Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hunt to AFL???!?!!

Vossy

The whole point of this is publicity both gc and western are struggling for members, gallop must stand up and talk expansion, png, wellington, central coast and perth take the pricks on and that f**king arogant boss.

just waiting for the AFL to realise, we in western sydney could not give a sh!t about them, we have better things to do then pay attention to fumble ballers and there pathetic sport

can we dispose of Victoriania like we did to tassie

miguel de cervantes

There's plenty of countries that have small local Aussie Rules competitions. The AFL currently bring them all out here and play an International Cup without Australian professional player involvement. Probably not that much different to the early days of International League with the Aussies being the only team ever likely to win.

Completely different. Please read up on rugby league international history.

yep run and kick, same as AFL

when was the last time AFL had a world cup? the kangaroos jersey is worth more then a singlet

alot more countries play league, AFL has 2

RLIF:

Test Nations
Australia · Cook Islands · England · Fiji · France · Great Britain · New Zealand · Papua New Guinea · Russia · Samoa · South Africa · Tonga

Affiliate Nations
American Samoa · Argentina · Austria · Canada · Czech Republic · Estonia · Germany · Greece · Ireland · Italy · Ivory Coast · Jamaica · Japan · Lebanon · Malta · Morocco · Netherlands · New Caledonia · Niue · Norway · Scotland · Serbia · Sweden · Tokelau · Tuvalu · United States · Wales

Unaffiliated Nations
Georgia · Latvia · Moldova · Portugal · Singapore · Solomon Islands · UAE · Ukraine · West Indies

That's great you've listed all the different countries that play league, now if a World Cup were held next week, how many would have a genuine chance of winning it? Then another in 4 years, how many would have a genuine chance of winning it? Has it ever changed since its inception aside from the fact that there are now 3 nations instead of 2 with a chance of winning it? I mean how many nations even compete in it?

just waiting for the AFL to realise, we in western sydney could not give a sh!t about them, we have better things to do then pay attention to fumble ballers and there pathetic sport

can we dispose of Victoriania like we did to tassie

You don't and by the sounds of it never will, I think the idea of the Western Sydney team is to develop a rivalry with the Swans and slowly generate interest from the grassroots up, unfortunately for you the AFL has time and plenty of money to be patient. Look how many years they had to prop up the Swans until they got any level of interest. Decades.

Dogs Of War

That's great you've listed all the different countries that play league, now if a World Cup were held next week, how many would have a genuine chance of winning it? Then another in 4 years, how many would have a genuine chance of winning it? Has it ever changed since its inception aside from the fact that there are now 3 nations instead of 2 with a chance of winning it? I mean how many nations even compete in it?

Yeah, maybe if you read up on the subject you would understand the history of it a little more. France for many of the early comps was a serious contender, but due to events in WW2 and after it, League was even banned from using the name "Rugby" in it's name, with all it's assets stripped and given to Rugby Union.

Most times, there are 3 serious contenders, with England dominating for a considerable period, only to be overtaken by Australia which has the best junior development in the game.

There is plenty of things happening in the sport to build on in other countries, and only by being played in other countries, can you actually have the potential for more competive countries appearing. It takes time, but the seeds have been sown. Personally some small adjustments like allowing the Pacific Island nations to play under one banner could create another top tier nation immediately, though that may devalue the game in those countries, so it's a double edged sword.

Either way you have shown you are just trolling for reactions. Stick to boogers at big footy, or tango with the boys on the Roar.

How many nations compete in the pretend hybrid game that just got cancelled to pay for cutie?

May as well play bull-rush or catch and kiss for Australia.

Yeah, maybe if you read up on the subject you would understand the history of it a little more. France for many of the early comps was a serious contender, but due to events in WW2 and after it, League was even banned from using the name "Rugby" in it's name, with all it's assets stripped and given to Rugby Union.

Most times, there are 3 serious contenders, with England dominating for a considerable period, only to be overtaken by Australia which has the best junior development in the game.

There is plenty of things happening in the sport to build on in other countries, and only by being played in other countries, can you actually have the potential for more competive countries appearing. It takes time, but the seeds have been sown. Personally some small adjustments like allowing the Pacific Island nations to play under one banner could create another top tier nation immediately, though that may devalue the game in those countries, so it's a double edged sword.

Either way you have shown you are just trolling for reactions. Stick to boogers at big footy, or tango with the boys on the Roar.

They may have started it and hosted it, but have they ever won one?

They'd be better off just having a tri-nations and be done with it. Don't fool yourself, SOO is the best football in the world and IMO is the pinnacle of league.

How many nations compete in the pretend hybrid game that just got cancelled to pay for cutie?

May as well play bull-rush or catch and kiss for Australia.

