Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Smith blew it big time.

In the end Smith is doing a better job, even this year, than anyone posting on this forum could. In addition, prominent players whose opinions matter more than those here (and are of course better informed), have been steadfast in their support of Smith.

Thus, the regurgitated, ill-informed, ignorant, self-centred, over-inflated, petulant little opinions posted here are infinately insignificant in any form of micro- or macro-context.

But please, don't let the truth stop you from tearing your loincloth and smearing ashes across your chest.

Hollywood Jesus said:
In the end Smith is doing a better job, even this year, than anyone posting on this forum could. In addition, prominent players whose opinions matter more than those here (and are of course better informed), have been steadfast in their support of Smith.

Thus, the regurgitated, ill-informed, ignorant, self-centred, over-inflated, petulant little opinions posted here are infinately insignificant in any form of micro- or macro-context.

But please, don't let the truth stop you from tearing your loincloth and smearing ashes across your chest.

Funny thing is, what you said is just as valid for your opinions as it is for anyone else's. But you make it out to sound like you are right, and those who disagree with you are wrong.

Eelementary said it so well, but you were trying to score points.

And, Eelementary, In the heat of some moments, I have been guilty of some of what you proclaim.
I too, am also willing to take a step backwards and attempt to be more of a team player.

Thankyou for your excellent post.

Hollywood Jesus said:
In the end Smith is doing a better job, even this year, than anyone posting on this forum could.

That is very true. Can't deny that and have never claimed it.

I run a building business. If I was doing a job for Brian, and he wasn't happy with it, I would be open to criticism from him.
Only difference is, my job doesn't get printed in the media.
But, that is his chosen profession, and it comes with the territory.

Misty Bee

Or tearing the skirt from your....never mind.

HJ, Smith is a better coaxch than all of us. And if the entire worlds population consisted of Smith and us, he's probably win the comp!

So your point is that Smith should be retained because he is a better coach than, say, Strider?

Eelementary, I hope you also bag those that bag the messenger without reading the post! As far as I am concerned, my points are valid.

As for the 'happy with coming 11th' jibes - well, some people are, aren't they? Some of us get hammered for seeking a better Parramatta, and for all of MITS whinging and Strider's rantings, none of them has given me one reason why I should not yearn for a better Parramatta.

So, if it offends you and Colonel, sorry, but unless someone can tell me why Parra seeking a better future is wrong, stop getting shirty with the ones that do.

People, by continually accepting a coach who is so flawed that he continues to chose players in positions that are wrong, are condoning mediocrity. And by bagging people that seek improvement, they are enforcing that mediocrity.

Have a look at GP's contribution to this thread. Anything in there that's not personal? He only appears nowdays to bag anyone critical of Smith!

Colonel has decided that we can't criticise the performance, because we didn't expect to win. Maybe not, but we did expect to do our best. The players did. The club didn't. If that's beyond criticism, then that's accepting mediocrity.

You can't have it both ways. If you are happy with the season, congratulations. If you are NOT happy with the season, then welcome aboard. I'm not, and I blame, in the main, Brian Smith. I think our club deserves better. Why don't you?

FOOTNOTE:

Eelementary's basic plea is a good one, and one to which I concur. We are all Parramatta fans.

I take exception with some of the examples, and to whom they are pointing. When I claim that some accept mediocrity, it's not personal, just my conclusion from reading what people have said. As explained above, sometimes people leave little room for any other assumption.

Misty Bee said:
Have a look at GP's contribution to this thread. Anything in there that's not personal? He only appears nowdays to bag anyone critical of Smith!

Yeh, its disappointing. He seems to have taken the Smith criticism so personally.

At least Strider, MITS, Colonel etc, can accept both points of view and discuss them rationally.

Misty Bee

Strider and colonel can. MITS???? The jury's out. He USED to be very astute. So sad...... :cry:

But, despite the tendency to go off his nana like a crazed lunatic, Strider does a hell of a lot more than act as Brian Smith's big brother. .

GP usually comes here to whinge about why he doesn't come here!

Misty Bee said:
Colonel has decided that we can't criticise the performance, because we didn't expect to win. Maybe not, but we did expect to do our best. The players did. The club didn't. If that's beyond criticism, then that's accepting mediocrity.

You didn't expect their best - by telling us that they couldn't win you only expected to lose. Nothing else. By expecting them to lose you have accepted the mediocrity we have ALL been subject to this year. I thought they put in a good effort - I expected a good effort and a shot at winning and thats what I got - a win IMO was a long shot and we came damn close.

Misty Bee said:
You can't have it both ways.

Something you too need to remember. ;-)

Misty Bee

I actually don't recall saying that they couldn't win. I'd like you to show me where I did.

