Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragons statement: Player breach

stryker

Salary can not come into it
Profile in the community I get that
PV got what he deserved based on his contract
Why is it these NRL players are treated with more scrutiny and more outrage than other high-profile people in the community that probably own just as much but don’t play sport
Balanced perspective when you break it all down is all I am saying
If that was 13 locals non NRL players
$1000 brief news reporting but their livelihoods not turned upside down
They are treated with more scrutiny because they have been granted exemptions and privileges that the wider public have not.
When most people are locked down and prevented from seeing each other, including dying loved ones, these blokes are free to roam around with far greater freedoms…with a strict set of rules in place. They PURPOSEFULLY and knowingly broke at least one of those rules, then concocted a bullshit story to cover it up, lying to the commission and the cops.
The ramifications of their actions could have been severe and still may be. If the governments decide they can’t trust the NRL to police these low IQ clowns then that is it for the sport…this year, next year…maybe even after that.
This is additional to the opinion that they had extra guests at the house who may have helped spread the virus. Some neighbours have claimed they saw men and women running from the house.
1 bloke losing his job is better than 1000 people potentially losing theirs.

Dragons4me

The Board meeting tomorrow will tell us what direction this club is heading in.

Webb didn't mince his words in his brief statement, so I expect further club imposed sanctions to he dished out, Vaughan, in particular, will be dealt with very harshly imo, maybe Norman also.

But, wait until it's announced before, listing any possibility of who plays when (if at all).

Definitely D day
Haven’t got the full details on what the clown said but I’m sure he was advocating sackings etc. Now on behaviour, he himself has form which should have resulted in his own sacking. If I recall it was bullying of a young producer or something plus his former sideline eye who took him to court.
The word hypocrite comes to mind.

I can think of lots of words to describe this bully but I'd lowering myself to his level.

I put this in another thread. If they had a strike against Vaughn for the "sexting scandal", which was never made public, do you not think they have a strike against De Belin for having a sexual affair played out in public?

That is like comparing apples and oranges. JDB's case came through the courts as a criminal matter which he was not convicted for. As such you cannot afterwards use it as a basis for future punishments as it is just that an allegation of wrong doing.

Considering he was fined for it, I would suspect that Vaughan's case was investigated and he was found guilty of it.

That is like comparing apples and oranges. JDB's case came through the courts as a criminal matter which he was not convicted for. As such you cannot afterwards use it as a basis for future punishments as it is just that an allegation of wrong doing.

Considering he was fined for it, I would suspect that Vaughan's case was investigated and he was found guilty of it.
I'm not talking of the court case, I'm talking of him having a sexual affair. Vaughn was sexting, got a strike and kept private, De Belin had an actual physical affair which was brought to public light. I'm not talking of the court case at all. Would he have got a strike for the affair considering Vaughn misdemeanour?

Illusion

I'm not talking of the court case, I'm talking of him having a sexual affair. Vaughn was sexting, got a strike and kept private, De Belin had an actual physical affair which was brought to public light. I'm not talking of the court case at all. Would he have got a strike for the affair considering Vaughn misdemeanour?
Mate if true and he was hiding under the bed ...... Hiding under the bed like a guilty child , well that will do me ..... Forget his case of not guilty its the hiding under the bed is the problem ..... Whether it was Jack or any other player ..... Man up ......

Gourley's Socks

I agree. If "sexting" warrants a strike then surely "sexing" does too.

The criminal charges and court case are irrelevant.

Mickthedragon

A SMH article reports that one of the players asked Ben Haran for a beers and bbq get together at WIN stadium to be held on the Sat night for the players, given the bye break and it being a neutral venue where they play and train so within the quarantine bubble. But it was denied on grounds of how they would have to all get home from the venue cause no ubers,taxis to be used. Geez, maybe they could of let them do it and organised a courtesy bus or something? Better than the eventual shit show that's unfolded instead. They made the wrong choice by going and doing it anyway but i'm sure some of the better run clubs will find ways to accomodate team get togethers and transport to keep outside contact.
The daily runnings of the club are just as poor.

