Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

nrl vs superleague

simon says

If you want to make this fair dinkum.....play it a fortnight after the GF,alternate it every year...Oz/UK and make it like "lang says" like the Superbowl.

It COULD be huge........give the players a chance to get wasted and then get ready for the battle of the comp winners.All Oz knows that this game is to HELP the UK get some confidence up.Thats why even though it hurts to lose it doesnt sting.What I find hilarious is that they start comparing our comps,like the best of UK is as good as ours,crikey,they barely beat a 2nd grade team.

Ive read this whole debate,and while I thought Leeds deserved to win,surely UK fans must realise how much superior our comp is to theirs.Remeber the last time we had a mid season comp how many games the UK teams won....did they win one game maybe???

I must admit I hate losing this game,but it was a micky mouse team that hadnt even had a trial game.......they did well to get that close.If it was in Sydney,at the end of the year,even the UK I reckon Dogs by about 20.....and the Roosters as well.Panthers and Broncos by 12,Storm by ten......I even reckon the bottom placed Oz teams would beat them.

I watch all the ESL games on Fox,and if we arent a country mile better than them I will give it up......blokes that cant get a PL game out here star for UK......Nat Wood,lol.

Its all good.

simon says

lyon is a saint said:
listen mate leeds wouldent of won had all the bulldogs been fit that is a fact, what i cant get though is people in australia dont rate our league

Yer right,we dont rate yer league.Its entertaing no doubt,but you just dont have the quality of game that we have wek in and week out.You get one QUALITY game a week,we get three or four.Its as simple as that.

If you really want to test this for a fact,we should have a mid season comp,when all sides are at their best.I really dont believe that the UK teams would win a game.

Cheers.

lyon is a saint

simon says said:
lyon is a saint said:
listen mate leeds wouldent of won had all the bulldogs been fit that is a fact, what i cant get though is people in australia dont rate our league

Yer right,we dont rate yer league.Its entertaing no doubt,but you just dont have the quality of game that we have wek in and week out.You get one QUALITY game a week,we get three or four.Its as simple as that.

If you really want to test this for a fact,we should have a mid season comp,when all sides are at their best.I really dont believe that the UK teams would win a game.

Cheers.

thats strange coming from a wests fan, one of the worst teams i have ever seen

simon says

I would back the Tigers to beat any of the UK teams on their day.Yer bottom five would be a shellacking.

strong_latte

lyon is a saint said:

I rate the ESL, I've watched every challenge cup final for the past 3 years and watch a game or 2 of ESL a week! Most aussie think it's a decent comp... we just think ours is better.

simon says

I reckon winning the poms winning the WCC is a bit like beating the Broncos during Origin time.

Yer glad and ya take the win,but you dont claim to be the better team.

Cheers.

drake

Because it's like watching the NRL on Prozac.
I agree a handful of your players would go well down here, but as for the rest, pfft.

lyon is a saint

drake said:
Because it's like watching the NRL on Prozac.
I agree a handful of your players would go well down here, but as for the rest, pfft.

this comming from a st george fan whos best player is a reject in hull

The ninth placed NRL team would be vying for top honours in the ESL.

Shit, the 15th placed NRL team would be a semi-finalist in the ESL.

Comparing the ESL to the NRL is like comparing the NFL to the CFL.

Lyon is a Saint....

That is one particularly bizarre statement.

How long has Luke Bailey been playing for Hull?

loiner81

i've never once said our league was stronger. i've never once said if both teams met at their peak that leeds would win. i did say we'd give a better account than our national side and it'd be closer than you lot would like to admit. you know it, your media know it and your players know it.

simon says said:
crikey,they barely beat a 2nd grade team.

as dunneman was quoted as saying to a bulldogs player who said the same, "don't put yourselves down like that" :lol:

you had 10 gf winners, hardly a 2nd string team.

ethos

One question. Is there a salary cap in the ESL?

If the isn't then that's a pretty poor effort from a team with unlimited spending. Imagine the strength of a NRL team if we had no salary cap. :shock:

ethos

Ok, fair enough. For some reason I was under the impression that there wasn't.