Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The product of League is being ruined by David Gallop and he has to go

You need to get a handle on your love for gus, michelle.

He does more harm than good. Far too emotional.

And your view of how things are is pretty naive.

Did gallop look at you funny or something?

Ummm, you see, he's the head of a board, a board appointed partly by news ltd, and partly by the arl.

So, yes, there you go, thats the news influence. Dah, we all knew that. But here's the kicker. Nothing untoward is happening. No one is trying to undermine anything. People may be trying to shape, but its for the good of league and its future, trust me....its a tricky world, and you need to be ahead of the competition.

Its true that while the people behind it all are indeed business people, and you expect them to do smart bussiness things, so thats what they do. They help keep the game alive. The fans also help.

The quesiton is not about gallop or the board....they are not direct inputs to the future of rl.

The people who have direct inputs are the fans. By people going to games, becoming members and supporting their clubs, rl will climb, not by board members or gallop.

They just indirectly govern leagues fortunes. This is the crux of your issue. They are not out there wishing for leagues downfall, nor are the owners. If the owners wanted league to die, dont you think they would stop funding it?

You and people like you are neither good nor bad, you are just looking for someone to blame.

WELL BLAME THE COLLECTIVE fans, darling, blame the people who have deserted league, attended less games, talked it down. Got spiteful when their poorly supported club died and refused to go on watching the SAME BLOODY SPORT at another club (after a period of mourning, sure).

You just are looking in the wrong spot for answers, you are blaming the wrong people.

I suggest we all become members, go to as many games as possible, club and international, talk up league, etc, buy the products.

Someone has to get rich off all of this, so it might as well be rl people...not other sports....

Don't blame gallop. He only wishes for the best. And forget the war, its over. You don't stop and get angry at germans do you, or japanese due to world war 2? It was a long time ago and things change.

The fans need to stand up. If you want to do good by the game, support your team directly! Buy a season ticket, get a membership. That will put money directly into your clubs pocket, and not news ltd if you continue to hate them. Support your team directly. And get something out of it! Be at the games! Enjoy it!

Got spiteful when their poorly supported club died and refused to go on watching the SAME BLOODY SPORT at another club (after a period of mourning, sure).

This is the only part I disagree with, it's not the same bloody sport as it was 10 years ago let alone 30, If it wasn't for the love of my team I wouldn't be bothered I reckon.. In saying that I never talk it down and probably would still watch SOO and Internationals like the rest of the bandwagon supporters. Lots of them up here in Qld.

Lots of die hards also (in Qld) True supporters of the game that don't go for any one team, I on the other hand grew up supporting just one and hating the all others, perhaps if when they get a Sunny Coast team up this way things will be different !

Geez I'll be an old bugger by then I reckon.

Yeah, like Norths who were in the top 5 best supported clubs in the 90's. Oh that's right it was done fairly wasn't it?

norths is a sad tale, sure, but to say they were hugely popular in todays standards is pushing it a bit.

i truly wish they got to the central coast, but they didn't.

Its over, done with, and they won't be coming back, unless its on the central coast.

move on...hopefully one day they can get to the coast, and floro and the boyz can make a great club. but never again as a sydney side, norths are dead in the top flight.

Michelle Leslie

You need to get a handle on your love for gus, michelle.

He does more harm than good. Far too emotional.

And your view of how things are is pretty naive.

Did gallop look at you funny or something?

Ummm, you see, he's the head of a board, a board appointed partly by news ltd, and partly by the arl.

So, yes, there you go, thats the news influence. Dah, we all knew that. But here's the kicker. Nothing untoward is happening. No one is trying to undermine anything. People may be trying to shape, but its for the good of league and its future, trust me....its a tricky world, and you need to be ahead of the competition.

Its true that while the people behind it all are indeed business people, and you expect them to do smart bussiness things, so thats what they do. They help keep the game alive. The fans also help.

The quesiton is not about gallop or the board....they are not direct inputs to the future of rl.

The people who have direct inputs are the fans. By people going to games, becoming members and supporting their clubs, rl will climb, not by board members or gallop.

They just indirectly govern leagues fortunes. This is the crux of your issue. They are not out there wishing for leagues downfall, nor are the owners. If the owners wanted league to die, dont you think they would stop funding it?

You and people like you are neither good nor bad, you are just looking for someone to blame.

WELL BLAME THE COLLECTIVE fans, darling, blame the people who have deserted league, attended less games, talked it down. Got spiteful when their poorly supported club died and refused to go on watching the SAME BLOODY SPORT at another club (after a period of mourning, sure).

