Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Knights V Dragons Match Discussion

If we actually get it together over 80 minutes we are going to go top four at least. Vuna, Wes, Aku, Tolar and Simmo all yet to return. I think opposition teams are starting to take us very seriously as a premiership threat. Put it this way, when 2GB rap us deluxe you know we are going well. They hate Smithy generally speaking. Brian Smith is a tactical genius. Karmawave hasn't got a leg to stand on right now. He knows it!

Yosh

Rogers was MEH!!! (Meh meaing average)

ANYONE can draw and pass, maybe not Sau, but the Doogs try was all Mullen man taking on the line, putting Rogers through the line.

Rogers was meh... I would much rather see Duearu out there!!!

Great performance and where was this goal kicking coming from? Amazing stuff. Seroiusly was under the pump hard early 2nd half but then exploded!!! Awesome!

Anyways if anyone from the team is reading this: CONGRATS great work!

Syko

grats knights, we had the game at the half but as soon as dell went off we fell apart.

that second half was the saints of old giving away dumb penalties but the refs didnt exactly have a great game.

good job sticking it out and getting the win.

all the best for the rest of the season.

Whats Doing

We played a totally different offensive game tonight, much more like last years look and feel. I am left shaking my head yet again that the post match discussion has landed on Rogers for some reason. So what, he chipped ahead on their 30m line with 5 to go. It didnt work, its not like it was a low percentge play or in a bad spot for that type of play, and for the want of a finger tip he would have laid on a try. His touches were very good imo. His defence was outstanding. Give the guy a break. Mullen ran the damn thing with more on the line much further out and I dont see anyone breaking his balls about it.

Spot on. He deserves the credit for his play last night and for thje last few weeks.

You have to laugh when people say his run to set up Doogs for his try was all credit to Mullo, really have biased blinkers on. They obviously didn;t see the line Rogers ran to get through the line, they didn't see that Rogers then had to brush off 2 further defenders before drawing the fullback to send Doogs over for the try.

As Hanscholo quite rightly says, give the guy a break or gives yourselves an uppercut.

Pika

Ben Rogers is positively the worst footbaler i have ever seen. Brain Explosions galore.

We played sh*thouse bar 10 minutes, Saints played well nearly the entire match. We are contenders.

Possibly the most ridiculous post I have read in a while.

Our first half was outstanding into a massive wind.

Excellent defence and only some individual brilliance saw us concede 14.

Then we roll in 18 points against one of the best defencive sides in the comp.

Rogers was great, as was Faas.

One of the more satisfying victories I have seen.

Karmawave

Wow you really think anyone would care enough about your opinion that they'd prefer us to potential lose the you be right, suck it up sweetheart you're not that important

Then why else could their be so much anti Rogers sentiment around here?

The bloke deadset carved up last night, and did something Dureau has never done, broken a couple of tackles, busted the line and changed the game.

It's pretty obvious that people do care, because everytime Dureau v Rogers its mentioned, my name isn't too far away from the discussion.

All I want, is Rogers judged on his form and ability, not because everyone loves Dureau so bloody much and hates me.

He is a totally different class at his best than Dureau will ever be.

You obviously found the time to respond, so you must care some yourself.

Serc

Possibly the most ridiculous post I have read in a while.

Thats his style mate, though I don't exactly agree with that line either.

Welcome back RABK, been a while!

See 2004-2007 for more of his work ;-)

Edit: Karma - that might be because you officially jumped on his nuts as soon as we have a good win without your good mate benchwarmer in the team at all!

Pika

I am surprised at the heat Rogers is getting.

I thought he was great tonight, and has been the last few weeks.

Karmawave

I am surprised at the heat Rogers is getting.

I thought he was great tonight, and has been the last few weeks.

Of course he has.

It doesn't take much to figure out the reasons why.

Dureau is nice to a group of supporters and always says hello, so he must be the best halfback in the club!

Pika

Well I am also a fan of Scott, and thinks he adds a lot of direction and composure to the squad.

Regardless of Rogers good form recently, I would still like to see Scott picked.

But lets not take away from Rogers. Credit where credit is due.

antonius

Of course he has.

It doesn't take much to figure out the reasons why.

Dureau is nice to a group of supporters and always says hello, so he must be the best halfback in the club!

And your just as anti Dureau. If your honest Karma, Rogers contribution in games has been nothing more than Dureaus' in fact given the limited game time Dureau has had I'd still have him in front of Rogers as my prefered partner with Mullen. Don't say I'm anti Rogers I posted this back in Feb
antonius said:
I'm tipping us to come in at 5. Hopefully Cross with a full season along with Simmo will see us have some command up front. As said by others the young guys all have a year behind them abd will be far better for it this year. DeGois will be a quality replacement for Danny, and despite all the crap from the media I reckon Rogers will surprise all his critics. We lost some close games last year and really only got lapped badly in a couple, we'll improve on that this year purely because of added experience for the younger guys and more contribution from Crossy and Simmo, I also think Patto will make big steps up the ladder this year. Positive year I think, I wasn't that confident a couple of months ago, but when you think about last year and how close we really were I think it looks good.

I will say (just as you do) if Rogers is going to be prefered to Dureau then he needs to perform consistantly for the whole game. ATM he doesn't do that.

