done the interviews yet but as long as you are talking about what I do then I am doing my job correctly.

And if you prefer criticising me on this or any forum, go ahead. I am not in the least bit offended and I would prefer you talked about my reports than not talk about me at all.

These two paragraphs sum it all up for me with regards to the mainstream media in this country and beyond.

"Doing your job" as a journalist is centered around maintaning/boosting your readership/viewership/listenership. Integrity doesnt pay the bills.

We're inundated with negative press because negativity brings out the most emotive responses in us(not always a bad thing).
The emphasis isnt on providing information to people, its on the packaging put around that information.
The juicier the angle you can put on a story, the shinier the package.
And as this thread proves, if you want to generate interest in yourself or your brand, going for the juiciest angle works to a tee.

I know some Warriors fans would like to think that there is a mediawide conspiracy against the Warriors & RL, but as far as I'm concerned, the mainstream media in NZ is just "doing its job" by focusing on the most sensational elements of the events it covers and/or accentuating the negative, or dare I say it, sometimes even the positive. None of these particular types of coverage are specific to our club or code.

Oh, and Craig, as far as 'putting the boot in' goes, you're a total amateur. Take a look around these forums to see how the professionals do it. If you're short on time, just type these two words into the search engine: "Jerome Ropati".

RHYTHM AND STEALTH said:
I will never watch TV1 sports news again cos its tossers like you that try and put the boot into League. f**k off and report Union twat

Jesus mate at least the guy has made himself approachable and open to discussion. If you want the opportunity to air your grievances and perhaps get the chance to speak to the ACTUAL guy in question, perhaps telling people to 'f**k off' and calling them 'twats' isn't the best way doing it.

I get pissed off at the piss weak coverage league gets over at TV1, and to some extent TV3, if the Warriors are doing well you don't hear a thing, but as soon as the mess up the news media jumps on the bandwagon. But having said that I appreciate the guy coming on here to try and explain his reasoning, we haven't seen a lot of it from the other culprits over time - wheres Jessup explaining why he can't string together more than 2 sentences with correct information in them, or Deaker explaining why he puts the boot into League whenever he gets the chance.

Some of the responses in this thread are utterly disgraceful.

ozbash

Mixmasterreece said:
Jesus mate at least the guy has made himself approachable and open to discussion. If you want the opportunity to air your grievances and perhaps get the chance to speak to the ACTUAL guy in question, perhaps telling people to 'f**k off' and calling them 'twats' isn't the best way doing it.

I get pissed off at the piss weak coverage league gets over at TV1, and to some extent TV3, if the Warriors are doing well you don't hear a thing, but as soon as the mess up the news media jumps on the bandwagon. But having said that I appreciate the guy coming on here to try and explain his reasoning, we haven't seen a lot of it from the other culprits over time.

Some of the responses in this thread are disgraceful.

and thats how people like sytanaway get away with it. Kiwis are just too accepting.

I dont mind negative press if its warrented or deserved.
I admire people like deeks and jessup, at least they have the balls to do an about face when the game gets its act together and give credit when its due. I sometimes wonder if TVNZ is funded by the NZRFU, seemingly lying in wait for league to do something wrong and jumping on the band wagon.

Stanaway suggested watching the ridgey/monty interview last night. I did. I heard his voice but didnt see him,,, was it just a voice over ? shouldve imagined monty would have loved to see him...

if bad press is deserved, so be it,, but typewriter cowboys like this bloke are in it just to promote sh*t,, for the sake of it.

And as far as
I challenge each and everyone of you to put your name forward and that way people on here may give you inside scoops or better still suggest what you should write about.
goes, if the interviewer is talking to a person, cool. if they are interviewing their typewriter then they can get f**ked.

how many times do we hear the words "could,should, is rumoured,may" in our news ?

Skinner

Mixmasterreece said:

I get pissed off at the piss weak coverage league gets over at TV1, and to some extent TV3, if the Warriors are doing well you don't hear a thing, but as soon as the mess up the news media jumps on the bandwagon. But having said that I appreciate the guy coming on here to try and explain his reasoning, we haven't seen a lot of it from the other culprits over time.

