Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels' inquiry into alleged attempt to fix election

Is furious the name of your dog? If so, that's disgusting and unnecessary.

I-see-what-you-did-there-015.jpg

Disagree with your comment on the supposed overhaul of recruitment / retention and the so called "academy". Recruitment and retention seemed to be fine for the years 1996 - 2006 .

Yes it was, and it was shithouse from some time in the 80s until 1996, and again from 2006 to 2011. That five year gap was enough for us to have a massive gulf of talent by 2011 in the 18-22 age group. Players this age are guarded jealously by their clubs, because they are the key to success in the rest of the club - whether developing your own first graders or being able to afford to poach them from other clubs.

We have always had good juniors mainly due to the strength and quality of our junior league.

We have always had strong juniors (nine Harold Matts titles in the past 20 years) however as soon as they get close to age 18 we haven't bothered to keep them (three SG Ball titles and zero Flegg/NYC titles in the same 20 year period). That is what needed to be fixed - identifying, keeping and developing the players that emerge in Harold Matthews (under 16s) as well as poaching new players for the SG Ball (under 18s) team from Queensland and New Zealand. That all stopped after Brian Smith, and didn't start again until Kearney brought Nolan in.

Success in junior reps has been steady for some time.

Zero under 20s titles in the past 20 years is your idea of success in junior reps? The Harold Matthews team has won almost every second year for two decades. Why has this not translated into success at under 20s level? Even the SG Ball side has only won a third of the amount of premierships as the Harold Matts.

Immediately prior to their last NRL premiership the Dogs won four Jersey Flegg titles in five years. The Roosters have won SG Ball three times in the last seven years but have never won Harold Matthews. Do you see how junior reps becomes more important to NRL recruitment/retention as the reps get older? We have been massively successful in under 16s and then let more professional clubs sign our best players.

Decision making in recruitment has been questionable and many people here seem to agree.

Are these the same people who believe we've 'always been strong in junior reps' without noticing our junior rep teams get weaker as they get older?

But when you look at the success of this year, The NRL team really has only had an injection of 3 new players. They being, Hoppa, Norman and Peats. Having a coach who coaches and players respond to has been the major difference the year.

You're missing the fact that young players get better every year while old players get worse. So they are not the same player from year to year. Moimoi, Hindmarsh, Burt, Maitua, et al have all been declining while Sio, Morgan and all the young forwards have been getting better. Two years ago Junior Paulo was just a big fat teenager in the under 20s, while Pauli and Tanginoa were playing SG Ball. These young guys are not the same player they were the year before or the year before that. Just like Fui is no longer the player he was (not the coach's fault) the young guys are becoming the player they can be.

This is why the 'academy' was so important. Without it guys like Pauli and Tanginoa would be at Manly, Canterbury or the Chooks.

Spot on Pou, people like to hang shit on SK but the work he and Nolan did for our junior ranks is playing a big part in our success this season and hopefully in a year or two we will be challenging for a title.

Green River Eel

It would be pretty easy to fabricate all this, especially at two in the morning when no merkin is in the office. Add a hundred and fifty new voting members, give them all the same surname and then tip off an interested party. The implications will be obvious and few people will question how clumsy it all is.

As is the case with IT forensics, the evidence stops at the keyboard. Will we ever know who set Spags up? They were clumsy but it looks like they'll get off scot free.

Pou pull your head out of the sand, every time you open your mouth you show how dopey you are.
While everybody else is pissed off at this your claiming poor Roy has been set up, this is one of the most ridiculous posts ive ever read from you and there has been some very stupid ones over on nospam07 that you have been absolutely hammered from pillar to post.

Your defence of Roy every time he gets in a drama is just ridiculous, right up there with your claims that rich people are 'better people' than the poor.

Pull your head out of your ass you dopey fek.

I'm not exactly sure what the supposed 'academy' actually does? Is it a training squad of players earmarked as talents? Or is it a bunch of blokes who sit down and think 'which of these young'uns will be best in first grade'?

The latter. It is a junior retention tool.

Obviously calling it an 'academy' is more positive title than 'system for ensuring we sign up potential first graders for less than they could get on the open market'. Obviously there is a player development component, but that's just a matter of following the bouncing ball and ticking the right boxes. Turning kids into footballers is just about sports science. The dark art is identifying potential first graders, which isn't as simple as seeing who scores the most tries in the Harold Matthews Cup.