You just are looking in the wrong spot for answers, you are blaming the wrong people.

I suggest we all become members, go to as many games as possible, club and international, talk up league, etc, buy the products.

Someone has to get rich off all of this, so it might as well be rl people...not other sports....

Don't blame gallop. He only wishes for the best. And forget the war, its over. You don't stop and get angry at germans do you, or japanese due to world war 2? It was a long time ago and things change.

The fans need to stand up. If you want to do good by the game, support your team directly! Buy a season ticket, get a membership. That will put money directly into your clubs pocket, and not news ltd if you continue to hate them. Support your team directly. And get something out of it! Be at the games! Enjoy it!

I like the way you write but I just dont understand the tone of your response.

Rugby League is about emotion, passion and facing adversity with no fear.
Staring into the abyss so to speak.

You seem rational, which around here is pretty rare.
However you are far from objective.

Is David Gallop the best person to run rugby league?
Is David Gallop still being paid by News Limited?
Does David Gallop inspire the fans?
Is David Gallop charismatic enough to attract new fans to rugby league?
Are there benefits in having a new person take over with no ties to the Packers or Murdoch??

Well please answer these questions objectively.
I dont really care what Dave wants for the future.
He is the wrong person driving the bus and as such the bus is headed in the wrong direction.

Gallop is protected by Gould, Ch 9, Murdoch because they all have a mutual interest in keeping the "cost of footy" down.

All I am asking is someone who will demand what rugby league is duly worth.

taipan

I like the way you write but I just dont understand the tone of your response.

Rugby League is about emotion, passion and facing adversity with no fear.
Staring into the abyss so to speak.

You seem rational, which around here is pretty rare.
However you are far from objective.

Is David Gallop the best person to run rugby league?
Is David Gallop still being paid by News Limited?
Does David Gallop inspire the fans?
Is David Gallop charismatic enough to attract new fans to rugby league?
Are there benefits in having a new person take over with no ties to the Packers or Murdoch??

Well please answer these questions objectively.
I dont really care what Dave wants for the future.
He is the wrong person driving the bus and as such the bus is headed in the wrong direction.

Gallop is protected by Gould, Ch 9, Murdoch because they all have a mutual interest in keeping the "cost of footy" down.

All I am asking is someone who will demand what rugby league is duly worth.

If you can find a charismatic adminstrator without work out there to do a fantastic job,go get him.The only problem I had with him(Gallop) was the ordinary TV contract.
At least it is locked in to 2012,guaranteeing funds (allowing for the current economic woes to that period).
David Gallop would be paid by the NRL,50/50 Nes/ARL.So he gets technically half the money from news.
Does he inspire fans,probably not.Then again,the quality of play on the field is what inspires me ,not someone in a suit.

Charismatic!!!,IMO no sport leader can be called charismatic in this country.
Gallop is not charismatic nor does he inspire,is that the end of the known sporting world?The game is hardly going backwards,country rl is facing a tough time admittedly-try drought,lack of work to begin with.
The A League guy is pretty bland but they are doing OK.O'Neill is an egotist who is doing OK.Charismatic not.The AFL honcho is bombastic and inflates his codes status at times,but certainly has b...all charisma.
Ties to Packer or Murdoch.Packer is out of ch9.Murdoch's mob!I hated SL,but News is contibuting to the game in Vic financially,by using their share of the profits.I dislike the way News papers stick it up rl at times.
I detest the way things were done in the past re SL,but in these days of financial gloom,would rather have some link to a big media organisation than not.
I think your last para was a bit rich,"Gallop os protected by Gould".That is akin to saying George bush was protected by Chavez of Venezuela.Gould wants for starters the removal of the salary cap,Gallop and the NRL don't.
We have had politicians and business people with supposed charisma,that have stuffed the country and their businesses.
Charisma is for film stars .I want doers,not someone who commands attention when they walk into a room,like Beyonce.;-)

BIKER_DRAGON

I just do not understand how this poorly qualified man escapes any public scrutiny for the deterioration of rugby league since he has taken over.

1)the under selling of the television rights

2)there should be no exclusive radio deal fullstop.

3)The politically correct agenda when dealing with the "image" of the game. The changes to the rules that allow video ref scrutiny that is ruining the rhythm of the game.
The judiciary has lost credibility.

4) is without doubt the most "REACTIVE" man in the history of the job.
a)warning about shoulder charges after Craig Wings hit is oh so typical of his knee jerk persona.

