Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Time To Stop The Mind Game Changes Supercoach

Karmawave

My biggest issue I have with Brian Smith, is I think he is so full of his own self importance and influence on the game, that he isn't prepared to admit he might have messed up every now and then and take responsibility for his mistakes.

I have often heard a coach say " that loss is on me ", " I didn't prepare the team properly " etc.

You'll never hear Brian Smith say that. Certainly not after drastic changes that ultimately he is fully responsible for. I think his ego is too big for it.

BG

My biggest issue I have with Brian Smith, is I think he is so full of his own self importance and influence on the game, that he isn't prepared to admit he might have messed up every now and then and take responsibility for his mistakes.

I have often heard a coach say " that loss is on me ", " I didn't prepare the team properly " etc.

You'll never hear Brian Smith say that. Certainly not after drastic changes that ultimately he is fully responsible for. I think his ego is too big for it.

You may well be right that this is Smith's biggest downfall. (Although the thing that matters is what he says to the players in private, not what he says in public, and we can only surmise about that by extrapolating from snippets we may have heard from various people behind the scenes and general hearsay--none of which is conclusive.)

Even if we take what you have said at face value, and mark it as a flaw in Smith, I'd have to comment that I'm not sure if there are any perfect coaches. Smith does seem to fit into the autocrat mould which creates both positives and fallibilities. He may be picking Wicks out of pure stubbonness for instance. (Although it's also possible that he sees something we don't.)

Smith is far from perfect. But I believe his good points as a coach overwhelm his failings and I consider him one of the best coaches of the last 15 years or so. Imho the Knights are extremely lucky to have him at the helm--especially considering his forte has been club rebuilding and that's just what is needed in the post-Johns phase.

Johns Magic

I don't see the word idiot in there anywhere.

Never said you used the exact word. Same meaning.

and you don't?

I don't tell people who disagree with me that they don't understand anything about footy. I don't tell them they have rocks in their head. And furthermore, I don't pretend I know more about rugby league than Brian Smith.

Now your being a bit on the pot calling kettle black side. You don't rip into players? and who doesn't talk up their favourites? You do it. It's called opinion JM. I do recall you ripping into people that disagree with you on plenty of occasions. Your doing your best right now, and have been throwing out baits for two days now, that's how you operate.

I occassionally give a player a wrap. I also say when I think someone's underperforming.

But you're ridiculous.

Well good oh for Smith because anyone who rates Wicks over White at this stage and given our predicament re finals has rocks in their head, In other words given Whites efforts in his last few games, if you rate Wicks above him then you don't know what you're on about. We need wins from here on in, Pick your best side. Wicks is behind White and Taufua by miles.

White is miles in front of Wicks

but really Wicks v White or Taufua.. no contest.

add Wicks in the mix and you have two reasonable players back from injury, and one dead set do nothing overweight nuffy also back from injury and that is too much to carry, even an "Ordinary" Matt White would have to wonder what's going on.

Wicks is sh!t and that wont change. Smiths on drugs naming him this week ahead of Taufua and White.

Dropping White and replacing him with Wicks explains exactly why Smith has never coached a premiership side. He trys to outsmart himself. There is no way Wicks earnt that spot over White

On Wicks I can't agree. He was the same at the Dragons as he's been here. I don't see him changing at all. He is a defensive liabilty while ever he's on the field, and his workrate is abysmal.

Oh yeh, the dumping of White was a disgrace

White would've outplayed all of them. Cross IMO was average at best

Wicks was bloody aweful shouldn't be anywhere near first grade.

Prediction for Sunday
Wicks 20mins
metres gained 10
Tackles 3
hamburgers consumed 8

How the hell does Wicks get in and White gets dropped????? That is crap, no way does he deserve to be in the side ahead of White or Taufua.

Now we are going down the same path with Royal and White. I know who I want to stay at the club given a choice and it aint Wicks.

Another solid performance from White last night, surely Smith can find some money for this guy?

I'll run down Hunter street naked (not a pretty sight) How Smith rates him over White, Royal, and Tolar is beyond me.

White has shown potential ever since he first hit first grade. He's big, runs straight can play quality time, and is young. It was only a matter of time before he turned in a performance like yesterdays. We'll regret letting him go. I don't know who Smith sees as back-up props next season, we are going to be very thin on the ground, and letting guys like White and Royal go, and relying on lard arse Wicks would be laughable if it weren't so serious.

If Smith is blaming Wicks efforts on this injury then Wicks must've been carrying this injury while he was at the Dragons as well.

Did anyone see the photo of Wicks in the Northern edition of the Sunday Tele last week? Honestly Wicks looked like a contestant in the biggest loser.

Wicks is a myth, he is nowhere near first grade standard.
White should've been in the side ahead of Wicks weeks ago. It's hard to believe Smith rates Wicks above Tolar and White.

Well I thought Tolar and White were outstanding for us. We finally got some go forward with them, and we had some solid defence from them early on, not easy to do against a pack like Penriths.
Sorry but Wicks didn't do anything to make me change my opinion of him.

Who does Smith think he's kidding with that dribble???
The stats from last weeks game sum up Wicks, Smith doesn't mention that 2 of the six missed tackles led to trys. Matt White Sh!ts all over Wicks, Ciraldo and co. If Dureau doesn't start then Smiths lost the plot completely.

