Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What if Jarryd Hayne doesn't make the 49ers cut? Will he return to the NRL?

GongPanther

This thread is f**king blasphemous.
Of course he will make it.

His jersey sold out within seconds the moment a store opened in Frisco.

This is one of the reasons on my "yes list" of why he would make it.

Of course they'll end up on e-bay offering them up to gullible Parra fans at a huge mark-up.:lol:

Maximus

Most of your post is reasonable. However this is the bit that I question. Run me through the great gamut of guys who have NEVER played before and had good pre seasons? Even if he never plays one down, to even make a roster would be a stunning achievement.

Sav Rocca looks like he had a decent enough first preseason. But you know that has nothing to do with what I said.

NFL.com has 10 years worth of preseason stats. Every year the top positions are filled with players who played a few games here or there and never did anything.

Also who the f**k is claiming he will be a starting RB???

Danish said he would be sooner rather than later, and someone else claimed he would be starting FB (I assume that was just a lack of knowledge of the positions).

What about your buddy in this thread claiming that he isn't that special because he isn't trying out for QB??

Where did he say that? He said if he tried out for QB he would be laughed off the runway, which is completely correct. Where are you even getting this crap from?

Be honest mate, you assume nobody knows anything about the NFL and like to big note yourself

Nope. There are plenty of people on this site who know a lot more than I do. The only people I assume know nothing are those who claim he will be starting FB on 10 million a year, and those who say he doesn't really have to learn much.

Canard

Sav Rocca looks like he had a decent enough first preseason. But you know that has nothing to do with what I said.

NFL.com has 10 years worth of preseason stats. Every year the top positions are filled with players who played a few games here or there and never did anything.

So no one.

To compare him to an Aussie Rules punter is embarrassing for you. It shows the lengths you will go to discredit any achievement.

Maximus

So no one.

To compare him to an Aussie Rules punter is embarrassing for you. It shows the lengths you will go to discredit any achievement.

Well actually no there is one there. You simply asked for a player who had never played before and did well in preseason. Rocca did pretty well in beating a veteran out for the position. You can't then shift the goalposts and say it's not good enough because of the position he played, especially after you got upset about Sleep saying some positions are easier than others.

But no you're right, it is a bad example because an AFL player is expected to be able to punt. Nobody ever expected an NRL fullback could return kicks :crazy:

Meth

I have to admit, I doubted Hayne and the transferability of his League skills to NFL, but he seems to be proving us wrong already.

All aboard the Hayne Train. Hopefully it's not a short ride.

Meth

Also, if he didn't make the cut, so what? You gotta respect the guy from sacrificing comfort to chase his dream.

As Roosevelt said "It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.”

Canard

Well actually no there is one there. You simply asked for a player who had never played before and did well in preseason. Rocca did pretty well in beating a veteran out for the position. You can't then shift the goalposts and say it's not good enough because of the position he played, especially after you got upset about Sleep saying some positions are easier than others.

But no you're right, it is a bad example because an AFL player is expected to be able to punt. Nobody ever expected an NRL fullback could return kicks :crazy:

Punter isn't a position, it's just some need who hangs around with the real players.

So after all your sooking of misquoting you, you now say kick returns are easy.

Imagine how much of a whiny bitch you would be if you followed League.

Danish

Danish said he would be sooner rather than later, and someone else claimed he would be starting FB (I assume that was just a lack of knowledge of the positions).

No I didn't you lying sack of crap.

I said he would eventually make it to starter and have a 2-3 season career in the position. I never put a time line on how long it would take him to achieve that.

If I had to guess it would be maybe by the end of next season

Incorrect

The best australian sportsman will be Ben Simmons next year in basketball....

this guy will be drafted number 1 and be an allstar

nba player james harden just got a 200 million shoe deal from addidas and Ben will get a massive shoe deal right away

Has he won 2 Dally M medals before trying his hand at basketball and making it to the NBA? If not, he's just another piece of tall timber in a massive forest of basketball players in the US...

Far Canal

No I didn't you lying sack of crap.

I said he would eventually make it to starter and have a 2-3 season career in the position. I never put a time line on how long it would take him to achieve that.

If I had to guess it would be maybe by the end of next season

Maxiwanker - give it up, you troll. Give yourself a triple uppercut you tool and head back to AFL

Mogsheen Jadwat

Also, if he didn't make the cut, so what? You gotta respect the guy from sacrificing comfort to chase his dream.

As Roosevelt said "It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs, who comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who neither know victory nor defeat.?

FDR also said my legs dont work, picture me rollin' (in a wheel chair)

big hit!

Granted at RB he has got belted a couple of times and missed a few alleys but he still has two longer carries than any other RB in the pre-season for the 49ers.

The structured running plays and his upright running is what he's find most difficult to transform. Obviously, the play will have a pre-assigned gap which the o-line/TE/FB/WR will all work on providing for him so he will have a fair idea of where to go to hit the hole.

Once it opens up and he's through it, his intuition and skill we all saw in rugby league will take over and he will stand up players in open field which is where he was amazing in Game 1 & 2 of pre-season.

However, if the defence succeeds in stuffing the gaps, he does look a bit lost. As we saw against Denver, the upright running has been a detriment. Both of those rushes against Denver ended with a lack of forward progress. He was forced back on both, and in rugby league he would have lost metres. It's so important he stays low before hitting the line of scrimmage, otherwise 1st string d-linemen and linebackers who will be 50% to 75% heavier than him will just get their pads underneath his and they'll relish hitting him hard during the course of a fair dinkum season.

The numpty gunners on special teams who just launch straight toward him (it's what they're taught in American Football) on returns, as well as the broken line defence (which we all know is an absolute no no in rugby league) just plays into his hands. He'll tear them apart unless there is a Special teams coach who does their homework and is aware that rugby league players would all relish taking the ball back against the all or nothing approach and broken line defence of american football special teams.

Or they could just direct their kickers/punter to kick it long and negate all of it by not giving Hayne the opportunity to return at all.

MrAnonymous

His jersey sold out within seconds the moment a store opened in Frisco.

This is one of the reasons on my "yes list" of why he would make it.

Of course they'll end up on e-bay offering them up to gullible Parra fans at a huge mark-up.:lol:

Or Parra fans can buy there own for 80 on the NFL website.

If he misses out on being picked up by an NFL team, Jarryd Hayne won't be coming back to the NRL for less than $1.5 million a year.

Who will be able to afford him?