Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Disgraceful Shameful NRL Signing

Slammin

FMD. I would be pissed if I had to play with him. I seriously hope he gets a very poor reception where ever he plays, I hope the warriors at home and warriors fans in general let their club know and let that piece of sh*t know that he doesn't belong there.

By some dumb luck his unborn child didn't die, the fact remains his intent was to kill it. Would they have signed him if he was successful in killing his baby?

I'm sure there are family guys on the warriors who must feel disgusted by this. I couldn't imagine if Steve Price was there if he would approve.

Collateral

tell that sob story to all the victims...

always criminals rights first ... second chance...blah blah...

he can have his second chance a maccas not the NRL !!!!

Such an ignorant argument. If he has no right to work in the NRL, why should Maccas give him a job? Am I missing the part where the NRL is something more than a FOOTBALL COMPETITION?

Im sure the victim was compensated for what happened. If not, that is hardly an issue that relates to football. That is a massive problem within the justice system.

He is a former criminal, who served his sentence that society gave him. What more is he supposed to do? I would assume trying to turn his life around would be one of the best things he could do to repay society. LIKE HE IS DOING!

passing judgment on other posters morals forum is pretty easy over an anonymous internet forum.

how do we know your not a hypocrite who's bagging everyone off about there morals in one window... with another window open full of child porn.

WTF kind of argument is that? Maybe you're Martin Bryant. Or Ivan Milat.

It's pretty easy to judge someone's morals when they write them in black and white and when they are so dispicable.

Getting paid large sums of money, being idolised by kids and adults alike, being a TV star all for just playing a game is a privallage. It should be reserved for those who deserve it. This kid does not imo. Good luck to him in becoming a decent person, i hope he makes it. But he should not have the opportunity to become a sports star in our great game.

What next, pedophiles as teachers as they deserve a second chance?

Evenflow

tell that sob story to all the victims...

always criminals rights first ... second chance...blah blah...

he can have his second chance a maccas not the NRL !!!!

Typical civil libertarians, f**k the victims as long as the offenders are looked after. I bet you every single one of them would change their views if it was one of their loved ones that was the victim and if they say any differently they're either flat out liars or just weak merkins who wouldn't defend their family/friends/loved ones etc. The hypocrisy just f**king astounds me.

As i said earlier he has every right to get a job and make a living to support his family but playing rugby league at the highest level is a privilege and one he shouldn't be getting.

kmav23

The game owes him nothing . He can only do. Damage to the game sponsors women fans and families

skeepe

I don't know. I'm an atheist. You don't have to be a God wad to have morals FYI.

Not at all. However it has nothing to do with morals, not a damn thing.

I would love to live in a world like yours where everything is black and white. Sadly I have to make do with real life.

Collateral

The game owes him nothing . He can only do. Damage to the game sponsors women fans and families

Are you taking the piss or what? What did you base those conclusions on? Do you know the bloke?

Im not saying that he will succeed in turning his life around. Boot him, shoot him, do whatever if he screws up again...Until then, good luck to him and I hope he can turn things around and show troubled kids which way is up.

Lossy

seriously.... where do u draw the line ?

what type of low life will you not accept ?

Not my decision to make, and I'll form my opinions as circumstances arise.

I was fine for Soulan Pownceby to represent NZ after being convicted of manslaughter of his infant daughter. He has since been convicted of assault multiple times. So now I am not.

The point? It's all up to Shaun how this goes. It's up to him to pay back his partner, children, parents and friends for the support they've given him, and provide his family with the best future possible. I have no doubt that he knows this.

I also have no interest in people with an overdeveloped punishment gland limiting the future of Metcalf's family in order to punish him further.

devoid

I think some people are confused; not one person condones what Metcalf did in 2003. People who forgive him should not be confused as lacking moral fibre.

Former Warriors and Kiwis coach, and current player agent Frank Endacott petitioned NZRL back in 2005 to re-instate Shaun.
Former Warriors, Kiwis, St Helens, and Parramatta Eels coach Daniel Anderson was one person who gave a character reference to support him.
Shaun has played in NZ since, including the past few seasons as a member of the Auckland Vulcans - the NSW Cup feeder side to the Warriors.

