Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Stevie

Guys, can anyone in the know actually tell me if the Klemmer rumours are true? Anyone with any knowledge know?
Where is @Stagger eel these days he has the good oil!

Klemmer was said via the media today he doesn't want to leave etc but just now via Foxsports has said "I couldn't see myself in an Eels jersey, but if I have to look after my family and kids then that's an option".

TheRam

Penrith were in decline by the end of Cleary's tenure. He had lost the support of key players and I also remember some stories about how Gould thought Cleary was too soft on the players.

Griffin seems to be doing a better job.

I don't know Hindy, there has never been an explanation as to why Gould sacked Cleary other then the official one Gould released at the time that Cleary looked tired and needed a break, which no one believed.

I heard a few pundits in the media since then and no one seems to know the real reason, but no one believes the Gus explanation either.

Anyway, I obviously rate Cleary highly, and yes they started to dip a little, but who is to say that with the juniors slowly maturing in 1st grade and the acquisition of a player like Maloney, the blooding of his son and Kikau and others he wouldn't of achieved the similar results.

He had just started to get the roster right and the next 2-3 years would of been the real acid test. All I do know is I don't rate Griffin as a great coach, he is a prickly character that seems to get offside with players, but Gus is doing a great job ghost coaching.

Anyway, we will agree to disagree on this one mate.

TheRam

I get that you prefer Cleary but you can't argue against the fact that both coaches have a similar win-loss record. Its a fact and something that you and your mate Ram have to acknowledge.

That said, I'm sure the Ram will be in here in about 6 days time to give me a serve as well.

How long has Cleary been coaching compared to BA? And of cause the figures will look similar when Cleary has coached 3 teams from the start of a rebuilding faze.

Coaching parramatta anytime is no mean feat ... period - fullstop - end of story - shut up

I am not trying to compare here - i think Cleary is a great coach and if Gus hadnt boned him maybe the panthers would be even better now???

but anyone who can't see that BA has taken us through the absolute worst abomination in almost any club history is f**kin deaf, dumb and blind .... he took on the nrl's biggest disaster story and has had no end of shit to deal with

thats not saying he is good or not - i reckon he has had plenty of f**k ups .... but no f**ker can deny the guy has a hell of alot of heart .... he could have bailed for good coin at manly when times were shit - and i would bet my left nut most/all would have

Well said.

Did anyone watch the footy show last night? I love how Gould gave it too Cam Smith.And also to the Storms un ethical tackling style.

Also how he called out teams in Salary cap trouble like the dogs currently are being able to sort it put with under table payments. Done in a smart way by using themself and Newcastle. And saying how it takes up to 4 yrs to get things right. In other words if its done in 12mths your obviously cheating :wink:

Brian Smith and Phil Gould (imo, the two best brains in the game) wrote, several years ago, that to truly rebuild a club takes 4 years, and that is assuming everything is done above board, with no distractions.

Arthur has had a never-ending parade of shit to deal with - it's a wonder the club is still standing.

How long has Cleary been coaching compared to BA? And of cause the figures will look similar when Cleary has coached 3 teams from the start of a rebuilding faze.
You’ve been constantly bagging the shit out of our players but now when it doesn’t suit you, you will try and argue that our team is better than the ones that Cleary coached. You are picking choosing depending on what your argument is.

Brian Smith and Phil Gould (imo, the two best brains in the game) wrote, several years ago, that to truly rebuild a club takes 4 years, and that is assuming everything is done above board, with no distractions.

Arthur has had a never-ending parade of shot to deal with - it's a wonder the club is still standing.

Nah that's just a f**ken excuse, we should have recovered instantly... Thickshit Ram told me so!

Guys, can anyone in the know actually tell me if the Klemmer rumours are true? Anyone with any knowledge know?
Where is @Stagger eel these days he has the good oil!

Klemmer was said via the media today he doesn't want to leave etc but just now via Foxsports has said "I couldn't see myself in an Eels jersey, but if I have to look after my family and kids then that's an option".

I'd suggest that, since the leaks have stopped, it is getting harder for our esteemed forum legends to give us the gossip.

TheRam

Cleary isn't there though because Gus didn't rate him.

Also - I don't think it is reasonable to suggest the all of Penrith's success during Cleary's time was due to Cleary and all of their success at the moment is due to Gus and not Hook.

Well the rumours at the time were that Gus wanted more of a hands on approach with the players and Cleary wasn't really up for that. Griffin by all reports allows Gus to play with that boys as he sees fit.

Maybe that has/had something to do with it? But whatever the real reason you can't deny that Gould has had a major influence on the paddock with the players since Cleary left especially during that time where the Panthers went through that shit period under Griffin with all the stories that came out reporting Gould's involvement.

We could really use a Football Director/General Manager, like Gus Gould.

Smithy would be awesome - as long as he let's BA fo his thing in terms of coaching the side.

