Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jake Arthur

oldmancraigy

I was a teacher at the school that Hayne, Inu and Folau went to. Any time they’d have footy training, there was this disheveled looking pimply little merkin who would pretend he was on the team. I don’t even think he was a student.

He wasn't a student.
BA was a coach down the south coast or something at the time, he liked to watch footy training in the city.

Still a disheveled looking pimply little merkin

Yeah I went to school with Hayne , inu and Folau and was considered the best of the bunch before injuries and leaving the game for the family business.

but on Arthur he reminds me of a young Andrew Johns and I can’t wait to see him and Brad winning a premiership together
Was the family business being a shithouse troll on LU???

TheRam

The right people with money. The sort of people that are willing to throw good money away to pay a marquee player as part of a ‘third party endorsement’ for their business.

Tell me when they published all the clubs 3rd party agreements a few years ago, where exactly did the Roosters sit in that pecking order?

Yeah that's right, near the bottom. So it really is about having the right people in the right positions that gets the job done. Oh who could have thunk it?

Of the fullbacks named I reckon Guth is last as far as running game goes. But first as far as ball playing goes and energy he brings.
Ponga perhaps is the middle ground guy. His ball playing and running games great. If fit Turbo is my best fullback but when is he fit?
Teddy and Pap and RTS are great runners but lack ball playing.

Latrell is the best player of the lot imo or will be. Just not 100% of his best position.

Cloeel

Of the fullbacks named I reckon Guth is last as far as running game goes. But first as far as ball playing goes and energy he brings.
Ponga perhaps is the middle ground guy. His ball playing and running games great. If fit Turbo is my best fullback but when is he fit?
Teddy and Pap and RTS are great runners but lack ball playing.

Latrell is the best player of the lot imo or will be. Just not 100% of his best position.

Latrell has all the talent and ability in the world. I just don't think he has it in him to be as consistent as the current or past top fullbacks in the game.

My only grievance with Gutho is that I would love for him to be a bit more vocal as Captain and enforce his own high standards and expectations upon his team mates. One area we lacked in for the majority of the back end of season and short lived time throughout the finals series is accountability, leadership & experience.

TheRam

I'm going to go ahead and say it now (and for the record, I don't expect many people to agree with me), but...

Clinton Gutherson is in the top 3 fullbacks in the NRL.

I am dead serious.

Have a look at his highlights - he's made plenty of long breaks (even scoring a few stunning long range tries).

He is safe under the high ball.

His defence is pretty good (though his positioning needs some improvement).

He is the most skilled fullback in the NRL imo.

He goes all day - his first run is the same quality as his last run.

He is a strong (if relatively inexperienced) leader.

He is a bloody good fullback.

He isn't as quick as Tedesco, or as explosive as Tuivasa-Sheck - but I honestly wouldn't swap him for anyone.

There are at least 7 more explosive, faster and evasive fullbacks in the NRL at present than Guth, but I agree with you as an over all package he is one of the top 3 in my opinion too.

Not in any particular order -

Ryan Papenhuyzen
James Tedesco
Latrell Mitchell
Kalyn Ponga
AJ Brimson
Roger Tuivasa-Sheck
Tom Trbojevic

Angry_eel

Ok. Point form.
Stefano played good.
rhyno is a wanker.
It looks like some of you now think that Mitchy is not the Messiah.
We need a premiership mate. Whether Mitch is the messiah or not, hardly matters. We need him to do just enough to win.

If a team with Chad Townsend at HB can win, I'd be ok with a team with Mitch Moses.

I don't get the hate for Moses. He left, get over it. The same way we slowly got over Jamie Lyon!

84 Baby

No response yet. They must be hard at work signing up all that junior talent

Edit - nope they’re too busy discussing where Gutho may or may not sit in the fullback pecking order. But surely they’d know definitively? Or at least could give us the order of value each player provides?

TheRam

The ones they know of lol.

Well we can speculate all we like, but the reality is we have no clue if it is true or not. But what I can see for sure is that Politis and his fellow board members are rich, savvy and connected enough for all the player managers and players to want to come to the club and be part of. They know that the club has the highest standards and the best coaching and support staff, and that life after football can be rewarding with the opportunities that the clubs management can provide.

Are we viewed this way?

Well we have that Westpac banker on our board I suppose. Does he make himself available to any of the players that maybe interested in a white collar career? Does he mentor? Do we have connections that the players can take advantage of? These little things, fringe benefits so to speak maybe the difference when players are assessing where to go and have similar deals to choose from.

