Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sbw 1 - nrl 0

Micistm

Lol@ SBWs boxing 'career'...if he's not taking on mouthy Gary Grr type slobs, or 40+ sickness beneficiaries with dodgy elbows, his opponents go and get themselves arrested...
...Jeez, they select nothing but the premium stock huh ;-)

ozbash

Very sad for SBW

Sonny Bill Williams' next boxing opponent has been axed after the Weekend Herald revealed he was behind bars for failing to turn up to court this week to face criminal charges, including possession of methamphetamine.
An arrest warrant was issued for Richard Roretana Tutaki, 33, after he did not appear at the Auckland District Court on Tuesday.
The Weekend Herald can reveal that Tutaki, whose bout against the All Blacks midfielder was to take place at Claudelands Arena in Hamilton on February 8, faces more than 10 charges dating back to last February.

They include possession of methamphetamine and drug utensils, breach of bail, three counts of receiving stolen property, unlawfully getting into a motor vehicle, dangerous driving, failing to stop for police, failing to remain stopped and giving false details to police.
Police spokesman Inspector Gary Allcock said Tutaki was arrested later on Tuesday at his girlfriend's home in Wiri, south Auckland.
He was refused bail and will remain in custody until he appears in court again next Tuesday.

The fight promoter, Khoder Nasser, broadcaster Sky TV and the New Zealand Professional Boxing Association did not know Tutaki was in custody until the Weekend Herald told them.
Contacted by Boxing Association chairman Lance Revill last night, Mr Nasser instructed that Tutaki be dropped from the card.
It is understood that Tutaki had trained either very little or not at all for the fight, and there were concerns in boxing circles about his physical and mental condition.
One boxing source said there was no way Tutaki, a 40-fight journeyman who calls himself Tutaki Express Train and has a record of 19 wins and 21 losses, was in a fit state to enter the ring.
Last night Sky TV was still advertising the fight and taking bookings through its website.
Before Tutaki was axed, Sky chief executive John Fellett, who is on a hiking holiday in Las Vegas, said he was unaware of Tutaki's legal issues.
Fighters facing charges was not uncommon in professional boxing, Mr Fellett said.
"This is the fight game. Don King is an example of a shining citizen of the fight game and he went to jail convicted of [manslaughter]. And Don King is one of the more reputable guys I've worked with in the fight game."
Sky was not a promoter of the event and was only contracted to broadcast it.
"All we have agreed to do is show up the night of the fight with cameras."
The fight for the vacant New Zealand heavyweight title was sanctioned by the Boxing Association.
Mr Revill said another opponent would be found to fight Williams.
Contenders include NZ heavyweights Joe Wilson and Junior Patti.
He said ultimately Mr Nasser would choose the opponent.
"Khoder Nasser has got the money and he is putting all the money up for the fight," Mr Revill said.
Williams, a dual rugby and league international and one of Australasian sport's most bankable stars, has had four professional boxing fights.
The last of those was against Alipate Liava'a, an overweight 43-year-old gospel-singing sickness beneficiary dubbed "The Lard of the Ring" by Australian media, last June.
That fight was billed as fundraiser for Canterbury earthquake victims, and Williams gave $100,000 from his purse to the earthquake relief fund.
February's fight against Tutaki was intended to bolster Williams' credibility as a serious boxer.
Pay per view boxing has been a successful financial venture for the world cup-winning All Black. He is believed to have cleared a significant six figure sum from the Liava'a fight even after his donation.
Sky sells Williams' fights for $39.95, which is at the upper level for pay per view events. Former heavyweight title contender David Tua's last fight, against American veteran Monty Barrett, was priced at $29.95.
Richard Tutaki: The charges
* Possession of methamphetamine and drug utensils
* Breach of bail
* Receiving stolen property
* Driving charges
* Giving false details to police.

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/nz/news/article.cfm?c_id=1&objectid=10778645

Micistm

Meh, PR. That 'generous gesture' was heavily promoted and shoved out through the media. An attempt to make him seem less mercenary perhaps...? ;-)

Micistm

...But let's see who the replacement opponent will be. A decent fighter? A decent age, weight etc?

