Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Suggestions Thread for Next Year's Version

lionmaul

This was an excellent first attempt. This is what I would like to see In the next Version.

1. Smarter AI: Have them kick more often on 4 or 5 tackle when behind there zone, to many times they try to run on 4 or 5 tackle in there zone and when you stop them it gives you great feel position, this effect alone will make the game even more challenging.
2. ABILITY TO JUMP: This is a big part of rugby league, and should not be left out.
3. THE ABILITY TO KICK THE BALL That is on the THE GROUND: Seen in every Nrl game I have watched.
4. DOMINANT TACKLE: Have a system where if you do get a dominant tackle you have the OPTION to hold your aponent down with a button but if you hold it to long a penalty will result, the ref can call the dominant tackle.
5. DEFLECTIONS: HAVE A PARTICULAR BUTTON COMBINATION ASSIGNED OR WITH THE MATRIX SYSTEM KICK THE BALL RIGHT AT AN OPPONENT HOPEING TO GET A DEFLECTION AND A NEW SET OF 6 TACKLES iF YOU RECOVER ON DEFENSE HAVE A BUTON USED TO CATCH THE BALL : THIS STRATEGY IS USED IN EVERY NRL GAME.
6. SET Play: The one good thing about (RUGBY 2004) Maybe the right analog button can be used to creat plays: Example on 4 or 5 tackle Stacey Jones send his wingers sprinting to catch a bomb or chip. or set up a grubber kick through the middle.
7. Two commentaters
8 Agression illustratated in the player circle, sort of like NfL 2k4. So you know how much aggression you have.
9. ONE ON ONE STRIPS. Or strip attempt in multiperson tackle that can result in a penalty.
10. CHARGE DOWNS: ALONG WITH THIS YOU WOULD HAVE TO SPEED UP KICKING A LITTLE, SO YOU HAVE BETTER CHANCE OF GETTING KICK OF.
11. ADVANTAGE RULE: GOES WELL WITH DEFLECTIONS
12. REPLAY JUDGE: THIS SYSTEMS WORKS GREAT IN NFL 2K4
13 ABILITY TO DIVE: ON LOOSE BALLS OR INTO THE TRY AREA
14 MANUAL PLAYER CHANGE: DEPENDING ON WHAT DIRECTION YOU PRESS YOU TURN INTO THAT DEFENDER. LAST PLAYER BACK PLAYER SWITCH.
15. BANNANA KICK: Almost in the game now, Just give a greater range to the matrix kicking by allowing to face one direction and kicking towards the other. Can be done using the field goal button combination.
16 EVEN MORE TACKLING ANIMATIONS: This what has made the game so exciting, the various tackles does not make the game repetitive.
17.ONLINE PLAY
Cheers and Salu

Erhan

One thing with deflections though, if the ball is kicked into an opposition player and he doesnt play at the ball then the tackle count does not restart, same with the ball rebounding off an opponent player into touch, it will still be the opponents ball.

The dominant tackle idea is great and was infact used in ARL 96 where you could hold down the player for longer to get your players back on side with the ref penalising for holding down for too long.

Parra_Boy

Also in conversions, how about being able to use the right thumb stick to curve the ball?

That way you could inside/outside banana kick it.

Might also be able to be used in general play somehow.

umosay

umosay said:
- Replay tool in menu
- All players need to run onto the ball more, especially when passing along the backling, it seems you gain ground and then lose it because the players are always lagging behind.
- more cut scenes, especially before and after games... before game: shows players running out of tunnel, away team first... then the team lineups can come up as an overlay with starting team, interchange and coach... and after the game it can have players shaking hands
- fix bugs where player stands still and runs on spot
- Make the AI kicking game more realistic, they aim to kick it out at least 70% of the time, in real games its more like 10%, they need to kick long when in their own half and keep the ball in play, scrums stop the flow of the game and can potentionally ruin it because of the ease in which you can score.
- add a secondary commentator, (sterlo would be great)
- analyzing of moves
- a quick interchange option maybe at the top of screens that is shown as a bar
- camera angles that show off the graphics, all of them are too far away to see close ups... also a tv style presentation where the camera zooms in and is locked in centre field.
- make props look like props and not wingers... shane webcke is suprisingly small in this game, need a better physique for bigger blokes.
- ability to turn options on and off, including offsides, head highs etc... and make head highs more the players fault, if they choose to do a big hit or deliberate penalty, its unfair when a AI player on your team gives away a penalty.
- video ref and more heldup, scoring animations
- ...sometimes when there is a turnover, and it goes up close to the ref, players continue to tackle the guy with the ball... good ways to start fights *hint hint*
- online play is a must
- jump feature is a must, would add a new dimension to the game
- offside warning, cursor around player flashes
- manual feeding to scrums and set plays from base
- bartercard cup would be cool, as with reserve grade
- training mode, simulation of coaching and managing
- classic mode, with not only classic games but the ability to be all the classic teams in friendly etc
- big tv in stadiums could show action?
- Less graphical clipping, makes the game feel 2D sometimes
- Player taunting and communication, eg for an inside pass "inside,inside!" lol
- Judicary and report system
- Stats after game... show different pages of stats instead of just he score rundown, eg each players stat, main stats page with possession territory etc... graphs
- more convential copybook animations
- shirt grabbing lol
- kickoff bugs :/

