Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured Targets 3

Knight Tales

Milford/Pryce/Ponga as 7/6/1 looks the plan. I don’t see us chasing a Brooks or anyone if we land those guys as planned.

All great talents with playmaking skills. Pryce is back in the halves at the moment and done well the last couple of weeks.

None of them your classic chief organiser though. I guess between the three of them we are hoping they can shoulder the load without a classic 7.
The one huge benefit of that spine is all three can capably switch between halves and fullback. That could lead to some very interesting set play.

Old dog

Pryce, will wait until signed, possibly not until 2024, and see how he goes here rather than ESL before I get my hopes up in the meantime hopefully we will keep looking

This talk about Pryce reminds me of Hodgeson. Nothing has come from him yet.
I reckon it'll be a while before we see Pryce with a regular NRL gig

Sir Galahad

“I bet you have no friends” . f**king hell.

Thanks for confirming that you are a kid who started watching footy in the last couple of years. Lots of clues along the way so this couldn’t be passed up.

Which would be fine. Except that you got your internet licence a few months ago, joined the forum, and have been over-opinionated and antagonistic from the start. Desperate to try and show how much smarter you are than everyone else - making it up on the fly.

Moments like this are just too juicy exposing the facade.

“The fact I don’t know who he is may be telling”.

Yes it is. Of you and your footy knowledge. On display for everyone to know to take your posts with a grain of salt.

END

Now go on and call me a flog again.
flog....yawn

Johns Magic

This talk about Pryce reminds me of Hodgeson. Nothing has come from him yet.
I reckon it'll be a while before we see Pryce with a regular NRL gig

Agree that the move across the world and change from ESL to NRL will be nervous.

But Pryce is a lot more advanced than Hodgson was when we signed him. Hodgson was 17 and in the juniors when we signed him, Pryce will be 20 when he arrives and a has been a star in the top grade.

I don’t think it’s a like-for-like comparison in terms of their development on arrival.

Having watched a bit of him lately…I will back him to be in our top team, and potentially be a real threat.

Huddersfield are desperate to keep him, and their coach was quoted recently basically saying that he doesn’t want Pryce ending up in reserve grade in Australia. I think the Knights will be telling him that’s not the plan. Article: https://www.seriousaboutrl.com/hudd...l-pryce-will-be-playing-at-in-2023-54952/amp/

Zoidberg

I really think the form of the Cowboys and Broncos this year has shown how much difference an organising half makes.
It doesn’t even sound like we are looking at anyone like that at the moment.

Jono078

I really think the form of the Cowboys and Broncos this year has shown how much difference an organising half makes.
True, but you could also look at the Sharks for inspiration and I'm not sure how much Hynes organises but they seem like a well drilled unit.

I also agree with JM, Pryce is not a like-for-like comparison with Hodgson. If he comes here next year I daresay the 6 is his as long as he does things right during the pre-season.

Johns Magic

I think the problem is that decent organising halves are rare as hen’s teeth. I reckon all clubs would love one, but there are only a handful around. I don’t see any available for us to sign at the moment, or else I’m sure we’d be in for one. Tragic we missed on Reynolds last year (probably wouldn’t have been interested anyway).

Yosh

Agree that the move across the world and change from ESL to NRL will be nervous.

But Pryce is a lot more advanced than Hodgson was when we signed him. Hodgson was 17 and in the juniors when we signed him, Pryce will be 20 when he arrives and a has been a star in the top grade.

I don’t think it’s a like-for-like comparison in terms of their development on arrival.

Having watched a bit of him lately…I will back him to be in our top team, and potentially be a real threat.

Huddersfield are desperate to keep him, and their coach was quoted recently basically saying that he doesn’t want Pryce ending up in reserve grade in Australia. I think the Knights will be telling him that’s not the plan. Article: https://www.seriousaboutrl.com/hudd...l-pryce-will-be-playing-at-in-2023-54952/amp/

Ah... Isn't he implying we suck so much were basically a reserve grade team?

Johns Magic

On a related note. I think the clubs without organising 7’s have to be creative. Jahrome Hughes and Hynes are both fullbacks who transitioned to 7…Hughes extremely well, Hynes doing ok so far.

I would love to see Ponga have a real go at 7. He is best playmaking when getting the ball at first-receiver, he can kick, has all the talent, and his running game would be a constant threat.

I can’t see it happening while he seems to want to stay at fullback and AOB needs to keep him in his pocket. It would also take a mental effort from Ponga that I’d like to think he has but not sure. Plus a hard transition to make in a rubbish team.

I think if Hughes can do it, on talent alone Ponga could.

Much easier to find a good fullback replacement than a good 7.

League guru

I think the problem is that decent organising halves are rare as hen’s teeth. I reckon all clubs would love one, but there are only a handful around. I don’t see any available for us to sign at the moment, or else I’m sure we’d be in for one. Tragic we missed on Reynolds last year (probably wouldn’t have been interested anyway).
But you have Joey as a consultant and he seems to have all the answers. You also have Tex and Milf, all highly rated by Joey. Plus he has signed on for another season so I'm sure he will sort it all. Onward and upward.

Knight Tales

Townsend and Reyno have unshackled the incredible talent around them by allowing them to play their own natural games. They just need to be in the right positions to get the ball. That is why the Broncs and NQ are flying. Remember when everyone could not fathom why the Broncs struggled with their insane talent! It was cos they needed someone to tell them what to do and where to be. Natural ability only goes so far when you Have no direction.

Spot On

Townsend and Reyno have unshackled the incredible talent around them by allowing them to play their own natural games. They just need to be in the right positions to get the ball. That is why the Broncs and NQ are flying. Remember when everyone could not fathom why the Broncs struggled with their insane talent! It was cos they needed someone to tell them what to do and where to be. Natural ability only goes so far when you Have no direction.

Hey, we had that with Pearce!!!

Wonder what went wrong????

Jono078

To be fair the Broncos have done OK when Reynolds has been out injured this year too. Something has elevated their game this year and all players are on board.

Tyson Gamble has done super well for them I think. If he isn't on their books then I wouldn't mind bringing him here. Might cop some for that but he is an absolute competitor that doesn't take a backwards step and I'd really like that in a player right now.

aqua_duck

Hey, we had that with Pearce!!!

Wonder what went wrong????
Problem with Pearce is whilst he is in the mould of an organising half, the organising and play making parts were never really his strong suit, Pearce made a career out of his running game, defence and competitiveness, problem is his mobility was absolutely shot so his running game and defence were now weaknesses. Pearce by the end was an extremely diminished version of himself, the decision to let him go wasn't necessarily the wrong decision, the issue was not being able to replace him and Clifford falling off a cliff (no pun intended) without him

Yosh

Milf isn't the perfect player but what is our next best option? Let's get him signed up asap.