On the footy show this morning, joey said that Dyl is super laid back and talented and he doesn't watch any footy.
He said Nathan watches every match and studies every match.
Joey asked Dyl at training if he has seen cody walker put on a particular move, Dyl's answer was Who's he? is he the one who plays for the Rabbits? lol.
Joey suggested to Dyl to watch other games. He said if Dyl had Nathan's deligence in studying the game, he would go up many levels.
Brad asked Joey, do you reckon he has taken your advice? Joey said Nup.
Dyl plays now like a young benji
I saw that too and wasn't surprised in the slightest. He plays exactly like a young and extremely talented kid that doesn't do the extras that the greats who are always present in games do. He lives on his natural talent and fitness.
Geez I miss the days where coaches could put a rocket up the players arse and not be seen as dicks and players sooking about it. I mean it should be just standard practice not just for Dylan but all the players at the club to watch
all the games each and every week like homework that the coach sets that the coaching staff then ask questions on and quiz players on or ask their thoughts on certain plays to make sure that the players actually watched them. And if a player is caught out for not watching them then penalties ensue.
It should become routine just as homework is when a kid is studying at school. I mean these guys are all at football school as such, aren't they? Not just do the bare minimum at training or a few extras while there and then spear off and don't think about footy again till the next training session. All the great ones watch and breath their chosen sport almost 24/7 now a days. Competition is just to fierce not to if you want to become number one. Running off to play Xbox or go to the pub and go on the punt or hit a round of golf should not be an option.
Repetition and study is the secret, not a secret, to fulfill great potential. These players are professionals and as such should understand that homework is part of that professionalism the clubs pays them for. I was hard on Dylan last year for the basic errors in his game that even though young he was making during games that had nothing to do with youth and immaturity. Like not going to the line and drawing the defense first before passing or just not supporting a play when it was obvious that if he had followed up the opportunity was on. These basic little things aren't talent but awareness and anticipation issues that if he had done the homework and seen countless examples of playmakers like Cody Walker seize opportunities, count numbers, draw two defenders then pass, support players, then he too would have been putting himself in those situations to capitalize on opportunities that are now history and lost.
Think about it, if he had played last year as well as he is playing this year or better because he had put in those extra hours watching video and on the training field, then that loss to the Panthers last year may not have happened. He may have found that moment to change the game. Who knows? He was basically a passenger last season compared to this. Now I am not blaming Dylan for our loss at all, I am just giving an example of how if the homework is done by all our players how things may turn out differently.
Even now still he is missing so much. He still hasn't for example figured out how to hide Lane and then bring him into the gap at an angle against the grain of defenders. Perfecting just that would be one scary and potent weapon if they did the countless video sessions of examples how and when scenarios and then the hundreds of hours on the paddock running drills to get to the point of just watching each others body language(no words needed) that that play is on.
I have said this many times, we as a team do not do the necessary work, repetition wise to be a slick and well drilled team. I shows in the way we defend and it shows in the way we attack. It has very little to do with our players being to big. Many teams have been as big as we are and bigger that played or play better as a team. We look like strangers out there so freakin often.
Anyway, Dylan needs to be sat down by someone he respects and be told some home truths. His attitude for mine sucks in this regard. He is being paid very well and as such I expect him to understand that this is a job that carries with it a lot of afterhours homework that he needs to do, especially these early years of his development that he needs to put good habits into his dna. Anyone who gets $600K in particular can't think that he just needs to run around training 4 or 5 days a week and then show up on game day and that is it. Especially considering that they have so many hours between training daily that they need to fill in.
There are no excuses for this really. I mean how many execs do you think would be on that sort of money that would just go home and switch off after a few short hours at work? I'm sure everyone who has a high paying and stressful job would love to be able to simply switch off, but that isn't the real world. Sure they find little moments here and there that they can de-stress, but generally they are on the clock either physically and or mentally 24/7. That is the job and what is expected. Period.
Now players don't even have to be that hard core, but they need to be doing extras at home and on the field. Without it, without constantly thinking of ideas and solutions ticking over in your mind and experimenting with new approaches that only come because of all the thinking and work put in, how will you be able to beat and better the players that do? Sure for players with natural talent, they can get away with it, but like I said, they end up with to many lost opportunities and never fully reaching their full potential.
It saddens me a little that we as a club can't and don't have the people, who look after the players, that can and should be able to instill these very fundamental disciplines into each and every player that is part of our club from the the moment they arrive at the club. Watching videos of every game should be a basic compulsory duties that the players are all expected to do. With questions and answers and ideas following as part of the process. Then application on the field. This to me is 101 footballer development ffs!
But here in lies another one of our numerous problems as a club. Our standards are not always where they should be not matter what people say. The proof is in the pudding. 36 years and counting.