You also ignore that a 12-0 lead after 5 was blown - you must be happy with that, because you are happy that they got close. I'm quite livid about it, because it was a game that was blown largely by the game plan. I didn't see a player in our jumper that didn't try his best (although Graham was woeful - maybe that's his best!). As I said right at the beginning of this thread, Smith's tactics blew whatever advantage we gained in that opening 5.

Don't forget that the loss ended our finals chance. BY the next time we get a chance to be in the final 8, it will be 4 years since we won a semi final. And the coach is beyond criticism??????????

You reckon your'e happy when the player put in a good effort. When the club around them isn't, you're not concerned? I'm wondering why you are fighting so hard to maintain mediocrity, and fighting so hard against improvement! :|

Misty Bee said:
I actually don't recall saying that they couldn't win. I'd like you to show me where I did.

Maybe you did, maybe you didn't - you have stated all along we were no chance for the eight so effectively.....

You also ignore that a 12-0 lead after 5 was blown - you must be happy with that, because you are happy that they got close. I'm quite livid about it, because it was a game that was blown largely by the game plan. I didn't see a player in our jumper that didn't try his best (although Graham was woeful - maybe that's his best!). As I said right at the beginning of this thread, Smith's tactics blew whatever advantage we gained in that opening 5.

I'm not happy with the fact we blew a 12 point lead. You pointed out however it did kick them into action. Yes, we got close - I'm happy for the fact that had they didn't play like they have done for many games this year as it could have been 50 instead of 10. His actions may have blown any advantage - however Wagon's missed tackles, McKinnon's pass and Grahams ineptitude on the night didn't exactly help either.

Don't forget that the loss ended our finals chance. BY the next time we get a chance to be in the final 8, it will be 4 years since we won a semi final. And the coach is beyond criticism??????????

No - but those who write the game of as good as over before a ball is kicked in anger can't then turn around and criticise him for what they expected anyway. BTW I know it killed off our slim chance of making it - you wrote us off weeks ago.

You reckon your'e happy when the player put in a good effort. When the club around them isn't, you're not concerned? I'm wondering why you are fighting so hard to maintain mediocrity, and fighting so hard against improvement! :|

I'm, all for effort and I'm all for improvement and all for a move away from mediocrity Misty. I'm concerned and people know that. However, three years of your pissing, bitching and moaning has changed nought at the club so why should I join in only to be let down by the club too. I roll with what happens, brush myself off and move onto the next week - I'd rather it didn't happen but you've proved more than ever that complaining doesn't help.

Suitman said:
Hollywood Jesus said:

Funny thing is, what you said is just as valid for your opinions as it is for anyone else's. But you make it out to sound like you are right, and those who disagree with you are wrong.

Eelementary said it so well, but you were trying to score points.

And, Eelementary, In the heat of some moments, I have been guilty of some of what you proclaim.
I too, am also willing to take a step backwards and attempt to be more of a team player.

Thankyou for your excellent post.

Mate, don't worry.

In the heat of the battle have lost sight of things and gotten a tad carried away.

I just don't want people to regret it, is all.

True EEL

Eelectrica said:
True EEL said:
so no one has had any thoughts on the accurate and correct stats "fact" that i posted about Bs's waning performances yet????

and nothing about his alarming direct quotes????

fair enough then............. 8)
Those quotes were real?
When I read them I thought surely it's another one of those put humourous put words in peoples mouth kind of posts. Like Misty Bees call to Jack Gibson type of posts.

It's hard to believe that Smith would say
"if we get hit again by injury (next year) we'll get smashed again" - BS
Man with that kind of attitude the Cowboys would have once again been challenging for the spoon when Campion, Morrison and Sing went down. Instead they found some replacements and for the most part kept on winning.
Same can be said of Melbourne last year.

Oh well it sounds like we have only one more game before some new life is hopefully breathed into the team.

yes..........all of those quotes were real and straight from BS's mouth from last weeks Big League.....the first in dpeth interview with BS about Parras fall from grace over the last few years.....along with another ripper

"I'm very surprised"......when asked if he ever saw the fall coming??????

so even though he has told us that the game is and has changed dramatically since 2001......(not really in my opinion) and he knew he had to change his ways and change the defensive structure and buy bigger forwards he still never saw a fall coming from Parra??????? :oops: :?

Misty Bee said:
Or tearing the skirt from your....never mind.

HJ, Smith is a better coaxch than all of us. And if the entire worlds population consisted of Smith and us, he's probably win the comp!

So your point is that Smith should be retained because he is a better coach than, say, Strider?

Eelementary, I hope you also bag those that bag the messenger without reading the post! As far as I am concerned, my points are valid.