Well that's all i can think of off the top of my head, i know its heaps but i've been building them up over the last week or so... the game is still awesome and very well done!

ok got some more...

- manual placing of goal kicks, JLR style, pretty stupid taking a kick in front from 20m out...
- Sevens Mode!!! that would be awesome, the tournement that features all the clubs and international teams
- Stadium anouncers... eg. after you score he says "try to warriors, warriors lead this game" etc
- awards
- injuries, when a player gets head highed, they normally stay down for quite a while, not get straights back up... there seems to be no injuries from head high tackles, need to know what injury is sustained also
- wear and tear on pitch and uniforms
- wet weather makes players slip over and makes them slide further
- Louder crowd!!!, chants... taunts etc.
- salary cap
- better player grunts and hits
- quick players with the ability to scoot out of dummy half, when they run in they pick it up and are already on the move so the markers get caught out
- bench players seen on sideline warming up and sitting on bench
- trainers and physios etc on sideline
- a classic match with the warriors running out of the tunnel with the fire going and drums beating :D!
- online play
- SEVENS, lol

umosay

heres a huge list of all the suggestions combined

Suggestions for sequel to NRL - may repeat due to different peoples suggestions

- Replay tool in menu
- All players need to run onto the ball more, especially when passing along the backling, it seems you gain ground and then lose it because the players are always lagging behind.
- more cut scenes, especially before and after games... before game: shows players running out of tunnel, away team first... then the team lineups can come up as an overlay with starting team, interchange and coach... and after the game it can have players shaking hands
- fix bugs where player stands still and runs on spot
- Make the AI kicking game more realistic, they aim to kick it out at least 70% of the time, in real games its more like 10%, they need to kick long when in their own half and keep the ball in play, scrums stop the flow of the game and can potentionally ruin it because of the ease in which you can score.
- add a secondary commentator, (sterlo would be great)
- analyzing of moves
- a quick interchange option maybe at the top of screens that is shown as a bar
- camera angles that show off the graphics, all of them are too far away to see close ups... also a tv style presentation where the camera zooms in and is locked in centre field.
- make props look like props and not wingers... shane webcke is suprisingly small in this game, need a better physique for bigger blokes.
- ability to turn options on and off, including offsides, head highs etc... and make head highs more the players fault, if they choose to do a big hit or deliberate penalty, its unfair when a AI player on your team gives away a penalty.
- video ref and more heldup, scoring animations
- ...sometimes when there is a turnover, and it goes up close to the ref, players continue to tackle the guy with the ball... good ways to start fights *hint hint*
- online play is a must
- jump feature is a must, would add a new dimension to the game
- offside warning, cursor around player flashes
- manual feeding to scrums and set plays from base
- bartercard cup would be cool, as with reserve grade
- training mode, simulation of coaching and managing
- classic mode, with not only classic games but the ability to be all the classic teams in friendly etc
- big tv in stadiums could show action?
- Less graphical clipping, makes the game feel 2D sometimes
- Player taunting and communication, eg for an inside pass "inside,inside!" lol
- Judicary and report system
- Stats after game... show different pages of stats instead of just he score rundown, eg each players stat, main stats page with possession territory etc... graphs
- more convential copybook animations
- shirt grabbing lol
- kickoff bugs :/
- manual placing of goal kicks, JLR style, pretty stupid taking a kick in front from 20m out...
- Sevens Mode!!! that would be awesome, the tournement that features all the clubs and international teams
- Stadium anouncers... eg. after you score he says "try to warriors, warriors lead this game" etc
- awards
- injuries, when a player gets head highed, they normally stay down for quite a while, not get straights back up... there seems to be no injuries from head high tackles, need to know what injury is sustained also
- wear and tear on pitch and uniforms
- wet weather makes players slip over and makes them slide further
- Louder crowd!!!, chants... taunts etc.
- salary cap
- better player grunts and hits
- quick players with the ability to scoot out of dummy half, when they run in they pick it up and are already on the move so the markers get caught out
- bench players seen on sideline warming up and sitting on bench
- trainers and physios etc on sideline
- a classic match with the warriors running out of the tunnel with the fire going and drums beating

