Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Western Corridor NRL bid

Desert Qlder

Little back on topic, am I the only one concerned by the likely hood that the Ipswich team will be called the "Western Jets"?

We already have Wests Tigers, we are probably going to have the Western Reds, but also the Western Jets?? Wouldn't be a problem like Melbourne Victory or the Melbourne Heart because they are representing the same place, but geez that could get annoying.

Solutions? Reds to be called Perth? Jets to be called Ipswich or Ipswich Logan, or SEQ??

Just something so we dont have 3 teams in different areas called "Western" or "Wests"

I have sat up awake at night thinking about this little conundrum. The only solution I can possibly come up with is this team should be called the Brisbane Jets.

It is ultimately futile for the bid to limit itself to Western Brisbane to garner support. Whilst the team should base itself in the region, training facilities, leagues club and the like, there needs to be an attempt for attracting a broader audience. The entire region is crying out for another team to support and the potential market is scattered across the South-East region. Resurrecting a former name like South Qld is also fraught with danger as that name is tainted by the demise of the Crushers.

I would go with the colours of dark green and white that are synonymous with the Ipswich club. These would provide a nice counterpoint to other clubs and tie in nicely with the clubs history.

There would be opposition from some Ippy locals but at the end of the day this new entity needs to be very smart about attracting fans. By calling the club the Brisbane Jets they give themselves the best opportunity to do so.

_MayMoo 2

Keep Gosford for relocation (sorry Bears)
Admit Ipswich, another Q'land team will add more $'s to the next TV deal then any other bid
Admit WA Reds, the game has to expand into new markets if it wants to grow and WA is the biggest and most developed of any non heartland possibility
Encourage CQ to partner with Manly and allow Manly to link with Q'land cup team again and play 3 games a year in Rocky
Work with the PNG Govt and QRL to admit PNG team into Q'land cup
Start working with NZRL to develop a bid fo 2017 for a Southern Orcas playing out of wellington and Christchurch, regular gams to be played in those cities and a NSW cup team to be funded to play out of Wellington and linked to Warriors for now

Worse thing will be if the NRL just chooses two and lets the others wither away again ala Wellngton last time

Keep Gosford for relocation ?? - Get F****d !!

The NRL have been actively encouraging the CC Bears to build a compelling case for some time now. Last year the Sharks tried to move 1/2 their games there and were knocked back. At the time Zappia said "who knows where this may lead" meaning a full relocation.

The NRL would not be on one hand encouraging the Bears to sell merchandise (of which they have sold plenty) Sell memberships (sold over 2,200) etc etc., Get out into the commmunity, local leagues, build momentum, land major sponsors etc etc if they were going to turn around and say - OK, No Bears, we will only take a relocated side now.

As someone else said; It would be a fatal mistake to do this.

The argument should really be, who will be the 18th team (if any immediately), as the Bears should be a shoe in for the 17th.

simostorm

The NRL have been actively encouraging the CC Bears to build a compelling case for some time now. Last year the Sharks tried to move 1/2 their games there and were knocked back. At the time Zappia said "who knows where this may lead" meaning a full relocation.

The NRL would not be on one hand encouraging the Bears to sell merchandise (of which they have sold plenty) Sell memberships (sold over 2,200) etc etc., Get out into the commmunity, local leagues, build momentum, land major sponsors etc etc if they were going to turn around and say - OK, No Bears, we will only take a relocated side now.

The argument should really be, who will be the 18th team (if any immediately), as the Bears should be a shoe in for the 17th.

You do know who's running this league right?

If the NRL want Ipswich and Perth in.. they will be. They wont think twice or lose any sleep over what effort the Bears have done.

lockyrulz

LOLZ at fatal...

Yea where would rugby league be without the bad luck bears? Oh that's right, going perfectly fine without them just like it is now.

smithie

I have sat up awake at night thinking about this little conundrum. The only solution I can possibly come up with is this team should be called the Brisbane Jets.

It is ultimately futile for the bid to limit itself to Western Brisbane to garner support. Whilst the team should base itself in the region, training facilities, leagues club and the like, there needs to be an attempt for attracting a broader audience. The entire region is crying out for another team to support and the potential market is scattered across the South-East region. Resurrecting a former name like South Qld is also fraught with danger as that name is tainted by the demise of the Crushers.

I would go with the colours of dark green and white that are synonymous with the Ipswich club. These would provide a nice counterpoint to other clubs and tie in nicely with the clubs history.

There would be opposition from some Ippy locals but at the end of the day this new entity needs to be very smart about attracting fans. By calling the club the Brisbane Jets they give themselves the best opportunity to do so.

