Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Smith blew it big time.

GAME FIRST said:
You are a loser EELS DUDE if you think we have played good footy even considering our injuries.
And two solid wins v Warriors, Sharks, who have both lost any form for a while now!
Why cant we beat a decent, in form footy side who play well on the day under pressure like v Penrith.
We start well and crash in -like end of last year when we won a few and when we have to win, they lose it easily after big leads!
The team is losing as soon as a chance comes up to make the 8 under pressure-and you want to be happy with it.

I'm a loser now am I? If you want to get personal then I could say a number of things about you that I'm sure are shared by a number of people in this forum! However, in order to keep things civil I will refrain from doing so.

Where did I ever say that we have played good footy this season? Find me the quote and then i'll answer you! And to answer your question as to why we cannot beat an in form side like Penrith, well it's simple, we don't have the team to beat them, they are a better football side. Unfortunate but true, and we're not going to become better than them over night. We competed well against the reigning premiers the other night, it was a shame we lost but no surprise.

CrazyEel

Suitman said:
That is where a lot of us are coming from at the moment.
What is the point of being happy with a win, when it will only propel us to 11th in the League, with only a John's less Newcastle, Manly Souths and the Warriors behind us.

Geez, some people are easily pleased. 11th ????????? :roll: :roll:

Fair go Suity, it's not a matter of being easily pleased, regardless of where we are on the table I still prefer to see a win to a loss. :roll:

I don't like what's happened to our club over the last 3 years and as most know I do hold Smith responsible for that, I also don't expect much to change till the day he goes. For that very reason I don't expect the team to beat the top 4 sides or be a real premiership contender, to do so would in effect prove I am wrong about Smith.

Therefore, under those circumstances, I am pleased to see them win and be competitive against top 4 sides, I do still follow the team. IMO, that's as good as it gets under Smith, if you expect better then you don't believe he is the problem, if you do believe he is the problem then don't expect better till he is gone. Can't have it both ways.

Eels Dude said:
Suitman said:
What is the point of being happy with a win, when it will only propel us to 11th in the League, with only a John's less Newcastle, Manly Souths and the Warriors behind us.

Of course i'm not pleased with our overall season. Any Parramatta supporter would be dissapointed. However, I am pleased that we put in 2 solid wins over the last few weeks. Everyone else should equally be happy. We'll get back to a premiership threat soon enough, but till then we have to make the best of a bad situation.

Fair enough, that is your view. I have trouble getting excited about wins now when we are in our current position on the table.
Those who saw me on Saturday night though will have seen that my support and passion for a win is as strong as ever.

CrazyEel said:
Suitman said:

Fair go Suity, it's not a matter of being easily pleased, regardless of where we are on the table I still prefer to see a win to a loss. :roll:

I don't like what's happened to our club over the last 3 years and as most know I do hold Smith responsible for that, I also don't expect much to change till the day he goes. For that very reason I don't expect the team to beat the top 4 sides or be a real premiership contender, to do so would in effect prove I am wrong about Smith.

Therefore, under those circumstances, I am pleased to see them win and be competitive against top 4 sides, I do still follow the team. IMO, that's as good as it gets under Smith, if you expect better then you don't believe he is the problem, if you do believe he is the problem then don't expect better till he is gone. Can't have it both ways.

Crazy.....I completely understand and respect that view point as well.
Read my post in this thread that answers Mystiks question.
That explains where I am coming from.

CrazyEel

Suitman said:
Smith will be here. Will I support him...............not personally no, but I will support the club. That is the stand I have taken. .... If he wins us a Premiership, I'll be quite happy to say I was wrong, and shower him with praise. That would mean that me, along with many others, quite simply WERE WRONG. I' am more than happy to be proven that.
After all, isn't that what we ALL want?

With ya all the way Suity :clap:

True EEL

may i just say that........

circumstance conspired to make me not be able to see the game, therefore i can only comment on media reports and speculation from everyone on here.....but

Misty,

well done on sticking solid with your views and i thought you made some valid points, particularly about swapping the halves on and off

Suity,

great post in your "long and fair post about Smithy" and i agree that his biggest problem is his apparent lack of ability to "consistently" inspire confidence and enthusiasm in the players on a regular basis, he has run low on ideas

others have made "acceptable" defences for Bs and i accept that and i am not saying (especially as i did not see the game) that BS was why we lossed, but i will repeat - i say - REPEAT what i have said in the past........you cannot win consistently or even perform consistently whilst continually tinkering with your halves and taking a halfback off mid-game, whom from all reports was fit and playing reasonably well (i understand Thorman came off with an injury)

i have accepted that BS will be at Parra next year - not my no 1 choice by any means anymore - but nevertheless, he will be there (in some capacity as a coach) and if so, i just hope that from all his halves options next year - he picks two halves and simply sticks to them and gives them time to form a combination (depending of course on injury) and doesn't try a new combination every couple of weeks - stable and consistent halves is what wins a premiership - simple as that

and, not a bash BS post script here, but simply some food for thought from the article in last week's Big League magazine, some stats and quotes.....

Year Wins Losses Draws Win %
2001 20 4 2 76
2002 10 12 2 42
2003 11 13 - 46
2004* 9 14 - 37

* = with one round remaining against the Roosters (and not counting byes)

not a real good trend happening there is there, as i said food for thought????

BS on Adam Dykes.........

"He's another example of everything that didn't go our way being out of our control. Adam's just had a litany of injuries, when prior to coming here, he'd harrdly had any" - BS

fair enough Brian......but

"Also, given the way the football changed, we probably wouldn't have bought him.......but that wasn't his fault and it wasn't mine" - BS

yes well, that doesn't at all sound like a man on the defensive trying to make excuses for on of HIS marqee signings and favourite player's failings, nor an excuse for his own failings.........

