Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ivan Cleary hit with $20k breach notice

nick87

I think Ivan was reaching

His team blew the Raiders off the park in the first half, and then put the cue in the rack knowing the game was in the bag, the Raiders generally dont roll over under Stuart so they ended up "winning" the second half...

Officiating had not a lot to do with what happened in the 2nd half. Just a good team knowing the job was done. If Ivan had an issue with that, he should take that up with his team (and im sure he'll do just that)

Sorry Peter, I mean Timmah
Cute. I actually reckon V'landys is a bit of dickhead. Bennett and Cleary should not be paying the same fine - Bennett's fine should be much higher.

And he's probably costing the game through shit ratings as more teams drop out of contention earlier in the season because of the dumb changes he made.

But yeah, I'm "Peter" :rolling_eyes:

mxlegend99

Wouldn’t expect anything less from someone with as little class and integrity as Ivan.

he’s got a choke leash around the panthers as well. He can never be fired without the threat of losing golden child Nathan
How has he done any worse than Ricky Stuart?

Stuart did to Eels what Ivan did to Tigers... And has been by far the biggest sook when it comes to referees.

It's amazing that referees can have such influence on the game. Fans call it. Commentators call it. The media call it. But a coach comments on them and they get fined.

His comments obviously breached the rules and were always going to cop a fine for them. But hr said nothing that hasn't been said before in any game day thread.

How has he done any worse than Ricky Stuart?

Stuart did to Eels what Ivan did to Tigers... And has been by far the biggest sook when it comes to referees.

It's amazing that referees can have such influence on the game. Fans call it. Commentators call it. The media call it. But a coach comments on them and they get fined.

His comments obviously breached the rules and were always going to cop a fine for them. But hr said nothing that hasn't been said before in any game day thread.

The day we let Refs go on camera post game and talk about how sht they thought some players played or coaches coached is the day that coaches and players can do the same with refs!

shear_joy9

That bloke you said couldn't play centre. He went allright, hey? He can play dummy half too. We've got Kenny as well. Neither is quite Koroisau though. Every team is a few injuries away from disaster. I'm wondering how your mob will go with both Hodgson and Havili crook.

I doubt May would be in the nrl if he didn’t pictures of little Nathan sleeping. Won’t be long before another piece of shit like Moses whispers in Koro’s ear about how badly paid he is before the discontent overloads.

betcats

The day we let Refs go on camera post game and talk about how sht they thought some players played or coaches coached is the day that coaches and players can do the same with refs!

Would the refs comments bother the players more than anyone else's? NRL players cop it all the time. You can actually say the refs were shit and not get fined, you just cant question their integrity.

snickers007

Cute. I actually reckon V'landys is a bit of dickhead. Bennett and Cleary should not be paying the same fine - Bennett's fine should be much higher.

And he's probably costing the game through shit ratings as more teams drop out of contention earlier in the season because of the dumb changes he made.

But yeah, I'm "Peter" :rolling_eyes:

All good Timmah. Just busting your balls. ;)

The irony is that I actually think V'landys is very good for the game, so long as he keeps out of the day to day operations, and sticks to the boardroom stuff.

I'm also fully on board with Cleary copping a fine for his comments. I don't think the integrity of the referees should be questioned. The decisions they make most definitely should be fair game for comment, as should their coaching and lack of accountability when they are proven to have made mistakes.

I don't really watch any of Annesley's reviews (and my coach never gets fined for post match comments), so I have NFI whether he ever backs a coach after they've been fined. Can't imagine someone like V'landys would be real happy if he did though - he seems very much like a 'my way or the highway' kind of guy. My initial comment was jestfully along these lines, rather than the literal 'Annesley never admits refs get it wrong'

Would the refs comments bother the players more than anyone else's? NRL players cop it all the time. You can actually say the refs were shit and not get fined, you just cant question their integrity.

I guess they would if a ref said " I dont know how on earth player X dropped that ball over the try line, it makes you wonder if it was deliberate?"

GongPanther

He was clearly referring to the 4-12 second half score, but I wouldn’t expect a simpleton Panthers fan to understand.

On the fine, rightly so. Ivan acted like a prize wanker, which ironically means he fits right in at Penrith, and absolutely should have been fined.

He’s such a pathetic excuse for a human, honestly. The shit he pulled at the Tigers, the way he conducts himself. Embarrassing.
LOL! What a fooking loon! Settle down or you'll start menstruating.

GongPanther

I do wonder if they dont have the intelligence to be guarded and careful about what they say in a presser how on earth do they manage a football team? I mean I could understand it if his team had been robbed a victory in the dying seconds due to a bad call but they had just won.
I simply don't know, as I'm absolutely flabbergasted. I mean, what on Earth are coaches thinking when they come out with tirades such as this?

Is there something we can do? Maybe a GoFundMe page could be a start to send him off to another part of the planet. Such a naughty thing to do in hurting the feelings of Vlaundies, and his precious refs.

BTW, Warriors by 13+...a guaranteed lock in.

The_Frog

I doubt May would be in the nrl if he didn’t pictures of little Nathan sleeping.
A lot of our fans wanted him shown the door, don't you worry about that. And maybe taking the hit for Nathan did save his arse, who knows? But he's the best utility in the NRL even now, and is only going to get better. Telling BJ Leilua to f**k off was very cool (in fact one of the highlights of the season) but I do wish he'd not get so worked up on the field.