Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels' inquiry into alleged attempt to fix election

I reckon I would get more excited knocking one through Susan Boyle than I do about these shitty political stories and the subsequent grandstanding that follows on this forum.

I support the team, not the goons behind the scenes.

Spot on. I'm over these small minded supporters of one side or another trying to use this forum to push their faction's agenda. So what if Fitzy or Spags are shit? It doesn't make their opponents any better. Our voting membership is full of ignorant, partisan f**kwits. Whomever they vote for will be wrong.

#privatise

Bigfella

Don't know what's more disturbing: the lengths people associated with the factions in our club have been prepared to go to to try to control it or the manner in which the supporters still blindly support one faction over the other.

What's been alleged is a criminal act and if proven the perpetrators, if associated with the club, should be banned for life from participation in the club.

If proven it should actually serve to disentitle anyone connected with that action from having participated in that election ie from serving as a director since then.

It is of course possible that the alleged evidence doesn't come up to scratch, or that it does, but that what seems to have been done by one camp was actual done by another so as to incriminate one.

And as strider says, it's just taking the manipulation and rotting that has gone on previously to another level.

Grubby grubby stuff whoever is to blame. And all the political crowing from factionalism supporters is just as grubby.

It would be pretty easy to fabricate all this, especially at two in the morning when no merkin is in the office. Add a hundred and fifty new voting members, give them all the same surname and then tip off an interested party. The implications will be obvious and few people will question how clumsy it all is.

As is the case with IT forensics, the evidence stops at the keyboard. Will we ever know who set Spags up? They were clumsy but it looks like they'll get off scot free.

Wizard Sleeve

Spot on. I'm over these small minded supporters of one side or another trying to use this forum to push their faction's agenda. So what if Fitzy or Spags are shit? It doesn't make their opponents any better. Our voting membership is full of ignorant, partisan f**kwits. Whomever they vote for will be wrong.

#privatise

Dude ... The guys "allegedly" a crook . I don't see how wanting a guy who's " allegedly" nosedived a few business into the ground out of our club is being small minded .

Good try though .

Maroubra Eel

It would be pretty easy to fabricate all this, especially at two in the morning when no merkin is in the office. Add a hundred and fifty new voting members, give them all the same surname and then tip off an interested party. The implications will be obvious and few people will question how clumsy it all is.

As is the case with IT forensics, the evidence stops at the keyboard. Will we ever know who set Spags up? They were clumsy but it looks like they'll get off scot free.

Good try Pou. But now isn't the time for jokes. This is serious.

Wizard Sleeve

Lol , you do realise police will be involved don't you ?

Dude ... The guys "allegedly" a crook . I don't see how wanting a guy who's " allegedly" nosedived a few business into the ground out of our club is being small minded .

Good try though .

I'm just sick of the attitude of 'sure our faction is shit but Spagnolo is even worse!!!'

Our constitution, our whole structure and voting process, all f**ked. It breeds this kind of bush league corruption. Demonising one bloke or one faction draws attention away from the fact that it all needs to change for us to have any lasting success.

You think getting rid of Spagnolo will make everything peachy at our club? A new Spags will emerge to take his place. Apparently there's 150 others all called Spagnolo, plus hundreds more with the same attitude - people who love the club and want to see it do well, but only if they're pulling the strings.

Adding them all to set somebody up (like by calling them all Spagnolo) is hardly 'shits and giggles'. It is a serious matter and it's good that the police are involved.

I hope they fingerprint that keyboard. It should tell a lot about who did this.

Wizard Sleeve

I'm just sick of the attitude of 'sure our faction is shit but Spagnolo is even worse!!!'

Our constitution, our whole structure and voting process, all f**ked. It breeds this kind of bush league corruption. Demonising one bloke or one faction draws attention away from the fact that it all needs to change for us to have any lasting success.

You think getting rid of Spagnolo will make everything peachy at our club? A new Spags will emerge to take his place. Apparently there's 150 others all called Spagnolo, plus hundreds more with the same attitude - people who love the club and want to see it do well, but only if they're pulling the strings.

We are in 4th place , our 20's are killing it , we have seemingly a great coach I have no reason to think we aren't heading in a "peachy" direction.

