Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 3 vs Bulldogs @ Campbelltown Stadium

Who will win? Round 3: Wests Tigers v Bulldogs

• Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 1-12

• Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 13+

magpie_man

OK - Not a margin of 50 but 50 points in a Semi-Final gotta be worth mentioning - I will never forget this game (or the whole final series and the exhilarating brand of football that we played). Hodgon's 30 point haul including 3 tries is one of the all time great West Tigers performances!

Wests Tigers 2005 Finals Series Results[2]
Round
Opponent Result Date Venue Crowd Referee
Qualifying Final North Queensland Cowboys Win 9 September 2005 Telstra Stadium (H) 26,463 Paul Simpkins
50 - Wests Tigers (Tries: Hodgson 3, Richards, Fulton, Whatuira, Fitzhenry, Elford; Goals: Hodgson 9)
6 - Cowboys (Tries: Sing; Goals: Hannay)

I remember Graham Murray being asked about the lopsided scoreline when interviewed after the game and his response was that the Tigers were just incredible.

gordsy

I doubt the nrl would even be stupid enough to relocate a team from sydney into another market. Expand now and let teams die by natural attrition.

west4ever

Aye, looking at the draw we need to win this, and win well.

We have games coming up against the Panthers (twice), Broncos, Souffs, Roosters, and Storm before the bye which will show if we're the real deal or not.
Nah don’t worry we will beat them all, we will be unbeaten this season and win the comp, than the nrl will fine us and take the trophy away from us for salary cap breaches.

https://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/rug...-play-against-them/ar-BBVkO8w?ocid=spartandhp

Bulldogs paying Mbye $175,000 to play against them

Already hurting from a horror opening fortnight to start the season, Canterbury fans will now need to come to grips with the news their club are still paying Sunday's rival skipper Moses Mbye a whopping $175,000 this season.

The Bulldogs have slumped to their worst defensive start in nearly 50 years as Mbye and his Wests Tigers look to continue that misery at Campbelltown Sports Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

Mbye was squeezed out of Belmore midway through last year, but the Herald can reveal the Dogs are picking up the tab for about $175,000 this year - and in 2020.

Clubs continuing to pay part of a player's wage once they move on is not uncommon in the modern game.

David Klemmer and Aaron Woods are also pocketing part of their income from Canterbury despite playing for Newcastle and Cronulla respectively.

But Dogs supporters will cringe knowing Mbye has been embraced by the Tigers - so much so he was elevated to the captaincy - and will be paid by his former club to sink the boot into them.

Mbye inked a four-year deal with the Tigers understood to be worth around $3 million, including the Dogs' extra payments.

Canterbury chief executive Andrew Hill and coach Dean Pay have moved some of the club's biggest names on in a desperate bid to ease cap pressure caused by their predecessors.

The club conceded last year the cap situation was so bleak it was unable to make a play for a marquee player until at least 2021. Canterbury are already the firm favourites to take out the spoon this season.

Pay dumped five players to reserve grade after the Parramatta loss and will hand local junior Jayden Okunbor his debut on the wing.

Tigers halfback Luke Brooks is one person who is delighted Mbye made the call to link with the Tigers.

Brooks has the luxury of leaning on three of the most experienced teammates in the Tigers spine, with Mbye, Robbie Farah and Benji Marshall having played more than 650 NRL games between them.

Another unwanted Dog, Josh Reynolds, who is awaiting a first-grade recall, has also been assisting Brooks at training.

Brooks has started the season brilliantly, and made it known he had also taken inspiration from the flying start made by his Parramatta pal and former housemate Mitchell Moses.

"After the season Parramatta had last year, it was a tough one for him [Moses], but I know what he's capable of, and it's good to see him playing well,'' Brooks said of Moses.

"He moved out in the off-season, but we're still close. We bought some jetskis at Christmas. They're 'his and his'.

"We never really spoke about footy when he lived together. But seeing the other one play well only makes you want to play well.

"He's controlling the team really well, he's got a young halves partner, and Mitch has that control of the team. I've got the opposite [of young] in Benji, but he's been good, and our spine is working really well.''

Tigers teammates believe Brooks has taken his game to another level and grown in confidence since being awarded the Dally M halfback of the year.

