Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured Targets 3

SamSepi0l

Nah looks like I mixed the Saf and Best numbers. Though the reason we're apparently open to Best moving on is his high price I would guess, based on the time he was signed etc it'll be about $450-$500k. Complete speculation. Regardless, saw enough in Maps that I'm confident. Find another cheap centre if you want to go down that route.

Woosh

Head Moderator
NEWCASTLE MUST KEEP THEIR KNIGHT IN SHINING ARMOUR

The way the media went after the Knights for an alleged boys trip to Bali during their bye round you’d think they’d committed the crime of the century.

The reality?

ONE PLAYER, Bradman Best, went over there to catch up with a mate and help a local family build a house in their village.

In any case, the Knights returned from the bye and beat the Titans convincingly with Kalyn Ponga producing his best performance of the year.

But while the club was falsely accused of having a culture problem last week, there will be genuine uproar from the fans if they don’t correctly handle their current retention situation.

I’m not sure how, but there’s word saying Newcastle are facing salary cap pressure and that the club could lose Tyson Frizell, Daniel Saifiti and Bradman Best.

I worked in recruitment for Newcastle and left at the end of 2021, while the club parted ways with recruitment manager Clint Zammit in March this year.

Zammit’s departure came in the wake of veteran administrator Peter Parr joining the Knights as their director of football last November.

It’s a real gripe of mine that whenever a new coach or general manager or head of recruitment arrives at a club they always say there are salary cap issues.
It’s just an insurance policy they give themselves as something to point to in case the shit hits the fan on their watch.

Every single club in the NRL operates under constant salary cap pressure, to come out and say your club is the outlier is just taking an unnecessary pot shot at those who preceded you.

The club offered Dom Young a huge contract at the start of the year but now they’re under cap pressure? That doesn’t really make sense.

Frizell has been Newcastle’s best player this year but he’s off contract at the end of the season, meaning he could sign with a rival club today.

The club has really struggled for leadership over the past 10 years and they finally have a man to follow in Frizell.
The veteran backrower has emerged alongside Saifiti and Dane Gagai as real leaders in the team it’s critical to keep those players around.

The Knights simply cannot afford to lose a player like Tyson Frizell. Not only do they lack depth there but there’s a shortage league wide.

I’d also hate to see them lose local juniors like Saifiti and Best to instead spend money on imports.

To hear the club needs to make big changes due to cap pressure is alarming to hear considering where it was 10 years ago and how much work was done to avoid this scenario.

If the club isn’t under salary cap pressure, these headlines can create lots of uncertainty in the playing group and potentially derail their season which looks promising.

PhilGould

Definitely his best season for us so far and probably better than his last couple at the Dragons too.

I can't ignore the fact it's happening while he's playing for a new contract and he'll be 32 at the start of next year. Would be very hesitant to get in a bidding war for him or give him significant money beyond next season.

Jono078

Definitely his best season for us so far and probably better than his last couple at the Dragons too.

I can't ignore the fact it's happening while he's playing for a new contract and he'll be 32 at the start of next year. Would be very hesitant to get in a bidding war for him or give him significant money beyond next season.
The club just has to be real about things.

Friz, you're playing super footy this year and we'd like to extend you for a year.

Do not commit any more. If he's not cool with it then we just have to move on and find our edge backrower of tomorrow.

I'm definitely over the forking out for players over 30.

Burwood

Hmmm, it’s almost like a player received a massive upgrade on their contract which has placed pressure on the salary cap…

I’m hoping we can pick up Fitz on a value contract and save some dollars. His dad is loaded, so maybe money isn’t the main driver to where he signs.

Woody90

I can’t post it as I don’t have Newcastle Herald access but they posted an article last night with the headline stating that AOB has denied that we’re trying to move on DSaf and Best (unsurprising considering it was all conjecture by Weidler based on nothing but Ponga having a large contract).

Frizz and his family also just bought a house in Newcastle.

It’s looking more and more like we’re the target of a lot of media dribble about nothing lately. Hopefully a sign that we might finally stable off the field at least that the media need to make up blatant lies about the club to write something. We’re probably under no more cap pressure than any other club.

PhilGould

Might not be true but it's not like any club official is going to come out and confirm they're looking to move their highest paid and (in theory) best forward on, especially in the middle of the season.

Jono078

No way are we under cap pressure. We have a heap of kids coming into top 30 next year.
Not sure if this was sarcasm? But if we had a heap of young kids be added to the top 30 next year, that would in fact suggest cap pressure? I.E we can't fill those position by spending any reasonable amount of cap money.

macavity

Not sure if this was sarcasm? But if we had a heap of young kids be added to the top 30 next year, that would in fact suggest cap pressure? I.E we can't fill those position by spending any reasonable amount of cap money.

not sarcasm. We are adding kids to our top 30 at the start of their careers, not on big coin. We are moving on a few who were on massive overs (Mann) or fair coin as 100+ gamers or potentials (Fitz, Jones), I reckon we are fine for cap.

mozza91

not sarcasm. We are adding kids to our top 30 at the start of their careers, not on big coin. We are moving on a few who were on massive overs (Mann) or fair coin as 100+ gamers or potentials (Fitz, Jones), I reckon we are fine for cap.
This. Although I expect Fitz to stay and take a haircut.

Moving on Mann hahaha good one

PhilGould

Toohey's News

- re: the DSaf & Best rumour, Toohey doesn't really weigh in on how accurate he thinks those reports were but doubts the Knights are under much cap pressure considering the big offer they made Dom a few months ago.
- Knights have opened negotiations with Tyson Frizell but he may be looking at a $200k paycut and the Tigers want him again as they did last year. He and his family just bought a new house in Newcastle.
- Knights have been linked to Jaydn Su'A on social media but Toohey says there's no truth to it.
- Bailey Hodgson now seen as no chance of getting a new deal. Already has offers back in England but wants to stay in the NRL if possible.

ryan.a87

- Bailey Hodgson now seen as no chance of getting a new deal. Already has offers back in England but wants to stay in the NRL if possible.
That’s a shame, I remember when he first signed with Dom, he was the one touted with more potential, injuries and Covid hit at the worst possible time for him

PhilGould

I don't see how anyone could say what the "exact sort of player" Hodgson is after his stint with us. I'd consider myself pretty plugged in with the junior sides and I've seen him play maybe 6 or 7 games total at this point, and he's never been a standout in those.

He has 15 NSW Cup games under his belt (10 this year) and currently sitting at 0 tries, 3 try assists and 1 line break total. Averaging 179 metres per game sounds pretty good but if that's his biggest strength at his size - good luck in first grade.

He's finally stringing some games together this season and it seems like the mystery of what he could be has probably done him more good than his actual performances on the field.

Frederick

I don't see how anyone could say what the "exact sort of player" Hodgson is after his stint with us. I'd consider myself pretty plugged in with the junior sides and I've seen him play maybe 6 or 7 games total at this point, and he's never been a standout in those.

He has 15 NSW Cup games under his belt (10 this year) and currently sitting at 0 tries, 3 try assists and 1 line break total. Averaging 179 metres per game sounds pretty good but if that's his biggest strength at his size - good luck in first grade.

He's finally stringing some games together this season and it seems like the mystery of what he could be has probably done him more good than his actual performances on the field.
You shall forever be known as roopy2