Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is James Roberts the fastest man in NRL history?

Bretto

Shane went to my High School. He used to run low 11's when he was in year 10. He was lightening.

We have a number of kids in high school running much faster times than these. Hell, when I was 16-17 I was running high 11's.

Jack Hale (17 year old from Tasmania), has run 10.13 with an illegal tail wind, but a best legit time of 10.42.

Bretto

I'm sure the Australian record (in aussie) for the 100m is 10.03, run by Matt Shrvington at the Sydney Olympics and the OP reckons a league player training as a league player is running sub 10s.

Behave.

That's not what I said.

Is there an issue on this board with comprehension or something?

I've seen bio-metrics done where they extrapolate from on field speed and acceleration and can deduce that he runs the 100m in sub 10s.

It's likely bullshit, I was just citing the idea as a point of reference for a discussion.

He's clearly a lot faster than Edrick Lee, if we take the chase down they had in that game (things like fatigue, field condition, running with vs without the ball etc all need to be taken into account). However, he took 7-8 meters off Lee within 60 meters on the field.

Bretto

Sorry meant 10.03 (as edited). There wouldn't be a league, union, soccer or AFL player training as such run under approximately 10.9 - 11s for the 100m.

Kevin Gordon has run sub 11 seconds on grass, in spikes before. I think it's on Youtube. This was pre ACL.

Bretto

Mike Cleary got dis.
9.3 s over 100 yards.

This is certainly right up there - if not the quickest. Bit of Googling tells me that to extrapolate 100 yards (91.44 meters) into 100 meters, the (very) basic rule, is to add 0.9 seconds. So around 10.2-10.3. That's world class.

Packy

Our best atheletes aren't doing track. Many of them are in footy. Wouldn't surprise me 1 bit if we had players that were faster than our records holders.

Bretto

Our best atheletes aren't doing track. Many of them are in footy. Wouldn't surprise me 1 bit if we had players that were faster than our records holders.

This x10000%. The truth is, there's f**k all money in Athletics and a heap of money in other professional sports like League, Union, etc.

bottle

This is certainly right up there - if not the quickest. Bit of Googling tells me that to extrapolate 100 yards (91.44 meters) into 100 meters, the (very) basic rule, is to add 0.9 seconds. So around 10.2-10.3. That's world class.

He actually competed for Australia in the Commonwealth games, so was a genuine sprinter. Achieved a few other athletics accolades as well. Defeated the great Ken Irvine in a match race when Cleary was playing Union. Represented Australia in RL, Union and athletics. A largely forgotten multi sport rep.
Was also a male model and went on to become a State MP. Truly a man for all seasons.

Bretto

He actually competed for Australia in the Commonwealth games, so was a genuine sprinter. Achieved a few other athletics accolades as well. Defeated the great Ken Irvine in a match race when Cleary was playing Union. Represented Australia in RL, Union and athletics. A largely forgotten multi sport rep.
Was also a male model and went on to become a State MP. Truly a man for all seasons.

Can't beat genetics.

magpie4ever

That's not what I said.

Is there an issue on this board with comprehension or something?

It's likely bullshit, I was just citing the idea as a point of reference for a discussion.

He's clearly a lot faster than Edrick Lee, if we take the chase down they had in that game (things like fatigue, field condition, running with vs without the ball etc all need to be taken into account). However, he took 7-8 meters off Lee within 60 meters on the field.

Dude, that is exactly what you said:

- you had seen the data. Please provide the detail and evidence.

- if Roberts was provided with a tartan surface and put over 100m , he would run sub 10s - from the data you had seen.

C'mon mate, while Roberts is quick he would probably run in the high 10s.

Dude, that is exactly what you said:

- you had seen the data. Please provide the detail and evidence.

- if Roberts was provided with a tartan surface and put over 100m , he would run sub 10s - from the data you had seen.

C'mon mate, while Roberts is quick he would probably run in the high 10s.