I hear many former players over the years refer back to how Politis and the club helped them learn things and guide them into life after football and still pick up the phone and speak to those connections for advice. For instance I have heard Braith Anasta say that he knows and has rubbed shoulders with many people that he would never of had the opportunity to know if it weren't for the Roosters and Politis. I have never heard any former Parra player say anything of the sort. Maybe that is the difference? Not so much the TPA's, which the Roosters have very little on the books, but the contacts and connections that they can afford the players with.

If you have a good reputation like that, then the buzz about your organisation is always positive and players feed off it whether they take advantage of it or not. But what it does do is the club is perceived as a place that gives all its players the highest opportunity of success on and off the field and even later on in life.

This is where we have to go next in our evolution. It is our last step as a club on the way to greatness. If we manage that, we will also see that we will all of a sudden have the best coach on our books too, which we haven't been able to do since Gibson.

TheRam

Edit - nope they’re too busy discussing where Gutho may or may not sit in the fullback pecking order. But surely they’d know definitively? Or at least could give us the order of value each player provides?

What exactly are you asking?

I told you my list. Hollis,JA,Penisni and Naiuku all look workable at the club.

Dunster will be ok but I don't expect big things.

Tell me when they published all the clubs 3rd party agreements a few years ago, where exactly did the Roosters sit in that pecking order?

Yeah that's right, near the bottom. So it really is about having the right people in the right positions that gets the job done. Oh who could have thunk it?
“We need someone who ‘gets the job done’! I don’t know what that job is but they just need to do it”. (TheRam, 2021)

Just on your point about the Roosters, you need to dig a little deeper than the graph itself.

“The Roosters had just $69,000 worth of private sector TPAs, however the likes of Cooper Cronk and James Tedesco benefited from additional whole of game sponsorship which wasn't included in the team-by-team breakdown.”

https://www.nrl.com/news/2019/12/13/nrl-crackdown-leads-to-dramatic-drop-in-third-party-deals/

Well we can speculate all we like, but the reality is we have no clue if it is true or not. But what I can see for sure is that Politis and his fellow board members are rich, savvy and connected enough for all the player managers and players to want to come to the club and be part of. They know that the club has the highest standards and the best coaching and support staff, and that life after football can be rewarding with the opportunities that the clubs management can provide.

Are we viewed this way?

Well we have that Westpac banker on our board I suppose. Does he make himself available to any of the players that maybe interested in a white collar career? Does he mentor? Do we have connections that the players can take advantage of? These little things, fringe benefits so to speak maybe the difference when players are assessing where to go and have similar deals to choose from.

I hear many former players over the years refer back to how Politis and the club helped them learn things and guide them into life after football and still pick up the phone and speak to those connections for advice. For instance I have heard Braith Anasta say that he knows and has rubbed shoulders with many people that he would never of had the opportunity to know if it weren't for the Roosters and Politis. I have never heard any former Parra player say anything of the sort. Maybe that is the difference? Not so much the TPA's, which the Roosters have very little on the books, but the contacts and connections that they can afford the players with.

If you have a good reputation like that, then the buzz about your organisation is always positive and players feed off it whether they take advantage of it or not. But what it does do is the club is perceived as a place that gives all its players the highest opportunity of success on and off the field and even later on in life.

This is where we have to go next in our evolution. It is our last step as a club on the way to greatness. If we manage that, we will also see that we will all of a sudden have the best coach on our books too, which we haven't been able to do since Gibson.
Agree with all of that. Smartest thing you have written on the topic.

TheRam

“We need someone who ‘gets the job done’! I don’t know what that job is but they just need to do it”. (TheRam, 2021)

Just on your point about the Roosters, you need to dig a little deeper than the graph itself.

“The Roosters had just $69,000 worth of private sector TPAs, however the likes of Cooper Cronk and James Tedesco benefited from additional whole of game sponsorship which wasn't included in the team-by-team breakdown.”

https://www.nrl.com/news/2019/12/13/nrl-crackdown-leads-to-dramatic-drop-in-third-party-deals/

What are you talking about? When I say the right people in the right jobs, I am referring to management in particular. These people need to be connected. It is the way the business world works. If we have the "right" people in management then the flow on is obvious and good. I think we have sort of the right people on our board. Well a damned sight better then all the previous wankers that masqueraded as management prior to the shake up and restructure. But are they connected enough to take us to the next level? I don't know.

As for TPA's, well how much were/is Cronk & Tedesco on? And surely we too could get these two some sort of decent TPA too. I don't think that these two went to the Roosters because of the TPA's, because I believe most clubs could get them too, but they chose to go to the Roosters because they are the best run club in NSW and had/have exceptional coaches and roster.

I too would have them at the top of my list if I was an elite player. You know that the money will be there as it would be with any other club you signed with. It's the other things that make the difference.