The Tigers will be hoping to play their first game of the season in dry conditions and show what they are capable of with ball in hand at Campbelltown Sports Stadium on Sunday against a spluttering Canterbury.

"Brooksy is growing as a player, you can see it on the field,'' Esan Marsters said. "He's leading us around the park well and his kicking game and running game have gone to another level.

"I think he's got appoint to prove each week for himself. Winning Dally M halfback of year and almost being the Dally M winner there's a lot of pressure on him, but the thing with Brooksy is he's always cool and calm and goes out each week to be the best player he can be. When he's on, we're on."

Crazyperpman

Bulldogs paying for our captain & Panthers paying for our coach.

Its funny how some clubs think they have read the last chapter on The Path to Success but turns out they are reading the wrong book.

super_coach

Lap it all up, as soon as they drop a couple of games these articles will disappear. Of course if we keep winning, they will work there way through the roster than start on the back office

The unknown

As last night showed anything can happen in NRL. Honestly who expected Dragons would play well & win last night?

Can't take any game lightly in this competition

I remember Graham Murray being asked about the lopsided scoreline when interviewed after the game and his response was that the Tigers were just incredible.

I felt sad knowing that Muzza went to the grave without a premiership. Politis gifted the team he built to Sticky and the Cowboys would have probably beaten any other team in the 05 GF. He was a good coach but for whatever reasons just never got over the line.

Tiger Ted

I felt sad knowing that Muzza went to the grave without a premiership. Politis gifted the team he built to Sticky and the Cowboys would have probably beaten any other team in the 05 GF. He was a good coach but for whatever reasons just never got over the line.
I felt the same way for one of my idols as a kid Steve ‘sludge’ Rogers.What a sublime player he was.The greatest player I can think of who didn’t win a comp.He played in a couple of losing GF’s.

simmo05

And he was a gentleman

Tigers Tale

Aye, looking at the draw we need to win this, and win well.

We have games coming up against the Panthers (twice), Broncos, Souffs, Roosters, and Storm before the bye which will show if we're the real deal or not.

As much as I hate to say it we haven't done anything so far this year that we didn't last. We had a great start in 2018 albeit it was more defence orientated than attack last year, so I am quietly confident we do have more points in us this year than last. Plus we are very fit.

You are right though, we should and need to win this with a big score. I looked at the draw at the beginning of the year and actually had us winning the first three games so at this point I can't get too excited. I think we should have won the first three games. If we are still in a solid position after round 10....well, I'll be back on here crowing (or whatever sound a Magpie makes lol) claiming we are in for a good season.

I reckon Madge is a huge positive this year...can't rate him enough.

Vozzy

As much as I hate to say it we haven't done anything so far this year that we didn't last. We had a great start in 2018 albeit it was more defence orientated than attack last year, so I am quietly confident we do have more points in us this year than last. Plus we are very fit.

You are right though, we should and need to win this with a big score. I looked at the draw at the beginning of the year and actually had us winning the first three games so at this point I can't get too excited. I think we should have won the first three games. If we are still in a solid position after round 10....well, I'll be back on here crowing (or whatever sound a Magpie makes lol) claiming we are in for a good season.

I reckon Madge is a huge positive this year...can't rate him enough.
I know we haven't played top teams but so far we have scored 20-30 points plus have had good defence where last year we only had good defence. Funny how so far Penrith have struggled to score points so maybe Ivan is only good at defensive side of things.

Against the warriors we had only 2 missed tackles the whole first half and at one stage tigers were 6/10 completions and later were 24/28. Tigers were able to finish both games off in the final 20min so far kinda like the roosters did. Although we don't have those kinds of players they do at least Madge has them fit and playing disciplined footy. If they are consistent this should beat all the bottom 8 teams.

I think today will be a bigger test then the panthers and broncos. If we lose today but then beat one of the better teams it would show that nothing’s changed. We’ve never had a problem getting up for the big teams, and often taking out a heavyweight. Our issue has always been consistently beating the teams we should, which has ultimately cost us a few finals spots.

