Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Official Finals Crowd Thread

junior009

How can you possibly make assumptions about the crowd number when you, along with other Parra supprters, didn't even make the effort?

It wasn't just Parra supporters who missed out mate. There were many, many Saints fans that would have gone but also missed out.

bobmar28

The 18K would not have magically reappeared at the SFS. It is wrong to assume that everyone sets their plans to the New Ltd timetable. And besides, it was not about accomodating Parra fans. You needed to finish in the top 4 before making presumptions. People keep forgetting this.

Then do something about it. Like, make an effort! Sounds like you didn't even try.

Kogarah was a beacon throughout 2009. The highest crowd average for a Sydney ground, only second to Homebush. What more could have Saints and supporters done to prove the ground as a success story?

Perhaps those people whinging about low crowd numbers should do something about their own backyard. Try increasing your own crowd average, rather than trying to drag down one of Sydney's most popular grounds.

It would be sensational as a 25k all seater.

bobmar28

exactly....some of you must have been to america. this is a country where even the air force has a stadium....its a 50k+ in colorado, and is used in college footy.

the country has something like 10 or more cities with a million people, NY has about 10, LA about 5, chicago 3 million.

Sydney would seem most like LA in size and population....spread out. Typically LA has trouble with NFL teams and keeping them operating, but whether its the city spread, or other reasons, I don't know.

The one big difference is that Americans really get behind their sporting teams. College footy is massive. Even college baseball is pretty big.

But then America has probably another 30 cities with a pop of just under 1m-about 350,000.....thats cities slightly bigger than the gold coast down to the central coast in size. Then there would have to be another 50-100 easily the size of newcastle, around 100-150k.

Its a BIG country. Then again it does have 300 million. Its no wonder with a spread of cities like that, that they get huge crowds to sporting events. Imagine 10 brisbanes in Australia, or 10 townsvilles....endless streams of fans willing to attend matches.

One of the major problems australia always had was the distance from everywhere.....for instance, NY is close to Europe and south america, and as such it was a mecca for trade as it was a port city and a manufacturing giant, and a gateway to the world. Same with London, it extended its arms wide to trade with the world, being close to many countries and having power. Well heaps of immigrants arrived in american via NY from europe, and of course a stack from south america too. These days, in NY they dont have many factories, and its all gone ritzy....expensive...its more the shop-front for business and financial institutions. Factories are up in the river in Jersey...!!! LOL

Sydney on the other hand, in spite of the 4m population never had that luxury. It is just too far away. At best a stop-over, but getting no more traffic than it needs to. Australia has another problem too, the country is too dry overall.

If LA doesn't have an NFL team (San Diego does), what is Sydney doing with 9 NRL teams?

Teddyboy

If LA doesn't have an NFL team, what is Sydney doing with 9 NRL teams?
Becasue the NRL are daft alongside that sadly the whole of Australia don't play Rugby League but nationally play some f**king 18 a side backward oval ball sport.

Someone said that America only has one oval ball code. trying to make an excuse for sydney.....you fool

LMAO.

There are HEAPS of leagues in America, tons of top level sports, all vying for interest.

Baseball MLB made up of american league and National League....then AA baseball, AAA baseball, etc BASEBALL IS AT TIMES PLAYED ON EVERY SINGLE DAY DURING THE YEAR! They still average like 30,000. A baseball team has about 200 games a year to play.

NFL has like 32 teams And where there are not NFL teams, people follow the college teams, and even high school teams. Heaps of that in regional areas.

Softball is pretty big too.

And then you have basketball. 30 teams at least, and then college level. no nfl team in la anymore don't think, but they have 2 basketball teams, though one was in trouble recently

Then you have Ice hockey. has 30 + teams, but some come from canada, 5 or 6.

Ok....so DONT TELL ME THE YANKS DONT SUPPORT SPORT....

thats over 100 professional teams. All getting big crowds. And then the college teams get big crowds, and high school teams in some areas get decent crowds. AA baseball and AAA baseball (especially in areas without MLB) get good crowds too.

Per capita, one would think they knock our socks off for supporting teams.

Per capita?

You realise our pop is 20mil vs their 300+mil?

Someone said that America only has one oval ball code. trying to make an excuse for sydney.....you fool

LMAO.

There are HEAPS of leagues in America, tons of top level sports, all vying for interest.

Baseball MLB made up of american league and National League....then AA baseball, AAA baseball, etc BASEBALL IS AT TIMES PLAYED ON EVERY SINGLE DAY DURING THE YEAR! They still average like 30,000. A baseball team has about 200 games a year to play.

NFL has like 32 teams And where there are not NFL teams, people follow the college teams, and even high school teams. Heaps of that in regional areas.

Softball is pretty big too.

And then you have basketball. 30 teams at least, and then college level. no nfl team in la anymore don't think, but they have 2 basketball teams, though one was in trouble recently

Then you have Ice hockey. has 30 + teams, but some come from canada, 5 or 6.

Ok....so DONT TELL ME THE YANKS DONT SUPPORT SPORT....

thats over 100 professional teams. All getting big crowds. And then the college teams get big crowds, and high school teams in some areas get decent crowds. AA baseball and AAA baseball (especially in areas without MLB) get good crowds too.

Per capita, one would think they knock our socks off for supporting teams.

But how many of those Sports Are basicly the same or called the Same thing.

In Australia you have 4 Football Codes. with a 22mil pop
With 3 of them pretty much playing at the same time. and Soccer in the offseason.

The yanks have one major football code. and a 300mil population.

Plus most of there major sports are so different to each other.
Baseball is nothing like NFL, Ice Hocky or Basketball.

Mr. Fahrenheit

If you look at total sports attendance from college levels, semi-pro up to professional leagues in both countries, the US would SMASH us per capita. However, if you look at the attendance for RL or AFL vs the NFL or MLB per capita we might compete if not be superior.

bobmar is convinced that we should be like the US.

He likes to conveniently ignore the fact that the majority of Australia's population is on the east coast so it isn't a valid comparison.

dragondad

Does Super14 include the SA and NZ homegames?

I reckon 31000 tonight and ~51000 tomorrow night.

dgsfan

28,524 at the SFS. Pretty poor for the only semi in Sydney this weekend. Brisbane will show the league how it's done tomorrow.

Teddyboy

If you look at total sports attendance from college levels, semi-pro up to professional leagues in both countries, the US would SMASH us per capita. However, if you look at the attendance for RL or AFL vs the NFL or MLB per capita we might compete if not be superior.

Ireland also punches it's weight with Gaelic Football,Hurling,Rugby Union and Soccer.

It wasn't just Parra supporters who missed out mate. There were many, many Saints fans that would have gone but also missed out.
Thank you News Ltd.

You're suggesting that the game be moved for 'our own good'. lol