Karmawave

And your just as anti Dureau. If your honest Karma, Rogers contribution in games has been nothing more than Dureaus' in fact given the limited game time Dureau has had I'd still have him in front of Rogers as my prefered partner with Mullen. Don't say I'm anti Rogers I posted this back in Feb

I will say (just as you do) if Rogers is going to be prefered to Dureau then he needs to perform consistantly for the whole game. ATM he doesn't do that.

And Dureau is Mr Consistency? Oh come on man. :lol: Even when he has been playing Smith has been taking him off after 30 minutes because he said he can't finish the game at the same level as he starts it.

As for Rogers contribution to the game - I said it in another thread. He can bust the line , break some tackles and change the game which is something Dureau has never done in 2 years of first grade football. There is more to a game of footy than standing and passing and kicking ( often poorly )

I'm anti Dureau because I don't rate the guy as a first grade halfback. Simple as that. I don't not rate him because of some personal reason - which is why most the Dureau fans on here think he is Gods gift, because it obviously can't be based on class and skill.

The other huge difference is, after Dureau plays well and wins us a game of footy, I come in here and compliment the way he played.

Last night we won the game - as $2.90 underdogs - and a bunch of people STILL want to bag Rogers after he played a huge part in that win.

There's your diffference.

Spike

Rogers and Dureau have different stronger sets of skills. Rogers is a better defender and is more likely to chance his arm and try and pull off a low percentage play, where Dureau is far more consistent and level-headed.

You could almost make a case for playing either one depending on the opposition. If our opponents are more defensive and less attacking like the Sharks, a player like Rogers may make more plays likely to unsettle and catch the defence napping, where if we play an opponent who are more attacking but lack defence like the Tigers, Dureau maybe able to stick a game plan of targeting certain players or turn slow wingers around like Tuiaki and get them to chase kicks like he did with Talanoa when playing Souths.

roopy

So Karma - I suppose you will have to be thinking Smith is a genius for turning Rogers into a match winner?

(stands back in case Karma's brain explodes)

Karmawave

So Karma - I suppose you will have to be thinking Smith is a genius for turning Rogers into a match winner?

(stands back in case Karma's brain explodes)

???

I've seen him win plenty of games for the Rabbitohs while taking them to the Top 8, so unsure if his skill set is something new Roopy...

The Top 8 is foreign territory in the NRL for any other halfback in our club.

antonius

And Dureau is Mr Consistency? Oh come on man. :lol: Even when he has been playing Smith has been taking him off after 30 minutes because he said he can't finish the game at the same level as he starts it.

As for Rogers contribution to the game - I said it in another thread. He can bust the line , break some tackles and change the game which is something Dureau has never done in 2 years of first grade football. There is more to a game of footy than standing and passing and kicking ( often poorly )

I'm anti Dureau because I don't rate the guy as a first grade halfback. Simple as that. I don't not rate him because of some personal reason - which is why most the Dureau fans on here think he is Gods gift, because it obviously can't be based on class and skill.

The other huge difference is, after Dureau plays well and wins us a game of footy, I come in here and compliment the way he played.

Last night we won the game - as $2.90 underdogs - and a bunch of people STILL want to bag Rogers after he played a huge part in that win.

There's your diffference.
Did I say he was??? no I didn't I was merely saying just as you do about Dureau that Rogers needs to perform consistantly. In my opinion our best halves combo right now is Mullo 6 and Dureau 7 Rogers played alright last night, but from all the reports I'm reading (and I know that's not ideal,) the game wasn't won by him alone, which is the impression some on here are giving. From the games I've seen Rogers play at 5/8th he's been nothing out of the box. He's had brief moments of class, and quite a few moments of crap. He's got the talent, he needs it to be there consistantly.

Karmawave

Rogers has led a very ordinary Souths team to the Top 8 practically on his own outside one of the worst ever halfbacks thats played the NRL in that NZ dude Smith.

He can be hot and cold, but talent wise he is at another level and has proven it in the past.

Like I said, when Dureau plays well , and the team wins, thats all that matters, and I come in here and compliment Dureau when he has performed a job well done.

When the team wins last night, everyone wants to still heap sh*t on Rogers because their favourite player was overlooked.

What's more important to you? The team winning, or having your favourite players in the team.

I know what's more important to me.

If the team was playing best with Dureau in halfback and winning games, fair enough. But we haven't been, so what the hell are we meant to do?

$2.90 underdogs, we win the game, and people still want to change the team? Give me a break.

Karmawave

Well Antonius, I'm not sure what you're getting at? Of course we want everyone to be consistent! No matter where they are playing.

Rogers can be inconsistent. Dureau can be inconsistent. So what wins out? In my opinion class and skill and hope for the best.

Our halves need consistency more than anything. Not debating that.

My last post wasn't merely aimed at you either.

Serc

He is Mr Consistency compared to Rogers, certainly when you compare their last dozen or so matches.

I think they both offer the X factor to the team, obviously with different skillsets of course. I'm not even going to bother replying to that line of yours about busting lines, breaking tackles and especially 'changing the game'...

Do you think I've ever met the guy? From watching him through the TV screen and the odd game up here, he's struck me as a bloke with the talent and charisma, if you could use such a description, to be a key player in our clubs success over many years to come. You could say I'm drawing a long bow but we haven't had a lot of the things he brings to the team since (dare I say the big word) Johns.