Do you think it's only coincidence that our on field filth was going on during the off field filth of the Osbourne / Spags days , or is it coincidence that we're firing at the same time as "the mere plumber " said he was setting out to put us back on track ?

It's not factionalism mate it's getting getting behind someone I'm believe is in it for the good of the club. You know if you go back through my posts on nospam07 you would see that back in the day my thoughts on the 3P takeover were , whilst I always respected Fitztys clout a the time I was quite happy with the change it's there to read . You know exactly when Roy lost my support ? It was when it was plain as day that the clubs interest came second to his political interests and sacked a perfectly good coach and appointed a rookie in Steve Kearney . The reason he lost my support was not because I liked Ando it was because Roy couldn't back himself to make someone he believed to be a Fitzy alias to believe in what Roy was trying to achieve . He took the slimy way out . Ando wasn't some grimy board member he was merely a coach and Roy couldn't even have him around .

Delboy

After listening to Raaay this morning. Some leaks are coming from a fairly obvious sauce.

We need to sit back, let the process continue and no doubt we will get the exults and than action can take place, jumping to what we consider are fairly obvious conclusions doesn't solve anything

No need to give this any more air, looks like the current people in charge are getting to the bottom of it, let's wait and then act - Raaay is stirring the pot big time on behalf of his only friend, who probably is the deep throat to the Herald

I agree, Sleeve, that things are looking good on the field now but I put that mostly down to strong rosters in all three grades just as the past three years were due to weak roster (in 2011) and injury (2012 & 2013).

Anyway, Brad Arthur is certainly the best match day coach we've had for a long time but I'm concerned that our strategic direction will suffer without Peter Nolan, especially if Daniel Anderson has taken over management of junior recruitment and retention. That said, I'm happy with the re-signings (and especially the lack thereof) we have seen so far.

oldmancraigy

We are in 4th place , our 20's are killing it , we have seemingly a great coach I have no reason to think we aren't heading in a "peachy" direction.

Do you think it's only coincidence that our on field filth was going on during the off field filth of the Osbourne / Spags days , or is it coincidence that we're firing at the same time as "the mere plumber " said he was setting out to put us back on track ?

It's not factionalism mate it's getting getting behind someone I'm believe is in it for the good of the club. You know if you go back through my posts on nospam07 you would see that back in the day my thoughts on the 3P takeover were , whilst I always respected Fitztys clout a the time I was quite happy with the change it's there to read . You know exactly when Roy lost my support ? It was when it was plain as day that the clubs interest came second to his political interests and sacked a perfectly good coach and appointed a rookie in Steve Kearney . The reason he lost my support was not because I liked Ando it was because Roy couldn't back himself to make someone he believed to be a Fitzy alias to believe in what Roy was trying to achieve . He took the slimy way out . Ando wasn't some grimy board member he was merely a coach and Roy couldn't even have him around .

I'm with ya, I supported Roy for a bit longer than that - I even gave Kearney a year, I think it was round 9 in his second year that I gave up on him as a coach, and then gave up on Roy when he sacked SK (yay) and hired Ricky (woah - what the?).

I was a massive skeptic of the plumber (not sold yet) - but so far he's been more good than dolt (dolt = the JT comments, although I agreed at the time, it was the way of doing it! And the 8th spot thing)

Wizard Sleeve

I agree, Sleeve, that things are looking good on the field now but I put that mostly down to strong rosters in all three grades just as the past three years were due to weak roster (in 2011) and injury (2012 & 2013).

Anyway, Brad Arthur is certainly the best match day coach we've had for a long time but I'm concerned that our strategic direction will suffer without Peter Nolan, especially if Daniel Anderson has taken over management of junior recruitment and retention. That said, I'm happy with the re-signings (and especially the lack thereof) we have seen so far.

Ok let's entertain that theory . Who were the ones hiring the likes of Tahu , Poore and going berserk on contracts like the Morts ones ? The Tahu saga ( paying him after he left ) all in all f**king up our opportunities to hire decent players ? Maybe Kingston ( the hooker and the weakest position in aforementioned years ) would've still been around if they weren't spending like drunken sailors in the wrong places .