Maroubra Eel

Poupou I wouldn't get too worried about winning titles in the lower grades. Sometimes it's more important to play guys up a level to get experience. So you might not always have your best team in shooting for the title.
Some wise guy once told me that.

Pou pull your head out of the sand, every time you open your mouth you show how dopey you are.
While everybody else is pissed off at this your claiming poor Roy has been set up, this is one of the most ridiculous posts ive ever read from you and there has been some very stupid ones over on nospam07 that you have been absolutely hammered from pillar to post.

Your defence of Roy every time he gets in a drama is just ridiculous, right up there with your claims that rich people are 'better people' than the poor.

Pull your head out of your ass you dopey fek.

Mate, getting dogpiled on an internet forum is proof that you're right, not proof that you're wrong.

Being right is not subject to democracy, Snake. Sorry mate.

As for Spags, if you people had given him the support he deserved when he was chairman he wouldn't have had to go to these lengths. Either that or he was set up. Nobody would add 150 new members with the same surname unless they were trying to frame the guy with that surname. Luckily everyone has seen through this stupid incident and realised Spags had nothing to do with it. The cops will find that out when they fingerprint the keyboard and mouse.

Poupou I wouldn't get too worried about winning titles in the lower grades. Sometimes it's more important to play guys up a level to get experience. So you might not always have your best team in shooting for the title.
Some wise guy once told me that.

Every club plays their best players up a level, meaning the strongest 'academies' will still have the strongest rep teams. Our NYC side keeps winning games despite having Pauli, Goodall, Folau, Matterson and Pritchard playing higher grades.

The junior rep title isn't the end goal, but it is a good indicator that the goal of junior recruitment/retention is on track.

Maroubra Eel

I'm just glad the usual stooges haven't been in here to tell us how Spagnolo is really an honourable man etc.
Maybe they've finally woken up to themselves and realise they were f**king conned.

Green River Eel

Mate, getting dogpiled on an internet forum is proof that you're right, not proof that you're wrong.

Being right is not subject to democracy, Snake. Sorry mate.

As for Spags, if you people had given him the support he deserved when he was chairman he wouldn't have had to go to these lengths. Either that or he was set up. Nobody would add 150 new members with the same surname unless they were trying to frame the guy with that surname. Luckily everyone has seen through this stupid incident and realised Spags had nothing to do with it. The cops will find that out when they fingerprint the keyboard and mouse.

I can only take from this that you are takin the piss of you are a complete imbo, we know the latter is correct.

oldmancraigy

The latter. It is a junior retention tool.

Obviously calling it an 'academy' is more positive title than 'system for ensuring we sign up potential first graders for less than they could get on the open market'. Obviously there is a player development component, but that's just a matter of following the bouncing ball and ticking the right boxes. Turning kids into footballers is just about sports science. The dark art is identifying potential first graders, which isn't as simple as seeing who scores the most tries in the Harold Matthews Cup.

I'm just wondering how you know that it's the latter (a meeting rather than a squad)?

I only ask because it seemed to me as if it was the former
http://www.parraeels.com.au/news/2013/09/18/legends-train-with-eels-academy-squad.html

But then I was shocked to think we didn't have such a system in the past....

i dunno if i'm some weird merkin, but in a way i find all this funny and interesting .... never a dull moment

we have these daft merkins who got all up in arms about fitzy's mob giving out meal vouchers, who now turn around and try and stack the books

crazy f**kers :lol:

Oh dear.

I called them cowboys at the time, and the usual suspects here on 3P Unlimited took offence.... Glad it's all coming out in the wash and our great club is truly moving on into a new 3P-less era, with results coming on the field and now hopefully off field as well.

Good riddence Spags, 3P and their pitiful forum supporters - you know who you all were :). Come on you Eels!

I'm just wondering how you know that it's the latter (a meeting rather than a squad)?

It's about internal scouting and retention, rather than just about teaching kids to play footy.

I only ask because it seemed to me as if it was the former
http://www.parraeels.com.au/news/2013/09/18/legends-train-with-eels-academy-squad.html

But then I was shocked to think we didn't have such a system in the past....

Whatever we had in the past it wasn't very good since Brian Smith.