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This was an excellent first attempt. This is what I would like to see In the next Version.

1. Smarter AI: Have them kick more often on 4 or 5 tackle when behind there zone, to many times they try to run on 4 or 5 tackle in there zone and when you stop them it gives you great feel position, this effect alone will make the game even more challenging.
2. ABILITY TO JUMP: This is a big part of rugby league, and should not be left out.
3. THE ABILITY TO KICK THE BALL ALONG THE GROUNDS: Seen in every Nrl game I have watched.
4. DOMINANT TACKLE: Have a system where if you do get a dominant tackle you have the OPTION to hold your aponent down with a button but if you hold it to long a penalty will result, the ref can call the dominant tackle.
5. DEFLECTIONS: HAVE A PARTICULAR BUTTON COMBINATION ASSIGNED OR WITH THE MATRIX SYSTEM KICK THE BALL RIGHT AT AN OPPONENT HOPEING TO GET A DEFLECTION AND A NEW SET OF 6 TACKLES iF YOU RECOVER ON DEFENSE HAVE A BUTON USED TO CATCH THE BALL : THIS STRATEGY IS USED IN EVERY NRL GAME.
6. SET Play: The one good thing about (RUGBY 2004) Maybe the right analog button can be used to creat plays: Example on 4 or 5 tackle Stacey Jones send his wingers sprinting to catch a bomb or chip. or set up a grubber kick through the middle.
7. Two commentaters
8 Agression illustratated in the player circle, sort of like NfL 2k4. So you know how much aggression you have.
9. ONE ON ONE STRIPS. Or strip attempt in multiperson tackle that can result in a penalty.
10. CHARGE DOWNS: ALONG WITH THIS YOU WOULD HAVE TO SPEED UP KICKING A LITTLE, SO YOU HAVE BETTER CHANCE OF GETTING KICK OF.
11. ADVANTAGE RULE: GOES WELL WITH DEFLECTIONS
12. REPLAY JUDGE: THIS SYSTEMS WORKS GREAT IN NFL 2K4
13 ABILITY TO DIVE: ON LOOSE BALLS OR INTO THE TRY AREA
14 MANUAL PLAYER CHANGE: DEPENDING ON WHAT DIRECTION YOU PRESS YOU TURN INTO THAT DEFENDER. LAST PLAYER BACK PLAYER SWITCH.
15. BANNANA KICK: Almost in the game now, Just give a greater range to the matrix kicking by allowing to face one direction and kicking towards the other. Can be done using the field goal button combination.
16 EVEN MORE TACKLING ANIMATIONS: This what has made the game so exciting, the various tackles does not make the game repetitive.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jonah Lomu has the BEST GENERAL KICKING system there has ever been in a sports game.

I just dont like the fact that the camera view changes all the time when kicking when i use the side on camera angle. PLus the top view for kicks is very awkward to tell who is ur player or not.

The power level of kicks has to be Lomu style where if you dont time your kicks right the kick arrow will go small again and u will kick a small distance.

You can free up a button as well if you use lomus style. You only need 1 button for kicking.

1) Holding forward and kick does a long punt
2) Holding forward and tapping the kick will do a chip over the top
3) Holding backwards and kicking will do a bomb. Just like lomu.

Keep the same camera angle at all times as its very disorientating having it change all the time when kicking,.

1) have different weather throughout a game..eg. starts off fine, than rains, then stops raining...

2) have different wind throughout a game...it seems that the wind is exactly the same speed throughout the entire game.