There is no way to defend what he did. He was convicted for assaulting a pregnant woman, with intent to cause a miscarriage. He served the punishment handed to him by the NZ justice system.

The Warriors obviously know the history, and thought he is worth the risk; they are generally pretty careful about who they sign. I don't know if the contract has been okay'd by the NRL or not. Aside from bad PR, I don't know what grounds they would have to decline registering Metcalf - morally? Maybe. But Shaun Metcalf would not be close to being the most unsavory person to play professional footy.

Evenflow

What time does Hillsong start tonight?

Do you realize how mind numbingly stupid that is? That was rhetorical because obviously you don't or you wouldn't have asked it. You accuse those who are siding with the victim of being churchie loving moral crusaders yet you're the one who's pleading for him to have a second chance playing NRL and totally absolving him of his crimes.

Now correct me if I'm wrong but isn't it the churchie loving moral crusaders who are always the first to forgive all sinners of their sins?

So I'll ask you, what time does Hillsong start champ?

this is f**king sexist

the punishment for kicking and man and a woman should be the same, there is no difference

women are just as physically capable as men are, if not more capable in some instances

Iafeta

Its a very tricky issue. I'm sure we can all agree on one thing - what Shaun did 7-8 years ago was disgraceful. A month or two before it happened there was a lot of good talk about this fellow, he'd played an NRL trial at age 16 and put on two tries in that trial. He had talent.

I remember when I saw his name surface back playing for the Vulcans. I was far from impressed.

I don't know where I stand TBH. I'll say in the clubs defence they are upholding a strong code of conduct in general. Taulapapa and Faumuina were punted for drinking indescretions. Brett Seymour has come over and behaved extremely well, you'd have to suggest some of the standards they impose and the welfare development through Dean Bell is very positive. I'd say given that that Shaun would have had to have passed very strict standards and tick many boxes in terms of his attitude towards women to get an opportunity.

So, can't argue what he did was abhorrent. It was absolutely disgraceful. However, the question for me is whether he's rehabilitated so that he can act in a normal style in society. Nevertheless, I don't think its a particularly good marketing ploy by the Warriors, corporate social responsibility is huge particularly for sports mobs. What I will say is that Shaun and the Warriors aren't alone, you only need to look through the NBA and NFL to see some absolute boneheads going around and doing well.

BunniesMan

Not my decision to make, and I'll form my opinions as circumstances arise.

I was fine for Soulan Pownceby to represent NZ after being convicted of manslaughter of his infant daughter. He has since been convicted of assault multiple times. So now I am not.

The point? It's all up to Shaun how this goes. It's up to him to pay back his partner, children, parents and friends for the support they've given him, and provide his family with the best future possible. I have no doubt that he knows this.

I also have no interest in people with an overdeveloped punishment gland limiting the future of Metcalf's family in order to punish him further.
WTF? I knew kiwis were stupid but this is a whole new level of genius that I thought was reserved for bogans west of homebush and in Sutherland shire. It seems they have cousins equally stupid in New Zealand.

shiznit

Typical civil libertarians, f**k the victims as long as the offenders are looked after. I bet you every single one of them would change their views if it was one of their loved ones that was the victim and if they say any differently they're either flat out liars or just weak merkins who wouldn't defend their family/friends/loved ones etc. The hypocrisy just f**king astounds me.

As i said earlier he has every right to get a job and make a living to support his family but playing rugby league at the highest level is a privilege and one he shouldn't be getting.
i take it your lieutenant on team red... :roll:

god you idiots make me laugh... too f**king stupid to see that its possible for someone to have an opinion on something and not follow some sort of ideology.

the argument that somehow anyone that disagrees with you is a hypocrite because if the same thing happened to there family they would change there mind is geniused logic.

the LAST thing you should be doing is thinking about how it would feel if you were connected to this case... your letting your emotions cloud your judgement.

the legal system is there to follow procedure and precedent... not to follow emotion.

TheDalek079

he made a mistake, served his time and by all reports has turned over a new leaf. why shouldn't rugby league give the kid a second chance?