Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Smith blew it big time.

GoParra

Suitman said:
Misty Bee said:
Have a look at GP's contribution to this thread. Anything in there that's not personal? He only appears nowdays to bag anyone critical of Smith!

Yeh, its disappointing. He seems to have taken the Smith criticism so personally.

At least Strider, MITS, Colonel etc, can accept both points of view and discuss them rationally.

As you well know, i used to, but got tired on the non stop perosnal abuse that came my way, Besides that, what is there left to discuss, the same boring points are raised week in and week out, I would think by now that each of us knows the others point of view and for me I plain can'tr be bothered getting into a mud flinging match with anyone again.
I guess Strider has found the same thing out also and no longer can be bothered either.
At the end of the day all that happens is that other readers get bored and no longer come and contribute to the board, want me to list examples because I have dozens i could give you.
Time to move on ...

Problem is, there are many new people joining the board who haven't been involved before, and they are the ones bringing up the topic. I have stayed around to fight my battle.
You have chosen to leave...........so be it.

GoParra

Personally i think it is the same people turning every thread into to the same battle, but as you say, so be it ...

GoParra

I am there on and off, but have more things in my life right now and am not getting tied to the computer as i once was

* edit - this reply was to something on the first page, without me realising I had missed four pages (!) of discussion *

Misty Bee said:
MITS???? The jury's out. He USED to be very astute. So sad...... :cry:
Man not Ball.

I would like, if I may, to take you through my opinions on the entire club/Smith thing, I will try to keep it brief, but little nuances may need to be explained in depth. So if I goes to long I am sorry, keep with it please.

To start I would like to state my belief of the opinions being expressed against Coach Smith.

1) Coach Smith is not a bad coach
2) Coach Smith did get us from cellar dwellers to Top 8 and above between 1997 and 2002.
3) Coach Smith doesn't seem to be able to inspire or motivate his team
moving to
4) Coach Smith has a structured style of play that the players don't like
moving to
5) Coach Smith has become stale at Parramatta and would most probably succeed elsewhere.

Also on a separate topic, I may be believed that I can no be critical of our coach, our CEO, our Board and our club. I would hope in this next piece that you can see these opinions of me are incorrect.

The reason I do this is that I believe that my views have been misread over the last 2 years, and that my opinions are not being read without prejudice. Please understand that this post is for all intents my opinions at this time.

To this Issues

1) Coach Smith is not a bad coach,

On this I agree, I believe that Coach Smith is a fine coach with ability far in advance of many others.

2) Coach Smith did get us from cellar dwellers to Top 8 and above between 1997 and 2002.

On this I agree, hell I was their singing with Suity the "We've got the best team in the comp" at the 2000 GF qualifier against Brisbane, and then the same game a year on. I was at most games in 1996, and became a season ticket holder in 1997. While these years may be described as unsuccessful because we didn’t win the ultimate prize, I believe they were successful in the way the club performed.

3) Coach Smith doesn't seem to be able to inspire or motivate his team.

On this I agree in part but would place the blame on team leadership. The team as it stands this year, has had a tendency to drop it's head if it is in a slightly down position and the opposition score. I think this is because for a great deal of the time, we have been missing our on field leader, in Nathan Cayless. You can pump people up as much as you like but once they cross that line players can feel isolated. No matter how much we pay them or how professional they are, we pay them to have the skill, some other things we can teach them, but that isolated feeling I think that is something only other players can help out with.
Players like Cayless deal with being isolated by pumping others up and feeding off them. Players like Nathan Hindmarsh do it via their deeds.
Players like Dykes need to have players around them pumping them up. It can't be a runner like Jason Taylor; it has to be a team captain.
I think Daniel Wagon is like Nathan, a do as I do sort of leader that our play makers can't feed off.

People go back to the school teacher like way that Brian sat the team down vs. the Dragons. Some people have said on this board that they have never spoken with our coach, others say only once or twice. I have done it on several occasions in the past 7 years, and all I can say is that Brian is a quite man, that has an infectious intensity. Just watching him speak about certain thing and he puts off a sense of leadership and determination. He doesn’t have to raise his voice too much, he doesn’t have to jump around or slap his players on the shoulders to get them pumped, he does it in other ways. Now I can’t say that I know how effective they are for the team, my read on these players may be wrong, and I may be wrong about the coach, but I get inspired every time I speak with Coach Smith.

