Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

moltz staying

Ink - us true supporters want the Moltz at the tigers. We want his passion and commitment.

The Scott Prince type players are the ones we don't want.
Is that the same commitment he showed to the club in the middle of the year when he knowingly signed a contract with another club?

I can see that there are 29 pages on this thread. It is basically Tigers' supporters justifying what has happened because they want their player to stay. On the other hand, Saints' supporters think that everything changed after the Robert Lui 'incident' and what has been done is unethical. I really feel that, if Tigers' fans were totally truthful, they would see that the West Tigers have morally done the wrong thing. No-one wants to see their favourite players leave but when decisions are made, we all have to accept the situation. Smith to the Sharks, Costigan to Newcastle, Boyd to Newcastle, Josh Morris to Canterbury. The list never stops. Sad but it's reality.
This post here clarifies that of the 29 pages of this thread, myou have yet to read anymore than the 3-4 posts you wanted to read.

You'll find most tigers fans had no issue with him signing elsewhere when it happened, and are opposed to his return after signing with the Dragons.

It helps to have a good old fashioned thorough read before sprouting your bullshit opinion in an alleged summation, purely to justify your snide attack on the club.

We know the club has done wrong. You don't need to drag the fans into it.

40Twenty

Hi All,

Good Read, enjoy.....http://www.theroar.com.au/2011/10/07...lute-disgrace/

Why the Tim Moltzen drama is an absolute disgrace

The saga about which club Tim Moltzen will play for next season is nothing short of an absolute disgrace. It’s left many pundits scratching their heads and wondering how a contract situation could ever become so shambolic.
It’s understood the Wests Tigers verbally agreed to release Moltzen in July, allowing him to sign a three-year contract with the St George Illawarra Dragons and play for the club from next season. However, the Tigers now want Moltzen to honour his original contract, which ends at the end of next season, and therefore play with the Tigers in 2012.
Seeming as the Wests Tigers never officially released Molzten, it means the utility back has effectively signed two NRL contracts for next year. Just how could this happen?
There are a number of people who have acted unprofessionally in this fiasco, and it certainly raises a lot of questions.
How could Moltzen’s manager, Martin Tauber, allow him to sign a new contract without an official release from his current club?
How could the NRL register his Dragons contract, if he was already signed with the Tigers?
Why would the Dragons risk signing a player who was yet to be officially released from another club?
I guess you could answer all these questions by saying the Tigers gave a verbal agreement, and all parties involved took them on their word. Whilst that’s somewhat unacceptable in this day and age of absolute professionalism, it’s at least understandable.
But the West Tigers giving Moltzen a verbal agreement, then backing out months later, is nothing short of disgraceful.
The Tigers stance would be semi-acceptable if they had reluctantly agreed to let Moltzen out of his contract. However, the club was more than happy to accommodate his release due to their expensive mid-season signing of prized recruit, international Adam Blair. With the Tigers also re-signing many of their talented juniors, suddenly the club’s salary cap situation came into spotlight.
As such, Moltzen’s departure was a relief. Both to the Tigers salary cap and management’s stress levels.
When Moltzen signed with St George, the Tigers only issue at the time was that the Dragons announced it before the Tigers had a chance to do it themselves. The Tigers certainly never made any loud complaints that they had actually wanted to retain Moltzen.
However, the Tigers are now claiming that Moltzen was never given a release. Yet clearly he must have felt like he was on the outer at the club if he felt compelled to look at signing for another team.
And remember, this was far from a disgruntled player who wanted out. Molzten loves playing with the Tigers, and lives with superstar teammate Benji Marshall. The pair are extremely close, and Marshall was well known to be furious that the Tigers were squeezing Moltzen out of the club.
The decision to let Moltzen go nearly caused the Tigers to fall apart mid-season, and it’s hard to imagine Molzten wasn’t given some indication that he wasn’t wanted.
The Tigers change of heart has little to do with the club wanting to maintain the integrity of contracts.
With Robert Lui in serious doubt to return to the club due to off-field issues, the Tigers may suddenly need a halfback next season. For the last 6 games of the year, Moltzen was the Tigers best player. The club’s salary cap position has changed. And now they’d like to keep Moltzen.
Does anyone seriously believe that these facts are unrelated?
You have to feel sorry for Moltzen, who never wanted to leave the club, but is now being attacked in sections of the media for going back on his word with the Dragons. But in reality, the young kid would have just been following the instructions of his manager, and it was obvious his heart was always with the Tigers.
Regardless of the outcome, the Dragons are shaping up as the real loser from the situation.
If Moltzen is forced to play with St George, it will be begrudgingly, and the club could have a seriously unhappy player in their ranks. That’s never a good thing for club morale.
Likewise, if Moltzen stays with the Tigers, the Dragons will find themselves unable to replace him. The club moved quickly when their star fullback, Darius Boyd, announced he was moving to the Newcastle Knights, and signed Moltzen to replace him. With it now being so late in the year, all the quality free agents have signed contracts with teams for next year already, and the Dragons will therefore be down a quality player in their backline. Considering the club planned ahead and signed Moltzen in July, it’s grossly unfair on the Dragons.
It’s a fine mess, and whilst no one has covered themselves in glory, the Wests Tigers management certainly come out of it looking the worst.
But if they get to keep Moltzen, they probably won’t care.

