Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragons statement: Player breach

Mickthedragon

I have said that in an earlier post that the club should have arranged a do for the boys at WIN and as you say Mick, they could have arranged this do and transport for them after their drinks and feed. Hindsight is another thing for correcting wrongs.
Yeh it's a "what could of been" situation now but as i also said, it doesn't retract from the fact they didn't follow simple instructions. If your employer tells you not to do something and you get cught breaking the rules, you pay the price.
They stuffed up!

R&WTILLIDIE

How would it be a breach if they're confined to their own venue and group?
Forgot your mob are bunch of angels, sorry. Cleary says hi!
Hey mate, it’s a breach. You’re not allowed to have anyone at your house or go and visit anyone. It’s the same for me and you if we want to visit work colleagues who have only been in contact with us in the past. That’s the law mate.

betcats

How would it be a breach if they're confined to their own venue and group?
Forgot your mob are bunch of angels, sorry. Cleary says hi!

Never said they were angels. Its quite obviously a breach mate "Pissing up for the bye weekend" is not on the list of accepted reasons to leave your house during the lock down.

BLM01

Again BLM, I agree with your argument but this is about "what is and not what should be". These are mainly 20-30 year old young men earning great money and to earn that they have to adhere to a set of rules and disciplines. If they don't like that reality go and find a "proper" job and live like the rest of us.

Imagine if your son was one of these dopey cretins at the BBQ and he came complaining to you about it "being unfair". You would smack him across the top of the head and tell him "listen mate I don't want to hear about what's fair from a 24 year old. You earn $500K a year so bloody well adhere to the rules or get out and get a real job".
it is about what is
“What is the reaction to what did they really do wrong”
“What is their salary has a bearing on people’s reaction”
“What is their place in society v me”
Rules are broken by many every day

Yes they stuffed up by running away, hiding, covering tracks etc
The police find them $1000 end if story

You talk about as if they are the only ones earning that money
There are many in the media and NRL earning the same money and other professions who break rules and don’t cop the same outrage and have their life judged and turned upside down
Wayne Bennett as an example

since77

A SMH article reports that one of the players asked Ben Haran for a beers and bbq get together at WIN stadium to be held on the Sat night for the players, given the bye break and it being a neutral venue where they play and train so within the quarantine bubble. But it was denied on grounds of how they would have to all get home from the venue cause no ubers,taxis to be used. Geez, maybe they could of let them do it and organised a courtesy bus or something? Better than the eventual shit show that's unfolded instead. They made the wrong choice by going and doing it anyway but i'm sure some of the better run clubs will find ways to accomodate team get togethers and transport to keep outside contact.
The daily runnings of the club are just as poor.
Or…they could all have respected what their coach asked of them, went home and concentrated on getting themselves ready for a tilt at the finals. The club asked them to behave like grown men and professionals. They responded by blatantly defying their coach and then lying about it. It astounds me that a brain dead section of fans can’t work this very simple concept out….

Adolf_Spritzer

Hey mate, it’s a breach. You’re not allowed to have anyone at your house or go and visit anyone. It’s the same for me and you if we want to visit work colleagues who have only been in contact with us in the past. That’s the law mate.
You can have up to 5 visitors and can visit and stay with your partner if you don't live with them.

it even states in the NRLs own biosecurity laws that a player can leave to complete 'an essential household task'

Get your facts straight before admonishing others like the paragon of virtue you apparently are, mate.

TruSaint

Or…they could all have respected what their coach asked of them, went home and concentrated on getting themselves ready for a tilt at the finals. The club asked them to behave like grown men and professionals. They responded by blatantly defying their coach and then lying about it. It astounds me that a brain dead section of fans can’t work this very simple concept out….

It's that simple. It shouldn't even be a debate anymore.

They broke the Covid rules, defied the coaches directives, lied about it all, tried to cover it via some zoom call, fled the scene, hid under beds, etc.

It's interesting that none of the above points have been disputed.

PV will get another run somewhere, no so sure about my wife's part time work( and countless others ), who has extended her layoff as a result of the lockdown.

BLM01

They are treated with more scrutiny because they have been granted exemptions and privileges that the wider public have not.
When most people are locked down and prevented from seeing each other, including dying loved ones, these blokes are free to roam around with far greater freedoms…with a strict set of rules in place. They PURPOSEFULLY and knowingly broke at least one of those rules, then concocted a bullshit story to cover it up, lying to the commission and the cops.
The ramifications of their actions could have been severe and still may be. If the governments decide they can’t trust the NRL to police these low IQ clowns then that is it for the sport…this year, next year…maybe even after that.
This is additional to the opinion that they had extra guests at the house who may have helped spread the virus. Some neighbours have claimed they saw men and women running from the house.
1 bloke losing his job is better than 1000 people potentially losing theirs.
No they are not more free to roam around
They have more restrictions than me
They are free to continue their work like many others under a set of rules and get paid
Have they not been punished enough relative to your so called better life than us
Don’t over dramatise it
Just a balanced view to what really was the risk about spread if no outsiders there.

No one is disputing their stupidity and breaking lockdown rules and even PVs sacking after 2 prior warnings

Slippery Morris

I watched the Euro Semi final today played in a country where there are hundreds of covid cases recorded a day being played in a packed stadium. I also watched earlier this year my team Liverpool win their first title as the players gathered at a players place (including the coach) to watch Man City lose and them celebrate when Man City lost. Yes you can call it a house party and during the first lockdown when there were actual deaths from this strain and no vaccine around. There were even cameras taping this from the media. And as per above, this was during lockdown in England where no fans were allowed to watch a game so more strict than they are now. This ended up being a good news story as people wanted to see a reaction from the players. They did not put a doom and gloom on this and say that players should be banned, points deducted, they let the whole world down etc. They actually wanted to show the world how much it meant to the guys. In the end there was no harm done. No fine issued and the journalists were not out for any players blood. It was a good news story. Not that I am saying Saints on the weekend should have been as well but it was something they could have kept low key and not blown out of proportion. What a difference the EPL media is to the NRL. They actually support the code not try and damage their reputation with any opportunity they can find.

I am not supporting what the players did on the weekend, but I don't think it is the worst crime in the world like we are made to believe. I know the Warriors are sacrificing themselves by being away from their families and other players are following the strict guidelines. Our so called NRL journalists like to make it look like it was the worst crime in record? The Coffs Harbour scandal did not cop as much bad press as these guys did on the weekend. I mention this because their was alot of players involved. Nobody got sacked, no fines, suspensions etc. Copping a 50k fine and 8 games is a pretty tough punishment, plus the other monetary fines for the others and 1 game. Much harsher than other team have copped for hosting a party by far. Was that not enough?

What got me was the trash dished out last night on NRL 360. Accusing the Dragons of having a bad culture? I often thought when they say a bad culture it related to players being divided, not putting in for the coach, spreading rumours about the club etc. The weekend showed although it being stupid how close a knit the team is by all going to a guys place for a BBQ, In Origin or normal teams it is called bonding. The timing of this is what was the issue. It was done during lockdown with nobody from the public mind you. Then this anger at the lies the players said as if it was the first time a player lied. Sorry but there is a team that introduced wrestling and all these other disgusting tackles that ruined the game. When pressed they denied it. They lied, I have seen the coach asked do you practice these moves and he said, no we don't. But deep down everyone knows they do but choose to be quite. Never have they made such a huge fuss like last night about deceit when they publicly say all the time that coaches bend the rules, find ways to get away with stuff etc. Sorry but is that not worse than lying about a BBQ? You would not think so after last night? Why don't coaches or players get bastardised like Vaughny for lying or deceit? You would think by their reactions yesterday it was only the first time and it is only the one team that has done it. I suppose what they are lying about is about the game and does not interfere with the public. Hadley then goes on and wants a full investigation to see if the wives attended. If they did then the 13 fines issued would have been more if they were. Or do fines apply to men only? Shouldn't the cops be in trouble for not issuing more fines then? If it was wives as well then less than 13 players attended. Wake up Hadley. That shows what a vendetta he has against Saints.

JDB went through 2.5 years of hell. He is now finally back and they were just baying for his blood. He hid under the bed etc. This shows how damaged the guy is from the 2.5 years he has copped. As soon as he saw cops the guy panicked. Do you blame him. He knew that the journalists would have a field day with this and bring up his past as expected. I bet the first person on their list to look for was him. Obviously he is still mentally scarred. His wellbeing is not a factor at all for these guys, lets just lets get him for going to a party with mates. He is certainly on the radar for these guys.

Again, I am not supporting what they did but the 305k in fines and suspensions was enough punishment and far more than what other teams copped. I cannot believe journo's are not happy with this and want more. A player being sacked and a club accused of poor culture and the other rubbish is just a step to far and was driven by the media to react like this. Lets see how they treat other cases. The Saints board better step up if they see something is not treated the same in the future. Hadley said how iconic and famous our club is. Well they are doing a good job to damage their image.

Another odd thing to come out of yesterday from the board is how Norman escaped the same punishment as Vaughn? Has he not go the same amount of indiscretions? His record for off field is far worse than Vaughn. Very inconsistent and all that it shows is that they wanted Vaughn out for some reason and they found it.

thebigredv

You like me, are living in the past.
These clowns🤡
Should not be allowed to wear, the big, red V.

There's a real dilemma at the club right now. We need more Tyrell Sloan's. That's what it comes down to. Untarnished young men who feel they owe a debt of gratitude to their junior club. Balanced with Finnucane types who bring the right work ethic. Humble yet effective on the field.