Some of the responses in this thread are disgraceful.

I agree reece....ABSOLUTELY DISGRACEFUL.

The very least some of you can do is to show some respect to the guy for fronting
up to answer his critics.

Why would Craig, or anybody else for that matter, bother turning up any more to
hold any rational debate when they are subjected to the abuse such as in this
thread.

Hang your heads in shame.....no wonder no one bothers to report league in a positive
manner.

Well done "fans"

Skinner

ozbash said:
and thats how people like sytanaway get away with it. Kiwis are just too accepting.

I admire people like deeks and jessup, at least they have the balls to do an about face when the game gets its act together and give credit when its due. I sometimes wonder if TVNZ is funded by the NZRFU, seemingly lying in wait for league to do something wrong and jumping on the band wagon.

Stanaway suggested watching the ridgey/monty interview last night. I did. I heard his voice but didnt see him,,, was it just a voice over ? shouldve imagined monty would have loved to see him...

if bad press is deserved, so be it,, but typewriter cowboys like this bloke are in it just to promote sh*t,, for the sake of it.

And as far as goes, if the interviewer is talking to a person, cool. if they are interviewing their typewriter then they can get f**ked.

how many times do we hear the words "could,should, is rumoured,may" in our news ?

That does not mean that they can be subjected to personal abuse.............

Rich102

Mixmasterreece said:

I get pissed off at the piss weak coverage league gets over at TV1, and to some extent TV3, if the Warriors are doing well you don't hear a thing, but as soon as the mess up the news media jumps on the bandwagon. But having said that I appreciate the guy coming on here to try and explain his reasoning, we haven't seen a lot of it from the other culprits over time - wheres Jessup explaining why he can't string together more than 2 sentences with correct information in them, or Deaker explaining why he puts the boot into League whenever he gets the chance.

Some of the responses in this thread are utterly disgraceful.

I thought most of the criticism was because as soon as they did well the media over-hyped their chances.
Other than that I agree entirely with your sentiments.
We get one reporter prepared to front up and listen to us and we repay that by treating him with total disrespect. Don't be surprised if he doesn't come back.

ozbash said:

And as far as goes, if the interviewer is talking to a person, cool. if they are interviewing their typewriter then they can get f**ked.

We're going to have to agree to disagree here. I understand your a passionate league fan with best intentions at heart, but if you think this is the proper way of conducting yourself in this situation then I'm confused.

Sure criticism where criticism is deserved, but when the guy has the balls to front his critics and try to pay YOU the respect of responding, to try and boo him out of the conversation is just reprehensible.

And "Kiwis are just too accepting" ? In a country where Tall poppy syndrome is rife I find this hard to believe.

And just on your Monty jibe, Craig has commented on this in another forum :

Craig Stanaway said:
I also, while I have the opportunity, would just like to revisit the Monty Betham interview very briefly. It's been reported that I agreed not to ask the question about the booing. That is not true. I want you to know, I do not do any interview with anyone if they give a proviso "don't ask........" For what it's worth, Monty and I have moved on. I think he's a top bloke and I think he knows I think that. I have done a couple of interviews recently with him and he's great company and I really hope the boxing is a success. But I stand by asking the question at the time. Unfortunately that is my job, to ask questions people don't want to answer. I don't do my job to be popular. You just can't do it properly if you want to be popular.

Rich102

The Warriors already have one sports reporter on their books. How much good publicity does that buy them?

RHYTHM AND STEALTH said:
If that is really you replying Craig then piss off to another forum.
Hardly your call to make.

Everyone is entitled to join the forum and air their views. As mixmastereece said: "at least the guy has made himself approachable."

Anyone who is willing to take their critics head-on deserves some credit for doing so.

In my opinion, we're better equipped to drive home our point when its delivered in a civilised manner.