5)he lacks a distinct vision. Where is rugby league going??

6) he lacks the corporate skills to generate further income for the good of the game.

7)blames the mess of super league for punctuation in growth.

8)has had a good go and its time to move on.

f#ck off Dave.

Well said man the sooner this Neville Nobody and every Peabrain that supports him is gone from the game. The better it will be for the game of Rugby League:lol:

kbw

I am sick of the under selling of TV rights crap.
I do not want my foxtel subscription to increase because some people think that there are 10s of millions of people that want to watch RL. I am sick of putting up with 2 billion ads during a CH9 telecast of RL, I do not want my RL TV games to go for 2 hours so they can put in 40mins of ads.

I am sick of people thinking there is an endless source of money for RL, while it is the greatest game of football around, there is just not a big market for it.

I am sick of people whinging about David Gallop, sure he may not be a superman, but he has done a much better than some of his predessors.

He has to manage a fine line between trying to better the game and the inane demands of Ch9 and NEWs. Not to mention fighting off the ridiculous arguements of the blind that think we need to take this game to everywhere else RIGHT NOW !!.

kbw

And now wait for it.........
A mass player exodus to Union because they are underpaid.

Why are players underpaid??
Because the salary cap has to be raised.

Why isnt the cap raised?
Gallop undersold the rights.

Why isn't the salary cap raised, because there bloody money isn't there, you probably believe that they should be paid the same as NFL players or Soccer players. Oh but hang on, there might just be a little bigger market for those sports don't you think

Cheezel

Some interesting posts :lol:

I don't agree with everything Gallop has done but the game is pretty healthy and the NRL/ARL don't have the money issues currently facing the ARU & Football.

You can bring up the Super League rubbish for the rest of your life but it won't change a thing.

Rugby league's problem is it's supporters spend more time taking pot shots at the game then supporting it.

You never hear the AFL, ARU Football supporters bagging their games like we bag rugby league.

Rockin Ronny

norths is a sad tale, sure, but to say they were hugely popular in todays standards is pushing it a bit.

i truly wish they got to the central coast, but they didn't.

Its over, done with, and they won't be coming back, unless its on the central coast.

move on...hopefully one day they can get to the coast, and floro and the boyz can make a great club. but never again as a sydney side, norths are dead in the top flight.

You idiot.
Rugby league's whole essence is built on the tribal support, the tradition, the origins. You losers who think you're being pragmatic forget that league is big in NSW and Qld and northern england. It is a marginal game which doesn't have international support to command big sponsorship dollars.

You don't destroy the foundations and expect growth, even survival.

Just because News Limited own the game to flog as a "product', doesn't mean moron fans should regurgitate News Limited bullsh*t to justify its actions.

LeagueXIII

Like say, Penrith, in the RL hotbed out west, who averaged 10,899 last year. Is this the standards of today we are talking about?

Knightmare

Penrith are the biggest mystery in modern day League. Reasonable priced tickets/ food/ drink, close to public transport, plenty of places to go and eat nearby, located smack-bang in the middle of League heartland, yet they draw mediocre home crowds.

I know the team has left much to be desired these past two seasons, but you'd think there'd be enough die-hards to see them constantly getting Newcastle-like crowds into Penrith Park?

The Tank

sh*t team that plays with no heart. Simple really - if they at least show pride in the jersey (We change jerseys so much we're longer representing the club we once were) then people will turn up.

LeagueXIII

What about the Central Coast who averaged 11,520 last year, or Canberra 11,913 even Wollongong 12,237. Are these the standards we are chasing?

Some interesting posts :lol:

I don't agree with everything Gallop has done but the game is pretty healthy and the NRL/ARL don't have the money issues currently facing the ARU & Football.

You can bring up the Super League rubbish for the rest of your life but it won't change a thing.

Rugby league's problem is it's supporters spend more time taking pot shots at the game then supporting it.

You never hear the AFL, ARU Football supporters bagging their games like we bag rugby league.

If that is a serious post, you need help.

And lots of it.

gallagher

Why isn't the salary cap raised, because there bloody money isn't there, you probably believe that they should be paid the same as NFL players or Soccer players. Oh but hang on, there might just be a little bigger market for those sports don't you think

Are you sure its not there? Clubs run on something like $13m to $20m but only $3.5m or so goes to the players.If the salary cap was rised wouldnt they just cut back spending elsewhere? Maybe they wouldnt have the money to wax players legs or have wrestling coaches. Maybe the CEO could get by without a P.A?