I wouldn't be surprised if BA is burning out, because he's performing several roles other than his own.

I don't know Hindy, there has never been an explanation as to why Gould sacked Cleary other then the official one Gould released at the time that Cleary looked tired and needed a break, which no one believed.

I heard a few pundits in the media since then and no one seems to know the real reason, but no one believes the Gus explanation either.

Anyway, I obviously rate Cleary highly, and yes they started to dip a little, but who is to say that with the juniors slowly maturing in 1st grade and the acquisition of a player like Maloney, the blooding of his son and Kikau and others he wouldn't of achieved the similar results.

He had just started to get the roster right and the next 2-3 years would of been the real acid test. All I do know is I don't rate Griffin as a great coach, he is a prickly character that seems to get offside with players, but Gus is doing a great job ghost coaching.

Anyway, we will agree to disagree on this one mate.
Yep agree to disagree. I gave you a few good reasons why Cleary was likely sacked but obviously that didn’t gel with your own view of him.

Personally, I put him in a bracket of solid first grade coaches behind the truly elite (Bennett, Bellamy et al). He might be better than BA in a few areas but he isn’t streets ahead of him. I reckon more people would agree with me on this than you.

Coaching parramatta anytime is no mean feat ... period - fullstop - end of story - shut up

I am not trying to compare here - i think Cleary is a great coach and if Gus hadnt boned him maybe the panthers would be even better now???

but anyone who can't see that BA has taken us through the absolute worst abomination in almost any club history is f**kin deaf, dumb and blind .... he took on the nrl's biggest disaster story and has had no end of shit to deal with

thats not saying he is good or not - i reckon he has had plenty of f**k ups .... but no f**ker can deny the guy has a hell of alot of heart .... he could have bailed for good coin at manly when times were shit - and i would bet my left nut most/all would have

Agree. Shocking how some are dumping him so quick after a poor start. Same people also diminish our top 4 finish in 2017 as easy draw or having over-achieved.

TheRam

I didn't say he didn't preside over a horrendous period indeed, or that he hasn't got heart or loyalty mate.

But is he a good recruiter and or coach??? So far he is 50-50 on both at best. So you shut up!

Buzz Rothfield stated on NRL360 last night that Kevin Walters will likely be the new coach of the Broncos in 2019 if they fail to make the 8 this year.

Also Bellamy is about to extend his stay at Melbourne for another 3 years.

I’d be targeting either Cleary or Trent Robinson for 2019 or 2020 depending upon what the board decide on what to do with BA.

If they wish to extend his term then BA should have someone like Brian Smith as coaching director who will be best equipped to fix the mess with our juniors and identifying the right talent from within. This is an area where we have never recovered from since Smithy left.

Well the rumours at the time were that Gus wanted more of a hands on approach with the players and Cleary wasn't really up for that. Griffin by all reports allows Gus to play with that boys as he sees fit.

Maybe that has/had something to do with it? But whatever the real reason you can't deny that Gould has had a major influence on the paddock with the players since Cleary left especially during that time where the Panthers went through that shit period under Griffin with all the stories that came out reporting Gould's involvement.
That’s not what happened.

All reports are that Clearly lost the players (something that hasn’t yet happened with BA).

Gould doesn’t just all of a sudden decide he wants to be more hands on. He had heard the rumblings about Cleary and knew he wasn’t up to it.

You can spin it all you like but Cleary didn’t want to leave. Gus punted him because he was on the nose at Penrith.

Gould appears much more comfortable with Griffin so I don’t see why he would now be more hands on. That’s just you projecting.

Buzz Rothfield stayed in NRL360 last night that Kevin Walters will likely be the new coach of the Broncos in 2019 if they fail to make the 8 this year.

Also Bellamy is about to extend his stay at Melbourne for another 3 years.

I’d be targeting either Cleary or Trent Robinson for 2019 or 2020 depending upon what the board decide on what to do with BA.

If they wish to extend his term then BA should have someone like Brian Smith as coaching director who will be best equipped to fix the mess with our juniors and identifying the right talent from within. This is an area where we have never recovered from since Smithy left.
Shit strategy. Glad you aren’t in charge.

I’m actually going to bookmark my post because I think my suggestion is exactly what will happen. They may even try and target Shane Flanagan or Madge Maguire.

That’s not what happened.

All reports are that Clearly lost the players (something that hasn’t yet happened with BA).

Gould doesn’t just all of a sudden decide he wants to be more hands on. He had heard the rumblings about Cleary and knew he wasn’t up to it.

You can spin it all you like but Cleary didn’t want to leave. Gus punted him because he was on the nose at Penrith.

Gould appears much more comfortable with Griffin so I don’t see why he would now be more hands on. That’s just you projecting.
No chance. Gould and Cleary had a blue. That is why they punted Cleary. Nothing to do with the players you dribbler.