Happy MEel
Could they be looking at Brooks as a 9/14? Don’t get me wrong, Brooks is a better half than Schuster…and that’s saying something.But Schuster is their 5/8 ! poor bludger will have to move the forwards
Poor Jake will have competition for backup half…View attachment 76058
Ba used hopgood to spell hands on the weekend. So hes thinking that atm.I reckon he shouldve used asi with the hope dyl comes back. Not sure how ready meni luke is, but i agree, we should have contingenciesOnly if you don't know or see the bleeding obvious and can't make an astute call on the odds of him coming back well after all his injuries and his form just before his last ACL injury.
There were quite a few of us that didn't need 20/20 hindsight to know that it was a very bad and reactive signing and stated so in no uncertain terms. You history changers are so funny. But we do remember and you can't gaslight all of us.
The guy was a joke signing form the moment we listened to that Parra hating merkin Ennis. There were a handful of available DH's at the time that almost any of them would have been a better option. All I can say is thank Christ that Hands ended up stepping up and is ready for NRL and is such a fit merkin that he has found his feet relatively so quickly. Otherwise our ball distribution and even ruck defense would have brought this team totally unstuck.
Lets all just prey that nothing happens to him otherwise I don't think there is anyone else even close enough ready at the club that could do as good a job. The backup DH oldman Hodgo is such a liability in defense, imagine if he had to stick it out for an entire 80 mins? Besides he is out injured now for God knows how long and thus we just have one DH at the club now for the foreseeable future.
Lets hope that Hodgo does come back at some stage this season, just as cover for Hands if something were to happen to the kid. Otherwise I hope that during the offseason Hodgo just realises he can't go on any longer and decides to medically make himself unfit. That way we can maybe recruit a genuine NRL ready understudy DH for Hands if he is ever out of the squad for whatever reason.
Are you trolling me?!?
Tigers have known that Brooks is a 6 for years, but havent been able to get a decent 7, which is why we threw insane money at Moses..That's actually a great buy for Manly and a great outcome for Brooks if it happens. I don't think he could have made a better choice for himself with what's available to him.
Playing behind a strong forward pack and alongside a dominant and experienced half will settle him and allow him to play his natural game.
DCE will do all the heavy lifting with very little expectation on Brooks and therefore freeing him up to just play what's in front of him and just run first footy. That is his go. It should resurrect his career. Clubs will then realise he should have been a running 5/8th all along.
BA is illiterate? How does BA spell hands?Ba used hopgood to spell hands on the weekend. So hes thinking that atm.I reckon he shouldve used asi with the hope dyl comes back. Not sure how ready meni luke is, but i agree, we should have contingencies
Tigers have known that Brooks is a 6 for years, but havent been able to get a decent 7, which is why we threw insane money at Moses..
“It’s easy to fix. I’m the worlds smartest man.”Sure I get that.
Good halves don't grow on trees and teams without them will always play like busted yoyos.
That is why if the Broncos get Hunt the NRL have just compromised the whole competition and allowed through their inept and weak rules to dud all the fans and other clubs of the game.
No team should be able to fit 2 of the top 5 halfbacks in the game and countless SOO and internationals into their roster. It will be a mockery and there is no point in following such a joke of a sport.
It is easy to fix and the boofheads that make it or say it is to difficult to fix are just idiots. The whole game is run on man made rules. Just write a new one stating that any player valued over say $400K then their full salary goes onto the new clubs books in full. Not hard.
He has plateaued. Look elsewhere I reckon.Not sure how ready meni luke is, but i agree, we should have contingencies
“It’s easy to fix. I’m the worlds smartest man.”
Poor Jake will have competition for backup half…View attachment 76058
Would your thoughts change if we substituted Brisbane with Parramatta?Oaf!
They make the rules. V'Landys even makes them on the run. Just make it impossible for a team like the Broncos to add a player that is worth over $1m on the open market by doing a cameo at a fraction of his true worth and basically putting their finger on the scale by doing so.
It will make this years premiership stink like rotting fish. Even if they don't take it out, the teams and their fans that lose to them along the way will feel absolutely duded by the game and feel that they were cheated.
Cameos, unless genuine cover for injury and a club can't field a player in that position from their lower grades should not ever be allowed. Parachuting in SOO or international standard players to uber super overload your playing roster is a total and utter joke and will be a real black eye to the game and the rules they themselves set.
Just write a rule that makes it impossible to do. How hard is it? Only an idiot would think it was.
This article suggests
6. Brooks
7. Cherry
12. Schuster
We also got joeWould your thoughts change if we substituted Brisbane with Parramatta?
Even if you force them to take a higher cap hit, if they can afford it, it won’t stop them adding that rep player.
Also where do you stop? Is it only rep players? Or players on $X? What if that player was currently overpaid?
And as I said up top, it closes the loophole off to us as well. What if Drown is stood down for the remainder of season? You wouldn’t want us to maybe nab someone to cover that?
Then on top of all that, what is the actual mechanism you are suggesting, other than just “write a new rule”? How is that affected by actual contract law?
He had to take his shoes off first.BA is illiterate? How does BA spell hands?
and back home where he belongs.....And young Jake out the back door.