Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

West Coast Pirates Bid News

BDGS

What are you talking about?

The strategical important areas are the CC, Ipswich, Birsbane. The ones that are being ambushed by other codes.

WA falls under increasing the game's national profile.

Also in 2010 The Melbourne Storm had over 10,000 members, which is above many NSW teams.

Only, Souths, St. George Illawarra, Canterbury and Parramatta had over 10,000 members.

If the Force are any indication then yes I can see it being different. pre Force zero RU covg unless it was Wallabies. Now the paper has a weekly Rugby (sic) pull out and at least two pages of the West are dedicated to S15. When the Western Reds came in both the West and Sunday Times employed RL writers. Perth isn't Melbourne and has a more open view of sport than either Melbourne or Sydney it seems. All of teams here get reasonable covg in the media. Of course AFL dominates, as you would expect, but other codes get a fair go.

Our crowds would suggest that we can expect to satrt at the 15k mark and I would expect membership to be popular in WA.

lol at your ignorance of Storm membership, TV viewing etc for someone who lives in Melbourne!

At the end of the day RL needs to grow up and start to live up to its "National" name. IF we get the TV money now is the time to start to do it.

What are you talking about?

The strategical important areas are the CC, Ipswich, Birsbane. The ones that are being ambushed by other codes.

WA falls under increasing the game's national profile.

strategic = longer term focus, doing something now for future benefit, making a move that will benefit you one or two moves into the future..

your reference to cc, ipswich etc above is tactcal (almost reactionary) - making a move to defend yourself against a direct advance by an opponent (AFL).

Also in 2010 The Melbourne Storm had over 10,000 members, which is above many NSW teams.

Only, Souths, St. George Illawarra, Canterbury and Parramatta had over 10,000 members.

read it again : "the melbourne storm have available to them the 2nd biggest population in australia, yet still struggle to get membership numbers higher than most sydney teams"

so yes, their membership puts them smack in the middle of the sydney teams.. certainly not above "most"..

and 10,000 members is only 0.25% of the population of their catchment area.. compare that to the numbers from the other clubs..

I would expect membership to be popular in WA.

based on what fact?

lol at your ignorance of Storm membership, TV viewing etc for someone who lives in Melbourne!

ignorance? as that other bloke just put up, my facts for membership was spot on... and as for tv viewing, you cannot even see the game live here on FTA... the only live games screened FTA in melbourne are SOO and the grand final.. and storm fans didn't even get to see their team lift the trophy in 2009 as they cut away to show channel 9 news (maybe somewhat poignant in hindsight)..

so please, go and "lol" somewhere else.. don't start posting your opinions as facts and then criticising others who actually know what they are talking about...

based on what fact?

based on the fact we had 2000 ticketed members sign up for our first year in JB cup. Based on the fact that memberships sell extremely well at Force and both AFL clubs. Based on the fact we have got 15k+ recently to two out of town teams. ps i did say "expect" there is no guarantees in life!

Not going to get into Storm, plenty of other threads to do that, lets keep this one on the Reds shall we?

If the TV money is there Reds will be in, its a dead cert. If the money isn't there there will either be no expansion or they will pick the two clubs with the biggest money backers, though lets not kid ourselves that it would be expansion.

BDGS

strategic = longer term focus, doing something now for future benefit, making a move that will benefit you one or two moves into the future..

Which ARE moves into the CC, Ips and Brissie2.

your reference to cc, ipswich etc above is tactcal (almost reactionary) - making a move to defend yourself against a direct advance by an opponent (AFL).

Tactical and strategical.

read it again : "the melbourne storm have available to them the 2nd biggest population in australia, yet still struggle to get membership numbers higher than most sydney teams"

There are 9 Sydney teams, 4 out of 9 is a minority. The Storm have higher numbers then more then 50% of Sydney clubs.

so yes, their membership puts them smack in the middle of the sydney teams.. certainly not above "most"..

and 10,000 members is only 0.25% of the population of their catchment area.. compare that to the numbers from the other clubs..

You have neglected to put the AFL clubs into the equation, Melbourne are competing against AFL clubs for members.

How many Melbourne AFL clubs are there? then plus how many Melbourne AFL clubs have relocated to other areas? that is the number of clubs that Melbourne compete against.

My count is 12 Melbourne clubs (including the swans and lions who gets memberships from areas in Melbourne.

WA will only have 2 AFL clubs and a Rugby Union club, plus the different culture of Perth to Melbourne.

Mr Spock!

How long would it take a team to set and be ready to play in the NRL? I would say 2 years, like the Gold Coast. So probably the soonest we can see a team is 2013, if they decide this year.

There are 9 Sydney teams, 4 out of 9 is a minority. The Storm have higher numbers then more then 50% of Sydney clubs.

wow.. my apologies that my definition of "most" does not match up with your definition... how about this:

the melbourne storm have available to them the 2nd biggest population in australia, yet still struggle to get membership numbers higher than 43% of sydney teams..

better?

semantics aside as to what consitutes "most", the facts are there that the storm are in a town where membership is part of the culture, and have the entire town (and indeed state) as a target market, yet still can't get higher memberships than suburban sydney teams..

that is an issue. and it's one that will be playing on the minds of those making selections for the expansion teams..

You have neglected to put the AFL clubs into the equation, Melbourne are competing against AFL clubs for members.