No he wouldn't. The data was obtained from him running, not a stationary start. There is a massive difference. He'd be about low 11's I reckon.

magpie4ever

No he wouldn't. The data was obtained from him running, not a stationary start. There is a massive difference. He'd be about low 11's I reckon.

high 10s, low 11s, whatever. Definitely not sub 10s, which would place him in the semis at Rio and probably the final.

Galeforce

Mike Cleary

After leaving rugby union and during his first year of rugby league with the South Sydney Rabbitohs he maintained his amateur status to enable his selection for the Commonwealth Games later that year. He represented Australia in Athletics at the 1962 British Empire and Commonwealth Games in Perth, collecting the Bronze Medal for the 100 yard sprint. The Gregory's source records him as having clocked 9.3 secs for the 100 yards during his athletic career.[2]

In 1964 he beat the rugby league speedster Ken Irvine in a A£2,000 match race at Wentworth Park, and in 1966 he won the Australian professional 130m sprint race.

cleary was fast and for those who thought Ken Irvine might be the fastest , see last para.

TheDalek079

yeah we can see it easily as you've put it in bold.

and you're pretty old, right? how fast were the players in the early days? thoughts on the speed of the likes of Harold Horder?

chunk

Lol @ the bronco wankfest over a new player .
When he was at the Titans he was just another player .
Now the baby oil & tissues are getting a workout just because he's now a bronco .

Ha, very true.

One town team and still haven't won a comp in ten years.

Darren Clarke who played for the Tigers represented Australia at the Commonwealth Games and maybe the Olympics......very quick.

Shane Whereat A somewhat controversial inclusion at the expense of another Parramatta winger and famous Offiah beater, Lee Oudenryn, Whereat’s recorded time of 10.5 sec in the Botany League Sprint ensures him of the final place in the field.

Darren Albert While he will always be best remembered for THAT try in the classic 1997 ARL Grand Final, Newcastle’s snowy-haired winger Darren Albert was also one of the quickest players to ever lace up the boots.
In 1999, Albert was unofficially crowned the fastest man in the NRL after winning a foot-race on The Footy Show, clocking in at a time of 10.7 seconds for the 100 metres. Even more impressive was he did it on a wet track, practically jogged the last 10 metres and was probably distracted by Blocker Roach wearing a dress.

And then just to prove it wasn’t a fluke, Albert moved to England where he was crowned the ‘Fastest Man in Super League’….five years later!

Mike Cleary Before blokes like Israel Folau, Anthony Mundine and Karmichael Hunt were finding success in multiple codes, Mike Cleary was out representing Australia in three different sports; representing the green and gold in rugby union, league and winning bronze at the 1962 Commonwealth games. Top that Izzy!
In 1964, Cleary competed in a sprint with fellow speedster Ken Irvine at Wentworth Park taking out the race and in 1966 he won the Australian professional 130m sprint race. How’s that for credentials.

Ken Irvine Australian rugby league’s greatest ever try scorer (212 during his career at North Sydney and Manly), Irvine was another player who had the ability to burn players off with pure speed. And, although he was technically beaten by Cleary, legends still abound about Irvine’s 9.3sec 100 yard dash at the Dubbo Gift.

http://www.sportsbet.com.au/blog/nrl/rugby-leagues-fastest-ever-race

Apey

Always think of this when Albert's speed is brought up.

[youtube]q4N1FYpEhy4&t=20s[/youtube]

Cockadoodledoo

There's an argument there, that James Roberts is perhaps the fastest player to ever play NRL, or even Rugby League. I've seen bio-metrics done where they extrapolate from on field speed and acceleration and can deduce that he runs the 100m in sub 10s.

Is it possible he's the fastest ever?

Before I comment on the thread, can you clarify if you are related to I Bleed Maroon in any way? Ok then, back to the topic, if this guy can run 100 metre's in under 10 seconds having trained to be a footballer. If he changed his training to that of a full time sprinter he could probably knock 0.3 or 0.4 seconds off his time easily.. Would pretty much have him as favourite for Olympic or World Championship Gold. Seems legit.