4) Coach Smith has a Structured Style of play that the Players don't like

Again I would say that the structured play gives a great base for inspired play. If you let a lone player do what he feels is right, then that lone player may be the only one that knows what is going to happen. You need a structure to get plays going, but I think structured play helps players react and trust their gut feelings more. If in a structured move a player feels that something may not come off, he can decide to not execute the play, leaving a man outside him unused. But in a non structured play, will there be a man outside you if you do decide to execute the play? For mine it has been said in the press before that Adam Dykes has been asked to play in a style he is not comfortable in. I think that could be the structured play we are playing, and that leads me to believe that Dykes wants to do everything himself, an opinion I am sure will get support among others on this board, particularly pointing to the start of the year, and even in games like the win vs. the Broncos.

5)Coach Smith has become stale at Parramatta and would most probably succeed elsewhere.

On the other hand to this, many including prominent members of the radio media would hi-light to you the huge amounts of player turn over since Coach Smith joined the club, Players that have been here for the long haul include,
Daniel Wagon
Nathan Hindmarsh
Nathan Cayless
Michael Vella.

Disagree with the form of some of these players if you wish, but they are the only ones that could be feeling that Smith’s coaching is stale, No other player has been at the club for that long to have heard smith repeat anything if he is repeating it. These players, plus Corey Person formed the core of the group that started the Pizza and Beer night to get to the bottom of the problem.

Parramatta’s Retention Policy.

I have said this to many but I am going to go over it again.

In 1999 I was told by a member of the board of the football club, witnessed by fellow members of the travelling crew, that Parramatta players signed to play NRL (so the top 25) are on at least $100,000 dollars a year.

This year I shared an apartment with a player manager for 3 days while we worked on a mutual project on the Gold Coast, this Player manager has players in the Broncos, Rabbits and formally Newcastle. When I told him the above information about minimum contracts in 1999, he was gob smacked. He knows that the minimum at some of these clubs is around $35 -$40,000 a year, which is about what your average person earns.

So if we are paying $60,000 over the top for the bottom 7 or so players on a sliding scale of $5,000 per 7 players starting at $75,000 you can gain about $295,000 in your salary cap plus the $100,000 that players start on in say the top 17.

This would be the reason that Parramatta have been unable to retain players that have hit heights at this club. We are paying more for juniors than we should be.

When Joe Joseph retired this year, I remember someone quoting him in saying that Parramatta would try to never again lose a player that they had developed for more money. With that comment I think we can see that last year we started spending less on players to come to the club, Players like McKinnon, Person, and co, meaning we are starting to save money under the salary cap, and as you can all see from this years recruitments that money is being put to good use, along with the extra Money from Dykes and Lyons Contract as well as I would think Cayless and Vaealiki’s injuries allowing us to save money.

I also believe that we have used some of this saved money to park some players contracts for next year, Players like Riddel, Tahu and Morrison could have been offered $50,000 signing bonus this year that will act as part of their first year payments, Meaning that we have used some of this years cap (thanks Jamie you were good for something) towards these recruitments.

While the board and coach were well within their rights to set a base salary for our NRL squad to attract and maintain young talent, it showed in our inability to retain that talent from the money being spent by other clubs.

Sacking Smith,

While I can empathise with your comments on sacking the Coach, I can not agree with them.

Sacking the coach would in my opinion destabilise this club, there is no heir apparent, and there is no one on the market that could take on the job. People’s names have been bandied about by members of this forum, but how can any of you know that these people even want to come to this club or continue or resume to coach NRL rugby league.

If what has been discussed happens with Smith to Coach Coordinator and Daniel Anderson in as Head Coach, well and good. I have heard comments from the board that they are of the belief that Coach Smith is not getting as much help as he could from the current coaching staff. Some people point out to all the others in the coach’s box, but some in the club feel they aren’t helping the head coach.

