Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Josh Davis

Jake the snake said:
Yeah its true that tim lacks a little pace and his running game can be worked on. But then u think of halfbacks such as Stuart and Sterlo who were not that fast. And even today shifty sherwin isn't that fast, As long as he can provide direction on the field and a good passing and kicking which he has got then that will be sweet.

I don't watch the lower grades because every time I've gone to the footy, I've gone with people who only want to watch Firsts. So all I know of the likes of Ben Smith, Mateo, etc. is what I see in First Grade.

Does Tim REALLY have a good kicking and passing game? Because I remember people las year saying Mick had a good kicking game (which he did), but he just lacked direction.

Utey

Mate if you can get out and watch out juniors becausr then you can make your own opinion. IMHO Smith is twice the player Witt will ever be. Whenever Witt played this year he really didnt look comfortable. Iam hoping Smith can step up and play to his full potential. His kicking and passing game are none other than excellant. Smith also tells where the forwards need to be and organises superbly. One to watch in 05' thats for sure.

I agree with UTE, however I'm not that convinced that he's twice the player than Witt but I believe he's a season away of being that.

Tim seemed to get better as the year went on and considering it was his first full in Premier league stepped up to the mark.

Utey

I think that Smith has come bounds ahead of where Witt was when he was in Smiths position.

Mate if you can get out and watch out juniors becausr then you can make your own opinion. IMHO Smith is twice the player Witt will ever be. Whenever Witt played this year he really didnt look comfortable. Iam hoping Smith can step up and play to his full potential. His kicking and passing game are none other than excellant. Smith also tells where the forwards need to be and organises superbly. One to watch in 05' thats for sure.

Yeah definitely mate - I'm going to insist to start watching our Juniors play from now on.

Whnever I went to Parra Stad I went early and saw the Flegg and PL play. And in the start of th year the Flegg team was ripping oppositions apart and were undefeated untill half the team moved up to PL. And I also saw in one of those games Tim SMith at HAlf and Blake Green at 5/8, It was Blakes 1st game in Flegg after just being moved up and they looked like as a good combo, I believe the next game after that Tim moved up to the PL side.

Even the Harold Mathews team this year was unbelieveable and the GF which we won against Penrith was probably one of the best games I have ever seen.

Jake the snake said:
Whnever I went to Parra Stad I went early and saw the Flegg and PL play. And in the start of th year the Flegg team was ripping oppositions apart and were undefeated untill half the team moved up to PL. And I also saw in one of those games Tim SMith at HAlf and Blake Green at 5/8, It was Blakes 1st game in Flegg after just being moved up and they looked like as a good combo, I believe the next game after that Tim moved up to the PL side.
Even the Harold Mathews team this year was unbelieveable and the GF which we won against Penrith was probably one of the best games I have ever seen.

Is it just me, or is Parra not too keen on forming combinations?

That's what I mean though.

Jake said that Green at 5/8 with Smith at halfback looked like a good combination, and the very next week Smith is promoted to Premier League without this new combination getting any time to be tested.

Utey

If we didnt have such an injury toll we would have done a lot better in both the lower grades.

Eelementary said:
That's what I mean though.

Jake said that Green at 5/8 with Smith at halfback looked like a good combination, and the very next week Smith is promoted to Premier League without this new combination getting any time to be tested.

mate,

I think there's more a priority in developing the individual talents before you form a combination to prepare 2 to 3 years in advance.

You can't hold a footballer back if he showing great form and desearves a promotion to a higher grade. and as UTE says injurys, suspension and loss of form means there's always a bloke there to take your spot.

surely you can't tell me that you would promote a lesser talented kid ahead of another, that's a sure way of losing our talent to other clubs.

stuke

Twizzle said:
Stirlo lacked pace, but he'll do me anyday

sterlo had the ability to read what was going to happen in a game about 2 or 3 plays before it did....therefore he could have been as slow as a turtle and still shone. hopefully one of these boys who are coming through have this natural ability as well...

stuke said:
Twizzle said:
Stirlo lacked pace, but he'll do me anyday

sterlo had the ability to read what was going to happen in a game about 2 or 3 plays before it did....therefore he could have been as slow as a turtle and still shone. hopefully one of these boys who are coming through have this natural ability as well...

I'd be stoked if anyone of those 4 players turn out to have 25% of Sterlo's ability we would have one heck of a player.

The Colonel said:
This is interesting. The way Smith has bought in the off season makes me wonder what role he is putting the halfback in to. To me it looks like he is going back to starting everything from the acting-half position again. Morris, Riddell and Marsh have all played a lot of football from this position and are a big strength. Off the back of quick play the balls by the forwards the three mentioned above can gain metres or play in a similar way that Drew and Marsh did in 2001. It all depends on the forwards making the metres that they didn't this year.

This is a very good point. I think our play the ball work since 2001 has become slower and more predictable, making the forwards' job harder in the early tackles, and the halves' job harder in the later tackles.

Now we know who we've bought for next year, I'm dying to know what type of footy Smith and co will be getting them to play....

Iafeta

In regards to Josh Davis, its not certain he's an Eel yet

This is from www.stuff.co.nz

Josh Davis' anticipated move to NRL club Parramatta next year has stalled.

The Wellington centre's manager Peter Mellars said yesterday the Eels offer was demeaning and Davis would probably remain in New Zealand unless there was a significant improvement.

Davis, 17, had a scholarship with the Eels this year, and the club had proudly announced the Junior Kiwi's selection as one of its big gains for next year.

However, Mellars said he was a long way from agreeing terms with the Eels after the club had flown Davis' parents, Bruce and Margaret, to Sydney last weekend in a further bid to secure him.

"We've yet to receive an offer in line with Josh's ability," Mellars said.

"My advice to him is that he stay in Wellington for another year and we negotiate with clubs that are serious about signing him."

He saw Davis as reserve grade material, which would put him in line to receive a basic annual salary of between $A40,000 and $A60,000.

AdvertisementAdvertisementEels football manager Tony Zappia was under the impression the club had secured Davis' services, and he expressed surprise when it was suggested the move was far from settled.

"We've upgraded our offer. It has to be remembered he's not tried and tested yet," Zappia said.

Utey

#-o #-o #-o But ZaPPIA is totally right. This kid could be another star or just a dud. I think the Davis Management are a bit over their heads with this one.