Rich102

Cameron's offered to fight him.
$BW's big chance.
Will he take it?
I don't think so.

hitman82

REALLY?

Awesome. Cameron didn't look so flash against Monty, but I reckon he'd deal to $BW. f**k I'd love to see them fight just to see that slimy code traitor get his ass handed over.

Titanic

+1 ... would download and add it to my "what happens to big heads" file for my kids along with The Man getting owned.

ozbash

With his prospective opponent behind bars, Sonny Bill Williams has moved quickly to replace him and is expected to slug it out on February 8 for the vacant New Zealand heavyweight title with Clarence Tillman.
The All Blacks star was scheduled to fight 33-year-old Richard Tutaki but revelations yesterday the Kiwi heavyweight had been arrested for failing to appear in the Auckland District Court last week to face more than 10 charges – including possession of methamphetamine – scuppered those plans.
According to Williams' manager, Khoder Nasser, his client had been initially devastated upon learning the news but by last night was already in the process of determining his next opponent.
Sunday Star-Times has been told by one well-connected source it is likely to be giant American-born heavyweight Tillman, who boasts 11 wins, eight losses and two draws to his name. "I've never seen Sonny this gutted in his sporting career," Nasser, who was courtside at the Heineken Open with Williams yesterday, told Star-Times.
"He's spent the best part of a month working hard to prepare to fight Richard and then this happens.
"For me, it's different. "I've been involved in the fight game for 12 to 13 years and you come to expect the unexpected in this sport.
"This is definitely not the first time something like this has happened and it won't be the last."
For Williams, while Tutaki's incarceration is a big setback, he was happy the show would go on.
"I was just absolutely gutted when I found out, man. That was probably my initial feeling," the All Blacks and Chiefs midfielder said.
"For the last three or four weeks I've been training with Richard in mind. But I was told that all was not lost and that I will still be able to fight for the belt.
"The New Zealand Boxing Association has put forward a couple of names and that's a good thing because I'll still be fighting on February 8. On one hand I'm pretty gutted and still disappointed. But on the other hand, the fight's still going to happen on February 8 and now it's just a case of changing my opponent.
"The class is definitely a step up from what I've been fighting."
Craig Thomson, the matchmaker responsible for bringing Tutaki to the table, said he had been as surprised as anyone else to discover the news yesterday.
"People are asking why we would sign up this guy given all the charges. What I can say is that we were left in the dark about all of that," Thomson said.
"You can't just ring up the police and start asking them for that sort of information.
"Pissed off would be an understatement to how I feel right now."

http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/other-sports/6258426/SBW-likely-to-face-Tillman-in-place-of-Tutaki