I agree, a new team should be called Brisbane. However I don't see Ipswich giving up the "Jets" tag. I like the sound of the "Brisbane Chargers" or "Brisbane Vikings".

simostorm

Brisbane Beer Guzzlers.. They could have the xxxx can as there logo :p

but yea.. i think a new identity from the Jets would be better..

Red&BlackBear

There's a Central Coast Bears 2pager article in this weeks Rugby League Week. I'll try to get scans from that and scans from last months alpha up soon. 2 new major sponsors announced soon! The ccbears shafted? Lol we've already got more equity than most NRL clubs.

Someone said league doesn't need the ccbears? Well I'm prepared to say that living currently in brisbane, that Brisbane doesn't need a 2nd team right now. The ccbears already have fans, supporters, sponsors and members. A stadium, offices set up, mechandise selling and heavy backers behind us. Wake me up in 10 years when the nearest including Perth bid catch up to us in terms of groundwork.

As for unexciting? How dare someone who has no concept of tradition say that? The ccbears is the most exciting bid. Bringing back a heritage club in an area crying for a team and finally completing what was started a decade plus ago. People tend to forget just how strong our bid is. They forget we've been at this for 10x's longer than ippy or central qld and 5x's longer than Perth or 2nd nz. Healing a massive wound. Bringing back alot of bears fans nationally to the game and having an established business and team based on the cc.

Gallop can't tell us to wait longer or accomplish more cause we have waited long enough and accomplished everything there is to very soon. Our bid financially has the means and it's not private, have the fans and their paid up, has a stadium which we own stakes in, has a brand that people are buying into, we have marches and community work in place. We have politicians talking about us in parliament for Christ sakes! The people want the bears!

Bro Bear

Central Coast needs a team before WA. How many supporters and juniors are on the the North Shore/Central Coast compared to WA. About a ratio of at least 7:1. WA can have a relocated team and even QLD before the Bears.

Gallop has stated

Bears and WA front-runners

Ipswich corridor needs a team in the future.

Relocation is off the cards for any Sydney based club to Gosford.

Hopefully 2013 it will be the CC Bears and another QLD team

2018 - another tow teams admitted WA and a NZ/QLD team.

The ccbears already have fans, supporters, sponsors and members. A stadium, offices set up, mechandise selling and heavy backers behind us. Wake me up in 10 years when the nearest including Perth bid catch up to us in terms of groundwork.
Stadium - check (NIB stadium by 2013 will be bigger and better than Blue Tongue),
fans - check (NRL games over last two years have drawn as well as CC games without the benefit of Sydney fans travelling up to see their team)
Sponsors - Check (not as many as CC Bears but not competing with 10 other NRL teams for sponsors interested in RL we will be in a very strong position in this sense, especially with mining companies looking to attract Eastern state workers, NRL sponsorship is the prefect opportunity to get in front of people)
offices set up - check (the club will be run by the WARL who have been around for over 50 years and has a bid team with some decent prof people on board)
members- check WA is used to membership models. We had 1700 ticketed memberships for our first year in the Jim Beam cup in 2008!
10 years behind? pha!

As for unexciting? How dare someone who has no concept of tradition say that?
Mate the club I have supported since being in nappies was formed in 1882, I know all about tradition (and how it doesn't pay the bills!)

This isn't a battle between Perth and Gosford, Perth barring some disaster or very small TV deal is in, it's between two heartland areas, Brisbane and Gosford.

Red&BlackBear

Stadium - check (NIB stadium by 2013 will be bigger and better than Blue Tongue),
fans - check (NRL games over last two years have drawn as well as CC games without the benefit of Sydney fans travelling up to see their team)
Sponsors - Check (not as many as CC Bears but not competing with 10 other NRL teams for sponsors interested in RL we will be in a very strong position in this sense, especially with mining companies looking to attract Eastern state workers, NRL sponsorship is the prefect opportunity to get in front of people)
offices set up - check (the club will be run by the WARL who have been around for over 50 years and has a bid team with some decent prof people on board)
members- check WA is used to membership models. We had 1700 ticketed memberships for our first year in the Jim Beam cup in 2008!
10 years behind? pha!

Mate the club I have supported since being in nappies was formed in 1882, I know all about tradition (and how it doesn't pay the bills!)

This isn't a battle between Perth and Gosford, Perth barring some disaster or very small TV deal is in, it's between two heartland areas, Brisbane and Gosford.

Whilst I understand this isn't about CC and W.A., you are already popping the champagne before anything is in stone. And have made some bullsh*t assumptions of our bid.