Welcome to the forum Craig.

For everyone's reference, this site can be contacted at forums@leagueunlimited.com should there be any questions.

Cheers.

ozbash

Skinner said:
I agree reece....ABSOLUTELY DISGRACEFUL.

The very least some of you can do is to show some respect to the guy for fronting
up to answer his critics.

Why would Craig, or anybody else for that matter, bother turning up any more to
hold any rational debate when they are subjected to the abuse such as in this
thread.

Hang your heads in shame.....no wonder no one bothers to report league in a positive
manner.

Well done "fans"

so does this mean " be nice to craig or league will get further bad press" ?

I certainly dont think anything said here has been abusive, i think some of the stuff here has been justifiably strong and a reaction to what has been publicly aired on TVNZ.
People like stanaway create opinion, they get on the box in my living room and tell me whats going on with my chosen game and what i should think about it.
Its fine if you have the intelligence of a geniused romney and swallow the 'opinion' hook line and sinker but when they show something totally irellevant to the state of the team, the state of one of its star players (wade) you got to wonder at the reasoning and lack of intelligence behind it.

Does the constant crap ropo,mcgivor,costo and halligan cop on this board also warrant a "hang your head" ?

like it or not, stanaway is just another sports commentator. Its his choice whether or not he bows to the masses (in nz that equates to union) or develops a cluster where he gives an honest, factual report on rugby league without resorting to the sensation seeking gutter press he is famous on this board for.

Disgraceful ? I think not mate, Stanaway is disgraceful.

Skinner

ozbash said:

I certainly dont think anything said here has been abusive, i think some of the stuff here has been justifiably strong and a reaction to what has been publicly aired on TVNZ.
People like stanaway create opinion, they get on the box in my living room and tell me whats going on with my chosen game and what i should think about it.
Its fine if you have the intelligence of a geniused romney and swallow the 'opinion' hook line and sinker but when they show something totally irellevant to the state of the team, the state of one of its star players (wade) you got to wonder at the reasoning and lack of intelligence behind it.

Does the constant crap ropo,mcgivor,costo and halligan cop on this board also warrant a "hang your head" ?

like it or not, stanaway is just another sports commentator. Its his choice whether or not he bows to the masses (in nz that equates to union) or develops a cluster where he gives an honest, factual report on rugby league without resorting to the sensation seeking gutter press he is famous on this board for.

The difference is, ropo,mcgivor,costo and halligan do not front up to answer
their critics.......and none the crap put on them is anywhere near as vicious as
this.

Frankly, this truly makes me ashamed to be a league fan.

ozbash said:

I regard "prick", "tosser", "f**k off" etc to be resonably offensive Mr Bash, if you think differently please remind me never to ask you to join in on peace negotiations in the Middle East.

There are ways to conduct yourself in a way that is condusive to healthy debate - this has certainly not been one of them. I would of expected more from an elder statesman like yourself, or perhaps your temperament has been weathered by too many battles ? Your old school - I like that - but there is a time for tact and guile, and if the league public ever does want to make a difference in the media's coverage of our game, then progress isn't going to come through us abusing the first visitor from the media that sticks his head in here.

But you keep raging on against that machine Ozbash. To me the behaviour displayed in here would of reinforced any negative preconceptions Mr Stanaway may have had about League fans.

Manu Vatuvei

Craig Stanaway said:
Hi guys

It appears most of you prefer TV3 over TV1 for your league news but I hope by posting (and not anonymously) I can at least challenge your views.