ozbash

The question is this: How does Sonny Bill Williams want to be remembered?
No one will ever forget his magical offloads or rocking left shoulder. But rugby's most talked-about league convert risks being chronically tainted if he, again, changes codes next year.
Lucrative one-year deals may benefit the worldwide superstar's bulging bank balance, but most revered athletes, even in this modern era, earn respect through loyalty.
The coveted All Blacks jersey doesn't reserve historic praise for flash-in-the-pan prodigies. Service crafts engagement on that honour roll.
It's a notion that stretches across the globe. Think Darren Lockyer, Richie McCaw, Keven Mealamu, Benji Marshall, Nathan Hindmarsh, Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan or Steven Gerrard. All one-club legends with devotion equal to their pedigree.
On the pitch, Williams captivates. But his off-field decisions, made with back-room minders, could ultimately define and derail his career.
His insistence that sport is a business doesn't sit right. It's cold and lacks empathy for the man on the street, the star-struck kid in the backyard.
Whether it's the constant stream of advice, or intense profile, Williams doesn't appear to harness the grounded Kiwi nature.
His curious absence from the Rugby World Cup victory parades was case in point.
"It is a business, man. These days, franchises are trying to do what is best for them – to make money. So you've got to do what you've got to do," Williams told the Sunday Star-Times of his future plans.
"On the field, I'll always back the boys and give my all. But when it comes to off the field, I'm smart in that sense. I know what the goal is and how to look after myself."
Sure, sportsmen have limited careers, earning capacity and the individual right to choose their path. But the top echelon also collect multi-year endorsements long after retirement. They will never struggle.
To utilise his gifts and be truly valued, Williams must commit to a long-term cause, soon.
He must grasp the rich, emotive sentiment attached to sport, realise it's about more than dollar bills – that it encapsulates loyalty, unity and, for hearty fans attached to an emblem, a passion and bond ingrained deep in their heritage.
Bulldogs, Toulon, Crusaders, Chiefs. The list is growing, the public distancing.
Even Williams' harshest critics cannot deny his supreme talent and unrelenting drive – he is training 10 hours a day, five times a week, combining rugby and low-grade boxing.
You don't maintain that physique without serious dedication.
"He could be something special in this game and find an important place in New Zealand society for the future," former All Blacks assistant coach Wayne Smith said. "You look at our great All Blacks. They are held in high esteem in this country. He could achieve that. But he is his own man."
No contract has yet been inked, but all signs point to Williams defecting back to league with the Sydney Roosters next year. His four-year ban from the NRL after walking out on the Bulldogs and Kiwis ahead of their remarkable world cup triumph ends this year.
Williams says "it wouldn't be accurate to say that" he is destined to play at Bondi next year and he "didn't get offered a five-year deal" worth $4 million. He did, however, speak strongly of his desire to return, at some point.
"Because I've grown up as a league player I always watch footy games, especially the big ones, State of Origin, the NRL grand final, and think `I wouldn't mind being out there'.
"I know you want something concrete, but I just do things I know is going to bring out the best in me, hence why I've been signing one-year deals."
Many believe Williams' freakish skills flourish best in the 13-man code's structures and freedom.
Smith doesn't agree. The experienced mentor, now perched alongside Williams at the Chiefs, has urged the 26-year-old to stick with union.
After instigating his transition three years ago, seeing him leave now would dishearten the coach.
"I'd like him to stay. He knows that," Smith said. "It would be a big disappointment if he leaves. I'm pretty hopeful he will stay.
"I don't think there's a lack of loyalty in anything he does. He's got aspirations and goals. They may not fit with everyone else but they're his, and good on him for chasing them.
"He took a massive pay cut to come back from Toulon to follow a dream. That's something a lot of other players weren't prepared to do."
Even so, if Williams is a Chook next year each code would have experienced a walkout. A potential rugby legacy would be wasted, not befitting his true ability.
Whatever his next move, he would do well to consider how he wants to be remembered.
Lasting commitment is endearing. Code hopping is not.

http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/all-blacks/6258417/Sonny-Bill-loyal-to-himself-and-proud

LeagueNut

"The New Zealand Boxing Association has put forward a couple of names and that's a good thing because I'll still be fighting on February 8. On one hand I'm pretty gutted and still disappointed. But on the other hand, the fight's still going to happen on February 8 and now it's just a case of changing my opponent.
Apart from that Clarence fella, I heard the other name was a Mr Oz Bazh. Sounds like a bit of a fighter.

mean_maori_mean

Starts off badly for you straight away when you assume I live in Aussie and am influenced by their interviews. Never lived there in my life

I watch the bloke put himself infront of the cameras and talk, pretty simple stuff really, like the load of crap he sent back from France via Weidler.

Funny how you mention not be sucked in by the media, then use them to try and have a pop at Brett Stewart :lol:, the bloke who a jury found not guilty of any crimes and the media had to pay defamation money too for the stuff they made up haha

Keep battling away champ

Why the hell would you support the Sea Eagles then mate????
You sound like an aussie must ready the daily telegraph online then.

I dont give a what if he got cleared.

Hell seymour gets ridicouled for a tape stumbling down the road with his missus.
Yet stewart supposedly was in a similar position but stumbled on to a random teenage girl.

I dont really care .
My whole point is that Sonny bill already gets ridiculed by the half of sydney and the media.