I have been actively working on this bid, I actively know the in's and out's of the CCBEARS. That is the advantage I have as all the information I post is factual and already in place.

Fans: The CCBEARS have an area of 1 million density with new Central Coast patrons and former BEARS supporters. This is already a physically evident in the members, signees and crowds coming to games on the CC. There are more CCBEARS fans from brisbane at this point in time then there are Ipswich NRL Bid or Central QLD NRL Bid fans. Our fan base is bigger then at least 3 clubs currently in the NRL. Besides 2 negative articles, media exposure has been tremendous with a bunch of CCBEARS fans invading the footy show, matty johns show and thursday night live in the coming weeks. There have been BEARS fans since 1908. (What team have you supported since 1882? An AFL One?)

Sponsors: The CCBEARS have over 6 major sponsors and another 10 local sponsors with more in the pipeline. Our total equity has increased drastically due to this and the money is already physically being pumped into the CCBEARS who then pump it back into the CC juniors, schools and coaching clinics. Our community work is an on going program. Initiative was started 10+ years ago! Norths Leagues & CCDRL have come to a single purpose now as evident by CCDRL allowing CCBEARS tents at all up coming district/region/junior finals. We don't rely on the iffy mining sectors to fund us (hence eliminating the problems Illawarra and Newcastle had/have)

Stadium: Unlike many clubs, teams or bids. We not only have a stadium but we own stakes in it. A huge advantage as stadium costs aren't needed unless a redevelopment/upgrade occurs in the next 10-15 years, which we would have the funding for it anyway. Therefore without the added pressures of needing a stadium we can instead pour $20 million into a Sports Excellence Center on the CC.

if you go to www.centralcoastbears.com.au all the info is on the site. Up to date.

Also the same RLW publication that last week tooted the Central QLD's bid horn and got their fans excited, has now published a CCBEARS article this week and called the CCBEARS bid the "overwhelming favorites". Boo-ya-ka-cha!

Bro Bear

WA are not already in the NRL come 2013. With Ipswich coming in to the picture now it may well be the CC Bears and Ipswich. WA still needs to prove it can be a rugby league state. Ipswich and CC always have been and always will be.

Exactly...so it isn't really expansion at all.

babyg

"Ipswich’s population is 170,000 but government forecasts state it will explode to more than 400,000 in the next two decades"

so shouldn't we wait till 2030? GWB - Greater Western Brisbane.

I like the East Coast Roosters/Sharks merger. I've been spruiking that one for ages.
I like the Bears coming back. If the NRL wanted a relocation then they positioned themselves terribly for that. CC is Bears or nothing now.

I like the Western Reds, though a relocation could work. Western Sharks.
I like the Sharks moving anywhere really. Western Sharks, Adelaide Sharks, Sunshine Coast Sharks, Wellington Sharks, Southern Sharks.

redvscotty

You don't see anyone dressing up a Pelican and calling it a Dodo, so can we please stop dressing up the CC with the Bears.

_MayMoo 2

You don't see anyone dressing up a Pelican and calling it a Dodo, so can we please stop dressing up the CC with the Bears.

How the hell is the CC being "dressed up" with the Bears ??

That is the bid, they instigated the building of and helped build the stadium and attempted to move there (an adjoining territory) over ten years ago. They have been trying to get back in for over 10 years as the CC bears.

Dressed up my foot.

Red&BlackBear

You're a deadbrain. How can you stop something that's been actively happening for a decade? How can you stop dressing the CC with the BEARS when the local community and local business community are behind the Bears? How can you stop dressing the CC with the BEARS when the BEARS have offices, a stadium and a large % of financial members based on the CC?

How can you stop dressing the CC with the BEARS when there are CCBEARS membership drives EVERY week at different places locally in the CC? How can you stop dressing the CC with the BEARS when the Central COAST Districts Rugby league have CCBEARS merchandise and membership stalls at all up coming CCDRL finals?

How can you stop dressing the CC with the BEARS when corporate sponsors and support are already in place? When the CCBEARS are already pumping thousands into the juniors? the local clubs? the coaches clinics on the cc?

How can you stop dressing the CC with the BEARS when everyone bar 10 people acknowledge the fact that the CC and the BEARS are now officially one entity? When after 12 years of community work, relocation of official business offices and an official brand all have momentum, all are set up and all ready to go?

How about you learn some facts before you post utter rubbish.
www.centralcoastbears.com.au provides ALL the information. Don't just look at the link and stick with your bullsh*t, non-realistic views. Actually click the link and LEARN something.