Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wayne Bennett and future coach talk

Nuffy

Just so over the never ending dramas that is the Newcastle Knights.

I can't predict that we are even at the bottom yet.

We need a coach, fullback, likely 3-5 FG quality forwards, a chairman, board and most of the coaching staff. I also evisage that as a parting gift, Bennett will likely pick clean the best juniors and players from our roster over the next few years.

The players are rattled by Bennetts decision as per Smiths comments which doesn't auger well for the balance of the season so we are now favourites for the spoon.

Frankly I just struggle to fathom how things have got so bad, so quickly.

aqua_duck

I've lost all respect I had for the old fossil, I hope he fails wherever he goes next and I hope people now see the man's true colours, he's only in it for himself and his bank balance. I personally tell the wanker the f**k off effective immediately

Nuffy

I've lost all respect I had for the old fossil, I hope he fails wherever he goes next and I hope people now see the man's true colours, he's only in it for himself and his bank balance. I personally tell the wanker the f**k off effective immediately

Interesting comments from Bennett. He said he was embarrassed by the teams performance and therefore was accountable. So the response to his failure is to quit.

I'll bet he expects more commitment from his players that he seems willing to give.

I think it shows once and for all that he is all about Wayne and the rest is just well managed PR.

Wato

If Smiths comments are indicative of the playing group then I don't expect many to follow aside from Boyd. It seems the playing group are committed to making next season a successful one and this may just spur them on more. The board and chairman will be sorted in time and will have the club on the right trajectory for a more stable future. Does anyone get the feeling Quayle may have not liked Bennetts answers to the questions Bennett said he challenged him with, perhaps the new board feel Bennetts time in Newcastle needed to end for the club to move forward.

aqua_duck

Interesting comments from Bennett. He said he was embarrassed by the teams performance and therefore was accountable. So the response to his failure is to quit.

I'll bet he expects more commitment from his players that he seems willing to give.

I think it shows once and for all that he is all about Wayne and the rest is just well managed PR.

To me he's tarnished his reputation, I mean imagine been given an old house on a nice block of land to renovate/rebuild, a professional doesn't f**k up 75% of the construction then blame the builders and tradesman he personally hired and then tells the owner sorry but I can't fix it now! that's what a coward does.
To me he's a dog, he could've walked out with abit of integrity and just said sorry my heart isn't in it and I need a change of scenery as the Tinkler drama and Alex McKinnon's injury have taken it's toll on me emotionally, instead he throws his players under the bus and basically tells the world the club is a basket case (which I think will handicap our player recruitment).

Knight Vision

So I just hear a grab of his press conference, he is basically saying if the team had performed better he would have stayed. So he's admitting defeat? Admitting failure and decided its all too hard?
Thats pretty much what I got out of it. He sounds very bitter.

Knight Vision

I agree, his comments I found disappointing. He should leave immediately. One things for sure he comes across as full of himself.

Knight Vision

Agreed. I have a suspicion that this is just a good reason to leave, the money's dried up, the team isn't winning so "Im out a here".

Out of the 3 teams mentioned he could be going to Brisbane would be the obvious one and I'd say their coach is pretty nervous right about now. The other team that I think he would get quick success at is Cowboys and quick success would appeal and add to the Bennett aura he's carefully managed for himself.

I thought this bloke said he wanted the challenge ? Seems others were right, it was only the money.

jono

As a Parramatta supporter living in Newcastle I will try to offer a neutral viewpoint.
Firstly I think Wayne Bennett is vastly overrated as a coach. Sure his record is fabulous but for 21 years as Broncos coach he had virtual carte blanche to the best footballers north of the Tweed. He would have had to have been a complete twit NOT to have won 6 comps and probably should have won more.
Even at St George he had 2009 parcelled up but when Parra and Brisbane turned up the heat he didn't have the answers. As a coach I think Newcastle was never a good fit and I believe the Knights will be better for his departure.
But to question the man's quality as a human being is both disingenious and beside the point. He hasn't left Newcastle in the lurch...this season has long been a write-off.
He has commuted from Brisbane throughout his tenure which some may say questions his commitment to the district; rather I think it confirms his dedication to his family's stability, particularly having to cater and care for a handicapped son.
I'll be honest , I allowed my initial view of the man be coloured by my criticism of him as a coach. But having met him at a local BMW promo , having seen his "Australian Story" episode , and read his biography , I respect him as a human being.
I am not a Wayne Bennett apologist , I just believe emotion and fact are two separate issues. And as I said , Newcastle are better off without him

Zoidberg

This whole saga is really pissing me off.