andrew9148

Some fair points , a few errors nb the suggestion the dragons contract is registered with the Nrl is one of a few and it's also may be defamatory. Otherwise I think a lot of people on this forum have more idea.

It's an error. You have a strange definition of defamation.

andrew9148

Oh dear. Its Taubers job to acquire the release from the Tigers. It is Taubers job to make sure that is in place before allowing his client to sign elsewhere. Its Taubers job not to tell us it is in hand when clearly it isnt and never was.

Your posting on this issue renders the bolded virtually impossible.

You miss the point. It's really simple and I can't make it clearer. How about this -taub cannot release Tim from his deal.

He can be responsible for calling up the tigers and asking for a release in theory. But that is it. He can't be responsible if the release never happens as he can't by his own actions make it happen.

Is that the same commitment he showed to the club in the middle of the year when he knowingly signed a contract with another club?

This was pretty bad. I think he has learned however that the Tigers are the place to be.

TIM Moltzen is threatening to sit out the season should he be forced to honour a contract with St George Illawarra. In a further twist to the contract wrangle, Moltzen has told those close to him that he would rather sit on the sidelines than leave the Tigers.
As the NRL prepares to hand down a recommendation after meeting both clubs last week, The Sunday Telegraph learned of Moltzen's threat.
Moltzen signed with the Dragons but is refusing to honour it, with the Tigers claiming they had not released him from his current deal.
"I am sure it won't come to that," one of Moltzen's Tigers team-mates said.

"I think it will all be worked out, but that is something he would look at."
Moltzen's threat may come from a frustrated player, but it will further infuriate the red and white army after his manager claimed it would be "intolerable" to make his client play for the famous club. Moltzen was set to leave the Tigers after signing a three-year deal with the Dragons until it emerged he had not been granted a release.
Former international Gorden Tallis was the last player to sit out a season when the Dragons refused to release him from a deal after he had signed with the Broncos.
The latest bombshell came after halfback Robert Lui was stood down, creating an opportunity to free up space in the Tigers' salary cap.
This month, Martin Tauber pleaded for the NRL to take his client's wishes into consideration. The fullback was in scintillating form at the end of the season and is extremely close to several Tigers players, including his flatmate Benji Marshall.
"Tim is anxious about this," Tauber said in The Daily Telegraph.
"He is a young man, he's only 22, and he is concerned about his playing future.
"He wants to stay at Wests Tigers. He has a lot of friends there. Hopefully they (NRL) take the kid's wishes into consideration."
With his client facing what could be the most tumultuous week of his life, Tauber was yesterday overseas and unavailable for comment.
NRL spokesman John Brady said an official recommendation was looming after salary cap auditor Ian Schubert met with the warring parties during the week.
"A decision is close, but I am not putting a time frame on it," Brady said.
"Ian met with the relevant parties this week but hasn't divulged any information about those proceedings."
The Dragons return to pre-season training on November 21 and are already planning for life without Moltzen.
The Sunday Telegraph has learned that new coach Steve Price is planning to move Chase Stanley to fullback. He will also consider switching Kiwi Test winger Jason Nightingale, while former Raider Bronx Goodwin will be given an opportunity to nab the spot vacated by Newcastle-bound Darius Boyd.
"It is in the hands of the NRL," a Dragons official said.
"But we won't be going out to buy another fullback.
"We have lots of depth in the outside backs and a number of options for the fullback position."
Moltzen did not answer calls from The Sunday Telegraph yesterday.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/n...dont-release-him/story-e6frfgbo-1226180321258