I support this club and that means supporting everyone in it, I will back the coach as long as he is here, I will back the board as long as they make the decision to keep the coach , or sign players or set minimum wages that is what they are elected to do. Through every mistake, and every victory, that is what it is to be part of a club. Not in my opinion to look from the outside and say, cut that person out of the club and hire someone else, they are hurting your club. But in saying that maybe some outside help may be required to see problems, but if you see problems from inside, I believe you fix them first, and in doing so, maybe the outside problems go away.

Mr Foreman please present your verdict.

Well thought out post mark.

There is one aspect that is pertinantly clear though where you and I differ, and it was in you final paragraph.

If the Parramatta club, and those within it, make decisions, that I don't agree with, how can I offer my support for such decisions. It would be hypocritcal of me to do so.
I will continue to voice my opposition to such decisions. I will also continue to voice my satisfaction with decisions I agree with.
As you well know, Once the 13 players run onto the park, they have all my support.
I think Vella is a bludger, but I will applaude him for a big hit. I think that Wagon is no 5/8th, but I will applaude him when he puts someone over for a try.

But I will not be hypocritical and support decisions that I do not agree with.

I would once again love to be standing next to you next season proclaiming "We have the best team in the comp."

Suit, while I agree that you should not agree with a decision if you don't agree with a decision, the only way I can show that I don't agree with a decision is to say so to the board, and if enough people disagree, then the following could happen.

1) A person representing your ideas could be placed on the advisory board if the miss out on election.
2) Many people representing your ideas could be placed on the advisory board if the miss out on election.
3) A person representing your ideas could get on the board and they would know your view on the decision and represent it to the board
4) Many people representing your Ideas could get on the board and things could changed

I just don't like the idea of people rattling off to others that can't do anything about it. While I am sure it is cathartic for those that do, I can't see any of the energy used to actually effect the change.

I would just rather see the fans directly communicating with the club or the clubs representatives than helping to air the clubs internal politics on a publicly viewable forum. Even for those outside the area, pick up the phone and call or write a letter, I know Colonel and Belly have.

MarkInTheStands said:
Suit, while I agree that you should not agree with a decision if you don't agree with a decision, the only way I can show that I don't agree with a decision is to say so to the board, and if enough people disagree, then the following could happen.

1) A person representing your ideas could be placed on the advisory board if the miss out on election.
2) Many people representing your ideas could be placed on the advisory board if the miss out on election.
3) A person representing your ideas could get on the board and they would know your view on the decision and represent it to the board
4) Many people representing your Ideas could get on the board and things could changed

I just don't like the idea of people rattling off to others that can't do anything about it. While I am sure it is cathartic for those that do, I can't see any of the energy used to actually effect the change.

I would just rather see the fans directly communicating with the club or the clubs representatives than helping to air the clubs internal politics on a publicly viewable forum. Even for those outside the area, pick up the phone and call or write a letter, I know Colonel and Belly have.

Not many people have either the access nor the time to be placed on an advisory board. That doesn't mean that their passion is any less.

I for one, would be willing to rattle off my feelings, formally of course, to someone who was on such a board.

Another idea would be for Parrmatta to have a "complaints email address"
I know, they would cop some uncouth abuse - there are many idiots around, but it would also be an invaluable avenue for fans to vent their greivances in an orderly manner.

The catering, for example, at Parramatta Stadium is just pathetic.
The queue's for both food and beverages on Saturday night were unacceptable. And there were only 14000 there. I voiced my opinion of this to Alan Overton in 2001, and it is worse now than ever. This however, is another story.

Misty Bee

Colonel Eel said:
Misty Bee said:
I actually don't recall saying that they couldn't win. I'd like you to show me where I did.

Maybe you did, maybe you didn't - you have stated all along we were no chance for the eight so effectively.....

Wrong again, Colonel. You really need to pay more attention. Saying someone is little chance, is different to NO chance.

You also ignore that a 12-0 lead after 5 was blown - you must be happy with that, because you are happy that they got close. I'm quite livid about it, because it was a game that was blown largely by the game plan. I didn't see a player in our jumper that didn't try his best (although Graham was woeful - maybe that's his best!). As I said right at the beginning of this thread, Smith's tactics blew whatever advantage we gained in that opening 5.

