Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Zealand 2 will deal a massive blow to NZ rugby

jim_57

So you expect him to represent ALL areas in every media statement?? Ridiculous.
In other statements refers to the importance of the NZ market and PNG.. puts a game in Vegas ffs..

Cherry picking for some obscure confirmation biases much?

Over multiple media statements I reckon he could mention somewhere outside Sydney yeh. Not that hard.

The Great Dane

Another one that sticks out to me is any time recently when asked about stadiums V’landys says something along the lines of “we’re focusing on suburban stadiums, we’re built on tribalism, those stadiums are the heart and soul of those suburbs” etc.

Completely ignores over half the teams in the comp with those statements.
That's an excellent example.

Canberra is far and away the market with the worst stadium and no alternate.

How many times has PVL or his predecessors commented on it in the media?

How many times has he or his predecessors got directly involved in the discussions?

How much public pressure has he and his predecessors placed on the ACT government?

They've always had quotes ready if some local councillor wants to throw another layer of lipstick on one of the suburban grounds in Sydney though. . .

Why is that? Because Canberra doesn't even come into their thought process.

final say

That's an excellent example.

Canberra is far and away the market with the worst stadium and no alternate.

How many times has PVL or his predecessors commented on it in the media?

How many times has he or his predecessors got directly involved in the discussions?

How much public pressure has he and his predecessors placed on the ACT government?

They've always had quotes ready if some local councillor wants to throw another layer of lipstick on one of the suburban grounds in Sydney though. . .

Why is that? Because Canberra doesn't even come into their thought process.
Worse stadiums than Canberra:
Brookvale
Leichardt
Shark Park
St George
Wollongong
Campbelltown
Belmore

There's many plans and discussions about locations for new stadium in Canberra that are currently being considered with articles in the Canberra times WEEKLY..
there is zero need for PVD to be addressing this stadium issue, not only because IT IS ALREADY BEING ADDRESSED! but there's much worse stadiums that aren't getting WEEKLY articles that are far worse then Canberra stadiums ( Bruce)

My god you speak shit!

flippikat

Worse stadiums than Canberra:
Brookvale
Leichardt
Shark Park
St George
Wollongong
Campbelltown
Belmore

There's many plans and discussions about locations for new stadium in Canberra that are currently being considered with articles in the Canberra times WEEKLY..
there is zero need for PVD to be addressing this stadium issue, not only because IT IS ALREADY BEING ADDRESSED! but there's much worse stadiums that aren't getting WEEKLY articles that are far worse then Canberra stadiums ( Bruce)

My god you speak shit!
To quote The Great Dane, "Canberra is far and away the market with the worst stadium AND NO ALTERNATE." [my emphasis]

Sydney already has two stadiums that are far-and-away better than Canberra's stadium (SFS, Parra), and one that's flawed, yet still more modern than Canberra's (Olympic stadium).

Canberra has NO ALTERNATIVE STADIUM.

titoelcolombiano

People on here no longer read what is written, only look at the name of the person who posted it and decide what they must have said.
Or that the comments they regularly make are there to tear down RL because their favourite sport is struggling while RL thrives.

Matua

To quote The Great Dane, "Canberra is far and away the market with the worst stadium AND NO ALTERNATE." [my emphasis]

Sydney already has two stadiums that are far-and-away better than Canberra's stadium (SFS, Parra), and one that's flawed, yet still more modern than Canberra's (Olympic stadium).

That is by far the worst ground I've ever watched league matches in (and I've sat in just about every area). Am going to Warriors v Raiders in July so will be able to compare it with Canberras ground.

final say

If you understand the geography of Sydney then you'll know that there's no alternatives to most of the mention either. That's what PVL understands...Sydney is an extremely difficult city to commute around.
We need good suburban grounds.

final say

Why would the NRL be pressuring a government that has already working on said issues??

final say

Well that’s disingenuous
It's sucks that people see the NRL as Sydney centric after all the expansion that has taken place. The last 40 years there's Newcastle, Canberra, Brisbane, Melbourne, Townsville, Auckland, Gold Coast.. Brisbane again! Even tried Adelaide and Perth And at the end of the year we'll have another added.. and I guarantee it's not Sydney! There's been new stadiums for Gold Coast, Townsville Brisbane, Melbourne..with new stadium a certainty for Canberra.
Yet, after all this.. the NRL talk about fixing up the grounds where the game started.. is met with vitriol.
Go figure.

Vlad59

It's sucks that people see the NRL as Sydney centric after all the expansion that has taken place. The last 40 years there's Newcastle, Canberra, Brisbane, Melbourne, Townsville, Auckland, Gold Coast.. Brisbane again! Even tried Adelaide and Perth And at the end of the year we'll have another added.. and I guarantee it's not Sydney! There's been new stadiums for Gold Coast, Townsville Brisbane, Melbourne..with new stadium a certainty for Canberra.
Yet, after all this.. the NRL talk about fixing up the grounds where the game started.. is met with vitriol.
Go figure.
Some very negative flogs out there mate

Yeah, but you don't GROW the game - and it's revenue - by concentrating mainly on somewhere that already delivers the vast majority of business.

As far as the games in far flung areas, that's all subject to the whims of clubs - just ask the folk of Adelaide who haven't had a game there in some time, or us in Wellington who've had our one game per year dropped as the Warriors get bedazzled by the prospect of that 1 game a year being in Christchurch's flash new covered stadium.
Why are you so fixated on Adelaide?

It's a rusted on fumbleball market that doesn't give a f**k about rugby league. It's not even very big or rich.

I can understand growing the game in New Zealand. It has the potential to be a RL powerhouse. Put a second, third or even a fourth team there and the game will grow nicely.

Places like Adelaide provide nothing of value.

There's this bizarre thinking on this site, led by pompous know-it-alls from Canberra with delusions of grandeur, that we must shun traditional RL clubs in Brisbane so we can waste hundreds of millions on carving out a small niche in Adelaide and Perth. Their bullshit theory goes against all logic and has no basis in reality.

I find it ironic that the know-it-alls who criticise traditional rugby league clubs from Brisbane and Sydney follow the Raiders.

What have the Raiders done for rugby league?

They have a small fanbase and represent a tiny market with a player base that's behind rugby union and fumbleball. Their stadium is a shithole and the ACT Gov won't upgrade it, yet are willing to build an oval for a fumbleball team that doesn't exist. The windbag-in-chief who leads this crazy agenda has admitted that if AwFuL plonked a team in Canberra it would be bigger than the Raiders.

The broadcasters don't provide much coverage on the Raiders because no one in the main population centres care about them. That's what will happen with teams from Adelaide and Perth.

Yet apparently the game is f**ked if we don't add unwanted teams to small markets like Adelaide and Perth?

mongoose

That's a nice rationalisation, but it's wrong.

Basically every RL personality with a platform or in a position of power is traditionalist, parochial, and protectionist. The exceptions to that rule over the last century could be counted on your hands. It's not that they're incapable of broadening their scope and looking further afield, or that they lack ambition, it's that they simply don't care to do so.

I also think it's a massive stretch to blame RU, even more so the AFL, for those attitudes outside of a relative handful of very specific events and examples (e.g. WWII France) the majority of which aren't relevant to the Australian context.
I mean sure, you could argue that League could be doing better and be less conservative and insular but it's not dying in this country. RU very much is.