I really thought he had a grand plan for this place and he wanted to get us to a place where we wanted to be. He was in it for the money from day one.

Whats Doing

The bloke has built a reputation based on having star studded lineups.

His true test of his ability was with Newcastle and he failed miserably.

He has outdated methods and he doesn't adjust his methods to suit the calibre of players he has.

His true colours of loyalty has been shown as a complete sham and is only in it for the money and his own ego.

Glad to get rid of him and the sooner the better.

Don't let the door hit you in the arse on your way out Wayne

slotmachine

Getting saints a premiership was pretty good but I could have coached most of those broncos sides.

Have a look at the 2006 grand final side, it's a joke.

cram

Mate, this is how I'm feeling. I'm not sure whether I should thank him however because up until yesterday I'd lost all passion but now the fires back in my belly.

cram

This article is from the July 11 issue of the Newcastle Herald Digital Edition. To subscribe , visit http://www.theherald.com.au/.

ANALYSIS By ROBERT DILLON

WAYNE Bennett’s 2008 autobiography opens with a favourite poem that advocates honest self-appraisal .

‘‘ Go to the mirror and take a look at yourself, and see what that man has to say,’’ are the last two lines of the first verse, and there seems little doubt Bennett pondered that advice before announcing yesterday he will leave the Knights at season’s end.

Others, including his employers, may have been happy to judge Bennett on his reputation and unmatched career record, dating back to Ipswich in 1976.

His seven premierships, 23 finals series and 699 topgrade games – all of which are records – buy serious cred and respect.

But when Bennett looked in the mirror, he did not see the mystical master coach who has written so many chapters in rugby league’s folklore.

Rather, he saw a mere mortal who had to take responsibility for Newcastle’s on-field performances, which have generally been underwhelming since his much-celebrated arrival in the 2012 pre-season .

After 15 games of this campaign, the team Bennett built are languishing in 14th position, equal-last but boasting superior for-andagainst statistics than Canberra and Cronulla.

This is shaping as the worst season of Bennett’s illustrious career.

‘‘ For me, it’s about the high standards that I set myself, and I don’t feel the team has come up to those standards,’’ Bennett explained, adding that ‘‘ the buck stops with me’’ .

If we take the 64-year-old at his word, he has made a noble decision, recognising that a fresh start would be in the club’s best interests.

The cynics might argue that Bennett was lured to Newcastle by Nathan Tinkler’s millions and had little interest in staying once the gravy train ground to a halt.

Whatever the case, nobody can argue with Bennett’s claim that: ‘‘ I can’t do any more than my best here and I’ve been challenged in so many ways.’’

From the Tinkler turmoil to the Russell Packer scandal, to the heart-breaking incident involving Alex McKinnon, no coach in history has had to deal with as many setbacks as Bennett this season.

Other opinions he expressed yesterday were, to say the least, debatable.

‘‘ Where the club was when I came here and where the club is now, there’s no comparison,’’ he said, describing the Knights when he arrived as ‘‘ a mess – a basket case in many ways’’ .

Yet, given that Newcastle made the finals in every grade in 2011 – and were national under-18 champions – was the club really in such poor shape?

And other than this season’s high-flying under-20 s and national champion under-16 s, what tangible evidence is there of progress?

As for Bennett’s declaration that ‘‘ you can’t just keep buying players in . . . you just become a transit lounge’’ , perhaps if he had been more inclined to sign players under the age of 30, tyros with their best days ahead of them, the window of opportunity might have stayed open longer.

That is easy to say with the benefit of hindsight, which usually offers 20-20 vision.

Taking a long, hard gaze in the mirror is another matter altogether. Bennett’s decision means he can continue to look himself in the eye.

Copyright © 2014 the Newcastle Herald

Sent from my iPad

He really does need to go it's that simple, how on earth can the playing group be expected to play for the guy after bagging the club so much.

Also love how he says the club will take years to fix.

And on the other hand.

His confident that the systems he has put in place will leave the club successfull.

Bennetts been worse for the Knights then Tinkler was with his recruitment and the position it's left us in.

We basically have 1 proper prop, 2 proper second rowers and a handfull of utility forwards that aren't that great.

It's upsetting but any money Mase, Faaolongo, House and Smith are all running out for us again next year.

Woke up this morning feeling far angrier than I was yesterday. Bennett is more worried about his legacy. so he can piss off and take his arrogant little sook with him.