As for the 'happy with coming 11th' jibes - well, some people are, aren't they? Some of us get hammered for seeking a better Parramatta, and for all of MITS whinging and Strider's rantings, none of them has given me one reason why I should not yearn for a better Parramatta.

So, if it offends you and Colonel, sorry, but unless someone can tell me why Parra seeking a better future is wrong, stop getting shirty with the ones that do.

People, by continually accepting a coach who is so flawed that he continues to chose players in positions that are wrong, are condoning mediocrity. And by bagging people that seek improvement, they are enforcing that mediocrity.

You can't have it both ways. If you are happy with the season, congratulations. If you are NOT happy with the season, then welcome aboard. I'm not, and I blame, in the main, Brian Smith. I think our club deserves better. Why don't you?

FOOTNOTE:

Eelementary's basic plea is a good one, and one to which I concur. We are all Parramatta fans.

I take exception with some of the examples, and to whom they are pointing. When I claim that some accept mediocrity, it's not personal, just my conclusion from reading what people have said. As explained above, sometimes people leave little room for any other assumption.

Of course Misty.

I'm a believer of, "Play the ball, not the man."

True EEL

Eelementary said:
True EEL said:
so no one has had any thoughts on the accurate and correct stats "fact" that i posted about Bs's waning performances yet????

What about the years 2000, '99 and '98?

You put the stats for 2002, 2003 and 2004, but not for the three preceding years to 2001.

Yes, his quotes are somewhat indifferent. But he has always been a strange little man.

i didn't put those figures up firstly because i didn't want to have a go at them and get them wrong.....the figures i put up are from Big League and are accurate

secondly, he did do a good job in those years and i'm not disputing that, its his second half of his tennancy as Coach that i'm more concerned with

thirdly, although he did a good job in those years, we also suffered some of the club's MOST embarrassing capitulations and chokes ever in three successive finals campaign's......against the Knights and Norths in 1997, Canterbury (the one) 1998 and Melbourne 1999.....so in terms of being kind to BS i thought i would leave those years out of the equation????

satisfied????

True EEL

Hollywood Jesus said:

i purposefully only posted printed fact HJ

get over yourself and your man love for BS????? ;-)

True EEL said:
Eelementary said:
True EEL said:

What about the years 2000, '99 and '98?

You put the stats for 2002, 2003 and 2004, but not for the three preceding years to 2001.

Yes, his quotes are somewhat indifferent. But he has always been a strange little man.

i didn't put those figures up firstly because i didn't want to have a go at them and get them wrong.....the figures i put up are from Big League and are accurate

secondly, he did do a good job in those years and i'm not disputing that, its his second half of his tennancy as Coach that i'm more concerned with

thirdly, although he did a good job in those years, we also suffered some of the club's MOST embarrassing capitulations and chokes ever in three successive finals campaign's......against the Knights and Norths in 1997, Canterbury (the one) 1998 and Melbourne 1999.....so in terms of being kind to BS i thought i would leave those years out of the equation????

satisfied????

OK. That's cool mate.

I don't think anyone can dispute that we've gone downhill since 2001.

I also don't think anyone can dispute that injuries, suspensions and poor playing rosters played a part in it too.

True EEL

ok no worries eelementary

sorry if i sounded a bit heated, wasn't really, just trying to get my valid points across??

and yes i certainly agree that those factors ahve played their part in our downfall and particularly the loss of one N Cayless over the last couple of years (i think sometimes his presence and input and passion are underestimated)

however, i still maintain that BS has some bigger issues with his coaching and preparation that are holding us back

but, maybe if this rumoured coaching re-shuffle happens and we get a break with injuries it will turn around

bring on PJ though - now that ist official :D

True EEL said:
ok no worries eelementary

sorry if i sounded a bit heated, wasn't really, just trying to get my valid points across??

and yes i certainly agree that those factors ahve played their part in our downfall and particularly the loss of one N Cayless over the last couple of years (i think sometimes his presence and input and passion are underestimated)

however, i still maintain that BS has some bigger issues with his coaching and preparation that are holding us back

but, maybe if this rumoured coaching re-shuffle happens and we get a break with injuries it will turn around

bring on PJ though - now that ist official :D

Don't worry about it mate.

And yes, I do agree - I think Brian can offer some more in terms of coaching, but not as Head Coach.

If the Peter Sharp and Daniel Anderson moves are accurate, then I would be happy to see Anderson switch to First Grade Head Coach, Sharp to Assitant and Smith to Coaching Director.

And BRING ON THE PEEJ!!! :)

I know I tell myself this every year, but next year looks to be great.

Great talent.

Great coaching talent.

New lease of life on the coaching.

New attitude.

Get set for the ride!