3) have commentary during replays (which are longer as already requested by others)

4) 3 man gang tackles

5) The sendoff/sinbin animation where the ref waves the player over to "have a chat". It would be nice if sometimes they only get a warning to add variety because as it is now, you know they are going to get sentoff/sinbinned.
Also, make the ref's lips move when he talks in that cut scene.

*Make the player faces more realistic.

*Allow Eye Toy support so you can import a picture of your own face into the game.

*Make its easier to trade players between teams. Madden Style Roster managment would be ideal for Rugby League. I found it so difficult to just add one created player to the Panthers side that Im a bit scared or tarding players around incase I stuff all the teams up.

*Allow the ability to save more then one Roster set per memory card. I would like to have a realistic roster and a fantasy roster....but I can only have one this year.

*Add player profiles to the game.

*Toughen up the defence when a scrum had been formed.

*Less sin bins. Throw in a few more penalties instead of so many sin bins.

*Allow the ability to make custom jerseys similar to the system in either Fifa soccer games or Madden 2004.

*Add more ratings to players and player positions.

ok the things I'd like to see in the next version are:

- Franchise/Owner mode with Rep Games included where they would be during a season.

- Decent Replays that can be saved.

- Better defence from scrums/taps ect.

- Players drop back when the other team is kivking for touch.

- Manual scrum, in my opinion it's not that important but it would just feel and look better when playin the game.

- Better Substitutions that are used by both the Human and CPU players.

- Maybe some mini games or Drills? A Trainin camp or something along those lines would be cool.

- Online Play with online Franchises/Owners Box aswell, I'm pretty sure Madden doesn't have that? Prove me wrong.

- Improve create a player and have it something like Madden
eg- When typing the players name it comes up with a keyboard that is easy to read.
- Players have prefered positions.
- Can put the created player straight into the team.

- Improve create a team
eg- Make your own jerseys with a variety of colours and numbers to choose from.

- Spear tackles and Head highs cause injuries, I play heaps of games and people get snapped but get straight back up and keep playing.

- For place kicks/drop goals, have a power meter.

- Have the weather conditions set out like Madden, how you adjust different things and it either makes it hotter or raining or even snowing (I wanna see another Canberra game like that )

- Licence some music to play during games or in the menus, be able to use the xbox harddrive to play music of that.

- Better cutscences. Maybe a few cutscenes of players givin eachother abit of a push after a high tackle, post try celebrations, shots of cheerleaders, choaching staff, benchies ect ect.

- Be able to pick a defence style, and maybe have an option to choose first and second receivers.

- Better camera angle that allows you to see what the numbers are on the back of the jerseys, either that or have the name of the player underneath the ball carrier. Or both.

- Better sound and graphics of course.

I love the game as it is now but the above is just the things I'd like to see put into the next version, though don't really care if they arn't.

• Firstly definitely better graphics
• Choose your referee like – blind, reasonable, strict
• Better season mode with transfers, training, more fmv
• Be able to restore your team example – a default button
• Better layout
• More music for when you score try’s
• Get more/better beta testers
• Cheat/codes
• More variety in the create a player mode
• Not so many fouls or penalty’s
• Make conversion’s like rugby 2004 where you can curl the arrow and choose how strong you want it

like everyone else here, i there are some obvious issues that need to be addressed:

* too many forward passes, esp. deliberate ones
* scrum defence hole needs to be tightened
*short kick off = easy penalty
* players playing out of position, the warriors had seu seu on the wing
* improved graphics, especially the faces of some of 'em
* better presentation of the game in general, the menus make the game look 5 yrs old seriously
* perhaps a better goal-kicking system
* too many sin bins (i never knew that in NRL u could get sin-binned for a high tackle)
* ability to zoom, players too small can't see
* fix up some rules, e.g. penalty after the buzza should still mean 1 last play

here are some other suggestions that might not have already been mentioned:
* video ref
* more comments from the ref other than "come here for a chat"
* have rabs as commentator with sterlo, gus and fatty as side kicks
* better replays, showing the previous linebreak or kick instead... freeze it and have sterlo make one of his comments, "as we freeze it here... blahblah blah, as play goes on... blahblah blah, he scores"
* the camera angle after going to the video referee that shows the ref in the foreground and the big screen in the background, then the ref blowing the whistle to award the try
* different whistle sounds, right now everything sounds like a penalty

I like the idea of having fighting in the game, it'd be more realistic. Trash talking would be a cool bonus (although the game might have to be rated M15+ for language, but it'd be worth it!).
Cheerleaders and mascots would be a nice extra, and at games you should be able to hear different chants, e.g "PARRA! PARRA!" at Parramatta Stadium or "NEWCASTLE! NEWCASTLE!" at Energy Australia.
The following idea I got from this soccer game my cousin has on his playstation, where as well as the current world teams, you could also play using great teams from the past. This would be a great idea for the next League game, where you could play using famous sides like these:

hey mario and co i think this game is P H A T. I love it. tactics are everything and thats what you need to play this game.i do have some suggestions if you choose to tke into account or not.

