Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 10 team

TheRev

Hooks lack of communication has been the common thread with all of his coaching gigs.. Kerr & Sloan have spoken about it a few times (Lomax and Liddle today), you just get axed and end up in reserve grade, but it doesn't come with a (genuine) discussion about areas for improvement even initially, let alone regularly. Ciraldo mentioned it as his assistant also.. no discussion to be had... do what your told.. and he's not the only coach to do that.. but if you arent respecting your assistants, you are heading down a dead-end street.

Man-management is one of those skills you can kind of learn, but a lot is your personality, and its why I dont think Hook can ever be a great head coach.. you need to have tough conversations with players, but you need to inspire them to want to work harder, and bring everybody along for the journey, not just kick them overboard... I reckon Fitzy would be the ideal example of that.. really clear communicator & a mate, but still absolutely in control.

I suspect the whole 'hooks favourites' thing stems from that lack of communication.. if your chummy your good.. but once you fall out of favour, he wouldn't have the skills to mend that relationship.

Blood Shot Eyes

This is such a misleading statistic. They are playing like deadset wooden spooners. To claim goalkicking has robbed us of equal first spot is ridiculous. Poor coaching and moronic team selections is why we’re running close to last. The way this team has played, they’re exactly the place on the ladder they deserve to be.
Yes your quite correct I bought the stats up as well and technically there right...but like you I ended my comments by virtually saying theres a lot more issues to where we are on the table than just missed kicks at goal.....

RedV Resurgence

Nobody should be a walk up start. He isn't owed anything.
agreed. My comment was about the club communicating with the fans. I also commented on Lomax's surprise to been dropped - I would assume if Hook has been concerned about Lomax's performances, then he should have been having these discussion for sometime.

For the record, I think Lomax has not been performing for quite sometime, partly his fault and partly the halves not getting the ball out to our backs early and quickly.

to_ddeath

Call me simple but if a bloke is kicking at 79% off a high tee and goes to a low tee and kicks 60% wouldn’t you say hang on this isn’t working you can do this in the off season but right now we need to win games and have you kicking at 79%.
Hookturn can’t do that kinda math…’ya gotta run ard, tackle ‘Arder but FMD you blokes are the dumbest team I’ve ever coached. That’s why I’ve brought Billy Brains back’
‘ Yeh Hunty can you grab me another 6 pack of coke cans back there mate?. You’re the son I never had…’

To the untrained eye, Liddle not playing seems ridiculous.

We lack a second long kicking option, with Junior still developing. Mbye offers that from dummy half.

To the trained eye, Liddle not playing seems ridiculous. I checked the stats, for all games this year Mbye has kicked a total of 5 times. In 9 games. If Mbye does offer a kicking game, it's certainly not being used. And if we did want a second long kick option, why not sack Amone, put Bud to 5/8, and keep Liddle at Hooker? Or use Bird as a second kicker and have Mbye on the bench as the utility.

I'm sure there's more to Hooks selection choices than meets the eye, but his choices and your explanation, neither makes much sense.

Phantom V

Sometimes you can take a soul crushing defeat like what happened on Sunday and turn it into a positive.
You know, maybe the team get together for a deep and meaningful, heart to heart, speak some truths, lay it all out there
or maybe the players rally behind the coach and start talking about a win-at-all-costs mentality,
or maybe even an apology to the fans...

This instead just feels like the stench of a rotten establishment. Like the captain's final acts of defiance before the ship goes down. Not man enough, just like the last coach, to fall on his sword but happy to ride us into the ground and further hamper our future for the sake of his own pride.

I am happy for this to come to a head and it seems like that's what's now happening. In no way known can this dysfunction play out any further at our club. This is a complete circus. Another coach who has burnt up his last idea, who never had control of this playing group since day one.