I'm not happy with the fact we blew a 12 point lead. You pointed out however it did kick them into action. Yes, we got close - I'm happy for the fact that had they didn't play like they have done for many games this year as it could have been 50 instead of 10. His actions may have blown any advantage - however Wagon's missed tackles, McKinnon's pass and Grahams ineptitude on the night didn't exactly help either.

No they didn't, but my post wasn't about their mistakes, it was about Smith's. And given that you put him yet again beyond blame, you MUST be happy with his performance. I am yet to hear you say otherwise.

Don't forget that the loss ended our finals chance. BY the next time we get a chance to be in the final 8, it will be 4 years since we won a semi final. And the coach is beyond criticism??????????

No - but those who write the game of as good as over before a ball is kicked in anger can't then turn around and criticise him for what they expected anyway. BTW I know it killed off our slim chance of making it - you wrote us off weeks ago.

Again, you are lying. Prove where I said that.

You reckon your'e happy when the player put in a good effort. When the club around them isn't, you're not concerned? I'm wondering why you are fighting so hard to maintain mediocrity, and fighting so hard against improvement! :|

I'm, all for effort and I'm all for improvement and all for a move away from mediocrity Misty. I'm concerned and people know that. However, three years of your pissing, bitching and moaning has changed nought at the club so why should I join in only to be let down by the club too. I roll with what happens, brush myself off and move onto the next week - I'd rather it didn't happen but you've proved more than ever that complaining doesn't help.
[/quote]

First of all, I have been anti Smith for only 18 months - another lie. As a moderator, you need to do better than that. How about sticking to the truth?

Secondly, what have YOU done? As a fan with no club connections, no access to board members, and living half a state away, I did what most of you urged me to do. I wrote a letter. Entrusted it with you as well. You reckoned you were going to give it to Ovo or a similar stature person at the Sharks game. You didn't. I PM'd you to see if you had, and you reckoned you were going to do it later in the week. And to my knowledge, you still havent! Got it sitting in the glovebox of the ute? Or is it under the coffee table stopping the wobble?

You made a big song and dance, and a few of us trusted you. I know I have got no reply from Ovo (not that I expect one, but I do expect some acknowledgement). Nor was there any confirmation from you. I think you failed to do it, and going by the bullshit you are spinning here, I don't trust that you would. I DID trust you, Colonel, thinking that at least you had some standards that you upheld.

I thought you had enough strength to put your integrity above your desire to see Brian Smith retained. How wrong I was - and THAT'S my big mistake.

Misty Bee

FOOTNOTE:

Eelementary's basic plea is a good one, and one to which I concur. We are all Parramatta fans.

I take exception with some of the examples, and to whom they are pointing. When I claim that some accept mediocrity, it's not personal, just my conclusion from reading what people have said. As explained above, sometimes people leave little room for any other assumption.

Of course Misty.

I'm a believer of, "Play the ball, not the man."

If only others could maintin the integrity that you do!

Misty Bee said:
Colonel Eel said:
Misty Bee said:
I actually don't recall saying that they couldn't win. I'd like you to show me where I did.

Maybe you did, maybe you didn't - you have stated all along we were no chance for the eight so effectively.....

Wrong again, Colonel. You really need to pay more attention. Saying someone is little chance, is different to NO chance.

You also ignore that a 12-0 lead after 5 was blown - you must be happy with that, because you are happy that they got close. I'm quite livid about it, because it was a game that was blown largely by the game plan. I didn't see a player in our jumper that didn't try his best (although Graham was woeful - maybe that's his best!). As I said right at the beginning of this thread, Smith's tactics blew whatever advantage we gained in that opening 5.

I'm not happy with the fact we blew a 12 point lead. You pointed out however it did kick them into action. Yes, we got close - I'm happy for the fact that had they didn't play like they have done for many games this year as it could have been 50 instead of 10. His actions may have blown any advantage - however Wagon's missed tackles, McKinnon's pass and Grahams ineptitude on the night didn't exactly help either.

No they didn't, but my post wasn't about their mistakes, it was about Smith's. And given that you put him yet again beyond blame, you MUST be happy with his performance. I am yet to hear you say otherwise.