Gourley's Socks

Players are held to a higher standard because they are deliberately placed on a pedestal in order to maximise the marketability of the business. By doing so, the business earns greater revenues and an entire industry from head office to journos depend on that revenue for their own livelihoods.

One can play the sport, earn nothing from it and live without the scrutiny or one can be employed by the business, enjoy the spoils but endure the scrutiny. But it's no longer the case that one can do both.

BBTB

Sorry, but being embarrassed to be a Dragon's fan just doesnt sit well with me. Been a proud red v fan for nearly 60 years now, and always will be. I still wear my Dragons polos etc at least once every week. Disappointed in the current mob, and many times disappointed throughout those 60 years. If anyone has a dig at me when seeing me wearing my supporter gear, I have a laugh with them. If ever anyone feels embarrassed, imagine how much more embarrassing it would be to say you were a Sharks fan, or Tigers etc. If it hurts you so bad, why not jump on the Storm bandwagon, or Rabbitohs, or Panthers? Most clubs go through pitfalls, or golden eras. I will ride this one out like I have countless other times. But my polos are washed, ironed, and hanging in my wardrobe for me to wear out loud and proud again this weekend.
You like me, are living in the past.
These clowns🤡
Should not be allowed to wear, the big, red V.

blacksafake

I'm a bit confused about the bubble situation.
I know it's there to keep the government happy & for the game to be able to continue but let's just say a players wife/partner ducks down to bunnings ( which every tom dick or harry is allowed to do?) to pick up some paint. She then comes into contact with a person with covid & then infects her husband/partner who then passes it on to his teammates, opponents etc. Would the nrl then come down heavily on said player or their club? Especially if the media started baying for blood.

betcats

A SMH article reports that one of the players asked Ben Haran for a beers and bbq get together at WIN stadium to be held on the Sat night for the players, given the bye break and it being a neutral venue where they play and train so within the quarantine bubble. But it was denied on grounds of how they would have to all get home from the venue cause no ubers,taxis to be used. Geez, maybe they could of let them do it and organised a courtesy bus or something? Better than the eventual shit show that's unfolded instead. They made the wrong choice by going and doing it anyway but i'm sure some of the better run clubs will find ways to accomodate team get togethers and transport to keep outside contact.

It also would have breached NSW health restrictions but hey if the boys want to piss up the club should make it happen! Are you kidding mate

Mickthedragon

How would it be a breach if they're confined to their own venue and group?
Forgot your mob are bunch of angels, sorry. Cleary says hi!

Dragon David

Mate if true and he was hiding under the bed ...... Hiding under the bed like a guilty child , well that will do me ..... Forget his case of not guilty its the hiding under the bed is the problem ..... Whether it was Jack or any other player ..... Man up ......
All the actions taken by the guys when the police arrived clearly showed that they knew they were doing the wrong thing. If they all stayed in the backyard or where ever they were in the house and owned up and just said that they were just having a drink and thought that doing that was within the bubble rules, then yes, they would still be whacked with the $1,000 fine each, however, their credibility would have been more intact. But no, they had to run and hide and cover up. They should have fessed up then and there and things would not have been so severe in my opinion.

What has been done no-one can now change and the sooner everyone gets back to something normal and playing footy, the better.

Our guys mucked up like naughty boys, they have been punished and that should be the end of story. Hopefully this sorry saga will ensure that they do the right thing in the future.

Mickthedragon

All i'm saying is, yes they stuffed up and should been grown up enough to not do it, if told not to. But these things can be arranged within the confines, if done correctly, but they weren't.
Look at origin camps for instance, i'm sure a few beers are still shared inside behind closed doors. Anyhow, what's done is done.

Dragon David

I have said that in an earlier post that the club should have arranged a do for the boys at WIN and as you say Mick, they could have arranged this do and transport for them after their drinks and feed. Hindsight is another thing for correcting wrongs.