Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Appoint Brad Arthur as Head Coach

Who should be our next coach

A question for Avenger, do you doubt Ricky's work effect?

I reckon he works hard myself.

You mean work edict? The only thing he works hard at is manipulating the truth.

Flanno, understudy to Stuart?

I heard they clashed, plenty of times and most of the Sharks and Flanagan himself couldn't wait to see the back of him.

Sure, you know what I meant, phones.

Do you doubt he puts in? Dedicates himself to the task?

Sure, you know what I meant, phones.

Do you doubt he puts in? Dedicates himself to the task?

I don't think he's a bludger. I just think tactically he is a poor coach and his management decision of informing the 12 unwanted players in front of their peers demoralised the whole team which flies in the face of the "player's coach" tag that he keeps trumpeting about.

Without doubt the most overrated coach in the game. What pissed me off is that he was asked if he thought he left Parra worse off then before he came. He stated that he had an opinion but wanted to keep it private. Don't we deserve more than that? He also wanted to leave his family reasons private before conveniently allowing his mates at News-limited to discuss his daughter's autism and then be filmed almost theatrically with his wife and daughter near their home in order to gain some type of empathy or understanding . I wish his family and especially his daughter the very best but I thought that tactic used by the media and Stuart was poor and didn't wash with people with half a brain.

Don't start me on the "I'm contracted to Parra" bit. He knew for weeks that he wanted out, yet kept lying to us and leaked the clauses in his contract himself before confirming it and inventing some type of board issues. He got everything he wanted from all board members both past and present yet he still made excuses. The common denominator in all of this: He is an ordinary coach with no self awareness.

I can see that these things have you at the level of hatred.

Your words.

I would simply say Ricky loves Rugby League, with all his passion.

So for me I like him, he is not perfect, has flaws, lets see how he does at Canberra.

I am sure you'll be watching.....

Your words.

So for me I like him, he is not perfect, has flaws, lets see how he does at Canberra.

You are entitled to your opinion mate, good luck on Friday night. Now can we have Flanagan back please ? :D

Your words.

We'll be death riding the merkin like nobody's business.

Joshuatheeel

So much for Hayne not bring a Brian smith fan

. Jarryd Hayne is adamant he won't be at Canterbury next season, but the Eels fullback believes Parramatta need to take a leaf out of the Brian Smith era to once again taste success.
Hayne shut down any chance of leaving Parramatta to fill the fullback void at Canterbury left by Ben Barba's defection to Brisbane, insisting he couldn't see himself playing against the Eels.
His main focus is helping the wooden spooners return to the top of the NRL, and says the Eels need to look back to go forwards.
Advertisement

Hayne claims Parramatta hasn't been on the same page as a club since Smith's departure in 2006, and has urged the club to select a coach who can unite the Eels from their juniors right through to the top grade.
"Just little things like being on the same page – I remember during Brian Smith's era, his biggest thing was being on the same page," Hayne said.
"It didn't matter whether you were 15 or 25, you knew the plays so you had no excuse. Whether you played Harold Matts, SG Ball, 20s or first grade, you had no excuse to not know the plays, the plans – and everyone was under that. The last couple of years everyone has had their own agenda and their own side on things from the top coach to the 20s coach to Harold Matts to SG Ball.
"When Brian was there, it was like 'this is how it is done and if you don't like it, move on'. I think we definitely need that attitude back. I was probably the last generation to go through that."

http://m.smh.com.au/rugby-league/le...to-go-back-for-the-future-20130919-2u22q.html

jason taylor

Pretty much, people just assumed Hayne didn't like Brian Smith because Smith refused to put him in first grade in early 2006.

Noise

Pretty sure it was Smith who didn't like Hayne, not the other way around.

How do we know either of them have a problem with each other? Smith wanted to wait a bit longer for hayne to play first grade. That does not mean smith doesn't like Hayne or vice versa

I think Brian actually has a great eye for talent. He might annoy some players with his methods, but I think he knows how to spot and nurture young talent.