Don't forget that the loss ended our finals chance. BY the next time we get a chance to be in the final 8, it will be 4 years since we won a semi final. And the coach is beyond criticism??????????

No - but those who write the game of as good as over before a ball is kicked in anger can't then turn around and criticise him for what they expected anyway. BTW I know it killed off our slim chance of making it - you wrote us off weeks ago.

You reckon your'e happy when the player put in a good effort. When the club around them isn't, you're not concerned? I'm wondering why you are fighting so hard to maintain mediocrity, and fighting so hard against improvement! :|

I'm, all for effort and I'm all for improvement and all for a move away from mediocrity Misty. I'm concerned and people know that. However, three years of your pissing, bitching and moaning has changed nought at the club so why should I join in only to be let down by the club too. I roll with what happens, brush myself off and move onto the next week - I'd rather it didn't happen but you've proved more than ever that complaining doesn't help.

First of all, I have been anti Smith for only 18 months - another lie. As a moderator, you need to do better than that. How about sticking to the truth?

Secondly, what have YOU done? As a fan with no club connections, no access to board members, and living half a state away, I did what most of you urged me to do. I wrote a letter. Entrusted it with you as well. You reckoned you were going to give it to Ovo or a similar stature person at the Sharks game. You didn't. I PM'd you to see if you had, and you reckoned you were going to do it later in the week. And to my knowledge, you still havent! Got it sitting in the glovebox of the ute? Or is it under the coffee table stopping the wobble?

You made a big song and dance, and a few of us trusted you. I know I have got no reply from Ovo (not that I expect one, but I do expect some acknowledgement). Nor was there any confirmation from you. I think you failed to do it, and going by the bullsh*t you are spinning here, I don't trust that you would. I DID trust you, Colonel, thinking that at least you had some standards that you upheld.

I thought you had enough strength to put your integrity above your desire to see Brian Smith retained. How wrong I was - and THAT'S my big mistake.[/quote]

Misty, take it easy mate.

That attitude won't get you, your thoughts, or the club, anywhere.
The Colonel's heart is in the right place....believe me.

Suitman said:
Not many people have either the access nor the time to be placed on an advisory board. That doesn't mean that their passion is any less.

Never said they did and it doesn't have to be you, just someone who values your vote :smile:

Suitman said:
I for one, would be willing to rattle off my feelings, formally of course, to someone who was on such a board.

Another idea would be for Parrmatta to have a "complaints email address"
I know, they would cop some uncouth abuse - there are many idiots around, but it would also be an invaluable avenue for fans to vent their greivances in an orderly manner.

A great Idea, I think that should be in place at Parramatta, and that every email comes in they get a peronalised response from someone in a department that faces the fans.

Suitman said:
The catering, for example, at Parramatta Stadium is just pathetic.
The queue's for both food and beverages on Saturday night were unacceptable. And there were only 14000 there. I voiced my opinion of this to Alan Overton in 2001, and it is worse now than ever. This however, is another story.

Mate, I don't know about the beer lines, but the food quality has been getting better, finally you don't get warmed up raw potato when you buy Hot Chips. But maybe that is also something to do with the time I buy food (Full time in Flegg or half time or a little earlier in PL)

Eelectrica

Wow Great Post, very informative MITS. Just one question if I may on this point:
MarkInTheStands said:
Some people point out to all the others in the coach’s box, but some in the club feel they aren’t helping the head coach.
I've suspected the same thing and hope bringing Peter sharp in will help alleviate some of these deficiencies.
Our defensive struggles indicate to me that Rod Reddy, as our main defensive coach isn't getting the job done. If so why haven't we tried to replace some of these assistants that aren't pulling their weight?

Misty Bee

I hear ya Suity, but when people go on the attack, and base it on false accusations, a defence is expected. I think I'm entitled to that.

MITS, yes, your thoughts were well expressed. When I get time, I'll respond in due course. However, I'll make one point.

The line about 'no one around who can replace Smith' is a defeatist attitude. All other clubs, when faced with the same quandary, have found solutions be tapping into that seemingly small pool of coaches bar 2: Manly and Souths, who are internally unstable and finding their feet after having their clubs dissapeared for a few seasons. Other clubs - Penrith, North Queensland, Tigers, Warriors, Roosters, Sharks, Dragons etc etc etc, have all improved to varying degrees by changing coaches. Whay can't we?