1. The players need to be more reckognisable as individuals. As i play i dont get the feeling of having a better player in control because most of the time i dont know who it is. like if i want to get the ball to johns or jones but dont know where they are. i play and dont care who has the ball .i just do the same with everyone. to combat this i think the camera needs to zoom in just a bit(its good how it is but could afford to move in a fraction closer to the action) so you can see the number on his jersey.(see madden, i know you cant have it as big as that cause of the field size, but hve it somewhere btween how it is now and the madden).Also have the players names underneath of the players like madden.

2. The try area. players just dont slide like that. a few more animations need to be included like the simple one handed placing of the ball and the dive and roll etc. also post try nedd to be like the real game. eg players scoring in a close game get a barrage of team mates running up and jumping for a hug (sounds gay but you know what i mean) because its a crucial score. or even just your early game tries with just a couple of guys giving you congrats as you jog back to position. stuff like that. i think the crucialness of the scoring needs to be realised and recreated . this would add priceless atmospheric value. stuff like that

3. sin bins and send offs. When a player is binned it almost goes unnoticed. it should be made a bigger deal when he is sent off and also there needs to be another cutscene when he returns.

4. Game atmosphere. i feel the final series needs a better atmosphere. Every sports game is a let down in that there is hardly any difference in the presentation of a regular season game to the finals rounds. apart from vossy mentioning its the finals its exactly the same. I think having a pre match gee up would be valuable. eg instead of starting off as all the games do with the teams walking out have this. picture this - the game screen comes up with an over view of the grounds and the commentator talking about "here it is , 16 teams 29 weeks. it all comes down to this the grand final..." something like that talking about the importance of the game and the key figures then the camera pans to the tunnel as the players come running out , perhaps through the banner or such, sprinting warming up, passing the ball, talking and such and as they do so the commentator talks about the game and goes through the teams lists. then after the hype the game begins.
This is what i miss and fell a little let down after getting nothing after playing my ass of for 28 odd rounds. just makes it worth it if you get a spectacle.
And to cap it of there must be the post match celegrations especially after the gf . as soon as the whistle blows the players who have won are in jubilation as the losers are in despaire. the winners are jumping around hugging each other the coach gets a mention and perhaps the trophy gets awarded. plaease have these i promise people need it.

5. and to cap it of i think the players nedd to be a little more stiff. they seem a little too bendy and not enough like humans as they move. like they have no muscles or something.a must see is how the players on madden move. they are totally human in every action.maybe now you try a bit of motion capture for the players. running style needs a bit of a touch up too but hey im just a perfectionist and like to think if i had the know how and the recources i could create the perfect game. but im also a dreamer.

Thats all for now . i love this game and figure in just a couple of years could become a benchmark sports game. its already my favourite of all time with madden 03. Madden is perfect in everyway and if league could get to that level i believe it would be the best ever created. 90% of the games i play are sports games and no other bar madden has given me that feeling of absolute control as this game has. thanktyou. Im an animation major at massey wellington and would really love to get into the field of game production. im fanatic about animation and sports games and also play rugby at a significantly high level in wellington. and have played and watched league since the age of 5. So if theres ever a position available for a dedicated ,entrhusiastic and qualified guy with an inside knowledge in the sports please give me chance and a foot in the door. that would be a dream job. give us an email.

A difficulty level between Seasoned and Reserve!

North Harbour Stadium

Maybe be able to add in the Bartercard Cup teams.....