I'm not arguing that, if you read my original post I said that AR will never be an international game but a big arguing of league people is, 'But we have internationals'. Big deal, internationals against two other competitive nations, that's huge, really something to hang your hat on.

If I was an ex player my SOO jersies would take pride of place before a Kangaroos one.

Dogs Of War

They may have started it and hosted it, but have they ever won one?

They'd be better off just having a tri-nations and be done with it. Don't fool yourself, SOO is the best football in the world and IMO is the pinnacle of league.

So says you. I love my international league, as a younger man, I have many fond memories in the 80's, stayign up late to watch the Test matches between Australia and Great Britian. Mal Mengina scoring that try to win the match is one of my favourite moments ever.

Tests for me are the best, as it pits best of a countries players, against another countries best. English football is played in a different style to the Australian game, while NZ has a mixture of both due to there players being in both comps. France given another 10 years, and hopefully another team in the ESL, will really start producing juniors which will bring that countries game to another level.

You may not appreciate it, but that's probably because AFL has nothing to compare it to.

Green Machine

You don't and by the sounds of it never will, I think the idea of the Western Sydney team is to develop a rivalry with the Swans and slowly generate interest from the grassroots up, unfortunately for you the AFL has time and plenty of money to be patient. Look how many years they had to prop up the Swans until they got any level of interest. Decades.
The biggest selling point of the Swans has been rivalry against Victoria. The AFL is only doing this to try con the TV networks into giving them an increase in the next contract. In the late 90’s, the AFL tried to push the Kangaroos into Sydney and the people who were most upset were the Swans fans. The ARU made a profit of close to $50m out of the 2003 World Cup. The AFL should look closely at the strategies the ARU have used to try destabilise Rugby League and see how it failed for them. Their cash resources are getting thin. AFL in Sydney only works if the Swans are winning. I can’t see much interest to two average AFL sides in Sydney. Besides, The Western Sydney Celtics will be playing KM’s away from Blacktown at Homebush Bay.

Vossy

go back to last years world cup, its more then a 3 horse race, given time, money and help from the big 3, it will become more competitive over time

its more then what AFL can produce or ever accomplish

so what if some nations cant win it, its like that in every sport (except for AFL, for internationals all you have to do is flip a coin)

:whistle

guess which way the swans are heading, crowds are dropping, memberships are dropping..we just dont care for such a crap sport

seems the AFL likes wasting money

grassroots, AFL has no grassroots in Western sydney, WS you could count how many AFL teams on one hand, they have to combine grades just to put teams on the field, league has over 30,000 players, AFL have to include kids who participate in auskick in there numbers

a roy masters article destroyed the AFL, wish i could find it

LeagueXIII

Sorry mate, nice try but you really have NFI about iternational league. RL is not just made up of Australia, other countries play against each other aswell. Last week PNG played Fiji in a 2 test series.

http://www.fijitimes.com/story.aspx?id=126061

Hunt may not be able to pull on an Australian jersey but really what are they worth?

Now you are really showing your ignorance. To someone in Geelong who has never known the great deeds of the men who play our great game maybe they don't mean much to you but to all RL players getting an Australian jersey is one of the greatest honours you can achieve. Nathan Hindmarsh recently rated his Australian jersey in the 2000 WC as the highlight of his career. If it means so little why did it take Lockyer weeks to get over last years WC Final defeat.

Don't believe what the media write about international league it means a hell of alot. Look at the emotion in the Fijian players last year, or the the reaction of the English and French after their dissapointing performances last year, the tears of joy on tough man Ruben Wiki's face when they beat the Aussies in the 05 Tri Nations.

Just for you mate here is the try by Mal Meninga in injury time of one of the greatest games of all time:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sfTw2J5Fbzc

How many countries are competitive? Australia, New Zealand and England and it's not even that long ago that the latter two weren't competitive.

Competitive against Australia or competitive against each other? Some of the games involving teams other than Australia in last years WC were very competitive eg. NZ v England, PNG v England, Samoa v Tonga, Fiji v France etc.

Great Britain were extremely competitve in the 1990's as were the Kiwi's.

Look at the All Blacks, they have a greater winning percentage than the Kangaroos, some teams haven't beaten them in 100 years of trying eg. Scotland, Ireland etc.

How many teams can win the soccer WC, not 200 that's for sure probably the same percentage as in RL.

I mean League is at least third banana in NZ behind Union and Netball in popularity stakes and probably the same in the UK albeit with Union and Soccer.

League holds it's own and is considered as being of major national significance, which is how SPARC described it.

There's plenty of countries that have small local Aussie Rules competitions. The AFL currently bring them all out here and play an International Cup without Australian professional player involvement.

Sorry, but a WC held in some park in Oakleigh is a major embarrassment to compare it to RL's. Please, your not that silly.