They target blokes like Benji and sBw because they sell papers.
And being kiwis they are already ostricised to a degree.

i.e formerly johns before he was exposed know lockyer despite all the rumours of his 'partying'

ozbash

Apart from that Clarence fella, I heard the other name was a Mr Oz Bazh. Sounds like a bit of a fighter.

:cool: betcha sweet arse.

No, I'm feeling a bit sad for Sonny, a 'reasonably' legit NZ Heavyweight boxing champ title would look good on his CV.

cant say he hasnt worked for it.

He was at the Heinekin Open yesterday and a "reporter" quized him about his oponent being locked up, "police got to him before I could" was the reply..

Why the hell would you support the Sea Eagles then mate????
You sound like an aussie must ready the daily telegraph online then.

I dont give a what if he got cleared.

Hell seymour gets ridicouled for a tape stumbling down the road with his missus.
Yet stewart supposedly was in a similar position but stumbled on to a random teenage girl.

I dont really care .
My whole point is that Sonny bill already gets ridiculed by the half of sydney and the media.

They target blokes like Benji and sBw because they sell papers.
And being kiwis they are already ostricised to a degree.

i.e formerly johns before he was exposed know lockyer despite all the rumours of his 'partying'

Because they are who have supported since day 1 and it will never change

Did Sonny Bill get ridiculed before he left, or after he did the dirty ? I don't read them anyway, so don't really give a stuff tbh

You don't seem to get the point that people can watch and listen to SBW and Team Mundine, and interpret their diatribes for themselves and come up with the conclusion that he is a wanker

Surprise surprise his latest boxing fight has turned into a farce, who woulda thought the Team Mundine crew would produce another circus ...

Micistm

The question is this: How does Sonny Bill Williams want to be remembered?
No one will ever forget his magical offloads or rocking left shoulder. But rugby's most talked-about league convert risks being chronically tainted if he, again, changes codes next year.
Lucrative one-year deals may benefit the worldwide superstar's bulging bank balance, but most revered athletes, even in this modern era, earn respect through loyalty.
The coveted All Blacks jersey doesn't reserve historic praise for flash-in-the-pan prodigies. Service crafts engagement on that honour roll.
It's a notion that stretches across the globe. Think Darren Lockyer, Richie McCaw, Keven Mealamu, Benji Marshall, Nathan Hindmarsh, Kobe Bryant, Tim Duncan or Steven Gerrard. All one-club legends with devotion equal to their pedigree.
On the pitch, Williams captivates. But his off-field decisions, made with back-room minders, could ultimately define and derail his career.
His insistence that sport is a business doesn't sit right. It's cold and lacks empathy for the man on the street, the star-struck kid in the backyard.
Whether it's the constant stream of advice, or intense profile, Williams doesn't appear to harness the grounded Kiwi nature.
His curious absence from the Rugby World Cup victory parades was case in point.
"It is a business, man. These days, franchises are trying to do what is best for them – to make money. So you've got to do what you've got to do," Williams told the Sunday Star-Times of his future plans.
"On the field, I'll always back the boys and give my all. But when it comes to off the field, I'm smart in that sense. I know what the goal is and how to look after myself."
Sure, sportsmen have limited careers, earning capacity and the individual right to choose their path. But the top echelon also collect multi-year endorsements long after retirement. They will never struggle.
To utilise his gifts and be truly valued, Williams must commit to a long-term cause, soon.
He must grasp the rich, emotive sentiment attached to sport, realise it's about more than dollar bills – that it encapsulates loyalty, unity and, for hearty fans attached to an emblem, a passion and bond ingrained deep in their heritage.
Bulldogs, Toulon, Crusaders, Chiefs. The list is growing, the public distancing.
Even Williams' harshest critics cannot deny his supreme talent and unrelenting drive – he is training 10 hours a day, five times a week, combining rugby and low-grade boxing.
You don't maintain that physique without serious dedication.
"He could be something special in this game and find an important place in New Zealand society for the future," former All Blacks assistant coach Wayne Smith said. "You look at our great All Blacks. They are held in high esteem in this country. He could achieve that. But he is his own man."
No contract has yet been inked, but all signs point to Williams defecting back to league with the Sydney Roosters next year. His four-year ban from the NRL after walking out on the Bulldogs and Kiwis ahead of their remarkable world cup triumph ends this year.
Williams says "it wouldn't be accurate to say that" he is destined to play at Bondi next year and he "didn't get offered a five-year deal" worth $4 million. He did, however, speak strongly of his desire to return, at some point.
"Because I've grown up as a league player I always watch footy games, especially the big ones, State of Origin, the NRL grand final, and think `I wouldn't mind being out there'.
"I know you want something concrete, but I just do things I know is going to bring out the best in me, hence why I've been signing one-year deals."
Many believe Williams' freakish skills flourish best in the 13-man code's structures and freedom.
Smith doesn't agree. The experienced mentor, now perched alongside Williams at the Chiefs, has urged the 26-year-old to stick with union.
After instigating his transition three years ago, seeing him leave now would dishearten the coach.
"I'd like him to stay. He knows that," Smith said. "It would be a big disappointment if he leaves. I'm pretty hopeful he will stay.
"I don't think there's a lack of loyalty in anything he does. He's got aspirations and goals. They may not fit with everyone else but they're his, and good on him for chasing them.
"He took a massive pay cut to come back from Toulon to follow a dream. That's something a lot of other players weren't prepared to do."
Even so, if Williams is a Chook next year each code would have experienced a walkout. A potential rugby legacy would be wasted, not befitting his true ability.
Whatever his next move, he would do well to consider how he wants to be remembered.
Lasting commitment is endearing. Code hopping is not.