MUST INCLUDE
SECRET UNLOCKABLE CHARACTERS

Matt Johns
Reg Reagan
Trent the Flight Steward

and other Footy Show Stars

Franchise mode is a must
Auto interchange option.
Club songs of winning sides after games
Better defence from computer from scrums
A bit of biff every now and then (not every game but sometimes)
Try celebrations every now and then (not every try but some, only if winning and in the 2nd half)
Player sound affects. EG When copping a big hit
Defensive & Attacking tactics. EG Up and in or slide defence.
minimise the amount of offloads way too many currently.
No penalties for forward passes
Kicking bar for kicking for touch
Scrum bar, but make it almost impossible to win against the head
Better music.
Video Ref
2 commentators

Thats about it!!

- Fullback stays behind the line. The last few videos I’ve watched, the fullback is nowhere to be seen when a kick is put down-field. The same goes with wingers.

- In defence, a button where you can switch straight to the fullback. This will enable you to select a defender to shut down a line-break using cover defence rather than chasing him down.

- The ability to jump for the high ball. A button such as ‘O’ on the PS2 control for example could be used to leap for the ball. This would look and feel awesome as you and your mate leap into the air in an attempt to take the ball.

- Online Play. Would be brilliant. Adding in a tournament option where you can play round-robin style tournaments. If one player switches off his PS2, the CPU can take control. Using this forum, we could organise a fully-fledged season mode using solely created teams and players.

- Franchise mode. I think everybody knows basically what franchise mode is. To complement online play, you could build up your created team and play online opponents using your team.

- Create your own jersey. To be able to choose items such as V’s, hoops (Manly home style), Zig-zag lines and a draw tool you could create your own jersey on console versions of the game. You could select any colour and a bunch of shapes to create your desired jersey. Another cool idea would to get permission off a bunch of companies and put their logo’s in the game for use on jersey’s so you can make the company in question your major jersey sponsor.

- Be able to customise controls completely. This way, people can adapt to the controls much easier by using control set-ups most similar to their favourite sports games, e.g, Madden.

- Be able to choose between holding the pass button to cut out players or double tap. I would prefer the double tap.

- Improvement on positional play, so the halfback and five-eight are closest to the ruck with the centres and wingers staying where they should be. The fullback with a roving role and the forwards in near the ruck. Being able to choose positional play for your team would be awesome. For example, you could play Shaun Timmins as another centre, Nathan Blacklock as a roving winger, etc.

- Full control over your team. Eg, Franze + Rieck combination on one wing with Vagana + Merrit on the other, even though the number don’t necessarily co-incide – Franze: 4 Rieck: 2 for example. Choose your defensive pattern such as up-and-in defence. Create your own set plays by running them through yourself slowly, then you can practice them at training to get it spot on.

- A tutorial mode. Use one of the commentator’s to run you through the game’s basics such as passing and tackling, then more difficult moves.

- More realistic player likenesses like the earlier screenshots of Wairangi Koopu and Nigel Vagana rather than the later ones, which look weird.

- Two or three commentators. Andrew Voss, for example, as main commentator and Phil Gould or Peter Sterling as someone who interjects with comments and goes through the replay.

- Maybe this is a bit too much for the next version, the one after maybe, but specific running, passing and stepping styles for certain players. For example, Brett Kimmorley has an odd, impish style of running, David Peachey has a large striding style and Chris Beattie has a “big man” running style, lets not talk about Don Tweddle :p. For passing styles, Matt Orford, for example, leans backwards before he fires a pass off. For side-stepping, Benjii Marshall has a…ahem…unique way of stepping, and some players have shorter sidesteps than others. Obviously, not EVERY player should get his own running/passing/whatever style in the game, but there should be some to select from, much like the Smackdown games have walking styles for wrestler’s in the CAW section.

- Players jersey’s billow in the wind, slide up the player’s back sometimes when tackled, etc. Effects like this are in games like Prince of Persia, it would be awesome in a sports game.

- Grass causes stains on players bodies, this would be even more evident in wet weather.

- A profile system where you can sign in as a certain player, a lot like Timesplitters 2. Your profile could keep stats such as amount of hours/games played, wins, losses, tackles made, penalties conceded, send-offs, etc.

- Players have special accessories. For example, David Peachey, Ruben Wiki and Adrian Morley wear arm padding, Clinton Schifcofski wears a torpedo on one leg, Michael Crocker has a tattoo on his lower back, David Vaeleki wears his socks down (I hate that :-@)

- In create a player, the ability to select from: eyebrows, eyes, nose, mouth, facial hair and hair colour, hair style and hair colour, accessories (such as arm band, head gear, torpedoes, tattoos, peculiar love interest with coach…

- Blood :-D ! ! !