Misty Bee said:
Colonel Eel said:
Misty Bee said:

Little chance, no chance. Really not very different IMO. I never right them off, many times to my own detriment. Maybe I'm the stupid one.....

I didn't put him beyond blame. You assume I did. I sat wondering why the hell Witt and Thorman didn't play more of the game but I also saw mistakes the players made as well. Some of his decisions contributed as did the decisions of the players - I don't think everything he did cost us the game rather played a big part.

Sorry my assumption was wrong - I belive you said no chance - you may have said little chance.

Most that criticised Smith, yourself excluded as you have correctly pointed out, were the same that said he couldn't win. If a person believes they can't win I don't feel they have the right to criticise what went wrong when we lose.

Maybe I exagerated with my times - years/seasons possibly confused me. But I still believe its longer than that. I've been on the Eels board and this one for well over two seasons now and believe you had similar sentiments in the 2002 season.

If you feel I'm not a good moderator than say so. I urge anyone on here to do the same in my regard. If everyone feels I don't do a good job, easy, I'm gone. Mind you, many have felt that you don't do a good job either, however IMO you do and I always try and balance both sides when any criticism comes your way.

You made a big song and dance, and a few of us trusted you. I know I have got no reply from Ovo (not that I expect one, but I do expect some acknowledgement). Nor was there any confirmation from you. I think you failed to do it, and going by the bullsh*t you are spinning here, I don't trust that you would. I DID trust you, Colonel, thinking that at least you had some standards that you upheld.

I thought you had enough strength to put your integrity above your desire to see Brian Smith retained. How wrong I was - and THAT'S my big mistake.

While were on about the truth - can you show me where I have stated my desire to see Smith should be retained? Both ways mate - maybe you need to check your facts too.

I have sent the letters to Ovo - I wanted to hand them to him personally though I was unable. I did however leave them with the nice girl at reception. I haven't heard anything back either in regards to mine either. The idea was also to have a few letters - between me, you and Belly we had three. I was hoping that someone else may actually take a bit of a stand too. Yours was sent sealed.

Misty Bee said:
The line about 'no one around who can replace Smith' is a defeatist attitude. All other clubs, when faced with the same quandary, have found solutions be tapping into that seemingly small pool of coaches bar 2: Manly and Souths, who are internally unstable and finding their feet after having their clubs dissapeared for a few seasons. Other clubs - Penrith, North Queensland, Tigers, Warriors, Roosters, Sharks, Dragons etc etc etc, have all improved to varying degrees by changing coaches. Whay can't we?

I think you will find that when a club changes coach, there is a change in playing staff, The Warriors were key, the got some good solid Aussie to help out the Kiwi's, players like campion and others.

Penrith did it with Lang, getting Lang, Long and Campbell.

I would attribute some of these increases in form to playing staff attracted by the coach. Not all but some.

I think you will agree with me that this year currently we seem to have recruited well. It may turn to dust, they all might be on the same bus for the eels on wheels tour and something happens, (Gods forbid) and we are left stranded again.

If we have recruited well this might be one of the benefits of a coach change negated and actually delivered by the current coach???

But all in all I may be defeatist of me but I just think no one has put their hand up during the year and no one until recently has been rumoured of coaching the club next year. We have had our coaching woes broadcast to the nation and to other nations, yet no one has publicly come forward.

Eelectrica said:
Wow Great Post, very informative MITS. Just one question if I may on this point:
I've suspected the same thing and hope bringing Peter sharp in will help alleviate some of these deficiencies.
Our defensive struggles indicate to me that Rod Reddy, as our main defensive coach isn't getting the job done. If so why haven't we tried to replace some of these assistants that aren't pulling their weight?

I think they only came to that opinion this year after talking with the coach. The person I spoke with has said to me that they have spoken more with the coach this year than any of the past 7 years.

Then maybe we need to be more assertive, or take a risk.
There are coaches around, over half a dozen clubs have changed theirs in the last 18 months.

It tells me that Parra are happy with the way we are travelling. :shock: