Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dykes

PJ

Yes, from what I heard they were.

But that's one of the good things about the young players, they can turn it around. The fact that he's now getting a run in firsts would say that he may have done that.

Don't know for sure as I haven't spoken to the guy who told me, just an impression. And the reason they were a unhappy was because they thought he should have been pushing for first grade a lot sooner.

Personally I think Aitken offers the club a hell of a lot more than Dykes and I will be more than a little unhappy if the turd comes back.

As much as Dykes might go well outside Kimmorley i think we are getting back to a quick fix solution. Once again id rather we develope Aitken or Bird, or go after a player which has not reached the halfway mark of their career and has the potential to be around for a fair while yet. The experience of Noddy is there in the havles we need a young player to compliment that experience and learn from Noddy so they are able to step up once Noddy's playing days are over.

It certainly is the quick fix. I don't know if the long term fix is ready yet though.

imasharkie

The thing here is even though I'd like to see Dykes return to us, even if it is as a back up for BK, we haven't yet seen Aitken play outside Noddy. I reckon Aitken will improve markedly with half a season under his belt just being on the field with BK and learning more about the general running of a footy team under the master. Dykes would be a good backup player if we get him pretty cheap because we would have someone to fall back on if any of the halfs getting injurred IMO

Yeah i agree thats debateable Mcsharkie.
Aitken has had one good game and against Penrith on the weekend i thought he was solid, it was just his 5th tackle options which bought him undone. You could make an arguement he is in a position similar to Simmons earlier in the season. Simmons still has a long way to go but the improvement is there for all to see and most of us forumers class him as one of our top two wingers. I would also be interested to see how Aitken went alongside Kimmorley so he is not under as much pressure as he was on the weekend.

Hopefully we will get to see the Aitken/Kimmorley combo before they make a decision on Dykes.

Hurriflatch

damn, 105 posts in 1 day not bad

back to the subject if Dykes goes back to the Sharks is debatable but don't be surprised if he is not at Parra.

shadowboxer

as per big sports breakfast on 2ky friday morning, there is mail gettting louder by the day that he is on his way back to the nulla. Great, if he is a cheap buy, you have to wonder about his commitment and the way the powers that be will handle it. For me he has to much baggage unless is a dirt cheap contract

blueshark

Take him if the price is right , but to me he has alot of ground to make up with shark supporters after the comments he made when he left.[/i]

shadowboxer

well if he does return he will be eating plenty of humble pie. I still have nightmares of some of his performances, although he could play like a champ.

DJDL

It's a complex issue really.
Dykes has always been hot and cold. But let's face it, he always was the major playmaker in the side he was playing is. Calling the shots and directing the team around.

Maybe that's his downfall at times. Playing alongside Noddy might alleviate some of the pressure and let him focus on just playing his natural game.

Maybe it is worth a gamble for a couple of years. Aitken looked well underdone last weekend so it might be another season before he is seriously pushing for first grade.

And when can you honestly say we have had options in the halves at this club?

Never.

Think I'm warming to it.

Dykes has won premierships in lower grades under Raper. Maybe Raper can bring out the best in Dykes? In 2001, Dykes played his best footy under Lang's coaching. Clearly Raper's coaching is strongly influenced by Lang, so Dykes may appreciate the opportunity to be reunited with a Lang inspired coach who helped develop him in the lower grades.

Surely

If we are concerned about Kimmorelys defence, I hardly think pairing him and Aitken together is a good move.

Dykes used to miss alot of tackles too. Made heaps and missed heaps. Aitken is young, he has a good tackling style he will improve his defence.

millersnose

McSharkie said:
Hopefully we will get to see the Aitken/Kimmorley combo before they make a decision on Dykes.

no offence intended mcsharkie

but you were such a big bird fan (i always wanted to say that)

even when his darkest days arrived with the suspension you were his greatest advocate

what happened?

millersnose

OMG

am i the only one that sees playing aitken in first grade at this stage of his career while bird plays PL is insane???

bird certainly isnt a great footballer

but at least he is somewhere near first grade standard

aitken is not

it depends doesn't it Millers.
Depends on if you want to win a grand final somtime in the next 10 years or not.
A lot of people on this forum are happy to be in a situation of developing players.
f**k that!
Buy the players we need now. Dykes is one we need.
Aitken will progress through the normal injury attrition that occurrs.
Bird is probably going to be useful as a utility. Coming in & out of first grade.
Like a Flannery with less ability.

imasharkie

While Aitken hasn't set the world on fire with his play at 1/2 for the 1st grade side he is young and will soon get the opportunity to play at 5/8 outside Kimmorley and then we'll see how much potential he has. He might surprise you Millers