Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Zealand 2 will deal a massive blow to NZ rugby

Wb1234

I'm not dodging the question, and I personally don't know if any private schools play league (maybe you can email them all to ask since it seems to trouble you so much), but it is wholly irrelevant as pointed out ad nauseam because NZ is not Oz and rugby is not private school dominated.
If you don’t know then don’t paste waffle

another poster has already shown how wrong you are

Matua

Thought-provoking thesis. One for historians of all disciplines to ponder long into the night.

Have you seen the "Auckland RL 100 Years" doc? Acutely relevant are the contributions of Cathy and Clayton Friend, Dean Bell, Graham Lowe, Mike McClennan on the treatment of League players in schools.
Hmm, a bunch of people discussing 40+ years ago, I think that qualifies as history.

jim_57

You can see the future of the nrl will be qld nsw and nz (brisbane one more team nz 2 or more teams)

They will be the bedrock of the comp to support our forays into afl states

If we haven’t got “bedrock” with 16 teams in NSW, QLD & NZ will 2-3 more make the magic number?

NZ2 and PNG would open pathways to new players admittedly, PNG could be done much better already, it doesn’t NEED an NRL team to create decent pathways for PNG players.

Brisbane 3 isn’t going to make much of a difference. No players in Coorparoo or Ipswich are currently missing out on opportunities to play NRL if they’re good enough.

A Christchurch/South Island team makes RL an easier option for players from the southern half of NZ without them having to move to Auckland or Australia.

Wb1234

Wow what a deflection
If we haven’t got “bedrock” with 16 teams in NSW, QLD & NZ will 2-3 more make the magic number?

NZ2 and PNG would open pathways to new players admittedly, PNG could be done much better already, it doesn’t NEED an NRL team to create decent pathways for PNG players.

Brisbane 3 isn’t going to make much of a difference. No players in Coorparoo or Ipswich are currently missing out on opportunities to play NRL if they’re good enough.

A Christchurch/South Island team makes RL an easier option for players from the southern half of NZ without them having to move to Auckland or Australia.
Yes 3 more teams in those areas will make a massive difference

nsw doesn’t need any more teams

Brisbane easily can handle one more club

and nz it could be 1 to 3 more teams

SpaceMonkey

No rugby league in those private schools though is there ?
I don’t have a f**king clue about private schools, I went to a decile one public school in the country.

rugby union in NZ isn’t dominated by private schools, a few of them bolster their ranks by handing out scholarships to good footballers but that’s about as far as it goes.

But unlike in Aus the private schoolboys don’t get favourable treatment with selection for rep teams etc.

titoelcolombiano

Which is irrelevant to what is happening today. That's history.

You lot are straight up weird, league is in rude health in Oz, the best it's ever been, and you keep bringing up Vichy and wanting to transfer your forever war which no longer exists in NZ back into NZ.

To do this, you and your mate Wb just ignore every fact that comes your way. Auckland has a school league comp, private schools don't dominate rugby etc, nope ignore all that and keep on whining.
History has set the course for where the two games are today. RL hasn't helped itself admittedly, but historically being banned, blocked and hindered by Union in the past certain plays a part in where the two games are today

Wb1234

History has set the course for where the two games are today. RL hasn't helped itself admittedly, but historically being banned, blocked and hindered by Union in the past certain plays a part in where the two games are today
For much of its life rugby union has spent its time trying to throttle rugby league

France showed that when there is a fair competition between the two codes rugby league will always win

hence union had to resort to cheating

I wish Aussies and Kiwis would stop calling RU "Rugby" or referring to "Rugby and League". It's offensive to the memory of all the players who were banned and discriminated against by RU authorities.

RU regarded RL as a form of Rugby Football when it suited them. That's how they justified imposing lifetime bans on those who played RL. They didn't ban anyone who played Soccer or any other code.

Matua

Yes, it does. And you claimed it was irrelevant. Why do you think people study history?
We're discussing what is happening now, not undertaking a history of league in NZ. Auckland has a schools competition featuring many of the schools those listed in that doco attended. So the fact the schools may have banned them from playing league back then is really not relevant to what is happening now.

Anyway, this all started due to Wb thinking that private schools and rugby v league in Oz is analogous to NZ, it's not. Not sure if you're a Kiwi or not, but if you are you'd know that private schools don't dominate rugby in NZ.

Wb1234

I just said I don't know, but again it is irrelevant. The fact you think it's relevant is highly amusing.
You write a lot of paragraphs about stuff you don’t know and just make stuff up don’t you

you said there were no code wars in nz.

Wb1234

I wish Aussies and Kiwis would stop calling RU "Rugby" or referring to "Rugby and League". It's offensive to the memory of all the players who were banned and discriminated against by RU authorities.

RU regarded RL as a form of Rugby Football when it suited them. That's how they justified imposing lifetime bans on those who played RL. They didn't ban anyone who played Soccer or any other code.
I always call it union

they can try and rebrand it all they want

but the benefit is we can call it footy too lol

Matua

I'm not going to argue that historically league wasn't hindered by rugby in NZ in the past, but this was a discussion about the facts on the ground today and the differences between NZ and Oz.

Matua

You write a lot of paragraphs about stuff you don’t know and just make stuff up don’t you

you said there were no code wars in nz.
Are you this much as full of shit on all threads? You made an incorrect claim about private schools in NZ and you've just been troll posting since then rather admit you were wrong.

I said the forever war doesn't exist in the same way in NZ as it does in Oz. And it doesn't, thankfully the stick their head in the sand people like you don't exist in big numbers in NZ.

Wb1234

I’m
Are you this much as full of shit on all threads? You made an incorrect claim about private schools in NZ and you've just been troll posting since then rather admit you were wrong.

I said the forever war doesn't exist in the same way in NZ as it does in Oz. And it doesn't, thankfully the stick their head in the sand people like you don't exist in big numbers in NZ.
It’s funny seeing you try to bs your way out of this

you said no code wars in nz

when asked about this you had no idea

The Penguin #6.

I'm not going to argue that historically league wasn't hindered by rugby in NZ in the past, but this was a discussion about the facts on the ground today and the differences between NZ and Oz.
There was an article in the herald some years back about some North Shore union wanker who had a Kiwi mate over and took him to a club union game on the north shore of Sydney. His mate was surprised by the type of crowd that union attracted in Oz, it`s much more of the everyman`s game in NZ. And obviously from what you`re saying an everyman`s game that is also played in private schools, not dominated by them and inextricably linked to them like here in Oz.