Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Flanno's New Signings

Wolfgang90

I think we'll settle for 3 years as the offer. It takes him to 30yo which is a good age to either cash in on SL or get a reasonable NRL offer (form dependent). I'm happy with a 3 year offer, it'll allow us to figure out which younger players to progress further & their ideal positions. I want a future backrow of Halangahau/Latu/Couchman, props Loko/Couchman. Size, athleticism, great defence. Have the likes of Hutchinson (big red) rampaging off the bench. Looks good to me!

thebigredv

With Leilua set to join it has me buoyant at the thought that a wooden spoon is no longer a foregone conclusion. This is positive. Definitely turns the comparison needle in terms if this years squad vs last years in our favour, and I love a good homecoming story. How it ends is up to Luc but on his day he can be damaging and really move a team forward.

TheRev

The contract length could be a deal breaker though.. I had assumed we were just taking over the old contract of 2yrs.

Not too fussed, it's a great pickup for 2024, but risky too and we have other options.. So whatever flanno and co reckon.. They will have a plan.. He could also be bench impact in 2025 or 2026 potentially

TheRev

I feel like Luc is a player you want to keep hungry.. But it might come down to whether he has any other longer term options.. These negotiations must be quite difficult to hold your ground on with out upsetting the player.. Particularly when you aren't in a position of power as a struggling club... This is all much easier when players are desperate to sign with you..

6 Kyle Flanagan
7 Ben Hunt
Am kinda baffled how Flanagan intends playing this pair. If, as we were told Flanno jr would be doing the bulk of the play making why then has he not been picked at half/first receiver. Needs to have his hands on the ball asap if he is to lead the team. The sook can play on the other side for when a kick or a run is needed, as long as he stays away from the ball in hand stuff.

Kolum Kid

Now Sloan is fit to start the season I think Flanagan is now looking at shifting our only specialist centre to the wing to accommodate his mate Bird. All the same I'd rather have Zac there than the disappointingly embarrassing Mat Feagai.
I'd like to think Flano is smart enough to realize that if bird isn't up to speed he shouldn't stay in the team. His coaching career is under scrutiny and he his an assistant who is a club favourite son itching for a head coach chance.

8 Francis Molo
Should have been shopped around instead of Musgrove. A weak link in the engine room, lacks consistency and frankly heart. Wastes his size. Bench or Ressies for mine. Like Flanagan to give either Fifita or Tuitavake a crack as a book end. If not Sele. Instead of this mad grab for back rowers we needed a top tier big bopper prop with an offload instead.

to realize that if bird isn't up to speed he shouldn't stay in the team.
Nah. This pair go back to the Sharks, when was that '16/17, when he last played him in the centre. That is an age ago in sport terms. Today Bird is TOO SLOW, TERRIBLE DEFENSIVELY, CRABS CROSS FIELD. The Dragons ran smoother last year when Jack Bird was absent. This is a job for the boys selection.

I want a future backrow of Halangahau/Latu/Couchman, props Loko/Couchman. Size, athleticism, great defence. Have the likes of Hutchinson (big red) rampaging off the bench. Looks good to me!
Sounds good to me too. Except I want the less heftier Couchman twins to stay in the back row to better utilise their pace and skills. I see Halangahu as a bullocking bookend with ball skills in the mould of the one that got away, AFB.

Kolum Kid

Nah. This pair go back to the Sharks, when was that '16/17, when he last played him in the centre. That is an age ago in sport terms. Today Bird is TOO SLOW, TERRIBLE DEFENSIVELY, CRABS CROSS FIELD. The Dragons ran smoother last year when Jack Bird was absent. This is a job for the boys selection.
Agree with everything you say. If Flano is fair dinkum I'm hoping he realizes before it is too late. Same reason contributed to Hooks demise.