"aw come on guys, it wasn't my fault".........give me strength is anything your fault BS????

True EEL

oh and some more gold from BS.....

"if we get hit again by injury (next year) we'll get smashed again" - BS

gee that inspires confidence, especially coming from the coach who just spent the entire article offering excuses for this year and then saying that the club has built up so well for next year and we will be better off because of our problems this year

i mean what the?????

"2004 - the year we had to have" - BS

and so what about 2002 and 2003 Brian?????? did we have to have them too???

lets not make 2005 another year we had to have - please????

GoParra

strider said:
I couldn't be bothered any more Misty.....where is my "abuse" - yeah I am sick of your unfounded attempts to blame everything on Smith....but I dead set couldn't be bothered with the crap on this forum anymore.....I only bite back these days if I think someone goes too far...but thats it from me - I believe me and anyone else who does not bash Smithy cops a truckload more than you - yet you keep harping on the same sh*t about us....there are FAR more BS bashers than defenders these days....to even suggest you are so badly treated like you are doing is a joke.

You do talk up all this colourful garbage to try to put people down - maybe u don't see it but its a fact.

Abuse me all you like.....I don't give a sh*t.....I'll probably hang around the forum cos its a good place to hear whats happening at the club....but I am sick of the sh*t and constant suggestions that I "enjoy losing" and "like mediocrity" and whatever other bullsh*t you can pad with a dozen words from your thesaurus.....bye

Pretty much the same as me mate, I just can no longer be bothered going over the same old BORING ground ad nauseum, total waste of time :clap: :clap: :clap:

GoParra

Eels Dude said:
Misty Bee said:
Eels dude reckons I bagged the Hindy 5/8 decision last week as well by the sound of it. Shows how much he pays attention! Did you know we were not playing The Warriors last night, ED? :roll:

Don't put words into my mouth please. Every single week you bag Brian Smith endlessly, that's what I have a problem with. You are probably right in saying he should leave, but there is no reason to repeatedly state it over and over again. It's just a waste of space.

:clap: :clap: :clap:

GoParra

Eels Dude said:
As usual Game First you have come in here after a loss talking up the same negative stuff. It would have been nice for you to come here and show your elation during the last couple of weeks after we'd won. Then I'd see you as a supporter rather than a complainer.

:clap: :clap: :clap:

True EEL

so no one has had any thoughts on the accurate and correct stats "fact" that i posted about Bs's waning performances yet????

and nothing about his alarming direct quotes????

fair enough then............. 8)

You people are all pathetic - no offense.

Whether you support Brian Smith or not, it doesn't make you a worse person or worse Parramatta fan.

Fact is that most of us on this board don't ever really know the facts that occur - for all we know all this "Ex-Eels hate BS" banter is just rubbish or bitter sentiments. There are players who thrive under certain coaching (EG: Hodgson at Wests) and there are players who feel suffocated by certain coaching (EG: Dykes at Parramatta).

I used to be proud of the fact that, no matter what your view on the club's coaching staff, playing roster or CEO, that we could all stick by each other and live by the codes of matehood.

But many of you have taken it WAY over the line. Wishing injuries upon players just so they don't make the 17; calling other supporters names just because their opinion is different (I mean really; where do people get off saying that because you support Smith you accept mediocrity? Who are you to judge?); bagging players or coaching staff for ANY reason.

Don't get me wrong - I like Smith as a bloke, but as Head Coach of the Parramatta Eels Natioanl Rugby League Club, I believe he is out of ideas.

But things have gotten way out of hand - people like strider are NOT fools or people who accept mediocrity simply because they are willing to back their coach.

I would seriously like to see how any one of us would handle the pressures of being a First Grade NRL coach. I don't think any one of us - Brian defenders or Brian baggers - would do any better. And why is that?

BECAUSE THERE IS JUST NO PLEASING SOME PEOPLE.

Just keep it civil - there is no need for personal attacks or insults. Are we all or are we not all Eels fans? We all want the same thing at the end of the day - success.

But different people have different opinions on how to achieve that success, and from where I stand, both arguments (Smith should stay and Smith should go) offer reasonable points.

There is no right or wrong. So why do some of us go around acting all high and mighty and belittling others because of a difference of opinion?

We're all smart, civilised people - let's just please keep the low blows out of it, and have a clean, reasonable, rational discussion.

True EEL said:
so no one has had any thoughts on the accurate and correct stats "fact" that i posted about Bs's waning performances yet????

What about the years 2000, '99 and '98?

You put the stats for 2002, 2003 and 2004, but not for the three preceding years to 2001.

Yes, his quotes are somewhat indifferent. But he has always been a strange little man.

Colonel Eel said:
Thanks mate.... :clap:

No worries mate.

Oh, BTW - I also included myself in that statement, because I have been known to blurt out inconsistencies from time to time, but I am trying to work on it.

I respect strider and the Smith defenders' opinion, and I respect Suitman and Misty's and the Smith baggers' opinions. They both make valid statements.

I just think we should move on from who is right and who is wrong and focus on the footy side of things.

Eelectrica

True EEL said:

Those quotes were real?
When I read them I thought surely it's another one of those put humourous put words in peoples mouth kind of posts. Like Misty Bees call to Jack Gibson type of posts.

It's hard to believe that Smith would say
"if we get hit again by injury (next year) we'll get smashed again" - BS
Man with that kind of attitude the Cowboys would have once again been challenging for the spoon when Campion, Morrison and Sing went down. Instead they found some replacements and for the most part kept on winning.
Same can be said of Melbourne last year.

Oh well it sounds like we have only one more game before some new life is hopefully breathed into the team.