Last night TV1 lead with the Warriors while TV3 lead with David Tua fighting Neville Nobody in a fight that had absolutely no relevance to anything. The Herald this morning also had the Warriors on its front page while it buried Tua on page four or something like that. And this is what we said

Tony Veitch
WELCOME BACK....
AFTER A WEEK OF EXTRAODINARY HYPE... AROUND RECORD CROWDS.. AND THE EXPECTATION OF A SIDE THAT COULD ALL THE WAY IN THE NRL... THE WARRIORS HAVE SUFFERED ONE OF THEIR MOST COSTLY DEFEATS.
COSTLY NOT JUST IN THE FORM OF TWO POINTS... BUT IN DOLLARS AND CENTS.. THE 26=24 LOSS TO CANBERRA NOW MAKES A HOME=FINAL UNLIKELY

DID ALL THE HYPE BACK HOME PLAY WITH THEIR HEADS?

commentator: A massive upset

A PUNCH IN THE GUTS WOULD HAVE HURT LESS THAN THIS REFEREEING MISTAKE LATE IN THE SECOND HALF.....

commentator: Ohhhhh

BUT AT 24=14 UP WITH UNDER A QUARTER OF AN HOUR TO GO IT SHOULDN'T HAVE MATTERED

referee: Lets get on with it Steve

INSTEAD WHAT TRANSPIRED HAS MADE EVERYONE ON BOTH SIDES OF THE TASMAN RETHINK THE WARRIORS PLAYOFF HOPES

Ivan Cleary
I don't think it's going to stop the momentum too much

BUT THOSE ARE BRAVE WORDS CONSIDERING THEY BARELY TOUCHED THE BALL IN THE LAST 12 MINUTES OF THE GAME.... HARDLY THE TYPE OF FORM YOU EXPECT FROM A GENUINE TITLE CONTENDER....

Ivan Cleary
These sorts of games you've got to get over the line,

AND REMEMBER THIS WAS AGAINST A SIDE WHICH BEFORE THIS MATCH HAD LOST SEVEN OF ITS PREVIOUS NINE GAMES.... AND HAD LEAKED 52 UNANSWERED POINTS AGAINST THE BULLDOGS THE WEEK BEFORE.

commentator: Canberra score, what a thrilling comeback

THE OMENS NEVER FELT GOOD FROM THE OUTSET..... STAR FULLBACK WADE McKINNON AGAIN A LATE SCRATCHING WITH HIS PROBLEM ANKLE...

THE WARRIORS LUCKY NOT TO CONCEDE IN THE FIRST 20 SECONDS

commentator: Todd Carnie

BUT THEY DID SETTLE DOWN.... MICHAEL CROCKETT PUTTING A TERRIBLE WEEK BEHIND HIM AND THEN MANU VATUVEI FLYING HIGH...

commentator: He's held one in the air

THE WARRIORS LEADING 18-14 AT THE BREAK

NATHAN FEIN'S TRY IN THE 53RD MINUTE SHOULD HAVE SEALED IT.... ESPECIALLY CONSIDERING MICHAEL WITT WAS LANDING ALL HIS KICKS.... YET THE JINX THAT HAS SEEN NO WARRIORS SIDE WIN IN CANBERRA IN TEN YEARS CAME BACK TO HAUNT THEM....

TALK OF THE PLAYOFFS NOW HASE BEEN BANISHED

Ivan Cleary
A tough game against Manly at home that's all we can worry about

HYPE ABOUT A HOME SEMI FINAL NOW LOOKS EXTREMELY PREMATURE... INFACT NOW.. EVEN THE PLAYOFFS ARE NOLONGER A CERTAINTY.

Now I stand to be corrected but that was an accurate report. TV3 on the other hand lifted a match report from the game from an AUSTRALIAN network which had absolutely no relevance to New Zealand viewers. It did not take into account what that result really meant to the Warriors and focused far too much on Canberra (which really was no surprise when you consider where they got it from). And the Warriors, without a doubt, were the biggest story of the weekend.

Last night TV1 provided New Zealanders reporting on a New Zealand story yet most of you it continue to knock us.... why?

I can only assume it's the message you don't like. But I make no apology that I try desperately to report things as they are.... the good and the bad. I don't hide the bad and I don't overdo the good. Credit where credit is due and in the last couple of weeks it would be foolish for any journo to knock the Warriors. But any creditable journalist must also be able to critically analyse under par performances… not be afraid to pull any punches.

It appears many of you perceive me and TVNZ as anti Warriors but I would challenge you to look at the weekend just gone from my perspective. Saturday night I watched the game in a pub and after the game people were genuinely pissed off. The next morning people are asking me... what does that result mean?? Fans on this forum and others seemed to be really frustrated. What do I do? Not report it how it was? To do that would be wrong. Yet TV3 showed complete distain to its New Zealand viewers in doing what it did.

Tonight, you should be watching TV1 because I guarantee the story we have on will generate good and bad debate. It is not a 'negative' story... I haven't even done the interviews yet but as long as you are talking about what I do then I am doing my job correctly. You've also got to realise, sports journalism is not appeasing the fans.... its being responsible to ALL viewers... fans and non fans.

Finally, if you feel the need to have a crack at me or question me don't hesitate to contact me directly. I am completely approachable and if I am wrong on anything I will hold my hand up. craig.stanaway@tvnz.co.nz And if you prefer criticising me on this or any forum, go ahead. I am not in the least bit offended and I would prefer you talked about my reports than not talk about me at all.

It promises to be an interesting couple of weeks ahead.

tbh I thought it was a PARTICULARLY poor report, and no, I don't think it was accurate or honest at all.

Indeed I made a rather derogatory comment in the comfort of my lounge room about the smarmy voiceover man, who I assume was you, which I've decided not to post here

The NRL is an extremely close competition and results fluctuate wildly from one week to the next. If you are given the job of reporting rugby league then you should be aware of this. You should have some understanding of the competition and an ability to put things in context.

The Warriors lost one game. What's more, they lost away to a team with an above par home record.

Sure, comment on a disappointing loss- but the implications of the defeat are simply not what you make them out to be.

There are hundreds of rugby league fans posting on this forum and I doubt ANY of them read as much into that one result as you have. The only people whose views that report reflects are people with no idea.

Lego_Man

I'm with ozbash. The responses were bullsh*t and didnt acknowledge the point. TVNZ journos have no idea of the nature of the NRL...they think its like the NPC where auckland can expect to turn up and flog southland by 50, never looking like losing.

The NRL is a tough 26 round grind, it's unbelievably hard on mind and body, and if you make even the slightest hiccup you'll end up out of the game.

As far as the Union comparison goes, TVNZ suck the c**k of Union 24/7. Auckland Super 14 players and All Blacks are gods to them, and theyd never "ask the hard questions", as Stanaway so eloquently puts it, to someone like Richie McCaw or Dan Carter.

The whole Brent Webb issue was basically invented by the news media. Do you think McKinnon lies awake at night, wondering if can live up to Webb's legacy? No...he probably doesnt even give a f**k, except when pricks try to invent a stupid issue when none exists. And of course hed find that offensive...hes done better than brent webb this season and you still have idiots bringing up Webb's departure as if it was some kind of mortal sin. Even the aussie news media, who arent angels themselves, would ever dream up something that stupid.

ozbash

But you keep raging on against that machine Ozbash. To me the behaviour displayed in here would of reinforced any negative preconceptions Mr Stanaway may have had about League fans.

It does reece, and 2 wrongs dont make a right. What this is, imo, is vindication. Stanaway can get on tv, say basically what he likes and get no comeback except from a few league nuts on footy forums.
He has no culpability whatsoever.

As far as the shame bit goes, i will never be ashamed by the code, i believe it has what i class as 'working mans honour' and we are its advocates.

I am a little ashamed of the negativity portrayed by fellow kiwis/administrators of the game/certain players.

As a man close to the hub, so to speak, i understand where skinz is coming from. Its not the same place i,m coming from, but i take his point.

and hes from reefton ;)

Lego_Man said:
TVNZ journos have no idea of the nature of the NRL...they think its like the NPC where auckland can expect to turn up and flog southland by 50, never looking like losing.

The NRL is a tough 26 round grind, it's unbelievably hard on mind and body, and if you make even the slightest hiccup you'll end up out of the game.

Agree - the 2 competitions are like comparing apples to oranges, something a lot of our news media fail to recognise.

Lego_Man said:
The whole Brent Webb issue was basically invented by the news media. Do you think McKinnon lies awake at night, wondering if can live up to Webb's legacy? No...he probably doesnt even give a f**k, except when pricks try to invent a stupid issue when none exists. And of course hed find that offensive...hes done better than brent webb this season and you still have idiots bringing up Webb's departure as if it was some kind of mortal sin. Even the aussie news media, who arent angels themselves, would ever dream up something that stupid.

I disagree, although I think to question Mckinnon about it IS stupid, there does seem to be some element of the fanbase that continue - or atleast did - about Mckinnon having a lot to live up to blah blah. And on the Australian media : they ask stupid questions as well, I must have seen Mullen being asked how hard it is to live up to being Joey's replacement about 5 times.

But all in all I do agree that TVNZs coverage of League is subpar when compared to that of an inferior competition like the NPC. It shows a general lack of knowledge in the sport when a reporter is unable to put a loss, win, or draw in the correct perspective.

Heres an 'interesting' piece

Some numbnuts said:
Rugby in a league of its own
http://www.stuff.co.nz/4172818a1823.html

Allow the Warriors their time in the sun but don't fear a rugby league takeover. That's the advice to the worry-warts out there predicting doom and gloom for our national game.

The Warriors are c**k-a-hoop right now although their loss to Canberra last weekend might be a bit of a reality check for themselves and their fans.

To my mind their growing support this year is more to do with their success than any out and out disenchantment with rugby as some of the dullards on talkback radio might have us believe.

League fans are a brutal lot and gaining favours from the fickle Auckland sporting scene is a tough business. In the leaguies' eyes it's all black and white – winners are grinners and losers are ... well, just losers.

That's why the Warriors have battled to get people through the gates for so long and that's why now, on the back of an entertaining brand of football and a win-loss ratio in the right order, they are finally getting bums on seats.

Good luck to 'em. But as a rugby fan, applaud them for the moment rather than fearing them long-term.

I'm sure the good rugby folk of Napier, Nelson and Blenheim aren't intimidated by what's going on at Mt Smart Stadium. The home bases for the Magpies and Makos are enjoying similar times to the Warriors – success on the field means success through the turnstiles.

League will need more than the Warriors to be a genuine threat to rugby here.

The 13-man code clings to the coat-tails of Australia for all its success through the NRL and an occasional competitive test series with the Aussies.

When it has a meaningful and well-supported national competition in New Zealand along with an effective local administration then it might be time for rugby to start looking over its shoulder.

When it has test opposition beyond Australia and Great Britain then league might really start to help its cause.

Until then, league is what it is – a sport with may more lows than highs. League and their supporters should simply enjoy their time in the spotlight for the moment.

As the Raiders showed, when it comes to any footballing code you can be heroes one minute and unlucky blokes the next.

League's greatest threat was back in rugby's "amateur" era when money could entice players to switch. The professional times have eased that problem and perhaps even turned the tide the other way in areas like Australia.

Rugby is rugby to New Zealanders and always will be. Yes, it needs a bit of tweaking but that is under way.

If the experimental rules work out and the highly-anticipated global forum on the game happens during the World Cup, the product should get even better.

Speaking of the experimental rules, rugby should be wary that it doesn't try to imitate league.

The general feel is that the "new" game is extremely fast. "Mate, it's like playing sevens," is how one Counties-Manukau player described the pace of play to me as the New Zealand trialling of the laws goes on in the provincial B competition.

Like many, he feared it could be the end for the "fatties". There are fewer scrums and lineouts so the big men could be an endangered species.

One of the many appeals of rugby is that it truly is a game for all shapes and sizes.

League has its smaller men and bigger players but the general range of physiques isn't as broad as rugby. That's why so many centres and wings in league end up as forwards as they grow older and slower.

That just doesn't happen in rugby and long may that continue.