How many Melbourne AFL clubs are there? then plus how many Melbourne AFL clubs have relocated to other areas? that is the number of clubs that Melbourne compete against.

My count is 12 Melbourne clubs (including the swans and lions who gets memberships from areas in Melbourne.

WA will only have 2 AFL clubs and a Rugby Union club, plus the different culture of Perth to Melbourne.

that's the whole crux of the argument.. did you read the post or just chose one point? or do i need to spell out that "enemy territory" is actually an AFL dominated city?

Beowulf

How long would it take a team to set and be ready to play in the NRL? I would say 2 years, like the Gold Coast. So probably the soonest we can see a team is 2013, if they decide this year.

Correct - the Bears have been put on standby twice in the past 18 months for entry in the following season, but thats not ideal - you need 18 months to sign players coming off contract, so teams would need to know by Sep/Oct at very latest this year for a 2013 entry.....Jul/Aug would be better.

Yes you would think:

12 months to get back room staff, coaching staff, membership models, stadium contracts etc etc all organised then signing of players. Realistically as long as the new clubs know by Sept time 2011 then they can be signing players who are coming off contract end of 2011 season or end of 2012 season.

Ideally we would have a min full two year lead in time but it is more likely we will have less than 18 months.

BDGS

wow.. my apologies that my definition of "most" does not match up with your definition... how about this:

the melbourne storm have available to them the 2nd biggest population in australia, yet still struggle to get membership numbers higher than 43% of sydney teams..

better?

semantics aside as to what consitutes "most", the facts are there that the storm are in a town where membership is part of the culture, and have the entire town (and indeed state) as a target market, yet still can't get higher memberships than suburban sydney teams..

that is an issue. and it's one that will be playing on the minds of those making selections for the expansion teams..

that's the whole crux of the argument.. did you read the post or just chose one point? or do i need to spell out that "enemy territory" is actually an AFL dominated city?

They might be from a city where there is a culture of memberships to how your support burgher are also from a city/state where he culture is not to support anything that goes up against the AFL.

10,000 members for a Melbourne rugby league team, when taking into account other NRL team memberships and taking I to account the compeition from AFL clubs in a non rig y league hearland territory is a success for rugby league.

No need to be a smartarse about facts, ffs.

can we keep this thread relating to WA Reds bid PLEASE, thank you.

it is about the perth bid... i've provided the example that plonking an nrl team in a city with a big population, but with a strong AFL presence is an issue.. and this needs to be taken into consideration by all parties involved in the bid..

unfortunately bdgs decided to disagree...

however, if it makes you feel better, i believe the perth team should consider a yellow jersey for the team..

BDGS

it is about the perth bid... i've provided the example that plonking an nrl team in a city with a big population, but with a strong AFL presence is an issue.. and this needs to be taken into consideration by all parties involved in the bid..

I don't disagree with that, i disagree with the evidence provided.

however, if it makes you feel better, i believe the perth team should consider a yellow jersey for the team..

You want the reds to wear yellow?

Melbourne is a very different place to Perth. Perth is already leaps and bounds ahead of Melbourne in the player development stakes with no top flight team. This can only improve.

Crowds have always been good in Perth - well, on par with any Sydney club anyway. With some time for growth, imo they could be easily putting out 20k+ every week.

They already have a Union side. On one hand, this is competition. But in an AFL dominated city, I think Rugby fans in general will happily support both codes.

And as PR mentioned, Perth due to being an AFL city, has a strong membership culture.

Melbourne was necessary, despite obvious initial hardships, because it is the second largest market in Australia, and will eventually be well worth it, much like the Sydney Swans if you look at the AFL.

Perth imo will bring the NRL faster rewards with far less difficulty than Melbourne.

totally agree. People seem to forget we have had a reasonable RL comp and development going for over 50 years and that this latest bid has been working hard since 2005 with first the JB team and now the SG Ball side and jnr academy. With very little NRL support we are ready to go and can only think how big RL could become here when done right. The quality of people now running teh WARL and the bid team is very high and wouldn't be putting their name to something that doesn't have a very good chance at success.

I don't disagree with that, i disagree with the evidence provided.

You want the reds to wear yellow?

yes.. it's part of the prior uniform:

perth.jpg

and it's part of their logo:

http://www.nospam09.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/WA-Reds.jpg

and yellow is the WA state colour for most sports...

so yes, i would like the reds to wear yellow...

what next? would you like to disagree with my opinion that the world is round?

BDGS

yes.. it's part of the prior uniform:

perth.jpg

and it's part of their logo:

http://www.nospam09.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/WA-Reds.jpg

and yellow is the WA state colour for most sports...

so yes, i would like the reds to wear yellow...

I know all of that, i would the Reds home jersey to be Red as they are the Reds and like the idea of a yellow jersey for away games. Their colours can be Red, yellow, black.

what next? would you like to disagree with my opinion that the world is round?

Mate, i have been to the edge of the world and look down onto nothing but darkness. The world is most definitely flat!
;-)

BDGS

I don't like referring to WA as a AFL state.

There is only two AFL clubs in Perth and nothing outside of Perth in WA.

While those two clubs are by far the most dominate i wouldn't classify WA as a AFL state.

Doesn't the North of WA get the NRL footy show rather then the AFL footy show, i think the residents got the choice and chose NRL.