Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sonny Bill Williams vs Feleti Mateo

If you could have one on your team who would you prefer?

• Sonny Bill Williams

Votes: 121 62.7%
  • Feleti Mateo

Votes: 64 33.2%
  • Too close to call, both are great talents

Votes: 8 4.1%

Lego_Man

What a stupid thread.

Needs more TMOTH to come in and tell everyone to go and get stuffed.

Just out of curiosity - what is it about Mateo that some of you guys hate/don't rate so much?

I would have thought his abilities and potential were there for everyone to see.

Mind you - wasn't impressed with his, "Australia's the best - you want to play for the best," comments.

gorilla with a shotgun said:
mateo is massively overated imo

Overrated? Where have you been, under a rock? If you have watched any Parra game this season you would think differently. He may not have won rep honours or a premiership yet but he consistently puts in solid club performances. That doesn't sound like an overrated player to me:? I'd rather have Mateo, Sonny Bill is a better player in terms of ability but Mateo is more value for money, more consistent and less injury prone.

Ron Jeremy

shiznit said:
thats hardly an excuse...

plenty of excelent players came through the Eels in the 10 years Smith was at the helm.
Plenty of duds as well. Brian Smith didn't like the player he was, Brian also didn't blood Hayne, yet a day after he left Hayne was in the side.

Ron Jeremy

shiznit said:
maybe Smith was right at the time...

perhaps thats what Mateo needed to hear to make him goto the next level. smith telling him that may have made him the player his is today.

im a parra fan but i dont buy into alot of the crap fellow eels fans seem to give Brian Smith.

the bloke spent 10 years at the club and while we didnt win a titile in that time you cant fault the blokes effort.

i thought it was right for him to leave but i certainly dont blame him for everything which seems to be what alot of the fans do these days...

whats done is done.. time to look forawrd...
Mate i was also once a B Smith fan as well, and Brian is a good coach in his own right, but he made some absolute blunders in the recruitment of players and retention, that has been very well documented. Brian didn't liked a certain type of player it seemed, and Feleti didn't fit that mould, it was as obvious as anything when even Feleti was partnering T Smith in Flegg that he was probably the most talented player in the club, dont believe me? go through the archives, us Parra fans were calling for him to be first grade all the way back to 2004, it would've be an absolute traversty if we lost such a talent.

Tommy Smith

Eels Dude said:
You're missing the point of this thread. It wasn't intented to be who is the better and more successful player, it's who you would rather have at your club. Nothing against Sonny Bill, but i'd prefer Mateo because i'm an Eels fan and he's been brought through the grades through Parra, and that's something which is important to me as a fan. It's down to personal preference and what you need in your team.

I'd also rather have a bloke like Glenn Stewart at my club than have a wanker like Willie Mason, even though the latter is easily a better player.
I got the point. The question was 'who would i rather have at my club' and the answer is SBW. The local junior point holds substance to Parra fans only, whose opinions are mute on this subject because Mateo plays for you guys.

Because whilst Mateo is very talented, SBW has the potential to be the greatest forward of the modern era. Some say that's over the top, but hey, he's already the best forward in many judges eyes and still has 10 years in the game and will only get better. Besides, name me a better forward at 22 years of age.

Thurston is an awesome halfback, but he will never be a patch on Andrew Johns. Same applies here.

And again, no offense intended to Feleti.

Ron Jeremy

Tommy Smith said:
I got he point. The question was 'who would i rather have at my club' and the answer is SBW.

Because whilst Mateo is very talented, SBW has the potential to be the greatest forward of the modern era. Some say that's over the top, but hey, he's already the best forward in many judges eyes and still has 10 years in the game and will only get better.

Thurston is an awesome halfback, but he will never be a patch on Andrew Johns. Same applies here.

SBW is the greatest forward of the modern era.

Tommy Smith

Eelementary said:
And as a sidenote - just because Feleti is older and it took him a few extra years to develop doesn't mean he's any less of a talent than SBW.

Though like I said - as much as I like Feleti and am ecstatic to have him at Parramatta, SBW, at this stage, is a better player. But given a few years' time, who knows?
I do. Sonny-Bill.

Smithy loves coaching programmed robot's, Mateo doesn't fit into that mould. He can win a game with a brilliant piece of play but he can make mistakes. Same as Hayne, and people wonder why he has never one a comp.

I think the number of people putting sh*t on those who would personally prefer Mateo in their side is f**king hilarious tbh.

From a Parramatta perspective I think Mateo fits our side better than SBW and I'd not swap them in a million years. Mateo offers us an extra playmaker and a metre making forward, and he can boast consistency in both areas. That's a good thing for us given we have inconsistent halves and forwards that can be dominated with the right game plan. He also works harder in defence. He also gels very well with guys like Burt, Hayne, Inu, Tim Smith etc....which is important for us given our reliance on the talent in our backline.

SBW plays a brilliant power game, but Parramatta rely on flair to score points and gritty defenders like Hindmarsh, Cayless, Cordoba etc up front. Our backs often make more metres than our forwards, and Mateo fits that game plan much better IMO.

Of course, if there was a way to have SBW and Feleti at Parramatta...:crazy:

Comparing Feleti Mateo to Sonny Bill Williams is like comparing a Crysler 300 to a Rolls Royce Phantom.

You bought the Crysler cos it looks like a Phantom but....It aint a Phantom.

*votes SBW*

Grail

Question: has anyone who has voted for Mateo actually said that they think he is a better player than SBW? Or is it more likely that those kicking up a stink about people voting for Mateo have only dreamed this in their weird, fevered imaginations....

Tommy Smith said:
I got the point. The question was 'who would i rather have at my club' and the answer is SBW. The local junior point holds substance to Parra fans only, whose opinions are mute on this subject because Mateo plays for you guys.

Because whilst Mateo is very talented, SBW has the potential to be the greatest forward of the modern era. Some say that's over the top, but hey, he's already the best forward in many judges eyes and still has 10 years in the game and will only get better. Besides, name me a better forward at 22 years of age.

I understand that, what my comment was in relation to was the fact you seem so shocked that 26 out of 75 people would prefer to have Feleti than Sonny Bill. I'm not going to dispute how good a forward he is and he's easily the better player. However the reason so many people may pick Feleti may be down to what exactly their footy side needs rather than simply going for who is better.

Ron... why do you think people are putting sh*t on Mateo? I can't see anyone here who is - everyone agrees he's a good talent just not in SBW's league yet.

All you're doing is getting ridiculously defensive about a player that few are criticising.

1 Eyed TEZZA said:
A winger won you a comp.

Off a pass from a halfback, solid, gutbusting work from their forwards, a team effort I thought.

mickdo

Grail said:
Question: has anyone who has voted for Mateo actually said that they think he is a better player than SBW? Or is it more likely that those kicking up a stink about people voting for Mateo have only dreamed this in their weird, fevered imaginations....
Like I said in my first post, if you could guarantee SBW could get through a season uninjured I'd pick him easily, but if not...