Thats it Timmeh...stick to your principles :crazy:

Sit out you pathetic little piss weak wanker if you are so stupid to stick with a club that was so eager to let you go then you don't deserve to be in the NRL and you should be de-registered.

How pathetic does his manager look to be over seas wow you have a great manager there timmy he's a bigger waste of space than you.

andrew9148

Sit out you pathetic little piss weak wanker if you are so stupid to stick with a club that was so eager to let you go then you don't deserve to be in the NRL and you should be de-registered.

How pathetic does his manager look to be over seas wow you have a great manager there timmy he's a bigger waste of space than you.

Rejection hurts. Get yourself some ben and jerrys and some soothing music

Ronnie Dobbs

Rejection hurts. Get yourself some ben and jerrys and some soothing music

Ben & Jerry's is the bomb. Got that covered.

What music you recommend? Its been a looooooooooong time since my last knock back, not counting the wife of course. In which case the music is generally the theme music to whatever porn is rolling on Red Tube.

Suffice to say, I have quite a collection of that.

I'm going for Michael Jacksons "Ben". I'm guessing this is what Timmy was listening to when he decided he couldn't live without his mate.

saints4ever

What a player and man he is turning out to be. Thank Christ we dodged this bullet. Please keep him tigers, with our thanks

Ronnie Dobbs

I know gronk will be thrilled.

At least he'll still be able to do Benji's washing and carry his bag for him.

He's all yours Tigers. I just hope we f**k his fragile little metal plated head around as much as possible.

andrew9148

Ben & Jerry's is the bomb. Got that covered.

What music you recommend? Its been a looooooooooong time since my last knock back, not counting the wife of course. In which case the music is generally the theme music to whatever porn is rolling on Red Tube.

Suffice to say, I have quite a collection of that.

I'm going for Michael Jacksons "Ben". I'm guessing this is what Timmy was listening to when he decided he couldn't live without his mate.

Maybe you porn to mix up the music

TiggaPlease

f**k him. The NRL should tear up both contracts and force him to sit out the season for being such a little bitch. Why would any club want someone who carries on like this?

Ronnie Dobbs

f**k him. The NRL should tear up both contracts and force him to sit out the season for being such a little bitch. Why would any club want someone who carries on like this?

He's like a beaten wife (no pun intended). Gets treated like shit. Thrown aside. Meets someone new and then runs back to the abusive spouse because he can't live without her.

So, I agree with you mate. Where's his pride?

Little sook.

He's like a beaten wife (no pun intended). Gets treated like shit. Thrown aside. Meets someone new and then runs back to the abusive spouse because he can't live without her.

So, I agree with you mate. Where's his pride?

Little sook.

f**k you St George fans take rejection badly. You should be thankful that he won't be playing for St George next year.

BTW you do know that players under contract are invited to look for other clubs all the time? The beaten wife analogy is excessive and typical of a deranged Saints fan.

andrew9148

f**k you St George fans take rejection badly. You should be thankful that he won't be playing for St George next year.

BTW you do know that players under contract are invited to look for other clubs all the time? The beaten wife analogy is excessive and typical of a deranged Saints fan.

Gold. So true.