That team is unbelievable, he cannot be serious. How the F@ck can Wicks still be anywhere near that side,If I were Matt White I'd be looking elsewhere for a club.

Smith is starting to do Hagan impersonations. Danny Wicks gets selected every week, this week he would've been in ahead of Tolar had changes not been forced. Tolar had a solid game Wicks let in Soward for Try, then repeated the performance for Young to score. Then spent the rest of his time lounging around behind the backs. I don't want him anywhere near first grade again, still I've felt like that all year, he's a deadset joke.

That team is straight from the Hagan copy and paste error. No way does Wicks deserve a place in that side

Can't help but chuckle when you use that word when we're talking about Wicks :lol:

I'll do some Wicks bashing:- "He's useless"

He spent all last season in the Dragons lower grade sides for exactly the same reasons, it didn't do any good then, and he seems no more eager to put some work in here. He's a waste of time, he proved it last year and he's doing the same this year. Watching him out there is almost laughable some times.

We've already seen the best of Wicks, he will never be our best prop as long as my arse points to the ground. He's had all season to at least show he's serious about playing at an elite level, he's worse now than when he started the season

and please I know I've been on his case but Wicks??? he is a passenger out there, the props playing reserves must be wondering what mystery talent Smith sees in this bloke. Don't tell me he's a good impact player, the only impact he makes is with the ground when he lumbers on.

Josh Perry has it all over Wicks as far as form and performance goes. Sure wicks landed a blow last time they met, but since then Perry has left poor old Wicksy in his wake.

That says it all. Wicks doesn't deserve to be in the 17 at all. He is lazy

Wicks doesn't deserve to be in the side. As for defending he can only do that if they run into his open arms. He's a liability on the field.

I'll only say that IMO Matt White has to be a better option than Wicks, at least White will put in while he's on the park. I agree with Mac, I'll go further and say I think Wicks is amongst the worst front row forwards we've ever handed a first grade jumper to. I don't think he should be anyway near first grade on the bench or starting.

Matt White was killing it in reserves how's he been going recently?

After last nights game I reckon Wicks would struggle in the local comp. He is deadset useless. He takes the ball up like a feather duster. If Smith wants a big guy off the bench then Matt White must be wondering what he has to do. Someone said the other day we paid good money for this bloke, if that's the case we were robbed. After hearing him recently on local radio he's only good for comedy value.

He never set the world on fire at the Dragons, and so far seems to be following the same path here. He IMO needs to decide if he's serious about being a first grade player, and if he is then start putting the work in. If we paid top money for him then whoever condoned that needs a big foot up the arse.

Seriously look at his performances since he arrived here. He hasn't stood out at all in relation to ability. He is slow, can't move sideways (check his effort when Tigers scored their first yesterday) he has absolutely no impact when taking the ball up. He basically bludges when he's on field. He is way overweight, I watch him and think he's going to have a heart attack he looks so unfit. No way does he deserve to be in the starting 17 above guys like Tolar, there is no comparison between him and Tolar, Tolar wins hands down.

You might think I'm being pedantic, but the worrying thing is, those are all separate posts you've made within the last 3 months. We get it.

Karmawave

Geeeez JM, that was fairly impressive. :lol:

Talk about not only sticking the knife in, but twisting it until it grinds, chopping them into pieces and then burying them 6 foot under too?

Ouch. :lol:

Johns Magic

Talk about not only sticking the knife in, but twisting it until it grinds, chopping them into pieces and then burying them 6 foot under too?

Karma believe me, I really like tony as a poster, always have.

This is not meant to be a go at him personally.

I just think that in this case, he's targetting someone and dragging it out. It's very tedious to have to read it all the time, especially when the person he's targetting can't defend himself here.

antonius

Very impressive JM. I could prob do the same looking back at your posts, I certainly know I'll find you ripping into guys and calling them all sorts of names. I also know that I'd find plenty of ridicule towards players. But I can't be bothered. As for this debate it's run it's course I think.
Oh and yes I too always look for your posts because it's obvious you know the game and speak your mind, and they generally spark some discussion in the place.

Bring it home Knights

You'll find the season was built around using the same team ( or close to it ) week in, week out. Heck, even Jason Taylor played a major role in the season!

Don't state thinks that you have no idea about! In 2001 brian smith chopped and changed his team just about every week using different players and putting these players in a variety of different positions. IMO I have never seen a rugby league team that was chopped and changed as much as parramatta in 2001........

Alex28

Don't state thinks that you have no idea about! In 2001 brian smith chopped and changed his team just about every week using different players and putting these players in a variety of different positions. IMO I have never seen a rugby league team that was chopped and changed as much as parramatta in 2001........

To be fair Parramatta in 2001 for all bar one game was a pretty outstanding unit. Smith should be given credit for how good that squad was - no matter how the team changed throughout the season.

Bring it home Knights

To be fair Parramatta in 2001 for all bar one game was a pretty outstanding unit. Smith should be given credit for how good that squad was - no matter how the team changed throughout the season.

I'm not taking anything away from smith for the teams he selected over the course of the year. I'm simply making it clear that karma came out and said something that couldn't possibly be more incorrect!

antonius

ouldn't go that far Karma

LOL I wouldn't go that far Karma, all it shows is I don't like Wicks, and I don't. JM or someone else could prob bring one up about you and your mate Dureau that would be equally impressive :p.
It does show dedication though.