- Cut-scenes that are done NBA Live style, with shots of coaches, mascots, cheerleaders, etc.

Crippler

the actually gameplay is fine but looks very poor with the animations currently used.

For instance the animations have to be ALOT SMOOTHER for both the player and the actual ball so it looks more realistic.

An example of poor animation is when you are chasing after a player and u attempt a aggressive tackle. The actually game code registers a high tackle but the way the animation works was a high tackle from in front of the player so to complete the animation sequence the defender speeds up like superman to get infront of the defender that he is currently chasing to give him a head high tackle because the game code requests that but the animation makes it look very unnatural.

Animations are crucial to make a game realistic.

also the football looks looks very unnatural withe the passing. Like the ball actually changes direction midlflight to meet a runner so he can catch it.

ghoti

You'll find that no NRL team will intentionally kick a ball into the defence. If the ball deflects, it's panic mode to try and regather the ball and kick it again downfield if the tackle count wasn't restarted. When I play, (not the video game...the game of rugby league) we aim to kick the ball downfield for territorial gain or an attacking kick down on their line such as a grubber or chip.

Shaun Hewitt

My main 2 would be....

Positional changes, instead of interchanging a person off and back on, eg i was the bulldogs , Anasta started at 5/8 and based on this years rosters Norton at lock, i want to replace Thurston for Norton, but have Anasta move into lock instead of taking Anasta off , then move him into lock. A. less interchange being used and B. I have Anasta on the field

The other is injuries that last longer than one match, its so stupid how injuries occur and their back the next match right as rain, look at the knights this year, they lost a load of talent through injury so their performance dropped. a must in my point of view

okay another would be blood bin, it happens in real life , how come not the game.?

ghoti

I'd prefer if SIDHE scrapped online play for the upcoming version and concentrated on things such as franchise mode and touch-ups to the game engine. With everybody complaining about bugs and nuances, I think fixing up the bugs, improving gameplay with some of the suggestions mentioned in this thread, including a franchise mode and improving graphics (ALOT!) are more important than online play.

Another thing i'd like to see in the game is a large variety of try-scoring animations. I'm sick and tired of diving for a try and diving over the touch-line...it's really annoying. When the player is real close to the touch-line something like an animation where the player reaches down at his feet to try and put the ball down in desperation before he goes out. One handed put downs, more than one type of dive, and so on are all additions which are severely needed.

umosay

hmmm some people (like me) would really like online play... if it was this game but with online play and bug fixes i would be pretty happy, aren't SIDHE making another game at the moment? if you are SIDHE, please scrap it and work on rugby league :D just kidding, about try scoring animations, i think forwards and back should dive differently and their should be put downs such as chris walker (yes hes a homo) where he puts it down with one hand and does the roll... would be good for scoring tries in the corner... also if you look at real games quite a majority of the tries are put down standing up... they need a one handed put down while on the move if ya get my drift. and maybe a few diff kicking styles for the teams main kicker and just a default for non-kickers.

- a new goal kicking system thats unique to this game, the present one is quite plain
- maybe different goal kicking systems that can be changed in options?

ghoti

I'd like online play as well...but what would you prefer? A slightly better game with online play or an immensely improved game that's at a high standard without online play?

SIDHE's gotta decide what to spend it's time and resources on and I think online play should be held off until the 2005 version.

umosay

seriously, we can't go another version without online, don't be like EA and say your concentrating on gameplay, then you buy the game and it sucks shite (eg. rugby 2004, cricket 2004... they might have been alright if they were online)

Hurriflatch

Based on todays report in the paper

maybe having a mini game where you can throw darts a Nick Politis' head.

or just one where you can make Parramatta, NZ's etc cap 500 mill and the Roosters cap 50c

PJ Marshal

I hope the stats of players are correct next game because some of em in it are shocking! especially Nathan Hindmarsh's! :x

NPK

Instead of having player abilities scores out of 10, make them out of 50 or 100. This would make for more accurate player profiles 8)

Briza

I have only two requests;

1. deliver a 100% bug free game.
2. Make it a Simulated game, and not a video game.

umosay

anyone got any commentary line suggestions? mine are

"and we're back where we started here at *stadium*" ...when scores are level (graham hughes)
"they might as well pack up their bags and go home" ...when home team is winning comfortably (graham hughes, warriors v bulldogs 98 or 99