Probably not that much different to the early days of International League with the Aussies being the only team ever likely to win.

Are you sure about this? Did you know that we didn't beat Great Britain in a series for 30 years between 1920 and 1950. The victory in 1950 is rated as the greatest moment in the history of Australian RL. Then in 1951 the great French team came here and kicked our butts, they are still spoken of today. Their captain Puig Aubert was voted French sportsmen of the year by L'Equipe and has a staue in his honour in France.

Please mate do some research

Cricket only had 3 or 4 teams in it's first 50 years, does this mean we shouldn't count this period as being an international game?

I don't think a sport like AR will ever be international

Finally you hit the nail on the head.

As for AR players crossing to RL I don't think it would be that easy for the simple fact of the tackling, it's completely different.

It's not just the tackling, it's the split second decision making that makes you or breaks you. I recall Newcastle playing Canterbury during Warren Ryan's years at the Knight's when they played an American footballer on the wing (Greg Smith was his name from memory), it didn't take the Bulldogs long to isolate him and run numbers at him, 3 tries latter down his wing he was never seen again after half time of that game.

RL1908

I'm not arguing that, if you read my original post I said that AR will never be an international game but a big arguing of league people is, 'But we have internationals'. Big deal, internationals against two other competitive nations, that's huge, really something to hang your hat on.

If I was an ex player my SOO jersies would take pride of place before a Kangaroos one.

For the most part of the 20th century, international cricket only mattered when it was Ashes Tests/series between Australia & England.

I dare say if cricket was only limited to Australia v England Ashes series, it would hold no less meaning to Australians than it does now.

This may be a surprise, but to Australians living north of the Murray River we've also have the winter equivalent of the Ashes with the Kangaroos and the Lions since 1908. A Kangaroos jersey was no less revered to footballerrs than a 'baggy green' to cricketers.

No argument that since Origin the state jerseys have gained great value to RL players. But RL players don't rate a state jersey over a Kangaroos jersey. They seek both.

Obviously international RL has a commercial value in Australia to media and sponsors and fans, and whatever $ value that adds up to annually, it's a figure that AFL doesn't have, nor can it build or improve upon.

We also get the see the best 17 RL players combine together, and test themselves against England or NZ (who in the latter case won the World Cup over Australia).

<H1 class=heading>Karmichael Hunt's worth $100,000: Paul Roos
Andrew Hamilton and Jon Ralph | July 31, 2009 12:00am

• PAUL Roos has declared Karmichael Hunt is worth a 10th of what he will be paid as fears mount his defection to the AFL could spark a "Super League-type" war.
And leading rugby league player manager George Mimis revealed last night that Australian and Queensland skipper Darren Lockyer almost became the first league star to shift to the AFL - eight years ago.
Roos joined Brisbane Lions coach Michael Voss in questioning the impact Hunt's estimated $1 million annual salary would have on the competition.
He will join the Gold Coast as one of the top-five earners in the AFL alongside premiership-winning superstars Jonathan Brown, Chris Judd and Dean Cox, and St Kilda captain Nick Riewoldt.
Gold Coast enters the AFL in 2011 with the No. 1 draft pick and as many as seven players from the top 10 of the 2010 draft. Their salaries combined would not match Hunt's.
"Let's be honest here, a player of Karmichael Hunt's current ability would probably be worth only $100,000 in the AFL," Roos, coach of the Sydney Swans, said.

"In terms of raw Australian rules football talent, the best young kid in the AFL is (Rising Star favourite) Daniel Rich.
"If he's lucky, Daniel could earn up to $120,000 in his debut season and he is already a better AFL player than Karmichael Hunt.
"The real market value for Karmichael is probably $100,000 a season to a maximum of $200,000, so the AFL and Gold Coast are spending up to $800,000 on potential ability and marketing power.
"But if they think Karmichael is worth $1 million a year, imagine what they'd be prepared to pay 'Buddy' Franklin and Gary Ablett Jr."
Voss said the introduction of the Gold Coast and western Sydney clubs and the increased salary caps and draft concessions the two new sides received would spark the league's first real wage war.
"There will be a real inflation in what they get and then it will drop off, but the culture of the game would have changed forever," Voss said.
Essendon last night confirmed it had been interested in Lockyer. In March 2001, the club contacted Mimis about the possibility of Lockyer switching codes. Lockyer was said to be flattered.
Lockyer had played more Australian rules than league when growing up in Queensland, before concentrating on league at 16.
Recruiting manager Adrian Dodoro contacted Mimis months after Essendon's 2000 premiership win, hopeful Lockyer might fly to Melbourne to be put through a testing procedure.

But Lockyer was content to stay with league
</H1>
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,25860614-19742,00.html