Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

OT: Tim Smith MOTM Performance for Wigan 1sts

caylo

Why? Umm...because he`s an alcoholic and simply can`t control it?

No if you actually read the post I stated I knew him for about 3 years before he made his NRL debu. He taught us some under the guidance of our teacher Craig Brennan (a trainer in the U20 comp and used to be Robenson brother-in-law) and then trained us in footy. The way he acted and the things are similar to the way a close friend of mine acted when he was suffering from clinical depression. At that stage I have no idea about his drinking habbits but I think the pressure of the NRL compounded with his depression was the reason he turned to drinking. I'm not blaming any mental disease for the way he acted but just saying it is a common path for people to take. Timmy never got arrested or acted agression to people, simply acted like a tool. If he was willing to work on it what other reason is there to not take him back?

The whole point I was trying to make is that it is often extremely difficult to make a psychiatric diagnosis. That`s it. It`s not 'laziness'. Sure, some psychiatrists might get a bit carried away with their own abilities; but a lot of G.P`s are like that too - they`ll jump to a diagnosis way before all the test results have come back, because they believe too much in their own clinical judgement. Overall, though, most psychiatrists are very consciencious, caring people. The very nature of psychiatry is that it is vague at best, and downright impossible at worst. That isn`t the psychiatrist`s fault or the mental health clinician`s fault. We simply don`t have any tools except our own observations and the evidence given to us by others. I know this isn`t the forum to be discussing this, but I just wanted to get it out there.

I think even GP's fall victim to the 'quick answer' curse. Of course, it's merely a theory based on my experiences and observations. But it seems like people want a quick fix to problems these days and having a therapist come out and diagnose a condition which admittedly gets over-diagnosed these days, considering who Tim Smith is, just seems like convenience. Perhaps, if the scenario is true, his management and himself found a therapist who would purposefully diagnose such a condition because it would mean he could not be that responsible for his actions (seeing as he had a condition).

It may be my natural cynicism shining through, but I have my doubts as to whether Tim really has bi-polar or not.

ianlovesparra

Smith Presents Charity Cheques
Charity_Smith_396.jpg

Australian play maker Tim Smith was on hand on Tuesday to help Wigan Warriors Development Association in Hilton Street, Wigan make two donations of £500 each to two local charities, Butterflies & the Wigan Branch of Age Concern.

The money for these donations comes from the Warriors Lotto Charities fund as part of Warriors popular Lotto game.

To join and win up to £10,000 call 01942 231321.

Good to see him contributing slightly off the field

http://www.wiganwarriors.com/news_full.asp?newsid=4736

ianlovesparra

Wigan took revenge for two previous Magic Weekend defeats by St Helens with a thumping win over their rivals. Winger Pat Richards scored 22 points in a fine personal performance while stand-off Tim Smith also shone.
St Helens briefly hinted at a comeback when Paul Wellens crossed to pull his side back within 14 points with seven minutes left on the clock.
But Richards latched on to Sam Tomkins' kick through to make it two successive defeats for the Super League leaders.
Having suffered a 41-point loss against the same opponents in Cardiff last year, Brian Noble's side tore into an out-of-sorts Saints from the start.
o.gif
606: DEBATE

Out-played, out-fought, and out-thought by the better team

mackemsaint

After just seven minutes Tim Smith's crossfield bomb invited Amos Roberts to outjump his opposite number and knock the ball down to Martin Gleeson who popped off for skipper Sean O'Loughlin to cross.
The high kick was a tactic that paid dividends throughout the match, but it was a more subtle grubber that opened up Mick Potter's men for a second time.
This time O'Loughlin turned provider as his kick through unleashed the pace of Richards, who left Ade Gardener trailing in his wake before touching down.
Second-rower Gareth Hock crashed over the top of Sean Long to make it three tries inside 30 minutes and spark a fierce inquest under the St Helens posts.
A stroke of luck combined with Long's diligent chasing gave St Helens their first score, as the scrum-half gathered his own kick after it caught a fortuitous deflection off Thomas Leuluai's foot.
The 32-year-old looked certain to add a second soon aftewards as he crashed through from Leon Pryce's pass, but a superb recovery tackle from Sam Tomkins hauled him back as the line loomed.
After his sibling's heroics in defence, Tomkins' older brother Joel then selected a sublime angle off Smith to slip through the defence and give his side an 18-point lead at the interval.
Some Wigan fans may have quietly been bracing for a St Helens backlash but their team's dominance continued after the break, as Richards added another goal before Hock's bullish run set up a fifth try.
Gardener was lured off his wing to reinforce the defence which, in turn, allowed Richards the space to outpace Long and ship inside for Leuluai to scamper home.
That score seemed to crush any lingering St Helens ambitions but Pryce, who had so far been successfully subdued by the Warriors' defence, suddenly provided a creative spark to reignite some faint hope.
A dummy threw the cover off-balance before a neat side-step took him inside the final defender and under the posts.
He then scooped up a bobbling ball in midfield and shipped it out wide where full-back Wellens shrugged off some feeble tackling to dot down and put them within three scores.
But an error off the subsequent kick-off gifted Wigan field position and Tomkins' nudge through was snapped up by Richards to ensure there was no escape for St Helens.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_league/8016639.stm

Is St Helens a good enough side for you parra pete?

lewiscook

i deadset reckon parra have said something to him.
why all of a sudden this turn around in form???
just after figures at parra made no secret they would take him back.
is it possible we have whispered something to him?

ps: great work timy, awesome to see you playing some good footy!

hindmarsh4pm

On ya timmy, keep up the good work mate. He'll be back soon

1.hayne

6.keating
7.smith

9.keating

13.feleti

How awesome would our team be

yay!! for people power...

except people power doesn't select the sides, the head coach does...should we over ride that also??