I feel confident Maguire won’t let that complacent mindset sneak in, but then there’s only so much he can do before they get into the field isn’t there

The Rosco

I know we haven't played top teams but so far we have scored 20-30 points plus have had good defence where last year we only had good defence. Funny how so far Penrith have struggled to score points so maybe Ivan is only good at defensive side of things.

Against the warriors we had only 2 missed tackles the whole first half and at one stage tigers were 6/10 completions and later were 24/28. Tigers were able to finish both games off in the final 20min so far kinda like the roosters did. Although we don't have those kinds of players they do at least Madge has them fit and playing disciplined footy. If they are consistent this should beat all the bottom 8 teams.
Vozzy old mate. if I may correct you . . . "Penrith have struggled to score points" Yep !! dead right. Out of 30 they've scored, 10 or 12 of them were against 12 men.
So Ivan Cleary's strong suit sure as hell ain't attack.
" . . so maybe Ivan is only good at defensive side . . ." Ivan Cleary, the superstar coach who is no longer looking tired these days, and had the divine quest of coaching his son . . . well Ivan Cleary's team has gushed(not leaked) 66 points in 3 games.

So, he can't coach attack(even with a good roster on paper), and 22 points a game ain't good defence coaching (even with a good roster on paper).
His son isn't the superstar he was talked up as. In fact, he has been fairly shyte this season.
But they both do have substantial and magnificent chins. In the 40's and 50's, they wouldn't have been in rugby league with those chins. They'd be movie stars .

Tiger Ted

Vozzy old mate. if I may correct you . . . "Penrith have struggled to score points" Yep !! dead right. Out of 30 they've scored, 10 or 12 of them were against 12 men.
So Ivan Cleary's strong suit sure as hell ain't attack.
" . . so maybe Ivan is only good at defensive side . . ." Ivan Cleary, the superstar coach who is no longer looking tired these days, and had the divine quest of coaching his son . . . well Ivan Cleary's team has gushed(not leaked) 66 points in 3 games.

So, he can't coach attack(even with a good roster on paper), and 22 points a game ain't good defence coaching (even with a good roster on paper).
His son isn't the superstar he was talked up as. In fact, he has been fairly shyte this season.
But they both do have substantial and magnificent chins. In the 40's and 50's, they wouldn't have been in rugby league with those chins. They'd be movie stars .
It certainly didn’t take long for the one dimensional coaching impostor to put his imprint on there sluggish attack

The shitbag can thank his lucky stars that Penrith were so desperate to sign his son coz by the time his contract would’ve expired with us he wouldve been unemployable as an NRL coach.

The impostor can also thank the ineptitude of our spine in the semi final against warriors in ‘11 for the only highlight in his over-rated coaching career when we gifted them a win from the jaws of defeat which enabled the warriors to go on & make the GF.

How long b4 4 chins & Cleary have a major league falling out !

It certainly didn’t take long for the one dimensional coaching impostor to put his imprint on there sluggish attack

The shitbag can thank his lucky stars that Penrith were so desperate to sign his son coz by the time his contract would’ve expired with us he wouldve been unemployable as an NRL coach.

The impostor can also thank the ineptitude of our spine in the semi final against warriors in ‘11 for the only highlight in his over-rated coaching career when we gifted them a win from the jaws of defeat which enabled the warriors to go on & make the GF.

How long b4 4 chins & Cleary have a major league falling out !
Yep, I predict Cleary will be gone before this season ends and Gus will blame the Panthers club for making him sign him, Panthers club will then terminate Gus as well, son will spit the dummy and want out, but no will take him.
How I love wankers getting there comeuppance.

The unknown

Cleary will last the year, even Gus himself would know it would be extremely stupid to sack him after 1 season. Plus theres every chance they can turn it around (hope not)

Actually think Gould will be more likely on the outer if they fail to fire this year, let's be honest Penrith have had the squad to push for a premiership the last 2-3 years and probably shouldve atleast made a GF by now

The unknown

Onto today's game, dry weather track you cant really ask for anything better. If we can do what we did in the first 2 rounds in wet weather, imagine what we should be able to do on a day like today

Am weary of the dogs though

simmo1

Dogs are kings of the ambush. We should put them away, but we also should have put them away at the end of last season.