His players can't get an explanation for their sacking but who are our management to criticise as they feed off the power of continually leaving us in the lurch, in the silence and in the misery.
Mate Ive a strong hunch Griffin will be here till season end
I agree mate. It all comes down to the board not wanting to pay him out I reckon. Personally, I’d like to see Morris or Potter come in as caretaker coach to salvage what has become another nightmare season for the red v.

BLM01

Call me simple but if a bloke is kicking at 79% off a high tee and goes to a low tee and kicks 60% wouldn’t you say hang on this isn’t working you can do this in the off season but right now we need to win games and have you kicking at 79%.
Why bring in a consultant anyway even though it was Halligan great kicker different times snd ball used
All Zac had to do was practice harder
But he changed his style last year for the worse
Was that another consultants idea?

KogarahWarrior

Our club is real f**ken stupid for getting yet ANOTHER coach who our main player loves. It's always a bad thing.

Cam, as much as I loved him, had a sook for Mary leaving when all Mary did was eradicate his attacking game and made him into a tackling machine to compensate for our otherwise shit defence.

And now we have hook and the million dollar man Benny who are holding the club at ransom, while ol mate plays favourites in choosing shit players like Mbye while neglecting our clubs future. there is no way to "fight for your position". If you're a Queenslander, run under 25km/hr at top speed and pushing 30, you're a starter.

Illusion

Our club is real f**ken stupid for getting yet ANOTHER coach who our main player loves. It's always a bad thing.

Cam, as much as I loved him, had a sook for Mary leaving when all Mary did was eradicate his attacking game and made him into a tackling machine to compensate for our otherwise shit defence.

And now we have hook and the million dollar man Benny who are holding the club at ransom, while ol mate plays favourites in choosing shit players like Mbye while neglecting our clubs future. there is no way to "fight for your position". If you're a Queenslander, run under 25km/hr at top speed and pushing 30, you're a starter.
Bring back Big George Rose , he would be a starter in our team even if he hasn't played for years , loved watching him play .......

Victoire

To the trained eye, Liddle not playing seems ridiculous. I checked the stats, for all games this year Mbye has kicked a total of 5 times. In 9 games. If Mbye does offer a kicking game, it's certainly not being used. And if we did want a second long kick option, why not sack Amone, put Bud to 5/8, and keep Liddle at Hooker? Or use Bird as a second kicker and have Mbye on the bench as the utility.

I'm sure there's more to Hooks selection choices than meets the eye, but his choices and your explanation, neither makes much sense.
or just pick Sullivan in the halves instead of Amone, as most of us have said. Sullivan has kicked for more metres than Amone - in fewer games

The only logical reason behind some of these mystifying selections is that they are working out who to keep and who to let go whilst the team is on the QLD trip

Once your determination has been worked out then someone else occupies that position for some games whilst their worth is assessed.

Sullivan already determined a keeper no need to play him
Liddle already determined a keeper no need to play him
Couchman already determined a keeper no need to play him
Lomax has to be kept due to existing contract ni
Max Feagai now being assessed
Billy Burns now being assessed
Amone still being assessed
Sloan still being assessed
Rava being reassessed
Musgrove waiting to be assessed
NLT waiting to be assessed
J Hunt to be let go
Kerr to be let go

If only there was some truth in any of it.

justadragon

Welcome to the Hook manual on coaching, it contains extreme detail on how to make the simple things in RL, slow, boring, unimaginative and most of all repetitious. But best of all it thoroughly explains how you should select players that provide no impetus or improvement to the team. Ohh it also contains a small snippet on PC's, if you say the same thing over and over again they will stop asking you questions and it will all go away.

The only logical reason behind some of these mystifying selections is that they are working out who to keep and who to let go whilst the team is on the QLD trip

Once your determination has been worked out then someone else occupies that position for some games whilst their worth is assessed.

That's like saying this season is a write-off, may as well give everyone some first grade experience.

But as long as we're experimenting, why not give the assistant coaches & Hook 4 weeks in charge on a rotating basis, and see which coaches we want to keep.