Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The comp leaders (Warriors/Saints)...how far will they go?

Howard_Moon

Saints look to me like a team who can win in any situation, where as the Warriors when put to the test don't seem to have the answers, as seen in the Storm and Broncos games

Penrose Warrior

Saints look to me like a team who can win in any situation, where as the Warriors when put to the test don't seem to have the answers, as seen in the Storm and Broncos games

But beating the 5-0 table topping Dragons, who can win in any situation, wasn't a 'test' for the Warriors? Unsure how that logic works.

We had a 5 day turnaround this week, with injuries to key players and we got smashed. Not particularly surprising. We'll be back. We'll lose no one to Origin, whereas the Dragons and others are going to lose a few. If we get key guys back in the next 2-3 weeks we'll be fine.

Hutty1986

But beating the 5-0 table topping Dragons, who can win in any situation, wasn't a 'test' for the Warriors? Unsure how that logic works.

We had a 5 day turnaround this week, with injuries to key players and we got smashed. Not particularly surprising. We'll be back. We'll lose no one to Origin, whereas the Dragons and others are going to lose a few. If we get key guys back in the next 2-3 weeks we'll be fine.
Mate you are so wrong.

We were 6-0.

This Year?

I just don't have the heart to tell Penrose Warrior about the 50 point thingy. The Storm seriously are the biggest killjoys of the NRL. We'll probably have our season ended by the flogs too.

Howard_Moon

Dragons were far from their best, that's how. Saints at their best in Sydney will run laps around the Warriors.

Penrose Warrior

Dragons were far from their best, that's how. Saints at their best in Sydney will run laps around the Warriors.

And we were far from our best with guys out this week. You're probably right on the second part, we're typically hopeless in the Gong.

I think a lot of the media and maybe some fans (not saying you) think Warriors fans had already locked in our GF tickets after being 6-1. Very few people over here are thinking like that. We're aware it's a marathon not a sprint and we've proved nothing, but after 7 years of abject failure it's just nice to have a side that has now shown it has a bit of ticker - and should make the 8.

Prometheus

It's probably been mentioned but Saints will have maybe 4-5 out come SOO.

We have the bye before Origin 1 and Origin 2 is on a stand-alone weekend this year. So we should only be without origin players for our round 17 match against the Storm.

TheFrog

The Dragons have not lost a single player to injury as yet, whereas the teams immediately behind them are decimated. If their luck holds until October, Merge won't be stopped. But if their turn on the injury merry-go-round comes, they'll be in some bother.

Hutty1986

The Dragons have not lost a single player to injury as yet, whereas the teams immediately behind them are decimated. If their luck holds until October, Merge won't be stopped. But if their turn on the injury merry-go-round comes, they'll be in some bother.
Lol my lord your saltiness is superb.

BennyV

Lock it in gents, March AND APRIL Premiers!!!

But really, we are looking awesome and playing some killer footy but we are only 1 win ahead of where we were this time last season, at which point other dragons fans were telling me 'but we are a different team and playing so much better this year' when I expressed concerns about a fade out. As mucha s Top 4 is the benchmark from here, I'm not convinced we will carry it through. We've have no injuries to our Top 16, our depth in key positions is pretty poor and some of the tactics of the coach give me worries.

TheFrog

Luck has had nothing to do with it. Change the record champion.
OK, lets take Dufty, Hunt, McDonald, Aitken, McInnes and Latimore out of your side to play the Storm. Not only the Storm, but the following 8 or so games as well. You get McInnes back after one game, perhaps. How do you think you'll go? Do you reckon you'll still be on top? Just a reminder, your full strength reserve grade side was thrashed 30-6 the other day at home by a side with half its squad in first grade..

mxlegend99

Luck has had nothing to do with it. Change the record champion.
Dragons are playing well. But staying injury free is definitely helping. Luck plays its part every season.

Also why would Panthers fans be salty? We're sitting in second only one win behind Dragons. Well and truly above where a team with that many injuries should be.

The spine that helped take us to the finals last year have all been injured. Our best centre is injured. Our best winger is injured. We had to use second rowers in both centres and at 6 against Bulldogs.

All we can really hope for is to win enough games to keep our finals chances alive until we get Dylan Edwards, Waqa Blake, Josh Mansour, Nathan Cleary and Tyrone May back from injury. Not only are we doing that. We're keeping our top 4 chances alive.