In the recent past we've invested in some dud characters who will never put the club first and who will never win a premiership when banded together. Simply don't have what it takes between the ears. Luckily three have been moved on. That's a great start.

It's pretty clear why good players have been so keen to leave and not just players but leaders in McInnes, Frizell, Graham, Widdop etc. Look at our next opponent for instance. The Sea Eagles will boast three players who will probably give us a touch up.
One, a versatile great finisher and goal kicker who was let go all too easy in Garrick. One insisted on getting out of the place in Saab and has scored 13 tries or so, and the other reportedly did a back flip on signing with our club in Suli. You can criticise all three as players and I realise they aren't as good without Turbo but there's still a major sign there of something going wrong in our house. That's my point.

Hook is finding out just what he is in for, and it was particularly poor of McGuire, Bird and Beale to betray him. They are all experienced players; men who know better but couldn't care less. All three who were given another chance when unwanted. These guys plus JDB need to be served an ultimatum. They all serve us well on the field but if they don't use this event as a lesson learnt we will continue to suffer.

Ghostrider22

I'm a bit confused about the bubble situation.
I know it's there to keep the government happy & for the game to be able to continue but let's just say a players wife/partner ducks down to bunnings ( which every tom dick or harry is allowed to do?) to pick up some paint. She then comes into contact with a person with covid & then infects her husband/partner who then passes it on to his teammates, opponents etc. Would the nrl then come down heavily on said player or their club? Especially if the media started baying for blood.
It’s not a lockdown, the NSW govt is full of shit. Lockdown constitutes everyone and any venue are closed except medical, grocery, exercise are allowed. Here’s the but, everything is opennot like it was in Melbourne or in Sydney when the Nth Beaches were off limits in March 2020.

I was working, task patrolling beaches moving on the public having lunch, sun baking, I could go on and on. We are not doing any of that work. Everyone watches the TV people are everywhere, traffic hasn’t really changed.

The grubs are having a field day, high profile individuals easy targets. Well they have paid a heavy price for their stupidity. Which includes us who support through thick and thin.

It’s all about money, do you see any of the govts helping out job keeper, job seeker no. Venting over👍

I'm not talking of the court case, I'm talking of him having a sexual affair. Vaughn was sexting, got a strike and kept private, De Belin had an actual physical affair which was brought to public light. I'm not talking of the court case at all. Would he have got a strike for the affair considering Vaughn misdemeanour?

Having a sexual affair is not necessarily a work related matter unless it happened in the work place, with a work colleague, was conducted using work resources, or was the subject of judicial proceedings. As it was neither of the first three, and the judicial gave no definitive result, it is not applicable.

With Vaughan, we do not know the exact circumstances. However for him to have been fined there would have had to be an internal investigation, it would have had to involve happening during work time, in the workplace, or with a work colleague, and Vaughan would have had to have his own representation and be able to tell his side of events for it to hold up under legal due process requirements under industrial law.

Please note, I'm not trying to condone what either JDB of Vaughan did (or didn't do), just explaining the legal aspects as I see them.

That is why, in my opinion, they are not comparable as the circumstances are different.

Pretty Penny

Laugh at what? Do you understand people are losing their livelihoods during this Sydney lockdown. there are more cases today and it has been extended. It is alright for the public sector trendy left wing types who want to work from home in their pyjamas for the rest of their lives but some of us have to make a living.
What these idiots did was extend the lockdown and ick in the guts every honest Sydneysider who has a business or needs people to make money. There are people genuinely on the poverty line now due to these lockdowns and you reckon it is ok for these blokes to flaunt the rules and party like they are some how above the rest of US!~!! PLZ!

WE, the people of SYDNEY, deserve better from these muppets and Rugby League in general.

It’s all about money, do you see any of the govts helping out job keeper, job seeker no. Venting over👍

Yes it is about money. If players breach the biosecurity protocols, the respective state governments won't permit entire clubs to travel interstate. That means either: needing to relocate the entire competition to one city (which means further disruption to the players and staff of all clubs) and the additional costs of those relocations; or games being cancelled.

If it was relocation, it would mean the game's revenue takes a hit meeting those additional costs, let alone potential lost revenues from ticket sales and associated game day revenues for each club.

If games wound up being cancelled, the broadcasters would probably start with holding payments which, ultimately would mean players and staff taking pay cuts due to reduced revenue.

When the lockdowns hit last year, if memory serves, none of the big Australian professional sports got anything for job keeper. Imagine the out cry if the NRL asked for it.

R&WTILLIDIE

You can have up to 5 visitors and can visit and stay with your partner if you don't live with them.

it even states in the NRLs own biosecurity laws that a player can leave to complete 'an essential household task'

Get your facts straight before admonishing others like the paragon of virtue you apparently are, mate.
Hahahaha what? You’re just looking for a fight? So based off what you’re saying (and thanks for correcting me) what the players did was still breaking the law.