http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/all-blacks/6258417/Sonny-Bill-loyal-to-himself-and-proud

Well written, and that's spot on. How does SBW want to be remembered? He'll get the coin for sure...I'm sure he'll get some post playing year deals...initially. But at the end of the day, is it his rugby/league skills talked about? Is it is long term loyalty to the game, or a club mentioned? His boxing 'career?'
Nope- it's his off field antics and the amusing tantrums of his manager. In some quarter it's simply his visual appeal. It's his mercanary style that's discussed. On radio stations, non sport ones, the only things that seem discussed about $BW is- the body for the girls, and his fickle flakey character for the guys. Neither side seemed overly impressed with his All Black stints so far- except the odd $BW lover that'll phone up and crow how his run on the wing against some minnow country will 'silence the critics.'
Even the Rebel sport adverts seemed to have stopped. Doesn't look like they're keen on extending any contract.

For me, unless something changes fast, in both attitude and stickability to one code, he will go down as an enormously talented potential who destroyed his career and mana by chasing the big dollar and listening/taking advice from the most stupid and arrogant of people.:?

Penrose Warrior

I don't understand why any NZ brand would want Sonny Bill to front it. I was going to call him a polarising figure but I can't remember a male I've spoken to who thinks he's worth a pinch of shit.

hitman82

I don't understand why any NZ brand would want Sonny Bill to front it. I was going to call him a polarising figure but I can't remember a male I've spoken to who thinks he's worth a pinch of shit.

Very true. Everyone I know says the same thing:
-massively talented athlete
-thick as pigshit
-no mana

...however, he's a human headline. And due to being ripped and having bro tats (despite the goofy face) he gets loads of magazine exposure too.

Publicity-wise, an excellent guy to have on board. From a commitment and credibility point of view; a total sack of shit.

ozenzud

Money Bill coming back is absolutely predictable. I have been saying it for months. Regardless of his on field abilities, his absolutely mercenary approach to life just destroys his street cred.

I am an employer. If I got this blokes CV, he might have all the skills, I wouldn't hire him. I'd have to pay him too much and he would upset the rest of my team. I couldn't rely on his loyalty and the fact that he would put the company's best interests at heart and as soon as he sensed a better offer was on the table he'd be off, then my efforts to develop him would be lost.

If I were a professional rugby league manager, I wouldn't hire him for the same reasons.

He will bring publicity. Sure. But will it be good? Doesn't this bloke just cheapen the image of professional sportsman and make the whole thing a joke?

I'd be happy for him to disappear off to France to play rugby....or soccer...or be a male model.